WOODLAND VALLEY, SPACIOUS HOME, BORDERS NATL FOREST, FABULOUS VIEWS

Mike & Maggie Dunton & Avonlea

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WOODLAND VALLEY, SPACIOUS HOME, BORDERS NATL FOREST, FABULOUS VIEWS

Woodland Park House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 2 baths sleeps 10+

Cabin sits on the outskirts of Woodland Park - with incredible views of Pikes Peak from every window. Lots of deck for entertaining including a stone outdoor fireplace. Walk out the gate and your on the National Forest trail. Have you ever been to the Rampart Range Reservoir area - 5 minutes out of Woodland Park. Awesome National Forest area - with a large reservoir for fishing and oodles of trails. And then spend a day doing all the tourist attractions - 15 minutes to Pikes Peak Train, Cave of the Winds, Santa's Village, Garden of the Gods, Air Force Academy etc etc.

The cabin itself is nice and bright and sunny - pellet stove, living room - family room, and huge sitting/reading room off of the upstairs bedroom. It even has a loft area for the kids to camp out in.

Enjoy relaxing and taking in the Pikes Peak View: If your goal is just to get away from it all and spend time just relaxing then you will enjoy this home. The views of Pikes Peak can be seen from just about every window, and from the large deck. The deck also includes an outdoor stone fireplace - Enjoy the fire while looking at PIkes Peak as a back drop.

The property sits on a couple acres, and border a National Forest Trail - walk out the gate and enjoy a morning walk.

Rampart Range Recreational Area: Literally 5 minutes down the road you will drive into Rampart Range Recreational area. Thousands of acres of Pikes National Forest and trails galore. Rampart Range Reservoir - do some fishing. Follow Rampart Range Rd all the way to Denver if you like - but 4 wheel drive vehicle would be recommended, but the views you will see will be well worth it! Keep your eyes open you will see the Elk and deer grazing.

Tourist Attractions: You are within 30 minutes of all the major tourist attractions that Colorado Springs and West offer.

Too many to list ... Pkes Peak Hwy or take the train, Cave of the Winds, Garden of the Gods, Seven Falls, Airforce Academy, Cheyenne Zoo, Santa's Village........... or head towards the mountains and visit Cripple Creek/Victor - our gaming town, not to mention one of the largest active gold mines. Mining tours available, good restaurants, and the views - well you will have to see them to believe it.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome

Property Management Specialists

Mike & Maggie Dunton & Avonlea

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Woodland Valley, Spacious home, Borders Natl Forest, Fabulous Views
average rating of 4.5652175 based on 23 reviews
business
Woodland Valley, Spacious home, Borders Natl Forest, Fabulous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p245199
+1 (719) 839-0617
Woodland Park South Central Colorado
5

LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • 5 of 5
This is our second time here in only 4 months and I hope to go back soon! The hiking trails are literally right behind the house so if you like to hike this is the house for you. There is plenty of room and so close to everything yet it feels far away. I can't wait to go back! If you do not choose this cabin you are missing out.
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Woodland Valley, Spacious home, Borders Natl Forest, Fabulous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p245199
+1 (719) 839-0617
Woodland Park South Central Colorado
5

GREAT FIND

  • 5 of 5
The pics and reviews just didn't do this place justice. It had more than enough room and had stunning views off the back porch. Entire property was covered in snow when we arrived. Kids quickly found sledding equipment in the garage and it was hard to get them off the hill on the side of the driveway. Everything we needed was in the cabin. Short drives to grocery stores was also very convenient. Overall, I would hope to come back to this place during the winter again and I would recommend to anyone thinking of renting this house.
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Woodland Valley, Spacious home, Borders Natl Forest, Fabulous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p245199
+1 (719) 839-0617
Woodland Park South Central Colorado
5

BEAUTIFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5
We fell in love with this place! It was what we expected and more. We had an amazing time. We have rented many cabins over the 4+ years we have lived here and this is by far our favorite. The hiking trails are literally right outside the back door. It was so nice not to have to drive somewhere just to hike. We hiked in the morning and afternoon and enjoyed every second of it. It was so close to everything but felt like you were not. I know people complained of the bathroom door sticking but it was not an issue for us. We had everything we needed there and more. The 3rd level does get really hot during the day so keep a window open but don't forget to close it at night! There were cute little fireplaces in the master and the 3rd floor bedroom. Overall I gave this place a 5 and I can't wait to go back. It was beautiful and relaxing. Sitting outside by the fireplace and listening to the breeze go through the trees was very peaceful. I would highly recommend this place! We even got to see the most beautiful red fox!!
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Woodland Valley, Spacious home, Borders Natl Forest, Fabulous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p245199
+1 (719) 839-0617
Woodland Park South Central Colorado
Red Oak, TX
4

EXCELLENT PLACE TO ENJOY THE MOUNTAINS!

  • 4 of 5
My entire family went together to rent this house, and we are ready to go back again. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the house. It is nice, clean and had the necessary things to get by for a few days. There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep, and different areas for watching TV/ movies. The view is perfect and having the trails behind the house is great.
Overall, everything was great. I do agree with some of the others that there are a few repairs that are needed like windows/screens, door knobs and the dragging bathroom door. None of these things prevented us from enjoying our trip though. We could have used a couple more trash bags and TP, but we did not run out. There was not foil, so we got our own at WalMart. A couple of more suggestions would be blinds/ shades for some of the windows and a spare propane tank for the grill. I was only able to grill part of the food that I wanted to because we ran out of propane. I did request a refill, but it did not arrive before we left. No hard feelings, but a spare tank in the garage would be helpful.
We can't wait to come back. We already feel like this is part of "our" home. I highly recommend this home.
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Woodland Valley, Spacious home, Borders Natl Forest, Fabulous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p245199
+1 (719) 839-0617
Woodland Park South Central Colorado
Knoxville, TN
4

PERFECT PLACE FOR 5 OLD FISHING GUYS.

  • 4 of 5
Nice, clean, large enough for all of us, convenient location. Needs a few repairs, but would not hesitate to stay here again. Good value.
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Woodland Valley, Spacious home, Borders Natl Forest, Fabulous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p245199
+1 (719) 839-0617
Woodland Park South Central Colorado
Kansas
3

GREAT HOUSE, POOR MAINTENANCE, BROKEN HOT TUB AND PELLET STOVE

  • 3 of 5
We were less than satisfied with this particular home, after staying at multiple homes previously in the area. Upon our arrival, we found many items broken in the house, specifically the hot tub and pellet stove which heated half of the house. We were sent "hot tub rules" prior to our arrival and picked this home out specifically for the hot tub which viewed Pike's Peak. It did not have any water in it and when we called the mgmt company after our arrival, we were told it was broken prior to our reservation, yet instead of an apology or offer of a partial refund, we were scolded that we arrived thirty minutes earlier than we should have. Secondly, the entire north side of the house is heated by one pellet stove, which had a sign on it that it was broken. There was a sign to use space heaters. One outlet worked in that wing, and it would blow a fuse if two space heaters were plugged into it. Thus, that area remained around 50-55 degrees our whole stay. The main pellet stove was also difficult to work, and we would find the house frequently would go from 70-50 degrees in the blink of an eye. The house simply is lacking in overall maintenance. Many lights burnt out and no lightbulbs found to replace them. Vacuum broken. Starter switch on gas grill broken so you had to light by sticking your hand down inside it. Propane tank was empty.The lack of attention to upkeep in this house, made our stay frustrating and the difficulty getting a hold of management made it worse. The house, however, is a very nice home and in a beautiful location, with breathtaking views of Pike's Peak. Had the hot tub been working as indicated, it would've been truly a memorable view! The house sits in front of an entrance to Pike national forest, which was so great to have that accessibility so close. The trails were amazing and very memorable for our family. the property needs more attention and the agency needs to to work on their customer service. When we called with the complaint about the hot tub, we felt like we were treated like disobedient children. We had invited another family to join us on this trip and thus we made the best of it, however we were very let down by this property.
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay! Please accept our apologies for the confusion on the hot tub. While this property did not advertise a hot tub at the time that you made your reservation, we did make a mistake and email a copy of our "hot tub rules", thus getting your hopes up that there might actually be a hot tub. That was a clerical error on our part and we are very sorry that it caused you to be disappointed upon arrival.

I did speak with you over the phone concerning the pellet stove on the day that you arrived, but you said that you had figured out how to operate it and that it was no problem. We do wish you would have let us know that you continued to have issues!

Regarding the other maintenance issues that you mentioned, we sincerely wish you would have let us know about these during your stay as we would have been happy to send someone over to address these items. We are very sorry for any inconvenience they may have caused. We do appreciate you letting us know about them so we can repair and replace items as needed for future guests.

Our management staff is always available to address issues during a guest's stay, however due to the mountainous area that we live in cell phone service is sometimes limited. As a note to future guests, please be sure to always leave a voicemail containing your phone number and we will get back to you just as soon as possible.

We strive to provide a superb lodging experience to all of our guests, and are very disappointed to hear that you ended your stay with us unhappy. We would like to extend a 15% discount to your family on a future stay with us.

Sincerely,
Property Management Specialists
Email Manager Email

Map

Car: necessary

Golf: Woodland Park does have a nice golf course on the edge of town - 1 mile from the cabin. 18 holes

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Woodland Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Base Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,295
 
 
Summer season and all holidays
May 1 - Sep 29
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,295
 
 
Off season (excluding holidays
Oct 1 - Nov 26
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,225
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 27 - Dec 1
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Off season
Dec 2 - Dec 19
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
Discounts: 3 nights or more: $185 Nightly
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 20 - Jan 5
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,295
 
 
Off-season
Jan 6 - Apr 30
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 3.9%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Woodland Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Activities Guide
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Firewood
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upper level
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Main Level - Master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed - sleeps 3
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upper
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , loft - air mattress
  • The Loft area above the family room - makes a great spot for the kids to camp out - on some air mattresses. The home can sleep 9 in beds/air mattresses - but we can also sleep a couple more on the futon.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • whitewater rafting
  • golf privileges optional
  • hunting
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • mountain climbing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
There is also a wonderful outdoor stone fireplace for your use - as long as there are not fire bans in place. Keep the fire low and keep the screen in front of it - so no sparks get away. It is right next to the National Forest - would hate to be the starters of a forest fire.
Email Manager Email