WEST SIDE, 101' LAKE FRONTAGE, RIGHT ON WINE TRAIL / FROM $90. P/N

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WEST SIDE, 101' LAKE FRONTAGE, RIGHT ON WINE TRAIL / FROM $90. P/N

Dresden Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom , lakeside bedroom being one with queen , sleeps 6

Cozy all season New England-style cottage, between Geneva and Penn Yan, that sleeps 6. Paddle boat, fire pit, gas grill, gas-fireplace for those fall and winter nights. Air conditioning and ceiling fans for those extremely hot days. New covered boat hoist and expanded 100'dock. Eat in kitchen has some spices and some staples. Rock and sandy lake bottom with long gradual deepening. Right on the wine trail. 32' LCD/ flat screen TV/ and DVD. A very tranquil property, winter or summer. Close to boat launch and boat rentals. Very central to all the lakes winery's. Linens provided. Great cell phone service. New this spring High speed internet for your laptop computer.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner (Owner)
Advertiser since 2008
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Owner

We liked the property due to its central location to all the lake winery's.

Owner purchased this cottage in 2001

Why Owner chose Dresden

Location to Winery's, close to resturants ,

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail / From $90. P/N
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail / From $90. P/N
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257607
+1 -585 451-0487
Dresden Seneca Lake
5

peaceful, serene and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
our first real vacation in 34 years. the view was beautiful. the cabin more than exceeded our expectations. the cabin was well maintained, and immaculate. there was nothing they didnt think of. Cozy, and peaceful the way a getaway should be. the train which only came thru 2 times was actually very quiet for a train. the lake was spectacular. it was more like being at the ocean minus the sandy beach. All in all a fantastic couple of days. I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation.
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail / From $90. P/N
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257607
+1 -585 451-0487
Dresden Seneca Lake
5

Perfect getaway location

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed in this quaint cabin for 5 nights for our anniversary trip. The scenery is so peaceful and beautiful. One of our favorite aspects was the large amount of private, grassy space between the garage and cabin which seems hard to come by on the lake! It was the perfect spot to sip your coffee and watch the sunrise. We will definitely stay again!
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail / From $90. P/N
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257607
+1 -585 451-0487
Dresden Seneca Lake
Reading, PA
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
This little bungalow was exactly as we imagined a lake house to be. It was the perfect spot for our weekend getaway. We used the paddleboat and kayaked. Big grocery store in Pen Yan was 15 minutes away, Watkins Glen less than 1/2 hour away, and only 10 miles up to Geneva. If you can't tolerate an authentic "lived in" lake cottage, then this is not for you. It's not a resort. What it is though, is your own private lakefront retreat for the cost of a motor inn. The view from the sun porch /bedroom never gets old. There is no other lakefront property like this for the price that we could find, and we scoured VRBO. The train came by rarely, and to us was just a neat, authentic attribute of this historic community. We would stay here again.
Thanks Tim.
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail / From $90. P/N
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257607
+1 -585 451-0487
Dresden Seneca Lake
Teaneck, New Jersey
5

Great Cottage

  • 5 of 5
This was our first trip to the Finger Lakes and using VBRO and and we could not have had a better experience. From our first interaction with the owner and to our eventual arrival everything was just great. We arrived to find recent newspaper clippings on the table showcasing some of the local wineries and a new brewery opening in Penn Yan. Everything in the house was clearly labeled and was very easy to use. The sunrise in the morning is just amazing and the front porch is a great place to have your morning coffee and just absorb the beauty of Seneca Lake. Yes there is a train that runs by maybe once or twice a day, but it was not a bother (the first train that we saw had 8 cars) and it generally ran in the mid morning and late afternoon. The front room was a great place to sleep (the bed was fine). We liked that we were central to pretty much everything the western shore of Seneca Lake had to offer not to mention the countless wineries and experiences along the way. If you are looking for a great place to stay while not breaking your budget in two this is definitely a good choice. We had no issues with anything during our stay....it was exactly what we expected...we are looking forward to visiting again in the near future.
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Peter for the review . Reviews are the best way for me to make the property improvements . One thing that interested me was your morning coffee on the sleeping porch. I have plans early next year to replace the single bed with a dinette table for eating and viewing the lake but can be converted to a single bed when needed.
Thanks
tim
business
West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail / From $90. P/N
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257607
+1 -585 451-0487
Dresden Seneca Lake
Salisbury, MD
4

Cozy, but...

  • 4 of 5
This is the first time, my wife or had rented from VRBO; so it’s hard to compare with what you might typically find at a property. Also, I happen to think you get what you pay for; and your expectations have to be tempered, somewhat, based on cost. This was our second time to the Finger Lakes, and we were very excited about the idea of getting a Lake House. I thought this property was going to be a real find; because until this year, it had all 5-star reviews, and was very reasonably priced. First, the good: the place is cozy and clean, and I felt like it had good amenities. Again, I don’t know what’s typical; but Wi-Fi (which we had absolutely no issue connecting to, or staying connected to, by the way) and Satellite TV were welcome. It’s on the water, of course…was well-stocked with everything we needed for the stay, and the owner has gone to the trouble of labeling everything, and providing lots of information on local shopping, attractions, etc. But now the bad: and it really starts and ends with the sleeping arrangements in this unit. As noted before: the mattress in the one, “real” bedroom is terrible. The owner acknowledged as much, from an earlier review, and vowed to replace it in August; but as of our visit, it hadn’t seemed to be done. After 2 nights, we couldn’t take it anymore, and tried to take refuge elsewhere. The pull-out sofa leaves a lot to be desired; and while we ended up on what the owner calls the “sleeper porch”, I don’t know that everyone would be entirely comfortable with that option (we had cool weather, but as someone else noted, I wouldn’t want to have to sleep out there in the dead of summer). Also, the owner is now aware of a leaky roof. We had rain our first and last day. First day was moderate, and we noticed a few drips from the ceiling in the Living Room; last day was heavy and steady, and so was the leak. I should also mention, the train did run frequently during our visit. It didn’t bother us much; but it seemed to run at least twice a day, and sometimes pretty late. Again, until this year, this property had garnered nothing but 5-star reviews. This year: (2) 3-star and now our 4. I think that should tell the owner it’s time for a little work. I think that with just a little attention to the repeatedly mentioned issues; this place would be a very nice option again. I’m not sure how well it would work for families with kids (though my wife didn’t see it that way); but it could be perfect as a romantic, couple’s getaway.
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: In answer to your review: The bed was replaced in the bedroom in July, with a new Serta pillow top mattress and box springs. I am surprised to hear of your distress. I was able to use it one time myself. I like softness and put an extra foam topper on it to make it extra soft. I slept very comfortably on it. It may be different with two people. This is the 3rd.mattress in the last 4 years for that bedroom. I had complaints before it was too soft , then too hard. I thought this being a medium firm with pillow top would make everyone happy. Maybe it was too soft for you in which case you could have taken off the extra topper I would really like some feed back from you on this.
As for the leak in the living room, i was very shocked when i arrived at the cottage. as you know i called you on your cell phone to get more details from the note you left. After we hung up I went up in the attic to check the roof for water, which was completely dry and then peered over to the roof peak wall, where the stone chimney is attached and noticed the wall was wet. On further investigation I discovered the ivy that's growing on the outside of the stone chimney had forced its way in causing a path for the water to flow inside , then follow the main beam to the center of the living room where the drip occured . I am very glad to have found and repaired the problem before serious damage could occur. It was a very dry summer and fall but the week you came we had some torrential rains. The only other time anyone else mentioned a leak was last year, a couple said they had a few drops in the living room during a rain. I looked and could find no place i thought a 10 year old roof would leak , but coated the valleys anyway. The cottage is rented 90% of the time, i only know of problems when people let me know of them. Sorry this happened on you stay.
business
West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail / From $90. P/N
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257607
+1 -585 451-0487
Dresden Seneca Lake
Upstate NY
3

Beautiful View

  • 3 of 5
Very comfy cottage, with a great retro feel. We had wonderful weather except for our last full day. Water was nice & warm for floating. My husband & son went out on the lake fishing with a local friend, and had very good luck.The dock is perfect for sunbathing and very sturdy. There are a few things that need to be addressed though. First off, NEW and WIDER steps, to access the water. The ones that are there are tiny, in very poor condition, and ivy (although beautiful) has overgrown them. There is only a scant one foot wide area, in which to put your foot. We had company a few days and they were afraid to go down to the water, which was disappointing, since that's really why they came. This repair/update REALLY needs to be priority one! Also, it should be mentioned that there are functioning train tracks within 40' feet of the kitchen door. This wasn't stated anywhere in the owners description of the camp. The train passed by 2-3 times a day...a few times at about 9-10pm. Loud is an understatement! The last thing I'd like to mention was that we never actually met the owner, which we found odd, since past renters had implied that they'd been impressed with his attentiveness. On our first night there was a problem with the TV and internet, we called his cell phone 3 times before we reached him....a little unusual we thought. The TV issue turned out to be no big deal, but, the internet problem took a 45 minute phone call, the next day, to Verizon before it was cleared up. Just not the kind of stuff you want to deal with when on vacation. All in all, we'd definitely rent again,
somewhere, on Seneca Lake...it truly is a beautiful place!
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You called first night you arrived because you could not find the wep key posted on the kitchen wall. You then tried it while on the phone with me and said you were on. 2 days later, after 2 days of internet service you said you could not get on. The signal is always there. I think the problem was your computer. The steps to the beach are very sturdy iron fire escape steps with sturdy iron railing. However it is a continual job keeping the ivy back. I hope to eventually have a wooden walkway/deck running the face of the bank so the beach would be wheel chair accessible. The Fingerlakes Railroad runs the whole length of the western shore of Seneca lake and half the eastern shore. The website position map shows the rail in relation to the cottage.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
rochester, N.Y.
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Dresden Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Post Season
Sep 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$675
 
 
WINTER
Nov 1 2014 - Apr 25 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
$85
From
$100
Fri,Sat
$475
 
 
Spring
Apr 26 2015 - May 29 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$685
 
 
June
May 30 2015 - Jun 27 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$195
Fri,Sat
$725
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 4.0%
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Dresden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , lakeside porch
  • Living room has 2 hideaway doubles
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Horse shoe pits, paddle boat, kayak
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote