Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

NEW XL HOTTUB & 1 MILE TO HOMEWOOD SKI RESORT. BECOME OUR NEXT 5 STAR REVIEWER.

Philip

Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Philip

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

NEW XL HOTTUB & 1 MILE TO HOMEWOOD SKI RESORT. BECOME OUR NEXT 5 STAR REVIEWER.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Homewood House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

You will love our Tahoe House as much as we do during all of the seasons of the year...Summer, Fall, Winter and Spring are all great times for a great family/friends getaway to Tahoe House.

Situated in the family friendly neighborhood of Tahoe Swiss Village and only two blocks from the private HOA beach with two piers and ample beach area. The location is ideal for year-round activities and is only 5 miles from Tahoe City, 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort and is close to many other ski areas, hiking & biking trails, shops and restaurants.

The cabin can accommodate up to 12 people with a bright open floor plan with 5 bedrooms & 3 remodeled bathrooms. The large and sunny decks to the front and back of the house are equipped with a BBQ, patio furniture & lounge swings. A brand new 7 person hot tub is situated on the back deck which is perfect for warming up after a dip in the lake, or soaking after a long day of skiing. The new furnishings, TV, DVD, VCR and stereo offers the comforts of home. The house also includes high-speed internet access with wireless modem. Children are welcome and the inclusion of a port-a-crib and booster seat, plus plenty of toys & games, make it a very child friendly vacation rental. As for pets.... they are apart of your family and are welcome to join and enjoy Tahoe. After all they would not appreciate being left behind and missing all the fun.

Upper level consists of:

- One Master bedroom with adjoining remodeled bathroom

- Two additional bedrooms with queen size beds and large closets

- Remodeled bathroom off hallway with shower / soaking tub

- Gourmet kitchen with adjoining dining area

- Cozy living room with stone fireplace and 37' LCD television

- Spacious deck off the back of the house with a 7 person hot tub and front deck with built-in bench seating

Lower level consists of:

- Large recreational room with pool table, poker table, and air hockey table

- Downstairs lounge/TV room/bedroom with King size sofa bed, 50' TV and fireplace

- Bunk bed room with three sets of twin beds (sleeps up to 6)

- Laundry area with HE front loading washer and dryer

- Remodeled bathroom with walk-in tiled shower

See our updated calendar for availability.

Keywords: House, Homewood, Hot tub, West Shore,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Philip (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our group of three families with 5 kids had a blast at The Tahoe House. We skied at Homewood, which was about a 3 minute drive. We came back to the cabin for lunch everyday and to rest our feet in comfort and headed back for the quick drive to the mountain. The cabin has abundant living area so both the parents and children could enjoy their "serenity" while on vacation. The three bathrooms are all remodeled and beautiful. The best amenity of the cabin was the large and wonderful hot tub on the back deck. We took in the stars while soaked in the hot tub every night and could not think of a better way to end each and every great day vacationing in Tahoe.
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
New XL Hottub & 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort. Become our next 5 Star reviewer.
average rating of 4.826087 based on 24 reviews
business
New XL Hottub & 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort. Become our next 5 Star reviewer.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257199vb
-(415) 710-6655 (California, USA)
Homewood Lake Tahoe North Shore
Novato, CA, USA
5

WOW - this is the perfect Tahoe house!!

  • 5 of 5
First of all, I never take the time to write reviews of anything, but we had such a phenomenal experience at this house that it deserves endorsement. The location is awesome because it's just a short walk to the private beach and new pier, close to Tahoe City, almost walking distance to Homewood, and some pretty awesome hiking. The house has a great hot tub, game room downstairs, bunk-beds for the kids!! Our family had a blast cooking in the kitchen, enjoying drinks on the deck, and then eating at the large table. It's a great house for friends & family get-togethers - thank you!!
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New XL Hottub & 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort. Become our next 5 Star reviewer.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257199vb
-(415) 710-6655 (California, USA)
Homewood Lake Tahoe North Shore
4

New Years 2013

  • 4 of 5
A group of us- 10 total adults- stayed at the cabin over New Years and had an excellent time. The cabin was easy to get to, had plenty of room, and everything that we wanted for the trip. The owners were easy to deal with and handled everything from payment to the deposit fairly. The game room was great, although the TV in that room wasn't working for us. Other than that the cabin was as advertised and was perfect for the holiday. I would definitely recommend this cabin.
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New XL Hottub & 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort. Become our next 5 Star reviewer.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257199vb
-(415) 710-6655 (California, USA)
Homewood Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Perfect for our big family

  • 5 of 5
We all enjoyed staying in this fabulous family home. My husband loves to cook and the kitchen was easy to work in and we all enjoyed sitting at the long dining room table together. The kids loved the bunkbeds and the air hockey game. We had such a fun time sledding right in the backyard. The new hot-tub was perfect for us to warm up in after playing in the snow. We will definitely be coming back again and again!
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. Please consider the Tahoe House your home away from home. Just wait until you and the family get to enjoy everything the Summer months have to offer. We look forward to your next trip to the Tahoe House.
business
New XL Hottub & 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort. Become our next 5 Star reviewer.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257199vb
-(415) 710-6655 (California, USA)
Homewood Lake Tahoe North Shore
Seattle, WA
5

Great Tahoe Basecamp!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time staying at this home near Tahoe. Our group loved the hot tub and the proximity to the lake--it's an easy two block walk to a beach with a long pier. The house was comfortable and well-appointed and full of fun toys like inner tubes, sports equipment, pool table, etc. Beds were comfy, there were plenty of towels, all kinds of cookware. The layout would be great for multiple families with kids, as there are three bedrooms plus a downstairs living room and a bunk room. We had four couples, so the room arrangement wasn't ideal, but we knew that going in and the house offered plenty of space for us to accommodate everyone.

The location was great for us and the home is located conveniently for folks whose itineraries have them mostly on the west side of the lake. We made some trips to the east side beaches as well, and while traffic can get heavy, we didn't encounter any problems and could usually make the drive to the Sand Harbor area in about 40 minutes. All in all it's a nice, central location.

Communication was great with the owner, who answered any questions I had during the booking process and was available throughout. Overall we had a great stay and will likely be back.
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New XL Hottub & 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort. Become our next 5 Star reviewer.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257199vb
-(415) 710-6655 (California, USA)
Homewood Lake Tahoe North Shore
2

Disappointed...Good Luck Getting Your Deposit Back Even With Confirmation of No Damage!

  • 2 of 5
THE GOOD: The house is very close to the lake - about a 2 minute walk to a private beach. The kitchen is one of the better stocked kitchens we've seen, in terms of both equipment and sundries.

THE BAD: What's not shown in the pictures...an open hole that is about a foot in diameter in the game room ceiling, a game room that reeks of pet urine, a master bath that is missing finishing trim/vent covers/etc. Way too many things like this for a place that is at this price point. This clearly looks like a family place that they rent out when not in use by the family as evidenced by stuff all over the house. That would be fine if we were staying there as family friends, at a reduced rate. Not okay when paying full fare.

THE WORST: Working with the owner was a NIGHTMARE. While there, we could not get any of the TVs to work. We e-mailed and texted him. No response. We then called him after waiting a day. He was put out at the call, practically scolded us for watching TV up there, and then essentially told us "I don't know what to tell you." That was especially a bummer since we couldn't watch games (don't plan on watching a game and the fire as promised in the photo).

After we left, I had to follow up with the owner more than three times, several times with absolutely no response from him, after he confirmed that there was no damage and the deposit would be returned (NOTE- you will have to pay an actual deposit, not just a check to be held). On September 11, he confirmed the damage deposit would be returned. I had to follow up several more times, finally with a very stern e-mail, and ultimately received the refund on October 22.
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Although I recall your stay and the issues with the TV, I had to go back and read our e-mail conversation to try and understand why you would speak of me in such a way. After review of our conversations during and after your stay I am still confused. As for the deposit, I had proactively sent you an e-mail after your stay confirming the return address for your deposit and took your word on the condition of the house. I intended to send you the refund of the deposit, but simply forgot. I apologized to you and thought the apology was accepted. Aside from the return of the deposit, the only comment you made regarding your stay was that “the house is great”.
As for the TV, you know that I was at a remote cabin in Colorado during your stay and did not have internet or cell phone access. The house instructions I provided lists three other contact people as back-ups. I called and tried to troubleshoot the TV’s upon getting your messages. I had casually mentioned that I am not familiar with the operations of the TV systems since I do not find time while up there to watch TV. My comment was not intended to insult but rather offer an explanation for why I was unfamiliar with the operation of the TV’s. We concluded that the cable company must have been having an outage since none of the TVs were working. Although I could tell you were disappointed by the outage, I thought you understood the solution was out of my control.

I thought you accepted my apology regarding the delayed deposit return and did not hold me accountable for the cable outage. I wish you had aired your grievances to me directly and not in the format of a review. I take great pride in the 21 perfect reviews because they represent this magical Tahoe House which our family has chosen to share with many wonderful families and groups.
business
New XL Hottub & 1 mile to Homewood Ski Resort. Become our next 5 Star reviewer.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257199vb
-(415) 710-6655 (California, USA)
Homewood Lake Tahoe North Shore
Bakersfield
5

runaround

  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed another stay at the Chigos home on the peaceful West Shore of Lake Tahoe. This home has become our go-to place for family celebrations and events. Our sons participated in a 72 mile ride around Lake Tahoe. They returned to a steaming hot tub, dinner prepared in a kitchen that wants for nothing and sleep on comfy beds. Our young grandkids were entertained in the game room with air hockey, while the adults played pool. Plenty of deck space for quiet time as well as quality family time. Thanks for another memorable experience in your warm home. We'll be back soon!
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $350 Per night

Homewood House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 15 2014 - Mar 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$425
$2,450
 
 
Spring
Apr 2 2015 - Jun 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2015 - Sep 7 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $89
Cleaning Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmed. Holiday rates available by request.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Homewood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1) King size posterpedic sofa bed in the downstairs living room / bedroom, Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Other Vacation Properties

$195 - $730 per night
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$1,750 - $2,450 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$2,200 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote