Great house, poor maintenance, broken hot tub and pellet stove
Submitted: April 6, 2013
Stayed: March 2013
We were less than satisfied with this particular home, after staying at multiple homes previously in the area. Upon our arrival, we found many items broken in the house, specifically the hot tub and pellet stove which heated half of the house. We were sent "hot tub rules" prior to our arrival and picked this home out specifically for the hot tub which viewed Pike's Peak. It did not have any water in it and when we called the mgmt company after our arrival, we were told it was broken prior to our reservation, yet instead of an apology or offer of a partial refund, we were scolded that we arrived thirty minutes earlier than we should have. Secondly, the entire north side of the house is heated by one pellet stove, which had a sign on it that it was broken. There was a sign to use space heaters. One outlet worked in that wing, and it would blow a fuse if two space heaters were plugged into it. Thus, that area remained around 50-55 degrees our whole stay. The main pellet stove was also difficult to work, and we would find the house frequently would go from 70-50 degrees in the blink of an eye. The house simply is lacking in overall maintenance. Many lights burnt out and no lightbulbs found to replace them. Vacuum broken. Starter switch on gas grill broken so you had to light by sticking your hand down inside it. Propane tank was empty.The lack of attention to upkeep in this house, made our stay frustrating and the difficulty getting a hold of management made it worse. The house, however, is a very nice home and in a beautiful location, with breathtaking views of Pike's Peak. Had the hot tub been working as indicated, it would've been truly a memorable view! The house sits in front of an entrance to Pike national forest, which was so great to have that accessibility so close. The trails were amazing and very memorable for our family. the property needs more attention and the agency needs to to work on their customer service. When we called with the complaint about the hot tub, we felt like we were treated like disobedient children. We had invited another family to join us on this trip and thus we made the best of it, however we were very let down by this property.
Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay! Please accept our apologies for the confusion on the hot tub. While this property did not advertise a hot tub at the time that you made your reservation, we did make a mistake and email a copy of our "hot tub rules", thus getting your hopes up that there might actually be a hot tub. That was a clerical error on our part and we are very sorry that it caused you to be disappointed upon arrival.
I did speak with you over the phone concerning the pellet stove on the day that you arrived, but you said that you had figured out how to operate it and that it was no problem. We do wish you would have let us know that you continued to have issues!
Regarding the other maintenance issues that you mentioned, we sincerely wish you would have let us know about these during your stay as we would have been happy to send someone over to address these items. We are very sorry for any inconvenience they may have caused. We do appreciate you letting us know about them so we can repair and replace items as needed for future guests.
Our management staff is always available to address issues during a guest's stay, however due to the mountainous area that we live in cell phone service is sometimes limited. As a note to future guests, please be sure to always leave a voicemail containing your phone number and we will get back to you just as soon as possible.
We strive to provide a superb lodging experience to all of our guests, and are very disappointed to hear that you ended your stay with us unhappy. We would like to extend a 15% discount to your family on a future stay with us.
Property Management Specialists
Did you find this review helpful?