We booked this apartment based on it's proximity to Williamsburg as described. However, it's a solid 35 minute walk, at least, to the central shopping and dining areas in Williamsburg which was dissapointing. We also found this street very noisy and the neighborhood in general was sketchy. During our stay everynight between 2-4 am there was some loud carrying on/disturbance outside on the street. We had expected to be able to go out for breakfast or lunch or drinks from this apartment however this is not the area for that. We wound up getting either taxi's or car services to go out.
The second bedroom is accessed by walking through the first bedroom and is about the size of the double-bed and that's it. There is nowhere to set personal items and is barely room to dress. The second room was airless and unfortunately anyone who got up in either bedroom during the night woke up everyone else becuase the floors are terribly creeky. At some point during the night each one of us would get up to use the restroom, which meant your sleep was disrupted an additional 3 times besides getting up yourself. We were all wearing earplugs and were still woken by the squeeky floors. We had requested sheets for the pullout bed in the living room which is a wierd half of an old sectional couch. Unfortunately we got them a day later than we were told we would recieve them and they only contained 1 flat sheet and 1 pillow case. Due to the noisy sleeping situation I tryed on the night we should have received the sheets to sleep on the half sectional without pulling out the bed since I didn't have sheets. The pillows kept slipping out all night long and was worse than the airless noisy front bedroom.
Finally in general if you look at the pictures there is nowhere to sit in the apartment except the half sectional (which has replaced the couch pictured) or the four chairs at the dining table. So for four people, there are not soft seats for everyone to relax on and really no side tables to put anything on. Finaly, the people before us had broken the coffee pot so the four of us shared a single serve french press I had brought from home which was not ideal.
Overall, the apartment was clean and the owner was a very nice but we were dissapointed with the location and sleeping situation. Street parking was ample and the subway was close by.
Owner's Response: In the modern age of Google, one can access most information about a property’s location, if the proximity to W'bug was of extreme import as these guests are implying then due diligence should have been served when making the booking. In the description I truly stated "walking distance" because many guests who have stayed with us have claimed for them that it is in walking distance of the apt. However, if you are from a car culture community any distance longer than a 5 minute walk will be considered arduous. I do not take kindly to the neighborhood being described as "sketchy" in what context is this being expressed? My understanding of sketchy means something that just isn't right! What was not right? There was adequate parking, close to the subway, bedroom community. This neighborhood has a mixture of all ethnicities and races. I am sure at no time was this group of people accosted in a menacing manner or felt unsafe. This is New York for heaven's sake I cannot control what happens in the wee hours of the morning in a neighborhood where people live, this is not an isolated area. The pictures of the bedrooms are a true likeness, how can a bedroom be airless when there are huge almost floor to ceiling windows in the room, that makes absolutely no sense to me, additionally there are ac units. We have been doing this for over four years and this is the first time anyone has talked about creaky and squeaky not creeky and squeeky floors. It's an old house for heavens sake I will consult with someone on how to control that since I was not aware of that problem or if it can be remedied. I have apologized about the delay on the sheets, I have also apologized for the broken coffee pot, the cleaning person did not tell me about the broken pot. I told the guest that she should have let me know about the missing pot for me to replace it she assured me that they worked it out and that all was well. At the end of the day, you can't please everyone all the time. We do try. I hope to address the things I can, noise in the street, distance to W'burg it is what it is; I can't do anything about that. Of no mention is the fact that they got an extra night for free because I was celebrating the holiday and allowed them to arrive early so that I could visit with my family.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?