5WALK TO BEACH, OCEANVIEW VILLA, PRIVATE POOL-AS SEEN ON HOUSE HUNTER'S INT'L

Karen McGrath

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Karen McGrath

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

5WALK TO BEACH, OCEANVIEW VILLA, PRIVATE POOL-AS SEEN ON HOUSE HUNTER'S INT'L

Puerto Vallarta Villa Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath + Den, sleeps 4-6

We have PERFECT reviews . Check us out! House and owners featured on HGTV's House Hunters International March 2014 Episode.

Casa Romantica is more than a name. It’s truly the feel of this perfect villa. Step through the door and all stress will melt away as you view the tranquil beauty of the Bay of Banderas across the living room. The beautifully decorated, 3000+ square feet, 2 king bed, 2 bath + den villa has sweeping views of the ocean, mountains, and lush jungle.

The beautiful Garza Blanca BEACH is only a 5 minute WALK But the perfect water view is right out your door.. The villa has a vast PRIVATE, heated infinity POOL, SPA and waterfall. The pool is always the perfect temperature and the views of the ocean and mountains from the pool are awe inspiring. You’ll never want to leave. The downtown Romantica Zone of Puerto Vallarta with all the shops and restaurants is only a 10 minute drive and is easily accessed by bus or taxi.

Location: If the beach is what you desire, walk 4-5 minutes to one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches in Puerto Vallarta. The historic “Romantic Zone” of Puerto Vallarta is a mere 10 minutes away for morning strolls along the boardwalk (Malecon), afternoons of shopping the numerous boutiques and markets, and evenings indulging in one of Puerto Vallarta’s 250 fantastic restaurants.

Honeymoon / Romance: Honeymooners rave about the villa being a perfect, serene escape. Sit on the enormous covered patio overlooking the ocean and spot wild green parakeets, pelicans, and many other beautiful colored birds. Have our private chef delight your senses with fresh, gourmet meals. Take in the splendid sunsets from one of the three balconies. Winter offers sightings of humpback whales in the bay from the comfort of your own private infinity pool. Take in waterfall views in the Sierra Madres Mountains during the summer months. Pamper yourself with in-house massages, manicures, or pedicures. Our guests say that Casa Romantica casts a spell and they don't want to leave. Many of our guests return year after year.

Amenities: The villa has every possible amenity (daily maid service, gourmet kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, WIFI and high speed Internet, computer, satellite TV, movie/music/book library, beach chairs & coolers, bottled water, etc). The villa has street-level entry. In-house chef and spa services are available for an extra fee. If you want to enhance your Spanish skills, private Spanish tutoring is also available for a nominal fee. The English speaking office management is happy to help you with any service you desire (taxis, tours, chef or spa services, etc). Taxis to town cost around $7 and bus service is available directly outside the villa complex for $.50. In 10 minutes or less you’ll be in the heart of Puerto Vallarta. One of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Vallarta is only a 4-5 minute walk. If you choose to drive or rent a car, Casa Romantica has a private, covered parking area. Please check out our Welcome folder in the Villa for numerous recommendations.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Karen McGrath (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Karen McGrath

Charles, Karen, Chuck, and Suzie live in Dallas Texas and own a small vacation rental business with properties in Puerto Vallarta and Texas (Galveston, Fredericksburg, and Richland Chambers Lake)

Karen McGrath purchased this villa in 2009

Why Karen McGrath chose Puerto Vallarta

It was our dream to own a villa in Puerto Vallarta. When we found Casa Romantica, we knew we had found our perfect place!! The views are incredible and the casa is so relaxing and peaceful, you never want to leave. The location is perfect....it's quiet and peaceful but it's also so close to one of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Vallarta (Garza Blanca) and it's also very close to the best part of Puerto Vallarta - the Romantic Zone. The villa has tons of History. Elizabeth Taylor used to stay in the villa.

What makes this villa unique

Casa Romantica is the embodiment of relaxation. Every morning, you can sit on the beautiful covered patio that overlooks the ocean and watch parakeets from the jungle fly over head. Casa Romantica has a private, heated infinity pool and spa. The casa is wonderfully decorated with one of a kind artwork from around the world. We've tried to provide every amenity for our guests. A private chef can be hired to cook your meals, you can use our fully equipped kitchen, or hit one of the 250+ wonderful restaurants in Puerto Vallarta.

Guestbook comments from the owner

All original reviews are posted in Trip Advisor and can be validated.------------Look the problem is, when you find a great place, and you tell everyone about it, everyone wants to go. Then we cannot go back because it's always booked. So, don't read this review. This is not a mega resort; there are no bars/discos on site, and no time-share sales people. Town is at least ten minutes away. It’s quiet all day, everyday. All you ever hear is the waterfall in the pool. Alberto (we miss you amigo!) will interrupt your morning coffee on the deck about 11:00 AM, to check the pool and to sweep the fallen flowers up in the morning. Yup, it's pretty hard. The home is way too clean, and the bathrooms are not like a hotel. The shower alone is about the size of the whole bathroom you expect in a resort. IMHO it’s too big, as two people have to shower together! Same goes for the king size beds – they are just too big and comfy, you won’t want to get out of bed. And don’t get me going about the kitchen. We like to cook so we spent way too much time there - eating. And finally, the south facing pool is really, really hard to take. It interrupts your sun tanning time every 15 minutes - over and over. When you get in the pool, the view just distracts you from pouring another cocktail. I don’t know how you can ever enjoy a vacation like this! So take my advice. Don't go - it's just too hard to leave, and make sure you don’t tell anyone about it.
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 3
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
5Walk to Beach, Oceanview Villa, Private Pool-As Seen on House Hunter's Int'l
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
business
5Walk to Beach, Oceanview Villa, Private Pool-As Seen on House Hunter's Int'l
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257829
+1 469-408-0232
Puerto Vallarta Jalisco
Frankston, Texas
5

Fantastic trip to PV

  • 5 of 5
This was our second trip to this property. It was just as great as the first. It is beautiful piece of property. The patio is huge with a great view of the bay. We saw whales most everyday. The highlight was watching a mother whale with her baby jumping in the water. This property is great, with spacious bedrooms downstairs and up. Private infinity pool is great with view of bay. It is a short cab ride to downtown. Overall this is a great property which we would highly recommend. Our wives are already making plans for our next trip.
  • Submitted: May 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
5Walk to Beach, Oceanview Villa, Private Pool-As Seen on House Hunter's Int'l
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257829
+1 469-408-0232
Puerto Vallarta Jalisco
Chicago
5

Second visit, planning our third

  • 5 of 5
My wife, daughter and I have visited this fantastic property two years in a row and are already planning for our third! I don't think I'd stay anywhere else in PV. It's spacious and private...just beautiful.
Only two negatives from this trip- the groceries we had ordered to be there upon our arrival were in fact not there. That was a disappointment after 10 hours of travel, but the owner was super gracious and offered to pay for restuarant food to be delivered to us, but we decided to go downtown for dinner and grocery shopping and had a great time. It was a lemon that we turned into lemonaid and was not the owner's fault. The owner's customer service/service recovery efforts were top notch- so she scored points with us and we ended up with a fun night on the town. The other negative is the construction project across the way. It was a little louder this year than last, but really not a major nuisance. It's probably a third of a mile a way...? But the sound stands out because otherwise its just jungle and jungle sounds. In my opinion, this property is so perfect, you really have to nitpick to find any negatives.
One comment on the beach- my understanding is that all beaches in the area are public, but this beach has a high end hotel on it. We felt a bit like interlopers on the beach, as the hotel guests received service while seated in their posh lounge chairs...but whatever, it's not really a big deal and it is a pretty beach. There are two other beaches between the villa and downtown that look nice- haven't been, but from what I see from the road, they look like a local hangout. I plan to try them next year.
In short- its a great place and we love it. The owner is great, the property is great and PV is great...can't go wrong! Stargazing from the patio and night...being woken up by parrots (seriously- parrots...I was standing in the pool one morning and snapped a shot of a green Amazon parrot) and bright sun in the morning.
In terms of safety- we never once felt unsafe. Our hometown of Chicago probably has more Mexican cartel activity than PV does! We were with out 3yo daughter and didn't feel unsafe for even a moment. Mexico is a big country- don't be scared away by crime that happens in hot spots.
  • Submitted: May 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5Walk to Beach, Oceanview Villa, Private Pool-As Seen on House Hunter's Int'l
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257829
+1 469-408-0232
Puerto Vallarta Jalisco
Dallas, Texas, USA
5

Amazing memorable Vallarta getaway, already planning my trip back!!!

  • 5 of 5
I have stayed at this amazing property three times so far, most recently 9MARCH2014 through 14MARCH2014, and we had a wonderful time again. There are too many things to list in one short review, but some of the highlights are the private infinity pool with views of the bay (whales, dolphins), the HUGE patio overlooking the same bay, the spacious bedrooms and walk in kitchen, the beach right across the street from the complex, the entire complex with each home having a private pool (although the private infinity pool at this house is the best in the complex that I have seen, by far), the friendly staff who came right down when we had a question about the pool, etc.
I like to consider this home my secret getaway, and I'm already planning how I can make it there a fourth time. Highly recommended!
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
5Walk to Beach, Oceanview Villa, Private Pool-As Seen on House Hunter's Int'l
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257829
+1 469-408-0232
Puerto Vallarta Jalisco
Franklin, Wisconsin
3

Good but disappointing

  • 3 of 5
Stayed 2/28 through 3/9. Ambiance, furnishings, decor, Mexican charm, patio, pool, fantastic and memorable. Loved this villa complex, location, and workers, would pursue other rentals here at complex via VRBO, but wouldn't stay here again at CR for this cost unless updated. Problems were many. Gourmet kitchen it is not. All appliances in need of replacement. Fridge, no working ice maker, rusty, we had to buy two bags of ice. Inside, iced up where we had snow inside for a few days. Stove door arm nearly comes off, pots and pans extremely worn and should be replaced. We are all cooks and this was a huge problem, gourmet it is not. Ants a problem, micro sounds like on last legs. Filtered water only via spiket in kitchen. Cleaning not good, cobwebs in ceilings in bedroom downstairs, bathroom dirty and dusty, closet horrible dirty and buggy, lights burnt out in bedroom and pool area. Hair dryer in downstairs bathroom had to be 15 years old, only blew cold air. Horrible sewer smell from sink in downstairs bathroom, I could barely use it the entire 9 days. If in a hotel or resort, we would have left for a better room. Called office, someone came right away, believe they tried to do something to no avail. The view from photos is all wrong and with site of this particular villa...bad considering there are two towers, one under construction with two huge cranes, work starts at 6 am weekdays and 7 am on Sat. You should upload more current photos and disclose this. Pool needs better cleaning, tiles missing, hot tub/spa, couldn't use, it wouldn't heat up, pool was warmer, hot tub colder. We lived on the covered patio and in the pool, fabulous, even despite construction of what we affectionately called the Twin Towers. Overall we did have a good time here, but felt things were not as advertised. Karen, feel free to contact me for further details on this review. Thank you.
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Laurie. Thank you for providing your feedback. The reason we have such great reviews, is that if there is an issue, we do anything in our power to resolve the issue. Unfortunately, I never heard a single word from you while you were staying at the villa. I really wished you would have reached out via email, text, phone, or even thru the villa staff as I can only fix issues if I know they exist.
1. No working ice maker – we do this on purpose. Mexico water is not perfectly safe for most foreigners. We provide bottled water and a filtration system thru the sink & provide ice trays so that people can use safe ice cubes.
2. Pots and Pan being worn/ appliances old – We replace the pans about every two years. Again, I wish you would have reached out to let me know as I could have brought out new pan & could have sent our handyman over to fix the oven handle in minutes.
3. Ants – Bugs are a challenge for any place in the tropics. We professionally exterminate quarterly & instruct guests not to leave food on the counter. We have found that if you keep food off the counter that there is not an issue.
4. Hairdryer old- We provide hair driers as an extra convenience for our guests. The hair dryer works perfectly as I had the staff and next guest test it but there is a cold button on it that perhaps was pressed. I could have easily replaced it for you had I known there was an issue.
5. Photos and Buildings: All of our photos our current. There is a resort being built around a mile away. They are done with the main construction & are mainly doing interior work now which is not typically noisy at all. They start work at 8 am. The only sound we have heard is the horn to start the day, at breaks, and to end day. This has not impacted our guests from the feedback that I have heard, I apologize if the work bothered you but we have no control over that.
6. Pool/ Cleaning: We have a dedicated pool and cleaning staff. They have been with the villas for years and people typically love the staff. Not once have I ever received a complaint about the cleaning services. If there was an issue, again, I wish you would have let me know while you were there as I would have immediately sent her back over to resolve any issue. The pool & spa temperature is adjustable and the spa can be heated as instructed in our guide. The pool staff comes at least twice a week and cares for the pool. I could call them out if any issues were known.
business
5Walk to Beach, Oceanview Villa, Private Pool-As Seen on House Hunter's Int'l
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257829
+1 469-408-0232
Puerto Vallarta Jalisco
Chicago
5

Exceeded Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
Absolutely beautiful property! Pictures do not do it justice and neither can this review. Interior of the home is wonderful- the decor, colors chosen, artwork, Mexican pottery and tiles- all lovely. The terrace is the place to be though- ocean and mountain view. There is a large swath of uninterrupted tropical forest that flows down the mountain and past the villa. Waking to tropical birdsong and to watching them flit in the trees as I drank my morning coffee on the terrace- divine. Saw whales and dolphins from terrace- got a great photo of a whale jumping (bring your zoom lens!) The potted flowering bushes on the terrace were lush and gorgeous. The Santorini inspired domes atop the neighboring villas added to the view. The bougainvillaeas throughout the villa complex were stunning. Can't forget the pool- private, warm, infinity with ocean view says it all. The place is about a 10-15 minute cab ride from city center- cost 100 pesos (I'd give 120 with tip, about $12). There is a cab stand on the main road not far from the villa, so the cabs arrived surprisingly fast (<5 minutes). We enjoyed cooking in the well stocked kitchen and had lots of fun fumbling around the grocery store (Ley) with our limited Spanish. Standing at the kitchen counter doing prep work while watching the sunset over the ocean- idyllic.

NUTSHELL:
PROS: Private, gorgeous, well-equipped (washer/dryer, linen, kitchen, etc), wonderful fixtures/decor (bathrooms, art, etc), totally unobtrusive staff. Surrounded by flora and fauna. POOL! Charming cobblestone villa complex, popping with floral color.

CONS: Distance from town (not a problem for us, but maybe for some). Front door lock is tricky and gave me fits until I learned the trick. My wife complained a bit of construction noise, but wasn't an issue for me. Its probably 1/3 mile away and really not that loud or intrusive (its not like there's a jackhammer crew in front of the place!).

100% recommend and CAN'T WAIT to go back!
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5Walk to Beach, Oceanview Villa, Private Pool-As Seen on House Hunter's Int'l
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257829
+1 469-408-0232
Puerto Vallarta Jalisco
San Francisco
5

Blissful-Bright-Charming-Comfortable-Epic View

  • 5 of 5
After staying here for 3 nights and going on to Sayulita, I was wishing we had just stayed put! Truly... it could not have been more perfect. Set just 10 min from Old Town PV and just off the road that takes you out to a number of coastal destinations, this is a perfect house for 2 / 3 or 4 guests. The infinity pool and spa are divine and the authentic adornment is just right, not to fussy and certainly not sparse. The beds are comfortable, the showers are updated, perfectly clean, and the layout overall is just exactly right. We are so grateful for the last minute find and we'll cherish our memories of cooking, relaxing, and soaking in the pool overlooking the incredible jungle and ocean with spectacular sunrises & sunsets (not high rise hotels!) Look no further, you will be so glad you decided on Casa Romantica!
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (PVR)
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Garza Blanca
Nearest Barpub
25 Metres
Garza Blanca
Nearest Restaurant
25 Metres
Garza Blanca
Car: not necessary

10 Minutes from Downtown Romantic Zone. 5 Minute walk to Garza Blanca Beach. In Beautiful Garza Blanca area.

Other Activities: ATV, Zip Line Tours, Botanical Gardens, Birding, Whale Watching, Waterfall Hiking, Boating, Shopping, Kayaking.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Puerto Vallarta Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Jun 17 2014 - Oct 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
High Season
Nov 1 2014 - Apr 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$315
 
 
Summer
May 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Puerto Vallarta Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • River
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Sofa Bed
  • Wireless Internet
  • Computer Available
  • Iron & Board
  • PC
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Portable Queen Bed
  • Inflatable Queen Bed available in Den for two extra person to sleep. Please inquire for pictures.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Car Available
  • Staff
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • water parks
  • live theater
  • forests
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • whale watching
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
May Not be Suitable for Children: Due to all of the beautiful but breakable art. Please ask owners if children allowed

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Contact Me