Spring Break DC Stay
I waited just over a month to write this review and with a friend about to visit DC, I realized that I could recommend this VRBO listing, but with some caveats.
First the positive... Everything we wanted to see in DC was readily accessible. It was roughly a 5-minute walk to the Columbia Heights Metro, to the Giants grocery store, etc. We really enjoyed The Heights restaurant north of the Metro station. The owners also provide a very detailed "welcome packet" with suggestions for the DC area, tips on both touristy things & other ideas on what to see that a non-local might not know about. This was greatly appreciated. Beds were comfortable and there were plenty of "spaces" for us to utilize in the evenings for reading, privacy, etc. The kitchen provided everything we needed for the simple meals we planned to prepare.
The negative... while this home was plenty spacious (we are a family of 5 with three children ages 10, 12, 14), to call it "luxury" is a bit of a stretch. The pictures are mostly accurate in what the space looks like and we don't need complete luxury to be comfortable. However, once we arrived, we found 3 TVs, only 1 of which actually worked. The one in the master didn't even have a plug connecting it to the wall, and the small one in the loft either didn't have a remote or otherwise didn't work. (These aren't pictured, though, and if you don't want multiple TVs you'll be fine.) The DVD player also didn't work, so after our initial travel day when we were tired & wanted to watch the movie they had in the TV cabinet, we were disappointed to be unable to do so. Also, I have two girls & a son & at the end of long days trekking through the city, it would have been nice for them to be able to relax and watch different things on TV. Not a huge deal, but if only 1 TV works, I suggest removing the others from the rental so one doesn't have the expectation of 3 working TVs. I'd also say that the IKEA furnishings are starting to show wear. The white TV cabinet was broken (the two outer large drawers would not shut) and the fabric on the loft couch was wearing off.
Overall, the rental was functional and well-priced compared to hotels (factoring in that we could cook some dinners in....), but I would look around before choosing this rental again. I have typically rented VRBOs in the CO mountains near our home, and this experience was average compared to the other places we have stayed.
Tourists without a Car,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Washington and our unit. We are sorry about the TVs not working. We only advertise one TV as of right now as we have just recently purchased the additional three TVs that were waiting for the cable company to come out and connect them, which is why they were not working when you were staying with us.
We also really appreciate your input about the luxury aspect of our unit. We understand that the word luxury can be very subjective and local. In our market (being Washington DC), having almost 1,700 square feet of living space, newly renovated, with brand new kitchen, stainless steel appliance, luxury modern bathrooms, one block to the Metro in NW part of Washington comes at a cost of almost $1 mil, which we consider luxury. But again, luxury is subjective and we appreciate you noting that.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?