Terrible service, do not stay here.
Submitted: October 3, 2011
Stayed: September 2011
The apartment is in a great location. I give it an extra star for that reasons. I would strongly recommend against staying here, though. For one, there is no WiFi and when I tried to contact the owner about that, I got no response. This was a major inconvenience as I had to work, but there was a free open SSID in the building that I was able to mooch off of during our stay.
Second, there is no sign with the rules for receiving your deposit back. Those rules include taking the trash out and having all utensils put away, among other things. So basically what happened is that we ran the dishwasher on our way out, and because it was not unloaded and we forgot about the trash we got charged $75 out of our deposit. $75 for forgetting the trash and not unloading the dishwasher.
Look, I could understand the charge if there was a reminder note to guests. But there was none. I signed the rental agreement MONTHS before moving in, and it's appalling they expect guests to memorize all the details--and there are many, they are pretty uptight!
This is supposed to be a vacation rental, not a headache. No courtesy reminder for guests about what they need to do before exiting would have solved a lot of problems. Instead, they are providing terrible service. There are a lot of places to stay in Denver, avoid this one.
Owner's Response: This is the first time since starting to book short term tenants at our place in 2009, that we have not returned a full refund of deposit. The $75 charge was for 2.5 hours at $30 an hour to clean with no laundry service charge, after this tenant vacated. The remaining $50 of the deposit was returned. We thought it was reasonable considering the condition for her 6 day stay.
All agreements including vacating the premises are fully disclosed in the lease and there is an on-site binder for referencing any questions a tenant might have. As advertised, there is a computor there with high speed internet access. The booking was made from first contact, in it's entirety, over a 27 day communication period with a total of 24 emails exchanged during that time span. Unfortunately the day before occupancy of the tenant, we were out of town and unable to respond to her WIFI question.
We are sad that she is so unhappy, but feel we treated her with fairness and respect.
Helpful votes: 6/6
Did you find this review helpful?