BRIGHT BEAUTIFUL BEACHHOUSE - CLOSEST HOUSE TO THE BEACH IN OFV!!!

Alma

Speaks french, english
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BRIGHT BEAUTIFUL BEACHHOUSE - CLOSEST HOUSE TO THE BEACH IN OFV!!!

Santa Rosa Beach House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 9

“Alma at the Sea” is a rental home located in the heart of the Emerald Coast on 30-A and is the perfect home for your next unforgettable beach experience! Just steps away from breathtaking white beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf, this home is in the perfect location – CLOSEST HOUSE TO THE BEACH in Old Florida Village. Unlike most houses in OFV, which have other houses on both sides, the south side of this home opens up to beautiful magnolia trees and a view of the Gulf from the master bedroom.

This beautiful non-smoking home has been furnished with brand new furniture and appliances, decorated with a chic beachy feel and a focus on luxurious comfort to maximize your vacation experience. It features three spacious bedrooms with three full baths, and very comfortably sleeps nine in TWO KING BEDS (one upstairs, one downstairs) and a bunk room with one twin bunk and one twin over a full bunk. Each bedroom has its own private porch, featuring amazing sea breezes straight from the beach.

'Alma at the Sea': “Alma at the Sea” is a beautiful non-smoking home has never been lived in and has been furnished with brand new furniture and appliances, decorated with a chic beachy feel and a focus on luxurious comfort to maximize your vacation experience. It features three spacious bedrooms with three full baths, and very comfortably sleeps nine in TWO KING BEDS (one upstairs, one downstairs) and a bunk room with one twin bunk and one twin over a full bunk. Each bedroom has its own private porch, featuring amazing sea breezes straight from the beach. After a day at the beach or pool, an outdoor shower allows for a quick clean up. During downtime, you can also enjoy the large open kitchen with a breakfast bar and stools and an adjacent dining area, or settle on the large comfy couch to watch HDTV with a DVD player. WIRELESS INTERNET and unlimited local and long-distance calls are also provided.

Old Florida Village: Old Florida Village is the perfect community for family vacations, with two relaxing community pools (one mere steps away), adorable cottage-style homes, plenty of room for children to play and chase the ice cream truck, and paved driveways. The beach access across the street includes bathrooms, showers, a covered picnic area and parking.

Here, you are a short walk or bike ride away from Gulf Place (where you will find outdoor concerts, local art displays and shops and eateries) and close to other beach communities such as Blue Mountain, Dune Allen, Grayton, Water Color and Seaside where fine dining, shopping and a salon/spa can be found. At the entrance to the village are eighteen miles of bike paths and the Santa Rosa Golf and Beach Club is just down the street. Looking for a day in town? You will be just a few miles from shopping, restaurants, movie theaters, water parks, miniature golf, etc. in Destin (including the largest designer outlet mall in the country in Sandestin).

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
Thank you for letting us use your house for our trip, we had a really good vacation at the beach! - Tara (Birmingham)
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 7

Alma

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks french, english

I am a former lawyer turned entrepreneur and avid traveler. My love for travel started right here along 30A. Every summer, my mom would pack my brother and I into the car to drive down from Maryland to visit my great-grandmother in Seagrove Beach, where she and her two sisters had settled decades earlier. Through those trips, I saw 30A grow each year from 18 miles of open forest (yes, even where Seaside is now!) to the thriving collection of beach communities that it is today.

Upon graduation from law school, I settled in New York for many years until my love for the outdoors got the best of me. I have traveled extensively throughout North America, South America, Europe and South Africa, as well as to Australia and Antarctica, with Thailand next on the agenda. Both of my properties are decorated with photos I've taken during my travels, which can also be found on my website, www.a2photos.com.

Alma purchased this house in 2009

I always knew that when I bought a home, it would be along 30A. Soon after I went to college, my mom moved to Seagrove Beach from Maryland where I grew up. Since then, 30A has not only been a place of childhood summer memories, but also where I go home to visit my family, which extends to more descendants than I can count of my great-grandmother (who had four children) and her two sisters, many of whom also own homes all along 30A.

Having extensively traveled myself, I view my properties as my opportunity to give other travelers the experience that I want when I travel. From soft towels to a responsive host, I want you to have the experience that I would want and, if you don't, I really do feel your pain and will do all I can to fix it. From the beginning, I have closely managed everything about my properties, including designing and decorating, and building the furniture myself (with some able assistance from friends and family!) Helping me in the day to day management are my mom and my lovely housekeeper, both of whom live only a short drive away. There is no management company standing between you and the owner, and my focus is on you, not shuttling guests through hundreds of properties. This is a personal effort and we will do everything we can to make sure that you have a wonderful trip.

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.9
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Bright Beautiful Beachhouse - Closest House to the Beach in OFV!!!
average rating of 3.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Bright Beautiful Beachhouse - Closest House to the Beach in OFV!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248286
Santa Rosa Beach South Walton
Michigan
1

DISSAPOINTING OWNER

  • 1 of 5
House was dirty upon arrival, trash over flowing, each bathroom had only 1 bath towel not enough when owner was told there would be 8 people. Bunk beds in kids room were unsafe so kids had to make beds on the floor, the bed in the downstairs master bedroom also broke keeping us up past 2AM, as we noticed that it was already rigged with towels holding it up which owner said held for over a year...dresser was unusable in master bedroom as well. Shower curtain and curtains in kids room were very cheap and not installed properly with rods bent. We contacted owner per directions on contract immediately following each problem. When owner finally responded to our complaints we were told it was a holiday and she'd have to pay extra to send somebody so we had to borrow bath towels from friends staying down the street, husbands went to the store and used tools they had to tighten beds etc. On a vacation you don't expect to have to work or have kids sleep on the floor. When she did send a housekeeper or maintenance person we weren't there and they entered. After departing we were told we wouldn't get our deposit back due to a broken window in the master bedroom, which we didn't notice because you couldn't get to that window with how the bed is set up we suggested it be possible the person who tried to fix the bed could've broke it as we went no where near the window. We contacted owner regarding every issue we wouldn't ignore a broken window and if we broke it we would admit to that as well. Owner stated she would contact us with a price of the window being fixed to see if any deposit could be refunded, however we never heard back from her nor would she respond to calls or emails. Reading other reviews it seems to be how she gets items fixed up is by keeping deposits. Very unprofessional owner to deal with and if you stay you can bet she will find a reason to keep your deposit!
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Out of dozens of guests who stayed at my home this year, you will see that this was only one of two who left a negative review (understandably, it's harder to get people to take the time to leave positive reviews...which is why I've added some privately e-mailed comments I've received to the site). This was also only one of two who had their deposit withheld...because they each caused significant damage. In this case, the guests broke a window in the downstairs bedroom. I tried to get a quote for fixing it as quickly as possible, but sometimes vendors can be a bit slow in the area on non-emergencys due to the amount of work, especially during high season. Before I was able to get back to her, the guest posted this review. To the extent this guest raised issues during her stay, they were promptly addressed. My housekeeper was out of town for Easter, so I found someone else who was able to come by to look at the issues that had been raised, including fixing one dresser drawer that had come off the tracks (the rest of the dresser was perfectly usable, as were the beds). And I gave the guests the code to the master owners' closet so they could help themselves to as many extra towels as they needed (which they did). As always, I did everything in my power to make sure that this guest had a wonderful stay. I only charge a guest's deposit very reluctantly and most often waive any minor issues. But in this case, there was significant damage that had to be repaired. Had these guests been otherwise respectful and waited until I received a response on the repairs, we probably could have worked out a middle ground.
business
Bright Beautiful Beachhouse - Closest House to the Beach in OFV!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248286
Santa Rosa Beach South Walton
1

DISAPPOINTING OWNER

  • 1 of 5
I had quite a few issues with the cleanliness of the house, but was not going to out the owner on the internet, but rather send a private email making some suggestions, until I received an email from the owner, 15 days AFTER we left the property, saying that we had broken a vanity mirror, and she was trying to get a replacement cost to bill us!! What? The house had been rented the entire time after we left, we DID NOT break her mirror, and to let me know only 15 days after we left is ridiculous. So I told her I was not paying for the mirror. She said I was rude to her housekeeper upon arrival, which is untrue as well. All I asked her was when the 2 heaping trash cans, that were sitting in the driveway from the previous renter, were going to be picked up. She said she did not know, and I was not very happy at this news.She also accused me of leaving a 26c tip for her housekeeper, with a note saying "for housekeeping". This is also untrue. At this point I was sure she had the wrong renter, as it had already been 2 weeks. We checked out 30 minutes late, as I was trying to make sure that I followed all the departure procedures, stripping beds, starting laundry, running dishwasher, turning everything of etc. She also accused me of not following departure procedures????? When she realized that she was not going to win the mirror story, she then said she was going to charge me a full nights' stay for my late check-out! Really?? My cc company would not dispute the charge for me, as I had authorized the initial deposit, so I am out one nights stay for 30 minutes.... Now for the house. The white carpets were black with filth, the tiles so dirty that you had to wear shoes so as not to end up with black feet. The windows were dirty, the windowsills filthy, the doors to the patios were so hard to open. The dishwasher door inside was so dirty I had to wash it before use. The paint above the shower in one master bathroom was peeling, and there was mold. The walls around the house were marked and dirty. The house smelled badly of fish for 3 days, causing us to have to go buy air freshener. There was no soap in the bath/shower, which there has been in every other house I have ever rented.The one outside trash can had no lid, but the rental contract specifically said to keep lids on trash cans. The furniture and appliances are not new, except for the washer/dryer. I felt very disrespected by this owner, and accused of things that I had not done. Beware....
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was the second of two guests, out of dozens that stayed this year, that broke something. And, accordingly, the second that wrote a negative review once I would not refund their deposit...in order to replace the broken mirror. My housekeeper sent me pictures upon their departure and I immediately tried to get competitive quotes for fixing it in order to refund as much of the deposit as possible. After spending hours on the phone going back and forth with them, and them refusing to wait until the quotes came in for us to discuss settling the deposit, I finally just charged them for their late checkout, which is clearly stated in the contract, but I've waived as a courtesy for every other guest with whom it's been an issue (because they generally have otherwise been respectful of my home and my representatives). These same guests left a 26 cent tip for my housekeeper (of which I have proof, despite the denials in the review) and steamrolled over her upon arrival, after I expressly told them they were welcome to leave their stuff, but to please be mindful that my housekeeper would still be working as this was a one day turnaround. During their stay, they consistently raised issues that turned out not to be issues (for example, sending an e-mail that the trash had not been picked up, when it turned out that the waste management truck simply had not gotten to my house yet). And then they checked out late, forcing my housekeeper to wait for them before she could get in to clean and have the house ready for the guests checking in later that day. This was all especially unfortunate because I had given these guests a generous last minute discount, so in all, they still came out ahead. Meanwhile, I've had to pay for the broken mirror on top of absorbing the consequences of an untruthful review. As for the house itself, we deep clean it four times a year, including carpet steaming as needed, and thoroughly clean between guests. If guests encounter any issues during their stay, I'm always happy to ask my housekeeper to come by to address them. I promptly responded to every question from this renter during their stay and they never once raised any of the concerns outlined below, which appeared out of nowhere only for this review. I travel a lot and so I understand and do the best I can to maintain a home that is clean and inviting. To the extent I receive constructive feedback, it's always addressed. Happy to answer specific additional questions.
business
Bright Beautiful Beachhouse - Closest House to the Beach in OFV!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248286
Santa Rosa Beach South Walton
5

A STUNNING GATEWAY!!

  • 5 of 5
Myself and a friend arrived here and were blown way, by the space and the ammenities that we recieved for our bucks!
The house is beautifully decorated, we esp loved the photographic art work that was taken by the owner of her own travels ( which had now given some more adventure ideas.). Lovely big tv and entertaining area was great when we had some other friends who were staying near by over.
One of the other reviews mentioned the beach being too far away! The beach is a lovely 5 minute walk away and if that is too far for the unfit among us, there is a pool a minute walk in the other direction. Not to mention another pool 3 minutes up from the first pool.
We will definately be back again, esp as the owner was so helpful and gave us some great tips regarding what to do and where to eat.
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Bright Beautiful Beachhouse - Closest House to the Beach in OFV!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248286
Santa Rosa Beach South Walton
Belle Chasse, LA/ USA
4

FAMILY WEDDING

  • 4 of 5
We stayed at this lovely, spacious, clean beach house to attend my cousin's wedding in Seagrove which was a short drive away. In the mornings we walked/jogged to the Gulf Place coffee shop which is only a few blocks away (since we couldn't get the coffee pot to work) for coffee/breakfast. The community was very quiet and peaceful. We layed out by the pool one day and met some very nice people from Canada. On our last night we ate at the restaurant, Goatfeathers across 30A. The service was a bit slow for it not being very crowded, but the food was good. The owner was very accommodating with our rental terms especially since it was SPRING BREAK week. Most places required a 7 night minimum stay, but the owner worked with us and our schedule which was most appreciated. I would recommend this vacation home to families with children since the third bedroom upstairs has two sets of bunk beds (sleeps 5) and it's own bathroom.
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Bright Beautiful Beachhouse - Closest House to the Beach in OFV!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248286
Santa Rosa Beach South Walton
Nashville TN
2

TRUTH IN ADVERTISING

  • 2 of 5
We (six of us, average age 65) rented this house in early October 2012. The steps from the beach measured 4/10 of a mile by my car odometer. There were no gulf views from the highest point of the house, so I believe the description of location to be very misleading. Spacious description for bedrooms is a bit of a stretch. My wife and I stayed in the downstairs bedroom with kingsize bed that had to be up against front wall to allow door to open, a large chair, chest of drawers (one of the drawers front pulled off), small table and closet, all of which made walking about the room very tight. Large for kitchen also a bit of a stretch, unless you are used to efficiency apartment. My wife and I arrived early and cleaning lady was not done. We left to do some shopping and returned to find more dirt/dust than one would expect. The couple staying in the room with bunk beds moved a matress to the floor because of discomfort on the bed. We did not expect the Ritz, but were disappointed with location relative to beach, general condition, and furnishings. I have never written a negative review on any place I've stayed before, but felt the listing was inaccurate enough that I felt compelled to advise other potential renters what to expect.
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Everything about my home is as described on my listing, which includes many pictures (so you can judge for yourselves whether it is spacious enough...it certainly is for me) and a map showing exactly where the house is in proportion to the beach. In addition, I always answer specific questions raised by guests such as "how far is the walk to the beach" before they book. This guest did not ask a single question before booking. The guest also did not raise a single issue during his stay, which made this review a shock - all the moreso because I did not charge his group for a very late departure, even though this was on top of them being extremely rude to my housekeeper when they arrived before the agreed upon check in time. As for the downstairs bedroom, it's no secret that I have a kingsize bed in that room, which many guests appreciate. If you prefer a queen size bed with more floor space, there are plenty of properties that provide that. And upstairs, I guess it's a matter of preference because I personally love the mattresses in the bunk room (and sometimes choose to stay in that room because they're so comfortable), which are the highest quality mattresses that were available. I value such things after many years of traveling and staying on uncomfortable beds myself. I guess the best reflection of this guest would be his own words...after I sent him an e-mail addressing and expressing disappointment at not being notified of these issues prior to the review, the reviewer's brother-in-law sent a response, to which the reviewer sent a "reply all" (clearly not intended for me) stating, "you are one mean dude! WELL DONE!" Someone like that is going to leave a negative review no matter how hard I try and I would ask that if that's you, please don't book with me. I like to create a positive environment for positive people.
business
Bright Beautiful Beachhouse - Closest House to the Beach in OFV!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248286
Santa Rosa Beach South Walton
5

GREAT LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
We really enjoyed our stay here! Great house for a medium to small sized family. The neighborhood was very family friendly and having a pool in walking distance was a plus. The bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable. It was a terrific location being close to the beach, Publix, and lots non-chain restaurants. We'd recommend Stinky's for lunch or dinner. Also, there were tons of outlet stores about 15 minutes away, we enjoyed this on a rainy day. This was our first visit to Santa Rosa Beach and we plan to return as soon as we can. Our trip will diffidently be remembered in our favorite vacations!
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Santa Rosa Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 31 2014 - Aug 15 2014
4 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,550
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 16 2014 - Aug 28 2014
3 night minimum stay
$180
From
$196
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 29 2014 - Aug 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$192
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300.00
Cleaning Fee $150.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes May consider stays shorter than the minimum stay if they fit into the current schedule, as reflected in my Calendar.

Weekend rates apply to short stays only, they do not apply to stays longer than the minimum.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Santa Rosa Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Living Room
  • Linens Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Toilet Paper
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bedroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Downstairs Bedroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bunkroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 king
    Bunkroom - 1 double , 3 twin/ single
  • This beautiful non-smoking home has been furnished with brand new furniture and appliances, decorated with a chic beachy feel and a focus on luxurious comfort to maximize your vacation experience. It features three spacious bedrooms with three full baths, and very comfortably sleeps nine in TWO KING BEDS (one upstairs, one downstairs) and a bunk room with one twin bunk and one twin over a full bunk. Each bedroom has its own private porch, featuring amazing sea breezes straight from the beach.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Games
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Balcony ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Beach Towels
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • forests
  • theme parks
  • health/beauty spa
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • pond
  • water parks
  • restaurants
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • boating
  • shopping
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • fitness center
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • parasailing
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email