Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

the chauffeur's cottage@ house of ringling

Brian

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Brian

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

the chauffeur's cottage@ house of ringling

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Sarasota Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2bed 1 bath, sleeps 4.

This charming cottage was used by the chauffeur to Alfred Ringling. It is a two story detached property. Fully airconditioned. There is a private driveway and parking. Inside the property, are two upstairs bedrooms, a full bathroom with bath and shower. Downstairs a full kitchen. including washer/dryer. The living area has a dining table. You may also dine outside on the screened lanai. The deck and gazebo provide excellent relaxation areas.. The house has full cable and high speed internet service. It is situated by Sarasota bay and close to all the arts and museum district. The Ringling museum, Crosley mansion, USF and New college are all but a stones throw away. The famous beaches of Sarasota are a mere 20 minutes drive and the downtown area 10 minutes away. We also have two other properties adjacent if further accom. is reqd.

Brian (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
the chauffeur's cottage@ house of ringling
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews
4

Lovely Property!!

  • 4 of 5

The house was clean and comfortable with nice amenities. The property owner was very courteous and attentive during our stay, going out of his way to get us cookware needed for a small dinner party. The neighborhood was quiet and taking our little dog out for walks was pleasant. The patio provided relaxing morning and evening lounging. The location is convenient to get to and from. The only small complaint (and reason for not giving this property five stars) is that the mattress in the smaller room was extremely hard and made for a restless and uncomfortable night's sleep. A memory foam pad or some type of additional cushioning may help that though. Otherwise we could not have been more charmed with the place!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad the renters enjoyed their stay. The question of mattress firmness is something that's subjective, never the less we will check it out and we're always grateful for constructive comment. It is a delightful property and we constantly aim to improve.
Stratham, NH
5

Did not want to leave

  • 5 of 5

I spent 2 weeks at this wonderful cottage, and truly felt at home there. The pictures do not yet reflect the updated kitchen and bathroom, with granite counters and new stainless appliances. The home is located on a quiet, affluent street two blocks in from Rt 41 and I did not hear traffic. The airport is very close but I did not hear planes at night and only heard occasional planes during the day. I found the home to be meticulously clean with ample linens. Kitchen supplies were adequate with dishwasher availability. The screened lanai was a treat and ample private driveway with large oaks and spanish moss was wonderful. The one thing that was lacking was a guest guide with maps, brochures, and instructions on how to find your way around the home..such as thermostat location, trash and recycling pickup days and TV remote usage. It took me a while to figure out how to clean out the lint filter in the dryer, and would have appreciated a sign on the dryer. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
4

Charming

  • 4 of 5

Mostly charming with very interesting historical value. The updates on the first floor and the bathroom upstairs were very nice, including beautiful tile and stainless steel appliances. The neighborhood is very quiet with a mixture of modest and upscale homes and lovely views of Sarasota Bay. It was close and convenient to a lot of sites in and around Sarasota. Although our stay was very enjoyable overall, we do have some small complaints regarding conveniences. We had difficulty gaining access to the cottage upon arrival, but a phone call to Brian quickly resolved the problem. Even though there is a washer and dryer included, there were not enough hand towels and wash cloths provided for the bathroom. There were no dish towels in the kitchen. We also had no bar soap for our first shower........had to buy some the next day. There was also no dishwasher soap provided. The lanai is badly in need of improvement. The adjoining deck could use a fresh coat of stain or paint. We had visiting relatives over for dinner our second night and the very old furniture outside was dirty and quite frankly, not very inviting. We also had to change our plans to grill out, because there was no propane in the tank. Then we had to have my Aunt (from Naples) bring a large enough skillet and boiling pot to prepare a pasta dish (my brother later found a large black pot in the bushes outside). The top of the Lanai as you looked out from the bathroom window was covered with brush and debris from surrounding vegetation. Less significant observations included a TV in one upstairs bedroom that did not work, and a large clock in the living room that obviously needed a battery. We didn't have any trouble with the TV in the living room and I greatly appreciated the WiFi and the VCR for a couple of exercise videos that I had brought. As I stated earlier, this is a charming property, but with more attention to detail it could be absolutely exceptional!!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate this review. I equally, am disappointed in our ' housekeeping oversights ' We will address these and I welcome all feedback, we will strive to improve the Chauffeurs cottage and our guests experiences. Thank you Jan for your input.
5

Greeat!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great property, great location. Only 2 small complaints, there were no skillets to use for making our breakfast which we went shopping for items first before we found out. 2ndly the TV wasn't working no instructions whatsoever on how to use the 3 remotes. So without TV we made the most of the beautiful screened in deck and walking in this beautiful neighborhood. Great sunsets a short walk and all the neighbors were so friendly. Will stay again, we did love the quant property. Like I said small complaints that we just worked around without and found other things to do which is what vacations are really for. Thanks for an awesome getaway!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry about the misunderstanding re the skillets, they had been placed by previous guests in an inaccessible spot. I am glad the renters enjoyed the stay, we endeavor to make the cottage as comfortable as possible.
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

This place was great. Plenty of room, beautifully maintained, and absolutely the perfect getaway for my fiance and I's 1st anniversary. It was perfect, very private, and the owner was great. 5 stars all the way.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
United States
4

Perfect location in Sarasota

  • 4 of 5

We rented the Chauffeur's Cottage for 6 weeks. At the time the photos included were accurate. We were very pleasantly surprised to find, on arrival, that Brian had just completed a remodeling of the kitchen, living area and bathroom. The changes made the place perfect while not diminishing the fact that this is a very old building used to house the chauffeur to the Ringling family in the next door House of Ringling. The neighborhood is a 1926 subdivision which was the first golf course subdivision in Florida. Four homes within a 2 block area are on the Historic Register and Sarasota Bay is just around the corner. We found this to be a perfect location for exploring Sarasota, Cortez, and the beaches. It's very close to the airport which we found to be a plus when picking up visiting guests and my husband loved watching the planes. All in all a very nice place to escape the cold!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linda and Mel, were a delight to host. We were still adding the finishing touches as they arrived on New Years Eve. They were very patient ! I hope all was worthwhile. I saw pet walking taking place daily .. The neighborhood lends itself to walks by the bay and wonderful sunsets. The cottage has a nice set back and driveway, a lanai that you may sit and watch the world go by. When people discover the area, generally their response is wow ... I hope this lovely couple return !

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
sarasota
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
500 Metres
us 41
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: recommended

This charming cottage was used by the chauffeur of the Ringling family. The property is detached and has private parking. The inside consists of two upstairs bedrooms and a bathroom with full bath and shower. Downstairs there is a full kitchen, complete with all the usual appliances incl. washer/dryer. The living area has a dining table. Outside has a lanai, where you may also dine. Adjacent is a patio/deck and gazebo. The house is fully air conditioned. There is full cable and internet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Sarasota Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
$4,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $70 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Sarasota Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote