Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Tropical Getaway - Luxury Furnished Estate PERMIT# BBPH 2010-0001

Sylvia Lindig

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german
Bedrooms 3
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Sylvia Lindig

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 30, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Tropical Getaway - Luxury Furnished Estate PERMIT# BBPH 2010-0001

Bedrooms 3
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 4 nights


Haiku Estate Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms+ ext. Shower, 2 possible Airbed set ups, max. 10

Hale Haiku is built at the Slope of Maliko Valley. The Home was remodeled in 2008, and offers many unique Features with a Comfort of up to date Amenities. 2000 SF of Interior Living Area's are located on two Floors. 3 Queen Size Bedrooms, 3 luxury Bathrooms, and an entry exterior Shower providing spacious Comfort. Two extra Queen Size Air Beds are possible for larger Groups of Guest's. 1200 sf Lanai's are spread like wings throughout the entire Home, allowing Privacy Exit Lanais for each Room of the entire Home. Additional to the Interior and exterior Floor Area's, this unique setting at Maliko Valley ensures a 1000 acre Privacy View of the Tropical Forest, Coconut Trees, a series of Different Palm Trees, Tropical Fruit Trees, without a single adjacent Home in side. The Home is wired with Fast Speed Internet, wifi, Phone and Cable TV, and is located only minutes to Restaurant's, Beaches, Gym, Yoga, Massage and Dance Studio. A Park for early Birds is located in walking Distance.

1.) Master Bedroom Suite Master Bedroom offers one Queen Size Bed, two Night Stands, Office Desk and Table for Lab Top Set Up, Phone for calls within US, large Chair, His and Her Closets, extra Privacy Lanai, Travertine Stone Flooring, Area Carpets, Stone Hallway to Master Bath, and Master Bath. The Master Bath includes Fossil Slab Stone Counter, a dbl. Sink over Counter w/ sst Faucets, Maple Cabinets, a Step in Shower w/ Quarz Stone Floors and Glassblock 3/4 Walls, Travertine Stone Shower Walls, one Jaccuzzi Jetted Bath Tub surrounded with elevated Travertine Stone, a Bidet and WC, exit Door to exterior Shower, Marble 4 pattern Stone Floors.

2.) Kitchen features stainless steel Appliances, Microwave, Dishwasher, Large two sided Refrigerator, Maple Cabinets, Granite Sink, Granite Countertops, U sape, Travertine Stone Floors, Breakfast Niche w/ 3 Designer Chairs, and Glass Top Table. 3.) Dining Room offers solid Wood Table providing Seating for 8 Guest's. A small two sided Shelf Libary provides Books and Maui Adventure suggestions with Local Fliers, and a Music / Video Selection.

3.) The Living Room has two Italien Leather Sofa;s, a Wood burning Fire Place, a Flat Screen TV set-up w/ Netflix and Cable standard Channels. The wireless Phone and Internet is set up throughout the entire Home. Travertine Stone Flooring and Venetian Plaster at Living Room Walls and Floors. One Area high quality Carpet accompanied with Original Oil Paintings at Walls. 4.( Lower full Size Bathroom next to Entry Hallway includes Bath Tub, Shower, WC, Tiled Vanity.

5.) Second Floor: Carpet Flooring at two Queen Size Bedrooms, each with its separate Privacy Lanai, and separate Closet. Open Beam Ceilings, White Stained Ceiling and Closet Doors.

6.) Bathroom 3/4 with WC, Copper Over Counter Sink Bowl, and Fossil Stone Counters. Tiled Shower, Venetian Plaster Wall and Marble Floors. 6 ) Laundry Room with Large Capacity Washer and Dryer.

The overall Setting with its Views of Tropical Jungle and Hawaiian Forest, Haleakala Creator and West Maui Mountains

supports the ultimate Resting from our busy lives. The Serenity of Hale Haiku is breathtaking and rarely experienced due to our ever faster and speeding computerized World. Here, at Hale Haiku you can allow yourself to step back, breath, and experience the Beauty of Nature with its amazing Healing Magic.

-Security Camera Set up,

safe available by Owner,

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sylvia Lindig (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 30, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sylvia,two weeks ago it was 30 below in Saskatoowan and not much warmth in Alberta Canada.the snowbanks where head high ,and my husband and I where frantically putting the last minute details for our sons wedding.Amazingly my son and their new daughter invited their beautiful mothers along for their honeymoon .The wedding was beautiful ,the plane ride for 6 hours not quite as wonderful and we arrive to darkest night to amazing jungle sounds and your wonderful mountain paradise! What a joy to be able to share this trip with the people we love in this peaceful retreat .We wish you all the best in Heath and happiness .Shirley ,Scott,Barbara ,Mena,and lea Wright😀😀😀😀😀
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 14

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Tropical Getaway - Luxury Furnished Estate PERMIT# BBPH 2010-0001
average rating of 3.3636363 based on 25 reviews

Great Vacation Rental - but may not be for everyone

  • 5 of 5

I personally loved this Vacation Rental Property. We had 5 adults stay and 2 kids and 1 infant, and the space provided worked out very well in our case. The couple (my husband and I) had a private bedroom with a door (next to the yoga room and with its own very large bathroom). Our mothers each took a bedroom upstairs. It's important to know that each of these rooms has an "open window", no glass, to the vaulted ceiling over the dining room, so there is really no "privacy" for these guests in those rooms if they happen to snore or make noise at night...if you get my meaning. Worked well for us in our circumstance, though. Each of our kids slept with each of the grandma's in these rooms. One adult and the infant slept in the living room on an inflatable mattress, it has a sliding door for limited privacy, but is not noise proof to the rest of the house. The kitchen is big enough for this size of group. I see the comments from 02/13 that the dishwasher wasn't working the time we got there it was not working at all. So I hope she manages to get it fixed, I know Sylvia called but no one was available to fix it during our stay. It is NOT CLEAR from the photos that you have to park at the end of the steep driveway, and then walk down 36 stairs to the house - this was a surprise to me. Like I said, it's OK for fit people, but it was hard on my mom's bad knee. I left Sylvia an email suggesting a few more amenities be added to the kitchen - oven mitts, salad tongs and some mixing bowls or salad bowls. Hopefully those things are added. I also had no cell coverage until I drove to the grocery store in Haiku, but that might be different depending on your provider.

It was SO peaceful, the view is amazing, internet worked, it was clean and stylish, outdoor shower to wash sand off surfboards etc was very useful.

I would recommend this place highly, but for fit people, and understanding that those two upper rooms are not soundproof.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


  • 1 of 5

This house is not the luxury rental that it is portrayed to be. The professional photographs and staging make it look very appealing in the ad. However, on arrival one finds the house inside is shabby and in desperate need of TLC. There are patches on the walls and a coat of fresh paint everywhere would go a long way.

There are no instructions to operate the television (simply a few sticky messages on the fridge) - no real manual for the house. No trash bags in the kitchen - that is a staple. We had to run out and buy some of the most elementary supplies that we should have had in a "luxury" rental.

Tacky artwork adorns the walls, the towels are old and threadbare, the house is not very clean (dirt in all the corners). The sheets and bedclothes are disgusting and old. We felt as though we were sleeping in someone else's dirty bed. The dishwasher was full of dirty glasses and cutlery when we arrived. Very few plates - not a well stocked kitchen. Previous reviewers have mentioned that the kitchen lacks basic items but these comments have not been addressed by Sylvia and are still missing from the inventory. Another clue that this is not a house that is really "loved".

The lack of privacy with the upstairs bedrooms is really a problem. This is not a good house if you have some early risers and other later sleepers. Every footstep can be heard in the upstairs bedrooms through openings that look down on the lower living areas.

How hard would it be to provide some interesting local CD's to listen to? Again no instructions for the CD player.

The outdoor deck is a death trap with holes that have been covered over by plywood squares, wood rot visible to the naked eye and it also needs refurbishment. The outdoor furniture is also old, outdated and dirty.

Very important - ZERO cell connectivity. So if you need to use your phone forget this one. (Wifi connection for computers is good). There is a very steep driveway with limited turn around space at the bottom and no room for visitor cars. And a steep staircase to access the house (which should have been mentioned in the advertising).

I feel strongly that the house overall is misrepresented in the ad on VRBO and Homeaway. The views are lovely and it is surrounded by lush tropical vegetation which is gorgeous in the day and a very noisy playground for frogs all night long. The location is great - very easy drive to all amenities.

An adequate standard rental but again, definitely, NOT luxury.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bevor you Paid for this Rental, you Contacted me. Your Concern was about a Playground area for your Children. I responded to you when i received the concern that the property does not have an area around the home for children. other that the 1, 000 sf or wrap around Deck. But I also pointed out to you that there is a children's playground in walking distance to the Home, very suitable for small children. I am sorry that it was raining throughout your entire vacation and you were probably not able to play in the Haiku area at all. I am sure you must have seen the white wood boards laying stacked against the outside. We had these board since the winter- and still have- the same problem assuming due to the Climate change. We intended to change wood Boards at the Exterior, but we could not even fully prime them due to the weather. The reason that we label this Home as Luxury is based on the Interior Qualities. The master bath features Jetted raised tub with Fossil double sink Countrt, Bidet and WC, Marble Glass Block Step in Shower over Quartz Crystal.The Appliances are High end LG stainless steal, and so on. I am Architectural Designer with a portfolio of more than 11 Home designs.Having Designed 100 Homes on Maui, and 5 multi-story Buildings in Berlin. The quality of materials used in this home give us the label of a luxury rental. Of Course, it is very Painful to me to see how my Hand- Venetion Plaster walls are. It appears that other guests scratched walls perhaps with their luggage. We have decided to keep the damage deposit low and not repair minor damage after each guest. I hope that you have a much better experience during your next trip.
Moreno Valley, CA

Not what I expected

  • 2 of 5

Contrary to what other reviews have said, this place is not suitable for little children. There really is no where they can play outside. Beyond the backyard patio is not much square footage for kids to do anything. Similar to what another review said this place really is not easily accessible for people with limited mobility. The driveway is VERY VERY steep. You would definitely need a vehicle with good traction and tires to drive up and down it. Not to mention the flight of stairs from the driveway to the entrance of the home. Upon arrival as we were settling in we noticed a trail of black ants coming from behind the couch and realized that the throw blanket on the couch was literally filled with the ants. The 3 nights we stayed there we killed maybe 5 spiders. The last night (night 3) as I was laying my infant down on the floor (I put like 3 blankets to make it padded) a HUGE (about 2 1/2 inches) furry spider crawled out from under the blanket and toward our luggages. That night I literally booked a room at the Royal Lahaina Beach front Resort, we vacated the house the very next morning. I called the owner to tell her what happened, hoping she would refund the last two nights were supposed to stay (we paid for 5 nights) but she didn't. She did say sorry, and went on to say that they spray for bugs every 6 months. We live in the suburbs in Southern CA and we get sprayed quarterly, so a house nestled in the Jungle should probably get sprayed more often. The house is beautiful don't get me wrong, but definitely not what we expected.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You used thr full service of my Rental. The day after Departure, you called me by phone to request a full refund for your stay. You stated that the house had suposingly ans, and spiders. 4 People, 2 cleaners, myself and Husband rurned the Home over within 8 hours only to the next Arrival. T wich was you. The Home was in excellent clean condition. I myself conducted the Inspection, it was absolute clean. Your call after Departure was a threat to file a bad review, if I do not process a full refund. I refunded your Deposit, but did not refunded for the intire stay . The same day, I received a second bad review from Januart 2014 from guests not staying in my Home at all. This add is under Investigation as well. I will review those attempt to collect Money from my uisness with my Attourney.
Franktown, Co

Family Reunion

  • 1 of 5

The property is beautiful although, it does not have a grill - something we like for vacation, the Microwave did not work - oh well they will fix for the next renter, we were told not to open the wind vents - really?. Of course (per the lease agreement) we were charged extra when my daughter was added plus $30 for an air mattress set up. Seems like it was a one way street - we got charged for extra but when things don't work - we got a sorry. The communication from the owner wasn't what I expected, I had to follow up on the payment schedule and then again when a week away I still hadn't heard how to get access to the place. In summary - a beautiful place but left me cold as far as customer service. I will not rent here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Customer, Prior your arrival, I personally Inspected the Home, and found the Microwave in tact. You did send an email for the additional Service Request you had to my Listing, yet did not mention the Microwave. After your Departure, my Housekeeper found the Damage. My Husband bought a Replacement yesterday. As I not only live on the Property, but also was accesible tou you through VRBO and my email, I assume that you caused the in addition to the Damages of my Husbands RTV, Placing a Car Top of your Jeep on top, bending his Handle Bars and ripping his Cover. The Damages exceeded your Deposit. Thank you Owner
United States

Lovely and Secluded

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I wished we could have stayed longer. The view is incredible and the house is lovely, comfortable and very nicely set up for a small group.

As some of the other reviews have noted, it's not really suitable for people with mobility issues as there are significant stairs from the parking area down to the house.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Enjoyable Stay

  • 4 of 5

My family of five (Kids 16, 14, and 11) recently spent 10 days at this property. The house is in an absolutely lovely jungle setting. Decks are accessible on all sides of the house. Covered staircase leads from the parking area to the home.....stairs are in good shape, and well lit of the porch light is left on. Beds and bathrooms were clean and as pictures. Closet spaces available for hanging clothes as needed. Plenty of towels...appreciated as it was damp while we were visiting and I did tend to wash and dry after a couple of uses. Kids appreciated netflix with all the choices that offers! Easy driving access to Wailea, Lahaina, and Hana. Lots of good restaurants near by, and very close to Kahului where there is a Safeway, Walmart and Coscto for supplies. I did find the kitchen a bit short on good pans and oven ware....the dishwasher does not work that well either. Having said that the appliances such as fridge (ice maker) and stove were very clean and well functioning. Washer and dryer were very useful and efficient. The upstairs bedrooms had an open "window" to the dining area...noise seems to travel up and a light sleeper may find this disturbing. Wifi worked very well throughout the house. Living room furniture was comfortable and clean. Dining area has lots of space to sit and enjoy a meal. Sylvia answered our questions promptly and pleasantly. Overall, I thought this home was an excellent value and allowed my family a wonderful holiday!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Colleen, Hana Hou
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Spreckersville Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hana Highway
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Colleens, Hana Hou
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Car: necessary

Yoga, Dance Studio, Restaurants, Gym, Groceries, Children's Playground, Park, Post, Schools only One Minute from Home.


Rates & Availability

From $269 Per night

Haiku Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
standard rate
Dec 4 2014 - Dec 4 2015
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $260 + Tax
insurance fee $59 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes 290
$ 265.00 per night for a Group of 4 People + tax and cleaning fee
$ 290.00 per night for Group of 6 Guests + tax and cleaning fee.
Please check for Promotional Rates all year long

All Rates are subject to 13.42 % Tax and $ 225..00 Cleaning Fee.
A 100% refundable $ 300.00 Damage Deposit is subject to Damage Inspection after Departure.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Haiku Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , bidet , Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 1. Floor Bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , 2. Floor Bath
  • Master Bath and 2nd Floor Bath have Marble Flooring, Fossil Slab Counter, and Venetian Plaster Walls. Bathroom Lower Floor with sunken Vanity and Tile Flooring and Counter.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Bedroom
  • Two (2) Queen Size Air -Bed set ups are possible in addition to 3 Queen Size Bedrooms.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
A Safe is available to our Guests, additional to a small Security System, and a Road Camera Service.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote