Chris Capalbo

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BOOK YOUR FALL STAY NOW!!

Ellicottville Chalet Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 8-10

This hillside chalet was recently built and is ready to turn your vacation dreams into reality! Located minutes away from Holiday Valley and the village of Ellicottville. The home sits off of a quiet country road, within walking distance to state land, on over 2.5 acres that is great for sledding or to build a snowman. There are 4 bedrooms and a pullout sleeper sofa that can accommodate 8-10 guests. The main level features an open floor plan that includes a wall of windows to take in the view, 52 inch LCD TV, river stone sided wood burning fireplace and large dining area with breakfast bar. Prepare your meals in the chef's kitchen complete with a 5-burner double oven range, wine refrigerator, dishwasher and refrigerator. All new furniture makes up the living spaces, which includes a lower level game room for board games or puzzles. A washer and dryer are also on site to handle all of your laundry needs. Come with your family and friends to enjoy peace and tranquility in any season!

Mountain Biking: Some of the best single track mountain biking in the east is located in and around Ellicottville. There are miles and miles of trails for every experience level. Bike rentals are available in town!

Hiking: The state parks and trail systems also provide for an excellent hiking adventure. The 3rd largest state park in the country, Allegany State Park, is only a short 15 minute drive away. You can also hike the numerous mountain bike trails that are in the area.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
Chris, I just wanted to let you know our family had a great time at your place. It was a very spacious, well stocked, and clean house at a great location. Thank you for sharing it with others.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1

Chris Capalbo

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

My wife and I live in Buffalo, NY and love to spend time in Ellicottville with our family and friends. We have started a familiy of our own and can't wait to bring our children to Ellicoittville to ski! We enjoy the off-season just as much. We are close to state land and enjoy taking hikes and mountain biking on the trails.

Chris Capalbo purchased this chalet in 2008

Ellicottville is the perfect getaway in any season. There is XC and downhill skiing, snowboarding, tubing and snowmobiling in the winter; Hiking, mountain biking and golf in the spring, summer and fall. Weekend festivals and antiquing are always an option in any season! Simply relax and enjoy the mountain view in front of the wood burning fireplace or, outdoors, with the granite lined fire-pit. The chalet is close enough for a weekend getaway from many locations.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Book Your Fall Stay Now!!
average rating of 4.55 based on 20 reviews
business
Book Your Fall Stay Now!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253187
+1 716 713-2478
Ellicottville Chautauqua Allegheny
5

GREAT CABIN CLOSE TO ELLICOTTEVILLE, NY!

  • 5 of 5
Very nicely appointed house for a decent size group. Great kitchen to cook in, and nice great room to hang out in. House was very well appointed and offered a perfect weekend get away for our small group of 6. 8 people could easily stay there too with an additional couple if they are kids and don't mind a pull out couch. Very nice open layout!
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Book Your Fall Stay Now!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253187
+1 716 713-2478
Ellicottville Chautauqua Allegheny
5

GREAT OVERALL ACCOMMODATION

  • 5 of 5
Overall impression of the property was very nice. It is somewhat secluded so there is no noise around you and you do not have to worry about be loud (like sometimes in a hotel room setting)

Nice open concept kitchen and main floor which is great for larger groups. Beds were comfortable and clean. Fire place inside and bonfire pit outside was great as well.

If you are looking to head into the town of Ellicotville then cabs are available and we didn't have a problem with this.

Good place to go with family or friends. Would consider this rental in the summer if organizing a large golf group as well.

Owner was quick to respond to emails regarding info about cabs, proximity to town and fire wood contacts. Overall a great stay.

Two items of note. BBQ was not the greatest as it only heated up in the front portion. Dishwasher was not working properly (just had to simply turn the power off at the breaker then power up again). These are two small issues. Overall great stay and would recommend to all groups
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Book Your Fall Stay Now!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253187
+1 716 713-2478
Ellicottville Chautauqua Allegheny
5

EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS.

  • 5 of 5
The house is even more spacious than the pictures convey. Everything is very well appointed -- simple but classy, down to the Cuisinart appliances and kitchenware. Everything was clean. Great view of a farm from the living area. Chris was clear and easy to communicate with. The only downsides -- which were mentioned in other reviews -- are bad cell reception and no wifi. Though that could be a positive if you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle and relax with family/friends! I recommend this house without reservation and would stay here again when visiting Ellicottville!
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Book Your Fall Stay Now!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253187
+1 716 713-2478
Ellicottville Chautauqua Allegheny
5

WONDERFUL CHALET WITH GREAT VIEWS!

  • 5 of 5
We chose this chalet for our Ladies fall weekend in Ellicottville and were very pleased with our selection. We especially liked the open floor plan with the large front windows and the beautiful wood burning fireplace that we used both evenings to help take the chill out of the damp fall air. The kitchen was well stocked with glasses and stoneware and had updated appliances. All of the bedrooms were clean and comfortable. Although the chalet was just a short trip into Ellicottville, it was located on a secluded hillside with beautiful views of the surrounding foliage. All of the ladies agreed that it was a terrific choice. Our only regret was that due to the weather we were unable to use the fire pit.

Chris, the owner, was very responsive to all of the questions we had prior to the trip. He was a pleasure to work with.

We would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay while visiting the Ellicottville area.
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Book Your Fall Stay Now!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253187
+1 716 713-2478
Ellicottville Chautauqua Allegheny
5

GREAT PROPERTY!

  • 5 of 5
Beautiful area and house! Everything is updated and clean. Lots of room for entertaining in a family style setting. Owner was very available for any questions we had.
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Book Your Fall Stay Now!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253187
+1 716 713-2478
Ellicottville Chautauqua Allegheny
1

VERY DISAPPOINTING

  • 1 of 5
Here are the issues with this property:

- Extremely poor cell phone service in the area
- Exterior wood/gravel stairs are a trip hazard
- Exterior porch stairs are in poor repair, are slanted, and a trip hazard.
- Front "garden" is an uninspiring mess of untamed weeds. Looks like an abandoned property.
- Circular stair case leading to the master bedroom is undersized and very narrow.
- Kitchen is under equipped, for example there is no kettle
- Carpet in the basement is in poor repair with numerous pulled loops, visible seams, etc. The transition of carpet to tile in the downstairs bathroom is torn away, so be careful - you will hurt your foot on the carpet spikes underneath!
- Further reflecting the cheap materials used throughout the property, there are big gaps in the hardwood floor.
- Numerous marks on all of the walls
- The cleaner did not do a thorough job on the downstairs bathroom - we found someone's used bar of soap, old shampoo containers and some hair in the bathroom. Disgusting.
- Towels were not put away on our arrival. Instead we found a note from the cleaner apologizing and telling us they were in the dryer.
- The property is photographed very well - you will find it is a lot smaller in person.
- Not a lot of usable exterior yard space
- There are no local emergency numbers listed in the house book - a safety issue in my opinion
- We found the owner uncommunicative at times, and generally difficult to deal with.
- I did not appreciate being "Nickel'ed and Dime'd" to death by the owner over what is clearly wear & tear issue on this very tired and worn rental property.

Overall, the property looks like a rental and is not luxurious by any means. Add in a difficult owner, and I would avoid.

On the plus side, the beds were comfortable.
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the five years that we have rented our home, we have only had to keep a portion of the security deposit on two occasions; this is one of those times.

In our opinion, this review is a result of us keeping the cost of a replacement part for our stove that was damaged during this renters stay. Our cleaning crew does a thorough inspection of our home after each check-out and knows the property and its contents very well. The remaining balance of the security deposit was promptly returned the following week; receipts for the replacement parts were also provided.

We pride ourselves in our home and the service that each guest receives. Responses to guests are typically provided within the hour of receiving questions.

Our home is something that my family takes great pride in and it is unfortunate for all parties when damage is done. In any event, we realize that things do happen which is why a security deposit is received.

Please look at the other reviews to get more of a complete picture of how people feel about our home and the service they received.
Email Owner Email

Map

Car: necessary

Known as the 'Aspen of the East' Ellicottville remains a small, quaint town full of charm and things to do year round. It was voted as one of the top ski destinations in the east by Ski magazine. The town comes alive after hitting the slopes with a wide variety of restaurants and bars. There are plenty of shops in the village as well as antiquing throughout the area. The town hosts a number of weekend festivals throughout the year. It is only a short drive to Allegany State Park and the Seneca Casino. In warmer weather, the region is known for its vast mountain biking and hiking trails as well as its golf courses.

Other Activities: Day spas, snow tubing park and snow shoe trails

Golf: The 'Double Black Diamond' course at Holiday Valley was nominated by Golf Magazine '09 as one of the best redesigns in the country! There are other 18 hole courses as well in the neighboring towns.

Ski: Ski 2 resorts, Holiday Valley and Holimont. The area receives an average of 200 inches of natural snow per season! Holiday Valley has day and night skiing on 56 slopes and 13 lifts; which include a terrain park and half pipe. They also have a snow tubing park for the days off of the slopes. Holimont is only accessible during the week for non-members and has over 50 slopes via 9 lifts.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Ellicottville Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off Season
Apr 15 2014 - Nov 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$325
From
$375
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Octoberfest Weekend
Oct 10 2014 - Oct 12 2014
3 night minimum stay
$2,000
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$650
Fri,Sat
$2,500
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Cleaning Fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $250
Notes Special rates apply for Holidays and event weekends.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Ellicottville Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Laundry Soap
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Iron & Board
  • Heating
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Fireplace
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , main level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , lower level
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Full bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , lower level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , lower level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , lower level
Entertainment:
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Books
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Balcony
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Deck / Patio
  • 7 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hunting
  • cross country skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
  • snowboarding
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • ski privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Notes:
Please email for more pictures or if you would like further details. We are available for daily, weekly, monthly and seasonal rentals.
Email Owner Email