Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

GULF FRONT HOME, HOT TUB & SKY DECK. BOOK CHRISTMAS & NEW YEAR'S EVE WEEKENDS

Scott Bruns, owner.

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Sleeps19
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Scott Bruns, owner.

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GULF FRONT HOME, HOT TUB & SKY DECK. BOOK CHRISTMAS & NEW YEAR'S EVE WEEKENDS

Sleeps19
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Seagrove Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + TwoConvertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 18)

JUST ADDED 2 MORE BEDS FOR THE KIDS WHO GREW OUT OF THEIR CRIBS. NOW SLEEPS 19 RATHER THAN 16.

Enjoy CHEZ MIREILLE'S 2 gulf front decks, one w/tiny tot safety protected hot tub spa (high sides w/large wooden cover & removable steps), next to large shaded space, creating 67 foot long special event area, other a 2nd flr, 360 degree view 19 x 23 ft sun bathing sky deck, 2 KING bedrooms, one of which can sleep 4, 1 QUEEN bedroom, paired with a 2 level bunk bed, giving this Queen bedroom a sleeping capacity of 3, + adjoing bath w/Jacuzzi style jetted tub, 4th bedrm has two 2-level beds, 1 of them single over double & other w/2 singles, w/adjoing bath, + 5th bedroom w/small European dbl bed, to house a total of 19 (2 or 3 families w/children)

Luxuriate in the hot tub's warm swirling waters as you watch the sunset or moonbeams reflected off the gulf's silvery surface in the privacy of your own little paradise on the cliffside deck just outside the door to your waterfront master bedroom.

While relaxing on the cushioned outdoors furniture remember that furnishings are newer than they look, because no matter how much we spend on deck furnishings they are battered day and night by humid salt winids of up to 20 knots and higher, that most metals rust within weeks, can be desroyed in months, that cloth covering stains outdoors, gets caked with white salt deposits, and waterfront furnishings here tend to age fast, look 'new' only the first few weeks after they are installed, rarely months, depending on how direct and close to the gulf they are located.

Unwind after days of beach walking and biking on miles of paved paths.

Hop into your hot tub at midnight for a stimulating soak and more pillow talk under the stars just steps from your comfy king bed. Sugar white quartz sand and limpid light green shallows await you down the stairs from your garden gate.

Wedding parties can save money enjoying Old Seagrove's largest (40 x 31 ft) heated screened private pool, by also booking ALMARITO, our 5-bdrm three bath Gulf View stilt house (VRBO# 247383), across 30A a short bike ride or walk down the street,for young couples (3 queen beds & 2 doubles + dble fold out + 5 single beds) and single friends of the bridal couple.

Gather for a sing along around the old upright piano and offer refreshments to dozens at your wedding rehearsal or family reunion dinner in the 39 x 24 foot (max dimensions) Great Room whose bank of 6 gulf front French doors open out to a 16-foot deep deck, enlarging it to a fair weather party space 55 feet long, open to breezes, only steps from the beach.

We gave a sit-down dinner for 50+, using our expanded tables & chairs brought in from other houses, w/room for children's skits on small dance floor in front of the piano. It required massive shifting of furniture I allow but don't provide. You'd best lease house an extra day for clean-up and restoration of the house as before after such a sit-down affair.

Leave your car at home and sip wine at your dinner at 'V', one of the two best restaurants in genuine Old Seagrove, South Beach style dining only a few short block's walk east of us at the blinking stop light at E. County Hwy 30-A & County Road 395. At its gulf view outside tables enjoy sophisticated food prepared by a chef from Commander's Palace, in New Orleans.

Stroll a few more blocks to Whiskey Bravo, genuine Old Seagrove's other top restaurant, whose rooftop bar and dining areas offer partial views of the gulf's sparkling blue noon time waters.

It's just steps past Almarito (vrbo247383), whose 40 x 31 ft pool you can use for a fun family get-together, if you've already booked that high stilted gulf view stilt house for your friends for their use after your whole wedding party or reunion has enjoyed its rooftop brunch & you need those 5 more bedrooms and additional gulf view hot tub as well..

Relax on your vacation, enjoy trivial conveniences like TV sets and phone jacks in every room and bathroom and multiple watering points from the kitchen at the Chez's north end to the seashell fountain on the southern deck so your glass will never go dry.

Welcome to this airy 2500+ square foot home which offers a wonderful and convenient single level floor plan, with bedrooms on each side, flanking living and entertainment areas through the center, which will easily accommodate 2-3 families with children and/or elderly guests,with their own private baths & oversized beds + some oversized doors with wheelchair ramps at car port exterior door. Excellent arrangement for family vacations, bridal parties, showers, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, anniversaries and cocktail parties.

Enjoy the dazzling gulf view -- the brilliant high noon deep blue of the gulf shimmering in the distance the length of the house away, as you come in thru the welcoming entry hall thru the car port front door which features sofas, TV set & recorder/player for the kids, with a hanger and space forsome of the things that pile up at the front door. Beamed cathedral ceilings and skylights flood light into a bright cheery atmosphere. But sliding panels can darken bedroom skylights for napping children and tired abults. Walk thru to the kitchen and between bedrooms and baths, 2 of each on either side, giving each family its own private facilities, with a 5th bedroom in the NE corner, isolated, for a teen-agers personal privacy.

Step out to the lanai from a Great Room featuring a wood burning fireplace, premium channels on its 42-inch flat-screen HD-TV, plus DVD, Stereo, wet bar and 3 sofas (one of which opens into a Queen bed). View the ocean, the sunsets or the convenient bookshelf kitchen TV set as you prepare meals behind the open breakfast bar next to the oversized French door fridge with its pull-out drawer freezer, wrap around ceramic tile counter which seats 10 or more, and 3 dining room tables, with extenders, which seat up to 19 , and, if extra chairs are brought in for major events, to allow banquet style hospitality inside, plus extra dining tables and chairs on the deck, or brought in from the deck for banquets.

The 1st master bedroom, on the beach side of the home, features a king bed and glorious views of the gulf, with its own sofa w/fold out (double) extra bed, extra arm chair, 33 inch flat screen HD TV & phone. There is an adjacent convenience shower & bath, or, further toward the north end of the house, enjoy the water jets of a large jacuzzi style tub under a large French style radial 'rain' shower head.

You can use the Queen bedroom next door with its extra double bunk bed to give it a full capacity of 4 persons, adjacent Jacuzzi tub/shower, tv and landline phone jack, as your 3rd master bedroom, or sleep 4 children there instead.

Across the front foyer, lies the 2nd master bedroom, with Chez's 2nd king bed, TV, phone and large bath w/tub/shower, conveniently close to a 5-child bedroom suite, w/two 2-level bunk beds (1 w/2 singles, the other with a single over a double bed + TV, and landline phone jack, which has bath/shower on one side and 4th private bath/shower plus a changing area on the other side of that extended mini suite.

Either side bedroom can use its double bunk bed for 2 children or one of the bunks as refuge for partner who wants some distance from a thundering snorer.

The new fifth bedroom with a small European double bed, slightly narrower than American double, can sleep the 5th young couple or a teen-ager + alternate use of the big jacuzzi tub bathroom w/the couple or 3 children in the east center Queen plus double bunk bedrm.

To avoid tracking sand across the great room coming up from the beach, Chez Mireille has outside showers on both sides of the house, w/doors to the inside baths & adjacent bedrooms.

Walkways, w/wheelchair ramps, wrap around the home, making it easier for kids to shed sand and beach equipment at side doors & clean off sand without passing through the great room, also giving access for wheel chairs to move directly from their arrival at the carport facing 30-A to the gulf-view south deck.

Keywords: See miles of surf, sunset and sunrise from the Gulf Front hot tub on huge deck plus 2nd story Sunbathing Sky Deck; Sing along around the old acoustic piano. Watch the heavens explode into color as the Sunset melts into the sea from within the mammoth 55 x 24 ft (max) Inside/Outside Great Room/Gulf Front Deck celebration continuum. You can now fly Southwest to ECP (Panama City), Delta to ECP and VPS (Ft Walton Beach. Sip wine at dinner and walk back home just a few blocks to bed from genuine Old Seagrove's top 2 restaurants.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Scott Bruns, owner. (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2014

About Scott Bruns, owner.

Members of my family have been visiting these beautiful shores since the 1940s and 50s (when pavement for 30-A stopped about 1/2 mile east of Seaside) In 1960, my Mother brought my immediate family to join the aunts, uncles and cousins already established here, when she moved from New Orleans to a bungalow just down highway 30-A from this house. There are now more than 30 family members with 20 permanent homes here. I am a retired news correspondent and editor who has lived all over the world, but chose this area to settle down in for retirement. I hope you all love it as much as I, my family and my friends do. I bought Chez Mireille in 1993 and have worked over the years to make it more comfortable for my family and other guests, including you, by extending it at both ends to bring shelter and air conditioning to the areas from which we can watch the sunsets and sunrises and provide more modern amenities to transform a simple beach cottage into a more comfortable and presentable vacation home.

Scott Bruns, owner. purchased this house in 1993

Why Scott Bruns, owner. chose Seagrove Beach

Once I drag myself out of the gulf front hot tub, I'm seconds from the sea, minutes from the coffee shops, boutiques, restaurants and watering holes of Seaside. I can arrive back home in Seagrove, park the car, get on my bike and not start a motorized vehicle for a month, pedaling up and down a safe 16-mile long evenly graded bike path separated from the highway and carried across our region's frequent gulf side lakes by its own bridges. Do you like fresh air and sunshine and pleasant people who say, 'Hi,' to strangers? That's why people who live here call this place paradise.

What makes this house unique

If it rains, I may watch movies on the flat screen TV next to the wood burning fireplace, on HBO or the dvd player, listen to the stereo, or soak in the steaming hot tub and gaze out at sea to contemplate the foam and spray as the howling wind whips the waves breaking over the second sand bar.

I have bookshelves that have more than pottery on them. There are even books. Some for children, some on politics or foreign policy, history or opera, poetry, humor, theater, some in French, including classic plays by Racine and Moliere, Chekov in Russian, others in Spanish or Italian, reference books, some mystery novels. Many guests even add more books. I would appreciate if my treasures and theirs are allowed to stay, especially those written or given to me by friends, colleagues, teachers. Please let others enjoy them too...in front of that wood burning fireplace, as our grandparents did.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps19
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.5
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Gulf front home, hot tub & sky deck. Book Christmas & New Year's Eve weekends
average rating of 3.5 based on 8 reviews
business
Gulf front home, hot tub & sky deck. Book Christmas & New Year's Eve weekends
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253008vb
-850-231-4386
Seagrove Beach South Walton
Durant, Oklahoma
5

A Chez Mirielle Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
Our family just spent it's third Thanksgiving at the Chez house. We had a great time with the Seaside shops within walking distance either by beach or sidewalk. The gulf is only a few steps away. The house is built perfectly for our size family and ages. We love the fact that it's one level and spread out for privacy or large gathering place for tv or games. We were able to cook a big dinner and be entertained by the surf. It's the perfect beach house for us and Mr. Bruns is always very accommodating. We WILL be back.
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thanks for your FIVE STAR favorable rating for Chez Mireille, notwithstanding the erroneous vrbo notation at its ending that the management has chanrged since your stay last week and the stay only 7 weeks earlier of my happy Labor Day guests who gave Chez Mireille their FOUR STAR favorable rating in making their lengthy complimentary assessment of our homey and comfortable family vacation home, kept squeaky clean by its highly competent professional cleaning crew and on which my full time repairmen worked 5 or 6 days every unoccupied week all last year on intensive maintenance work repairing the constant challenge of salty Gulf of Mexico wind blasts which quickly rust out metal locks, destroy outside furniture & within weeks severely age the appearance of brand new fabric coverings of all-weather cushions. Your five star comments and their enthusiastic four star ratings joined years of favorable comments written over many years into my old fashioned herd covered paper "comments" guest book, unfortunately not available to internet browsers, but whose praise for Chez Mireille has been reflected in years of repeat booking by our Thanksgiving renters and others, who last year and years before completely sold out our spring break and highly popular summer seasons, so much so that many former tenants were fearful of giving us favorable internet reviews lest they so thereby fill up the subsequent season that they could not rebook themselves. One year this happened to our own daughter who, during a high season vacation raved so much about the house she was occupying, Chez Mireille, that the following year it had been filled up, booked solid by our previous agents. She had to take her Seagrove vacation in another house not even on the waterfront. So thank you, repeat renters, whom I hope will soon by joined by my many other repeat renters when they read the defamatory statements posted earlier this year by tenants who demanded their money back so they could move to a more urban setting or for various other reasons as they threatened nasty reviews and then carried out their threats in their efforts to get their money back after earlier making the house unavailable for would-be repeat renters for months or longer, making their extortionary demands only when it was too late for the many Chez Mireille fans who applied after them for those popular spring break and summer weeks because had since rebooked elsewhere in the interim.
Welcome back, Chez fans.
business
Gulf front home, hot tub & sky deck. Book Christmas & New Year's Eve weekends
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253008vb
-850-231-4386
Seagrove Beach South Walton
Alpharetta, GA
4

Great place to gather with friends and enjoy the beach

  • 4 of 5
Every Labor Day for the past 15 years, our family along with 5-10 other families with the same college fraternity connection have a reunion at the beach. This year our group of 37 decided to try Seaside. We had secured the rental of a very nice house in Seaside and then had to find a second house close by to accommodate the rest of our crowd. We came upon Chez after looking online for several days. Upon reading the reviews, I have to admit that we were hesitant on reserving the house; however, we couldn't pass up the fact that it could sleep 18 and that it was right on the beach. Wow, were we glad that we stayed at Chez! It turned out to be the hub house for our group over the fancier house down the street!

Upon our arrival, we were met by a representative of the property for a tour of the house. He showed us where everything was, how to use the hot tub, and who to contact should we need anything for the house. The house, although nothing fancy, was very cozy like the pictures showed - like an old family vacation home. The large family room/kitchen was great for our big group. We were able to enjoy dinner and watch some football without feeling cramped. The decks were nice to enjoy coffee, cocktails, and to put all of our never ending beach equipment. Although we didn't use the hot tub, it was up and running and very clean. The kitchen had relatively new appliances, plenty of cookware and dishes, and lots of counter space. There were three tables and the kitchen bar for dining. The bedrooms were plain, but comfortable and clean; everyone slept very well.

The location of the house is perfect! Being right on the beach, the view was spectacular! Also a plus was the beach access - right next to the house! The villiage of Seaside was a 10 minute walk away and had plenty of shops and restaurants.

Scott, the owner, was helpful in making our stay possible. At the time I made our reservation, he was out of the country, so communication was slow at times ~ understandably. He was able to answer any questions I had about the proximity of Chez to the other house we had. Scott also arranged for a local representative to take care of our rental during his absence.

All in all, we absolutely loved the house! Sure, you have to overlook some of the cosmetics of the house, but if we had wanted to stay at a $500/night resort, we would have done so. We all agreed that this Labor Day trip ranked as one of the best will consider this for next year.
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: These are the folks we are marketing to. We renovated Chez Chez Mireille as a vacation house for our nuclear family of 5 &, as they joined us, the spouses of our 3 children & their kids as they came along, a great family getaway place overlooking the gulf from atop a cliff, to save it from being crushed by hurricane waves, but giving it a beautiful sea view, w/staircase directly to the beach & close up view of beach & water's edge from our shaded lower deck & open sun bathing upper deck, w/side privacy afforded by shrubs planted over the years, Chez long gave us a relaxed, comfortable family gathering place, big enough for weddings & birthday banquets seating 50+ w/great rooom, decks, carport & yard space for 100+ milling around, big parties like that this past Labor Day weekend's for family & friends from college fraternity party years.
We kept the rental house furniture we bought with Chez, upgraded & replaced it over the years, cleaned it aggressively, but remained aware as I went abroad at the start of each hurricane season that building and contents might tumble into the ocean by the end of the season Nov. 30.
So I keep my family portraits, New England and southern antiques, precious family mementoes and souvenirs back from the ocean, in my Mom's old house across the street, and put nothing I can't bear losing to hurricane waves and winds into Chez Mireille.
So I beg folks who want fine antiques and paintings, the newest furniture, heavy annual outlays on frills, to pay one, 2, or 5 thousand dollars more per week and book next door at Seaside, a safe distance from that beautiful but so dangerous gulf during hurricane season, and spare me their complaints when their efforts to get a champagne experience on a premium beer budget fail them miserably, as they always will.
If VRBO had a category like France's red Michelin Guide, a very good meal for the price, a special page which I use when I go to France, Chez Mireille would be one of its listings.
In my book Chez earns 5 Stars FOR THE PRICE, but, as this fine reviewer says, it rates only 4 stars for trim, when you compare it to fancier places, like the one at Seaside they first rented, then largely abandoned because, after all, that plain old Chez Mireille is sitting on a lot, currently worth three & a half million dollars empty, & most of the rent you pay is for the difference between Chez's view & most of Seaside's lack of gulf view.
You get 5 bdrms, 4 baths, decks, great room, 2 jetted tubs, free.
business
Gulf front home, hot tub & sky deck. Book Christmas & New Year's Eve weekends
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253008vb
-850-231-4386
Seagrove Beach South Walton
1

A Disaster

  • 1 of 5
Our recent family vacation was completely ruined upon arrival at this poorly maintained home. The pictures do not represent this home. We found it to be in deplorable conditions. Mold & rust in bathroom, kitchen counter old and falling apart, dirty utensil drawers, deck unusable, stains on comforter. Furniture crammed into bedrooms with no space to put suitcases and closets inaccesible. Duct tape on microwave, kitchen counter, and faucet outside, which had a constant leak/spray. There is not enough space to list the many other misrepresentations. After spending one night, we spent the next day looking for another rental. We asked the owner to give us a pro-rated refund and also requested he change the pictures on vrbo or we would warn others. We did not, as he has accused others, threaten to write bad review if he did not give refund. He was beligerent and accusatory, stating he knows our type "wanting a deal and can't live with a little duct tape." When looking for another rental, the next day, we found several within the same price range and all of them were updated and well maintained. Our once in a lifetime family beach vacation had a dark cloud hanging over it because of this situation but, we ended up in a lovely home that was the same price and enjoyed many hours on the beach and in a heated swimming pool and on a deck with a beautiful view with our family. The owner refused to give us any of our money back and has not changed any of the pictures on this site. We have filed a complaint with vrbo and sent them the pictures we took to show how severely this property is misrepresented. I recommend anyone renting this property to take out the "carefree rental guarantee" protection.
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These reviews, like Ebola, feed one upon the other, but lose their credibility when viewed in the light of their contrast to the rave reviews we have gotten, year after year, from our repeat renters who keep coming back because they're willing to accept a piece of duct tape, a small crack in the edge of a plastic refrigerator drawer, some mismathed furniture and cushions, a slightly frayed slip cover here or there, & enjoy a magnificent beach house view that it would cost you more than three million dollars to purchase, just for the rectangle of sand upon which this house is built.
This place is no tent, as those tenants, including this one, who, despite her denials, tried to get a multi-thousand dollar refund for hush money, to be paid not to publish her exaggerated claims, would have to admit.
She, in effect, wanted me to pay for her move to an urban rather than rural setting, explained to my handy man she wanted to move closer to stores, & went towards Destin with its traffic, noise, bustling crowds, dirtier sand, locked chain link fence gates, & much lower prices to rent something, possibly in a condo, most probably with far fewer rooms, to get the vacation experience which suited her better, would have been totally unsatisfactory for any of our regular renters who love Chez Mireille's Great Room, with its view wide open from the car port door at the north end to the beautiful blue gulf beyond its lined up kitchen, potential dance area near the piano & dining tables, past its fireplace, across its open 16 foot deck most probably not available at that Destin hovel, to the sparkling blue waters of the gulf to the south, the snowy white sands of the beach at the foot of its cliff top perch.
Others should spend the extra thousands needed for a classier house in one of our expensive neighboring resort developments if that pesky duct tape holding a sliver of plastic on the microwave bothers them, or they think old tile on solidly built counters indicates they are falling down, or believe false claims of mold or inadequate cleaning from our crack cleaning crew who sterilize linens and towels with bleach, polish to a shine our kitchen and baths, but offer an easy target for pay-off seekers who know no mere words of ours can disprove their copy cat allegations, quoted from previous sharp bargainers attempting similar shake-downs.
There's no easy way to erase the ill effect of such evil allegations. Except by reading our good reviews.
business
Gulf front home, hot tub & sky deck. Book Christmas & New Year's Eve weekends
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253008vb
-850-231-4386
Seagrove Beach South Walton
Little Rock, arkansas
2

our stay at this location

  • 2 of 5
I recently stayed at this location as a guest of the renter, we were so excited to be invited to go with them and looked at the pictures of the house and thought this would be the nicest place we have ever vacationed in. The place has a great view but the house is definitely not as advertised, the door in our bedroom was rotted at bottom and difficult to open. Deck furniture was in bad shape , hammocks were usable due to holes in them, we were asked to strip beds before we left so "house cleaners' could wash them, one of the beds had a huge stain on the mattress that was horrible. I am quite sure that the electric outlets and the things connected to them on the deck did not meet code. on the inside , the wet bar ice maker didn't work and one handle on the sink was broken. Just know the view is great , but the pictures of the house seem to us to be very old and not representative of the current state of the house.
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: My suspicion is that this review either was written by an agent of another competing property since I have no record of this person staying at my house, or may be acting as surrogate for a tenant refused a multi-thousand dollar refund basid on specious claims whose own negative review was rejected on those grounds. I can't understand on what basis a casual passer by can state as fact or that this space would print idle speculation that regulation outdoor electrical outlets installed by professionals don't meet local code or how an original equipment bar sink installed with only cold a water tap on the wet bar from day one or a repaired outside door sticking due to humid conditions disqualifies this house as wonderful rental when other tenants not affiliated with that renter seeking an unjustified refund still so regularly praise it so hghly and year after year & race to re book it for themselves the following spring and summer seasons as well as, less solidly, off season and on holidays.
I can only point out fact that this house is booked solid by mostly repeat renters every spring break and high summer season, well in advance for most sought after weeks, & that this owner will not submit to extortionate demands for unjustified refunds demanded by renters seeking brand new amenities characterizing rentals costing thousands more weekly than this simple but large and expensively located waterfront beach home with its splendid views and certain much appreciated unique characerisitcs and often much appreciated interior floor plan.
We prefer that those looking for new furniture and top of the line kitchen equipment and not satisfied with carefully and scrupulously cleaned older houses which may have some rare stains on out-of-sight and otherwise covered cloth items scrupulously sterilized in the cleaning process book a more expensive house rather than settling for this older, carefully cleaned, with all bed linens and towels scrupulously sterilized with bleach, safe and comfortable, but basic and unsophisticated 50-year-old concrete block beach house proudly offered by this owner and his family with picutures clearly portraying the house as it was at start of each year for the length of that year or so, but never with pictures changed daily, weekly or monthly as items are replaced for wear and tear and/or to provide a more capacious or improved facility, adjusting to demand with the addition of more beds, sofas, chairs and dining tables & changes as needed.
business
Gulf front home, hot tub & sky deck. Book Christmas & New Year's Eve weekends
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253008vb
-850-231-4386
Seagrove Beach South Walton
1

Great view, Unmaintained House

  • 1 of 5
Very dissappointed with the rental. House is not being maintained. Tiles off, holes in hammocks, ice machine doesn't work, duct tape on furniture and electrical chords running all over, poor quality deck furniture, mattresses old and not very comfortable, front entry flooded during rains and stayed flooded during entire stay, baths not updated, floor plan of house is poor with doors everywhere, rather than replacing faulty door handle locks they installed sliding bars on doors, bedding covers and cloth furniture soiled, etc. Not as advertised. If you can get it cheap enough, I guess the location and view might make it worth you while, but don't expect it to live up to the pictures or you will be sadly dissappointed.
  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Those renters made no complaints while they enjoyed the house, then demanded thousands of dollars of hush money refunded because of tape holding a piece of useless plastic trim atop the microwave, after they enjoyed our handy man's hot tub servicing and catering to their needs. "Review" failed to explain how we misled her with photos which didn't mislead other reviewers who rated house 5 stars. Altho we spend tens of thousands annually maintaining this gulf front house battered 52 weeks a year with wet salty winds, rotting its wood and metal trim, rusting out locks in as little as 3 to 7 weeks after new ones are installed, & these folks came in only 6 hours after spring breakers battered the house badly, even constant & expensive maintenance can't always be completed in untraceable ways one minute to the next and, yes, tiles newly glued into place Saturday morning to replace those knocked off on Friday night by college kids who left the place in shambles will still be held in place when new tenants arrive that afternoon by tape which will have to hold them there a few hours more while their glue dries. Yes. The fish net style hammocks, nets, had holes in them. Yes. We have doors in all door frames & sensible tenant reviews praise our convenient floor plan. Yes. The newspapers fully reported our heavy rains. Sorry the highway department slow keeping promise to divert road run-off from locally blocked 30-A drains. Two of 4 baths are brand new. The Fridge makes ice. We don't advertise an ice machine. We bleach linens & mattresses are same age & as comfortable as those in my house & which my other tenants found just fine & didn't threaten to write bad reviews if I didn't submit to demands I pay them not to.
I want everyone to read this review & my clearly stated notice in my web description of Chez as simple, safe & clean (I pay more for cleaning than other local owners and, when here, personally conduct rigorous inspections which my cleaners call "nitpicking," since they hate my insistence they move furniture and clean again when they fail to comply with my combination ex-military ex-boarding school inspection demands.)
I don't replace furniture annually and will use a piece of tape rather than replace a microwave and thus charge you 2 or 3 thousand dollars less for a WATERFRONT WEEK at Chez. But I DON'T WANT YOUR TYPE BOOKING IT, blocking it out from other of our many satisfied repeat guests, if you don't find this a great vacation house deal.
business
Gulf front home, hot tub & sky deck. Book Christmas & New Year's Eve weekends
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253008vb
-850-231-4386
Seagrove Beach South Walton
Portland
5

Enjoyable Stay

  • 5 of 5
Our stay in South Beach, Miami, with HelloRelaxation was very nice. The location of the apartment was in a quiet tucked away neighborhood which was a nice escape from the bustle of downtown South Beach, but it was also walking distance from everything you could possibly need, including the beach. The apartment was clean and well kept and the HelloRelaxation staff were wonderfully helpful and accommodating, even when our flight plans changed unexpectedly. They were not able to get us an early check-in, but they did allow us to drop off our bags after the other occupants had left and while they were cleaning, which was greatly appreciated. If we were to stay at the same location again we would consider renting a car since the apartment had off street parking. The apartment itself was roomy and was comfortable even with 7 of us staying there.
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I do not know why VRBO has printed on my web site this review of an apartment in South Beach, Miami, which has nothing to do with my gulf front house called Chez Mireille 600 or so miles away in the Florida panhandle village of Seagrove Beach, in Walton County, closer to New Orleans than it is to Miami. I have never heard of the company called "Hello Relaxation" which these people, unknown to me, say managed that apartment which I have never seen or heard of and have never heard of or had any businiess relationship and my apartment has never been visited by these alleged tourists, whose name is not given, who have never stayed at Chez Mireille which had no tourists in it at all in tje final half of this immediate past month of January when this review put on my web site by vrbo alleged they stayed there.

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
ECP - Emerald Coast Beaches ( + VPS - Valparaiso)
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
'V' Big friendly circular bar See everybody else.
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Rosemary Beach
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Crestview (New Orleans to Miami)
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
U.S. 98 (to New Orleans/Miami )
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
'V'
Nearest Beach
Seagrove Beach - Pure White Quartz Crystals
Car: not necessary

WEDDING AND OTHER LARGE PARTIES, FAMILY REUNIONS, AND MULTIPLE FAMILIES, CAN RENT & PLAY TOGETHER IN OLD SEAGROVE'S LARGEST (40 X 31 FT) PRIVATE HEATED AND SCREENED POOL (free from oil threat)AND INEXPENSIVELY HOUSE OVERFLOW OF BRIDAL PARTIES AND OTHER GUESTS AT OUR FIVE BEDROOM THREE BATH GULF VIEW STILT HOUSE JUST DOWN THE STREET AT HALF CHEZ MIREILLE PRICE....Other regional features: Dressage instructor located in nearby Destin.Trail riding at nearby Point Washington.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $495 Per night

Seagrove Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Xmas - New Year
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 2 2015
3 night minimum stay
$695
 
 
Winter 2015
Jan 3 2015 - Mar 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$495
$2,995
$9,995
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 7 2015 - Apr 11 2015
7 night minimum stay
$5,295
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 12 2015 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
$735
$4,995
 
 
Early Summer 2015
May 23 2015 - Jul 3 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$6,295
 
 
July 4 Week 2015
Jul 4 2015 - Jul 10 2015
7 night minimum stay
$6,595
 
 
Mid Summer 2015
Jul 11 2015 - Aug 14 2015
7 night minimum stay
$6,395
 
 
Late Summer 2015
Aug 15 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
$750
$5,195
 
 
Weddings/banquets
Dec 7 2016 - Dec 8 2016
2 night minimum stay
$400
Flat fee
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning contractor Fee $300 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes Payment by personal or business check at least 45 days before scheduled arrival date or by certified or bank check or postal money order received by owner at least 2 business days before scheduled arrival date. Only cash in full in advance accepted before last minute/walk-in admissions.No provision for credit cards. Credit cards or checks later than previously stated deadlines are not accepted
Reserve house w/personal check for sum of half posted seasonal weekly rate (spring break & high summer season only) or number of nights times half the posted seasonal nightly rate + half the $300 cleaning fee + half the 13% state & local sales & bed taxes on both rent & cleaning + half the refundable $500 inventory/damage deposit. Check for 2nd half of total due 45 days before skedded arrival.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Seagrove Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 21 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Euro split Master Bath, SE Corner - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Split w/toilet & basin sep frm inside shower+1 outside too
    NW Corner, 2nd Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , NW Corner master bath, tub/shower combo + basin, toilet
    East Side jet bath for Queen+ Single Rm - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Basin + French Radial 'rain' shower above Jacuzzi style tub.
    Euro Split West Bathm next to two 2-level bunk. bedrm. - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Split ba.w/toilet+basin sep frm inside showr+1 outisde too
  • Guests in rooms on both sides of house can avoid tracking beach sand into any part of the great room, public spaces or bedrooms by using showers outside both the SE and SW corner bath rooms to get sand off feet and legs at outside showers, then use corridors between halves of each split bathroom to showers to take off suit for full warm body shower, then use corridors to reach the 2 side + SE & SW corner King bedroom without passing thru any public spaces. The slim non-NBA/NFL size couple in 5th, Euro double room, avoid public spaces, entering house thru laundry rm outside door to access Jacuzzi style NE corner bathroom, alternately with east side Queen + single bdrm occupants. Both SE & NW corner King bdrm guests can enter bdrms without crossing great room thru own doors directly from outside of house.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • First Master Bedrm, SE corner - 1 king , 1 double , Pink Sunrise sky+gulf view frm King bed. Double is fold out
    2nd Master Bedrm, NW Corner - 1 king , Adjoins bath room with tub with shower.
    Bedrm for trim people.NBA won't fit. - 1 double , Dieters' delight; European size double bed; Nr jet tub bath
    Great Room:Fold out double bed - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Fold out sofa into double bed, faces fireplace & biggest TV.
    West side two 2-level bunk beds, sleeps 5. - 1 double , 3 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , Btwn bath w/stall shower & bath w/shower over tub.
    East side Queen + 2 level bunk bdrm. - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Btwn bath w/Jacuzzi style tub+shower & bath w/stall shower.
  • King beds (2) Southeast corner gulf front master King bdrm views sunrise turn sky pink then palm tree ruby laser red framed by contrasting thalo green sky over inky blue black sea. West facing sunset view sofa pull-out dbl bed makes this a comfortable suite w/wide flat screen HD-TV. King bed also in nw corner 2nd Master Bdrm. Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed plus 2-level bunk in east bedrm. Double beds: (3) Living room convertible fold out sofa double bed is most comfortable overnight viewing point for 42-inch flat screen HD-TV with its HBO movies. Fifth bedroom, w/Swedish double bed, like most European doubles slightly narrower than American doubles. Also double convertible couch added to sunrise/sunset view master bedroom in SE corner of house. Bunks + Great Rm & MBR Sofa beds incease this home's capacity from 14 people to 19. Some families use 4-person 1st master bedrom as a bunk room for children and use other king bedrm or queen+dbl bunk bedroom as master bedrm. Couch added to southeast corner of largest master bedrm, viewing gulf through 2 wide open (or closed) French windows, gives best inside sheltered view in the house of the spring, fall & sometimes chilly winter sunsets into the water. Twin or Single Beds (5): Bunks (3) Single over Single w/queen bed in east side bdrm; Single over single + single over double in west side children's rm with 5-person capacity, plus cable TV, closable skylights, landline phone jacks in each. Ask mgr in advance if need Child Beds, 1 children's wood slatted crib or 1 small cloth infant crib. Or for toddler seat risers for dining chairs. Sleep Sofas: 2nd is Great Room convertible double bed sofa, folds out in front of fireplace. Provides best private viewing of 42 inch flat screen HD TV, HBO movies through the night, and, thru 6 gulf front French doors (in 3 double-door sets) & deep side picture window those early to bed in fall, winter and spring can enjoy brilliant orange sunsets.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Senior Adults Only Community ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Rare gulf front hot tub on waterfront deck allows bathers to watch brilliant sunsets and moonlight reflected off water while soaking just steps from from master bedroom doorway. Or enjoy the same view from our 360 degree view second floor 19 x 23 ft sunbathing sky deck. Gather for a party siing along around the old acoustic piano next to the wet bar in the great room. (Serious musicians who want and are willing to have the piano tuned must contact house manager Arlene well before their tenancy to arrange for tuning before their arrival off season or, during periods of high occupancy when unbooked weeks are not available for a tuner to visit, during their own tenancy.) Permanent library includes books in French, Spanish, Russian, English & Italian. Classics & some scholarly works on politics, history, foreign affairs, humor, poetry, theater, travel. Also biographies & children's books, plus rare books written by friends, professors & associates.

Other Vacation Properties

$2,568 - $5,448 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 18
$1,778 - $3,955 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 16

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote