Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SOUTHERN CHARM-PRIVATE CABIN, DECKS, HOT TUB, WIFI, PETS OK

Owner

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SOUTHERN CHARM-PRIVATE CABIN, DECKS, HOT TUB, WIFI, PETS OK

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Todd Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Welcome to Southern Charm, a 2BR, 2BA new log cabin located off scenic Hwy. 194, 10 miles from Boone, 10 miles to West Jefferson, and 1 mile to Todd General Store. Our cabin in the woods will put you only a short drive to all the main attractions, including a 15 minute drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Our country theme cabin is tastefully decorated with country decor: quilts, farm animals, scarecrows, ragdolls, and a large bear loft. Enjoy the large bedrooms both with king sized beds, and a bear loft with 2 twin beds and a futon couch that makes into a single bed. You will love the wood walls, wood floors and 9 ft. wood ceilings with recessed lighting.

Everyone can relax outside with decks on three sides. The front and back decks are covered with the idea of total relaxation in mind. Listen to nature in the woods, watch the chipmunks play from the back deck, or rock to your hearts content. Grilling out or relaxing in the hot tub can be enjoyed rain or shine.

Our cabin in the trees has AC, but has only been used in August once! The trees keep the cabin cool day and night. We have screens on all the windows, so just push the windows up and feel the cool mountain breeze.

The kitchen has everything you need from grilling utensils, mixer, pancake griddle, coffee pot, tea kettle, to an old timey popcorn maker, with popcorn and recipe included! Sit on the back deck and sip on sweet tea from the country mason jar glasses. An iced tea maker and recipe is supplied to make things easy. An assortment of Southern recipes and cookbooks are on hand for those who like to create new dishes. Southern Charm cabin has a wood burning fire place because we believe there is nothing better than the smell and crackling of a wood fire. A Big Man recliner is nestled right near the fire for dozing off during the day or night.

For visitors with pets we offer a small fenced in dog run that will allow your dog to run freely on all the decks and back areas of the cabin. Drive one mile into Todd and you will find Todd General Store, River Girl Fishing Co., kayaking, tubing, fishing, horseback riding, biking on the Railroad Grade, and country music. Come enjoy you mountain stay in the country.

Keywords: New log cabin in private wooded setting

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2014

About The Owner

Mark and I met at Appalachian State and have enjoyed the beauty of the mountain for years. Living in Wilmington, NC gives us a chance to enjoy both the beach and the mountains. I grew up in Hudson, just down the mountains, and still consider myself a country girl. Our family has enjoyed the fishing in the New River and the snow skiing close by. It is funny how we watch the weather report and when a snowfall is in the forecast, we try to pack it up and head for the hills.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2007

Why The Owner chose Todd

I looked for a cabin that would give us the privacy and rest when we wanted to escape the hustle and bustle. Our Southern Charm cabin is located a short run from Boone or West Jefferson and the beauty of the country, farm animals, creeks, and foliage along Hwy. 194 is breathtaking! We have seen beavers, raccoons, deer, rabbits, wild turkeys, chipmunks, owls, and hawks along our drives in the country.

What makes this cabin unique

One of the features I knew would be important in a cabin for our family would be first of all a private cabin with privacy on a covered back deck. We enjoy sitting and drinking coffee and watching nature in the trees. A covered deck does not change your supper plans if you plan to grill or relax in the hot tub if it rains, which it does often in the mountains. We also enjoy the smell and sound of the wood burning in the fireplace.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Angie,

Wow! That is what best describes our weekend in your cabin. Everything was absolutely wonderful. The only thing that would have made this better is a couple more days here. Rest assured, we have already planned our 2nd, 3rd, and 4th trips back. This has by far been our best anniversary yet and this may very well become "our place".

Thanks for sharing this beautiful home with us.

Blessings, Doug and Jennifer
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 27

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Southern Charm-Private Cabin, Decks, Hot Tub, Wifi, Pets Ok
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 48 reviews
business
Southern Charm-Private Cabin, Decks, Hot Tub, Wifi, Pets Ok
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252551vb
-(910) 392-0463
Todd High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Greenville, NC
5

Beautiful mountain cabin!

  • 5 of 5
We spent our first wedding anniversary in this lovely cabin. The owner was very accommodating and helpful. The cabin was spotless and in a great location! We were just 15 minutes from Boone. We even brought along our dog and she was able to roam outside in a fenced in area. Overall an awesome trip and we look forward to returning!
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nathaniel, I am happy that you let me know how much you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to make every guests and their family dog feel at home. The fenced in area is the best for all dogs to explore without the owner having to put their leash on. My Sophie loves to roam around the cabin while we sit on the deck or in the hot tub.
Let me know when you would like to come again. You were so easy to work with.
Thanks so much, Angie
business
Southern Charm-Private Cabin, Decks, Hot Tub, Wifi, Pets Ok
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252551vb
-(910) 392-0463
Todd High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Raleigh
1

RIP OFF

  • 1 of 5
We arrived to a nice looking cabin in the trees however it went down hill from there. There was a dead mouse in the living room and a live mouse in the downstairs tub which took an hour to drain after showers. The sat tv was broken, I spent over an hour tracing wires and finally fixed it. We turned on the hot tub and one of the jets blew off. The owner has a laundry list of things for you to clean before you leave including stripping your beds washing towels, doing dishes and hauling all your trash away. We really had no problem with the chores however here's the kicker....when we got home the owner only sent back only a one third of our large deposit. (we already paid a cleaning fee included in price of cabin). She claimed that we broke the hot tub, and there was to much dirt in the downstairs tub. (due to mouse house drainage problem.. we had three dead mice in cabin one in the tub still alive) and she found one dog poop under the kitchen table. We have a tea cup chihuahua and gave her a non refundable pet fee for the pet just being there. (she said she had to shampoo whole carpet)
I my opinion this was nothing more than a rip off and would not recommend this to anyone unless there is new ownership.
P.S. We explained this in an email and she would not even respond.
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would have never believed the mess left from these guests if I had not seen the pictures taken by my house keeper. The pictures tell the true story. I rent to 75 families each year and there is about one guest per year who go in, destroy the property and enjoy writing a bad review to seek revenge for their deposit not being returned. The guests called when they could not get the Direct TV on. I asked them to make sure the blue light was on and be sure it was plugged in. When they plugged it in and turned it on it worked. It wasn't on because he unplugged it when he was messing with the wires. In my rental agreement I allow normal wear and don't ask them to clean. I have a house keeper who does that. Yet these guests want to complain about taking out their trash or hitting the ON button on the dishwasher. They were given a departure sheet that reminds them of their check out time, how to turn on the TV, make sure they put the hot tub cover back on, take the sheets to the laundry area (the reason is so that they don't leave clothing items in or under the bed), start a load of towels, remove their trash, return the key to the key ring and always do a double check for your personal items. That's all they have to do. Pretty simple. I don't think this is a laundry list of items to do upon leaving someone's home. I have read and called several owners and management compaines is in the area and they require the same or very similar departure procedures. Of the guest's $200.00 security deposit they received $80.00 back in return. In the Thank You note that I sent along with a check for $80.00 I explained I deducted $30.00 to pay the housekeeper for extra cleaning. The bath tub was left full of water and dirt, $50.00 for cleaning out the hot tub and $40.00 for the new filter basket that had to be replaced because the plastic piece that holds it in place was broken. It popped off because it was broken. Now about the dog- I have a pet policy to allow owners to bring their pet if their pet is house broken, they signed the agreement knowing their dog was not trained and violated the agreement. Once a dog goes on the carpet it has to be cleaned. They signed an agreement and these guests violated the agreement incurring extra cleaning. These guests are poor examples of what not to do when going in to someone's home. I won't return a deposit when it was left filthy and our agreement was broken. The proof is in the pictures. They speak fo themselves.
business
Southern Charm-Private Cabin, Decks, Hot Tub, Wifi, Pets Ok
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252551vb
-(910) 392-0463
Todd High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Middlesex, N.C.
5

Our Family Spring Break Getaway

  • 5 of 5
My family arrived Monday afternoon and we were transported to a mountain paradise like nothing we have ever seen. My teenage son brought his girlfriend who had never been to the mountains. We were able to drive to nearby attractions and show her some of our favorite attractions without having to drive long distances. The hot tub was a hit for us. It sleeted and snow flurried Tuesday afternoon into the evening which was a real treat. It was a time of bonding with our granddaughter as well as each other. Angie, I can't tell you how much this stay at your cabin meant to our family, there is no way to thank you enough!!!!! A MUST Stay For All.
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Duane, It always makes an owner feel great when guests enjoy our cabin as much as we do. I also am in love with the hot tub off the back covered deck and spend a good amount of time there as well. Let me know when you and your family can get away for another mountain trip.
Thank you so much,
Angie
business
Southern Charm-Private Cabin, Decks, Hot Tub, Wifi, Pets Ok
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252551vb
-(910) 392-0463
Todd High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Sarasota, Florida
5

Thanksgiving Vacation

  • 5 of 5
What a great place!!! Was perfect for our family. Wonderfully decorated and extremely peaceful. Hope to return next year. Thank you!!!
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the nice review. It is always good to hear that your time at the cabin was enjoyable. I hope that you will return soon.
Angie
business
Southern Charm-Private Cabin, Decks, Hot Tub, Wifi, Pets Ok
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252551vb
-(910) 392-0463
Todd High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
Our family had such a wonderful time staying at this cabin! Was spacious and we loved being surrounded by the trees. It was so relaxing! We couldn't get the air hockey table to turn on, but everything else worked great. Thanks so much Angie.
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Southern Charm-Private Cabin, Decks, Hot Tub, Wifi, Pets Ok
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252551vb
-(910) 392-0463
Todd High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
Very peaceful and relaxing stay at your cabin. Best night's slept I've had in a while. Loved the hot tub!
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Amber. Let me know when you two can return.
Angie

Map

Our cabin is close to everything. Todd, 1 mile-Todd Gereral Store, Todd Merchantile, the New River- go fishing, kayaking, tubing. The Railroad grade- enjoy biking, and horseback riding. Boone- 10 miles away grocery stores, downtown shopping, ASU, The Daniel Boone Inn, Boone Mall. Blowing Rock, 17 miles-quaint downtown shopping, fine dining, Tweetsie, The Blowing, Bass Lake. Banner Elk, 20 miles-snow skiing, Grandfather Mtn.,snow tubing. West Jefferson, 10 miles away- NC Cheese Factory, shops, dining, grocery stores, Walmart.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $115 Per night

Todd Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday
Dec 21 2014 - Jan 3 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Winter Rate
Jan 4 2015 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$115
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%
Notes If booking 30 days out from your arrival date, you can put 25% of the total and the balance will be due 14 days before your arrival date.
If booking your trip within 30 days of your arrival date, full payment is needed to book your trip.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Todd Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 full tubs with showers, high vanity, tile floors
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon in loft for watching TV, converts to bed when needed.
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding

Other Vacation Properties

$450 per week
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$900 - $1,020 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,350 - $1,650 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote