This was our first experience with VRBO so we tried to be very careful choosing a property. The pictures on this site were what made us feel comfortable renting here. The owner was very friendly, said he didn't use contracts (my first mistake) and didn't take credit cards, only checks or cash (my 2nd mistake). He described the house as newly remodeled, clean and great location. I told him we wanted to do a lot of bbqing and he said there was a bbq on our patio and that we could share the street level common area with his other guests (this is a triplex).
Upon arrival, we brought all our suitcases up and looked for the owner (he said he would be there to greet us and collect the balance of the money due - we have previously sent in a check for the first night). After knocking on the other 2 units and finding them rented out, we assumed that Gary wasn't there after all.
When we went back up to our unit to unpack, we found the following:
1) Sand all over the floor
2) Sand in the shower
3) Hair on the toilet seat and lots of hair in the shower
4) The window sills paint was completely cracked off and in desperate need of repair.
5) The unit was very hot and when we tried to turn on the Air Conditioning, the thermostat fell off.
6) The deck is in need of repair
7) There is a horrible sewage smell in back where you park and a police officer helping us park said, "you may not want to park in front of this house because of the smell".
8) There was a large group of people renting the bottom unit and they were loud and partying and swearing and we could hear in inside our unit.
9) The common area that we were looking forward to using was covered with beer cans and cigarette butts.
10) The bbq on our patio was filthy, covered in cob webs.
I would continue but you get the idea. We called Gary after looking around and left him a vm to call us back. We couldn't stay there for the reasons above, mainly the lack of cleanliness. We expect the unit to be clean. We knew we would get no sleep with the partying in the lower unit. We moved to a nearby hotel. The photos on this site do not represent the house. The location is great for sure, but the house needs to be cleaned up, painted, etc. Might be great for a college grad party, but not the quiet vacation we needed.
Gary has refused to refund our money and was horrible to us on the phone. Renter beware.
Owner's Response: It's amazing how things can be distorted and twisted. It's kinda crazy that she doesnt mention that my $9 million oceanfront home has 136' of beach frontage whereas all others in the area have 30'. She says I dont use contracts, I do if a renter wants one. She says I dont accept credit cards, I do accept them! She says upon arrival she brought her suitcases upstairs(thats an important piece of information). She said "Id be there to greet them and collect the balance due" I said "the balance is due upon arrival" Which she didn't pay. She knocked on door at other units to find me but made no attempt to call or text. She went back to her unit to unpack(again another piece of unimportant information). She found sand on the floor and in shower (if I was contacted I would have had my cleaning there within the hour to address her concerns).There was a window sill in need of repair (yes it has been repaired). She stated the air conditioning was not working. My home like all the other ocean front homes in the area dont have or need air conditioning! She stated the deck is in need of repair (Im still looking and cant find). She stated "There's a horrible sewage smell in back where you park and a police officer helping her park said 'you may not want to park there due to the smell' " A police officer had to help her park? He said "dont park there due to the smell". Directly behind my property is all red zone clearly painted. So dont park in a red zone due to the smell? Ive never smelled an odor.Thats not a sewer, its a storm drain for rain water to the Ocean. Why not use the parking pass that I provided and park with the other cars? Heard swearing from people staying 2 levels down. My apologies on their behalf! "The common area was covered with beer cans and cigarette butts" She emailed me a pic to prove it! The fence at the ground level had 1 beer bottle, 1 pack of cigarettes, and 1 lighter. She was staying on the 3rd floor! "The bbq was filthy" I have a $40 Weber on the top unit that renters choose not to use, they all choose to use the $6,000 grill on the lower level. My question to all of these concerns is why she didnt contact me upon arrival so I could have had my cleaning lady there to address her concerns. I received a vm at 8:30, 6 1/2 after they arrived stating they just left. This is my first and only complaint in 5 years. Ill let you be the judge
Helpful votes: 15/16
Did you find this review helpful?