Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Kay Hart

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Kay Hart

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GRAND RETREAT

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, one bathroom, sleeps 6.

As our name suggests; Home is where the Hart is and we know that for the time that you stay with us you will feel at home with the amenities that we have provided and your presence. Property is located less than two blocks from subway. There is a city park close by. Also within walking distance Williamsburg neighborhood. Lots of available public transport.The G train connects to the A express which gets you to Manhattan in about 15 minutes. Dining for 6 people. Television and IPod player provided. We strive to be one of the best vacation rentals in Brooklyn by being hands on and available.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kay Hart (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Grand Retreat
average rating of 4.2777777 based on 18 reviews
business
Grand Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251508
-+1 7184192273
Brooklyn New York City
4

Clean and cosy. Great for subway access

  • 4 of 5
Nice and clean apartment. The owners are doing renovation work on the whole building, so don't be alarmed if the house looks like a bit of a building site when you arrive. The apartment itself was very clean and really well decorated. The heating was a little unconventional and sometimes the apartment was cold, and sometimes very hot!
The location was great for access to the subway, and had multiple grocery stores within a few blocks walk. Once you were on the subway it was very easy to get over to Manhattan, up to Queens or down to Atlantic Ave.
The owner was prompt to reply to emails and enquires and was on site waiting for us when we arrived at the building.
Overall a pleasant stay. Thanks
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This group was the first to stay in this apt, it is a brand new listing that we have added to our Retreats Apartments. However the entire building is not being renovated just this ground floor apt and while the apt is completed and ready to be occupied the foyer area and entrance were still being worked on.
We wanted the travelers to be able to enjoy their stay once on the inside and we are glad that they did and the proximity to subway lines, grocery stores and destinations satisfied them. We thank them for choosing us as there are a lot to choose from and we strive to be the best.
business
Grand Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251508
-+1 7184192273
Brooklyn New York City
Cleveland, Ohio
2

Grand Retreat

  • 2 of 5
We booked this apartment based on it's proximity to Williamsburg as described. However, it's a solid 35 minute walk, at least, to the central shopping and dining areas in Williamsburg which was dissapointing. We also found this street very noisy and the neighborhood in general was sketchy. During our stay everynight between 2-4 am there was some loud carrying on/disturbance outside on the street. We had expected to be able to go out for breakfast or lunch or drinks from this apartment however this is not the area for that. We wound up getting either taxi's or car services to go out.

The second bedroom is accessed by walking through the first bedroom and is about the size of the double-bed and that's it. There is nowhere to set personal items and is barely room to dress. The second room was airless and unfortunately anyone who got up in either bedroom during the night woke up everyone else becuase the floors are terribly creeky. At some point during the night each one of us would get up to use the restroom, which meant your sleep was disrupted an additional 3 times besides getting up yourself. We were all wearing earplugs and were still woken by the squeeky floors. We had requested sheets for the pullout bed in the living room which is a wierd half of an old sectional couch. Unfortunately we got them a day later than we were told we would recieve them and they only contained 1 flat sheet and 1 pillow case. Due to the noisy sleeping situation I tryed on the night we should have received the sheets to sleep on the half sectional without pulling out the bed since I didn't have sheets. The pillows kept slipping out all night long and was worse than the airless noisy front bedroom.

Finally in general if you look at the pictures there is nowhere to sit in the apartment except the half sectional (which has replaced the couch pictured) or the four chairs at the dining table. So for four people, there are not soft seats for everyone to relax on and really no side tables to put anything on. Finaly, the people before us had broken the coffee pot so the four of us shared a single serve french press I had brought from home which was not ideal.

Overall, the apartment was clean and the owner was a very nice but we were dissapointed with the location and sleeping situation. Street parking was ample and the subway was close by.
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the modern age of Google, one can access most information about a property’s location, if the proximity to W'bug was of extreme import as these guests are implying then due diligence should have been served when making the booking. In the description I truly stated "walking distance" because many guests who have stayed with us have claimed for them that it is in walking distance of the apt. However, if you are from a car culture community any distance longer than a 5 minute walk will be considered arduous. I do not take kindly to the neighborhood being described as "sketchy" in what context is this being expressed? My understanding of sketchy means something that just isn't right! What was not right? There was adequate parking, close to the subway, bedroom community. This neighborhood has a mixture of all ethnicities and races. I am sure at no time was this group of people accosted in a menacing manner or felt unsafe. This is New York for heaven's sake I cannot control what happens in the wee hours of the morning in a neighborhood where people live, this is not an isolated area. The pictures of the bedrooms are a true likeness, how can a bedroom be airless when there are huge almost floor to ceiling windows in the room, that makes absolutely no sense to me, additionally there are ac units. We have been doing this for over four years and this is the first time anyone has talked about creaky and squeaky not creeky and squeeky floors. It's an old house for heavens sake I will consult with someone on how to control that since I was not aware of that problem or if it can be remedied. I have apologized about the delay on the sheets, I have also apologized for the broken coffee pot, the cleaning person did not tell me about the broken pot. I told the guest that she should have let me know about the missing pot for me to replace it she assured me that they worked it out and that all was well. At the end of the day, you can't please everyone all the time. We do try. I hope to address the things I can, noise in the street, distance to W'burg it is what it is; I can't do anything about that. Of no mention is the fact that they got an extra night for free because I was celebrating the holiday and allowed them to arrive early so that I could visit with my family.
business
Grand Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251508
-+1 7184192273
Brooklyn New York City
4

Una estancia muy agradable

  • 4 of 5
Estuvimos 5 personas en el apartamento de Kaly. El apartamento es tal y como muestran las fotografías. Está situado muy cerca del metro y casi al lado de un supermercado que nos vio muy bien, por lo menos para poder desayunar en casa. Kaly fue muy amable con nosotros y no tuvimos ningun problema para dejar las maletas en el apartamento el último día, ya que el avión salia un poco tarde, y así aprovechamos el día. Otra cosa que nos vino muy bien fue que Kaly nos puso en contacto con un taxista que nos fue a recoger y a llevar al aeropuerto y fue comodisimo.
El único inconveniente que le pondría es que el apartamento para 6 personas es un poco pequeño, mejor para 5 como fuimos nosotros, pues el sofá es de muelles y dos personas ahí sería bastante incomodo.
Por lo demás todo perfecto. El barrio nos encanto muy tranquilo y muy bonito. Lo pasamos fenomenal en Nueva York
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Grand Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251508
-+1 7184192273
Brooklyn New York City
4

Nice place, wonderful hostess!

  • 4 of 5
We spend a wonderful week in this apartment last week (sept. 12). It was clean and well functioning, and placed in a quiet local street in Brooklyn. We were 4 persons and enjoyed especially the fine dialog with our hostess, Kay. She and her husband is so helpful, which were especially nice for 1. time visitors to NYC like us. We spent the most time in Manhattan, but it was very easy to use the subway, and at no time there was more than a good half hour home. Only 3 min. to Myrtle subway station, and you were on the go.
The only thing we missed a little bit in the app. was 1 og 2 comfortable chairs supplying the sleeper sofa, so we all 4 could relax in the sitting room after touring Manhattan, but all in all a very nice place I won't hesitate to recommend to others.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Grand Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251508
-+1 7184192273
Brooklyn New York City
4

Nice place to stay!

  • 4 of 5
We spent some nice vacation days in this great apartment. The surroundings was calm, services like subway and supermarkets nearby. The house was spacious, in good condition and clean. The kitchen was well equipped, only thing our ladies complained was that there could have been more plates and cutlery. The hostess was very friendly and helpful -when we asked for extra linens she provided them instantly. I sincerely recommend this vacation rental!
Erkki, Finland
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We check for malfunctioning appliances and broken or missing dishes on a monthly basis. I was truly not aware that there were missing items and if I was advised of this, I would have remedied immediately. It's just that some guests break items and don't let me know. So I am extremely sorry that dishes were lacking.
business
Grand Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251508
-+1 7184192273
Brooklyn New York City
Italy
4

Corrado, Italy

  • 4 of 5
The place is really nice, the neighborhood is quiet and the subway station is just 5 minutes walking away. The apartment is very clean and organized, it is not really big if you are 6 but you can fit. The owners are really nice and will help you with everything (especially with the parking which is a little tricky because they clean different sides of the street in different days). We had everything we needed, there is a grocery store just 2 minutes away. And New York of course is awesome! Really enjoyed staying here.
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $135 Per night

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off-Peak
Sep 16 2014 - Nov 21 2014
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,045
$2,200
 
 
Holiday
Dec 22 2014 - Jan 10 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
$3,500
 
 
Winter
Jan 11 2015 - Feb 28 2015
3 night minimum stay
$135
$900
$2,000
 
 
Spring
Mar 1 - May 14
3 night minimum stay
$165
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,145
$3,810
 
 
summer
May 15 - Sep 15
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,395
$4,680
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,100
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable deposit $150
Cleaning Fee $100

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Brooklyn Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote