INCREDIBLE NEW CUSTOM LAKE FRONT HOME

Wendy Wood

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Wendy Wood

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

INCREDIBLE NEW CUSTOM LAKE FRONT HOME

Timberland House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 8, additional guests at owners' approval with an extra $200 per night fee

This unique new 4000 sq ft 'Green' home was built on the lake in 2008. The furnishings are from working and living around Asia. Our home can accomodate a large extended family or two couple with children. We can seat up to 20 people for dinner in our Great Room looking over Lake Tahoe. Gourmet kitchen with Wolf gas stove. Master bedroom has a fireplace and jaccuzi tub. One of the downstairs bedrooms has a ultra large Chinese bed with steam shower. There are room for two full size cars and covered entry way with no snow removal. Easy to locate, 100 meters off Highway 89, 5 minutes from Tahoe City, but private. .

In the winter, Homewood Ski Resort is one mile away, Squaw Valley Ski Resort and Alpine Meadows Ski Resort are a 15 minute drive on accessible roads off Highway 89. Blackwood Canyon is 300 meters away, with world class snow mobiling, snow shoeing, and cross country skiing.

In the summer, we have our own beach and private boat buoy. Rent a boat or bring your own to access 80 miles of Lake Tahoe. The bike and skateboard trail 50 meter from the house accesses Tahoe City, Squaw Valley and Meeks Bay. Gambling and world class entertainment is 30-45 minutes away in Reno, South Lake Tahoe, and Incline. Multiple area of interest for all adults, adults with children, adults with teenagers, and families with multiple in-laws.

Please call us for additional information about this winter and summer paradise that we call home.

We also have a private chief available and concierge service.

Our personal property manager will cater to your needs and provide superior service to other rental companies in the area who, when busy, can leave homes unclean and applicances not working properly with little help or anyone to come immediately. We have suffered this with several luxury rental companies and decided finally to make sure our property provides the best experience possible, your are working directly with the owner and not a disconnected, low paid worker who could care less about your personal experience.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
My wife and three children spent both July 4, 2010 and Christmas 2010 at this 3015 Westlake Blvd. new custom home. In the summer we had our own beach and boat buoy. We went water skiing most every morning, the boat was 20 feet off our own beach, we used the owners dinghy. Some nights we drove the boat to many different restaurants with boat access. The children used the bike bath in front of the house for riding and skateboarding.



Winter Xmas 2010 we used the home to access Homewood Ski Resort, 3 miles from the house, we came home for lunch with the family. For more aggressive skiing we were 15 minutes from Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley.



The home is ideally suited for a large family to relax, cook, and enjoy the view of Lake Tahoe. Some of us went to Blackwood Canyon, 2 minutes away, to cross country ski and snow show, gorgeous with no people. These family memories cannot be replaced, anyone would love the versatility of this home, check it out.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1

Wendy Wood

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Outside our front door and across the road is this beautiful beach.

Wendy Wood purchased this house in 2008

We developed this site that once had four historic buildings and now accommodates two beautiful green and solar homes. It has its own beach and buoy. We water ski in front of our house. We take our boat to numerous restaurants. We love the West Shore of Tahoe for its exceptional beauty and lack of traffic.

While staying at this property you can enjoy the beauty of Lake Tahoe and easily participate in both Summer and Winter Sports. There is a gourmet kitchen and can seat 12 people in the great room/kitchen for drinks, dinner and family conversation, plus a bit of sports viewing on the big screen/Direct TV. Being new, all of the elements of comfort are here, we also have Tempurpedic beds which we love, which makes resting after a long ski day easy.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Incredible New Custom Lake Front Home
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
business
Incredible New Custom Lake Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257302vb
530-559-2971
Timberland Lake Tahoe North Shore
Sacramento
5

AMAZING SNOW – FANTASTIC FAMILY SKI VACATION

  • 5 of 5
My husband, and two small children came up for a week after Christmas. There were back to back huge storms with new snow almost every day. Our kids had never seen snow so the snow falling every day was a big thrill for them. We skied Squaw Valley but it was too crowed over the holiday. We decided to ski Homewood, they picked us up from right near the house every day. Homewood was amazing, it had beautiful views, great snow, and was 5 minutes from the house.
The house was to die for, it had amazing views from almost every room. We really liked the great room and gourmet kitchen. We primarily cooked in and even uncovered the barbeque. We really love the master bedroom where we watched the snow fall while drinking coffee in bed.
I would highly recommend this house area for winter or summer. The property manager was also always available for us on things like the TV remote. The owners kept the decks clear of snow, which was great for the kids.
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incredible New Custom Lake Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257302vb
530-559-2971
Timberland Lake Tahoe North Shore
United States
5

TAHOE GEM

  • 5 of 5
Our family of 8 have visited this lovely lakefront home since it was completed in 2010. It is truly a “builder’s home” with amazing imported tropical wood from Bali and hardwood floors from old tobacco barns in North Carolina. The doors are breathtaking and we love all the special tile touches in the designer bathrooms.

The views are amazing, the master bedroom is like being on an ocean liner with a clear view of the water, stunning with a full moon and early sunrises. There is a fireplace in the master bedroom that is soothing on a cool winter, spring or fall evening/morning, it lights automatically. Our boat is set on a buoy just 60 ft from the beach directly opposite the home, we could swim or use the double kayak that is locked on the beach to access our boat. There is also a public pier just 5 minutes south of the home. We love the Jacuzzi bath in the master and steam shower in the lower master bedroom.

The kitchen is complete with every gourmet touch, two dishwashers too and a large barbeque on the ample deck. There is seating for 10 on the deck with table seating for 6.

We are repeat visitors and highly recommend this lovely home.
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Incredible New Custom Lake Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257302vb
530-559-2971
Timberland Lake Tahoe North Shore
San Francisco, California
5

PERFECT FAMILY HOME, FANTASTIC LOCATION, WITH TONS OF AMENITIES

  • 5 of 5
My husband, 2 year old son and our dog - Dominic - stayed for a week at this amazing custom home. The home was designed impeccably, with interior decor from Bali and art from other parts of Asia and the Middle East.

We loved the fact that such a high-end house was ‘dog friendly’, a critical requirement since our dog is our second child. Sammy had a blast, taking full advantage of the quick access to the beach to fetch balls.

Our favorite room was the expansive great room that connects to the kitchen. We spend a lot of time inside with our 2 year old and loved cooking dinner while we looked out on the lake. We also took our son and our dog on the owners kayaks, they were clean and very accessible. The views from the water were stunning!

We did not like pine pollen, it was on everything but we looked it up and it happens every year. The cleaning person - Bertha - was wonderful and made sure everything was spotless. She took ample time to show us how all the appliances and satellite TV worked. We are for sure coming back next year, this was perfect!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incredible New Custom Lake Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257302vb
530-559-2971
Timberland Lake Tahoe North Shore
Malibu, CA
5

GREAT HOSTS, PHENOMENAL HOME!

  • 5 of 5
This was the second time I brought my family to this elegant lakeside mansion. The first year was so perfect I put a deposit down for the following year upon checking out. The hosts and their cleaning team are so professional and thoughtful its hard to think I would have my family vacation anywhere else. We stayed in the incredible master bedroom suite and shared the other two rooms with my brothers and their wives, they said it was like everyone had a master bedroom suite. We had our little girls along who slept on the air mattress provided by the hosts. For two years in a row we found the home very clean, tidy and well stocked with kitchenware for entertaining. Upon arrival, again, the home was immaculate and it felt like I was walking into an Architectural Digest cover. They offer use of their 2 kayaks and so much more. It has been brought to my attention that a group stayed in the home prior to our visit this year and they are trying to scam the wonderful owners into refunding their payment in exchange for a positive review on this site. Shame on them. If you read that review, please know that any negative information regarding this home and the owners would be completely counter to my 2 years experience vacationing in this family's amazing home. I'll be back for sure!
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We do have 3 kayaks..one double is locked on the beach..there are 2 singles under the house.
business
Incredible New Custom Lake Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257302vb
530-559-2971
Timberland Lake Tahoe North Shore
San Francisco, CA
1

GREAT VIEW, CHALLANGING OWNERS

  • 1 of 5
We stayed at this property over the 4th of July, it has a great view and comfortable beds, however, we did encounter some issues with cleanliness and with the owner. We stayed with 8 adults and 1 infant. This home would be good for an older couple or a larger group of friends with no children. Outdoor play space is limited to the deck and rocky beach.
Following are a few things we would have liked to know prior to our stay:
- Decorations have been changed in the home, listing features outdated photos
- 2 kayaks available for use, listing states 3
- Beach is across the main road and is rocky vs. sandy
- Outdoor patio dining seating for 6, inside dining seating for 8
- Washer has seen heavy use, fabric softener residue in machine and rust stains left on white clothing
- Office, which is used as a bedroom for overflow guests, has sliding doors which do not fully close. There is a 2 inch gap on the side of each door as well as a gap in the middle.
- Seemingly, owners use home as primary residence and have a dog. The listings states “Pets Considered,” but note there is a dog who lives in the home at all times. If you have an allergy and/or aversion to pets, this is not the right rental for you!
- The drawers and cabinets in the master bathroom were full / covered by scarves. There is no room to store your personal items upon check-in.
Working with the owner was a challenge. Upon arrival, we noted several dirty items in the kitchen along with dog hair covering all visible surfaces (couch, bed, floors, etc.). We reached out to the cleaners as well as the owner to note our disappointment and avoid being charged extra cleaning fees on departure. We were told that there was no working vacuum cleaner in the home. The cleaners did come back to the house that afternoon to vacuum; however, there was still hair left. The owner sent her daughter to the home the next day with a vacuum and we were able to clean ourselves.
The owner stated that the cleaners had done an extensive clean on the home prior to us arriving, we noted that the items that were said to have been cleaned, were not. I sent photos of the dirty items to the owner upon departure so she could speak with her cleaners and understand why the cleaning wasn’t done to the standard they had implied. The owner then responded to my email with character insults, parenting advice, threats of legal action and accusations of theft. Needless to say, the interaction with the owner tainted our vacation experience!
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Thank you for your extensive review, however is it not accurate on several significant points. It is unfortunate that some people just are not happy no matter what is available to them.

We do have 3 kayaks, one double is on the beach however this family may never have visited the beach, and most beaches in Tahoe are made of small pebbles, not sand. Complaining about a beach, really???

We are pet friendly and although the house was thoroughly cleaned by our professional cleaning group and ourselves prior to the arrival of these guests, no one informed us that they had extensive allergies to fabric softener and other allergens in the Tahoe environment.

The washer had been cleaned thoroughly with Affresh but her infant was allergic to fabric softener, more Affresh was available to her if she wanted to use it but she did not use it.

We also only allow 8 guests to minimize impact to the home, Arin said to our property manager that she only had 6 guests, it appears in her review that she had 9 guests, that is against policy and not respectful of our requests.

The doors she is referring to in the office are reclaimed and carved artistic teak doors that are huge 10 ft wide barn doors that offer good privacy as long as the guests are normal and not trying to peak into the two inches of door separation on the ends of the barn door panels. People usually notice the craftsmanship, but not these folks.

This is a new $3M new home which is the builder's home, it is very special with many unusual details and craftsman designs. It is not rented year round, we have shared it with many people who love the location, amenities, etc. We are pet friendly, Arin and her guests were apparently allergic to dogs also but did nothing to inquire when making the booking about pets. We would have gladly recommended that she book another hypoallergenic property that is completely sealed off from the environment if she had mentioned her condition and that of her family.

The house is exceptionally clean and well cared for, new cookware and dishes are in abundance. We hire professional cleaners who clean most of the high end luxury homes on the Lake in Tahoe. The owner and personal cleaner of our home had never experienced in her many years such unusual guests and she did come back to clean at the guests request even though the excessive pine pollen was the issue and that drops hourly at this time of year.

These guests started from arrival to claw back some of their payment.
business
Incredible New Custom Lake Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257302vb
530-559-2971
Timberland Lake Tahoe North Shore
United States
5

INCREDIBLE CUSTOM HOME - AMAZING LAKEFRONT EXPERIENCE, GREAT BEACH, FABULOUS LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
We had fantastic family vacation with our two college age children came into Reno airport (1 hour away), for one of the best vacation we have ever had as a family The home is located in Homewood, on Hurricane Bay, 5 minutes from Sunnyside Restaurant, and 7 minutes from Tahoe City.

The home is custom built by the owners, with hard wood floor and carved doors from Bali, Indonesia. We stayed upstairs in a bedroom with a Tempurpedic mattress, a view of the lake, and a sitting area of morning coffee.

The kids stayed downstairs, in large bedrooms with Tempurpedic mattresses, large view windows,individual bathrooms, and wonderful decorations.

Plenty of room for families and room to spread out with privacy.

The upstairs has a huge great room with a view of the lake and a surround sound satellite TV with all the stations and a DVD player. The system is simple to figure out, hoorah for that. The kitchen was exceptional, it had a gas Wolf Range, two prep areas/sinks for the gourmet chief in the group.

We bought discount tickets at Squaw Valley and Alpine Village, Homewood, and North Star. We loved the van pick up service from Homewood but really enjoyed the more challenging runs at Squaw and Alpine.

We stayed two week and will probably come back in the summer and take advantage of the kayaking, the owners have three kayaks to utilize. There is also a bike trial in front of the house that runs from the house to Squaw Valley, apparently a nice relatively short ride along the river. We cross county skied in Blackwood Canyon, about 5 minutes from the house. Blackwood Canyon is supposed to be fantastic for biking and hiking, looking forward to check it out. The decks has a huge barbeque with outdoor seating. Although i do not own a boat, I was told there is a bouy for a boat, in front of the house.

The owners are very nice people and can tell you where to hike, bike, eat and etc., very helpful.

We will be back again, I can highly recommend this home rental
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Emerald Bay State Park
Lake Tahoe
Inspiration Point Vista
Homewood Mountain Resort
Sunnyside Lodge
Sunnyside Lodge
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Reno
Car: necessary

Gambling, big name entertainment, mountain biking, and river rafting, the activities are endless. Go to Tahoe House, just 2 miles toward Tahoe City and voted the best bakery in Tahoe, pick up the free weekly publications for events and things to do.

Also, the Chamber of Commerce is just next to Fanny Bridge and across from the Dam Cafe in Tahoe City, pick up lots of local information there too.

You can relax or be as busy as you want to be.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Timberland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 15 - Sep 8
7 night minimum stay
$4,550
 
 
Winter
Dec 10 - Mar 20
3 night minimum stay
$700
From
$700
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,550
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$700
From
$700
Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Call or email owner, Wendy Wood, to discuss. Pets maybe OK.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Timberland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Garage
  • Covered Parking
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Exquistely designed with steam shower in one master bedroom and a master jacuzzi tub in the other master bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), one luxury air mattress for office.
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Video Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • marina
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • miniature golf
  • sledding
  • boating
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • rafting
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • parasailing
  • cross country skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • jet skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • water skiing
Notes:
Steam shower, beach, deep water boat buoy, bike path, 3 kayaks, heated 2 car garage, close to Tahoe City, stunning location.
Email Owner Email