Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Cinder Cone Cottage, Hot Tub, Walkable, Bikes, Downtown Bend

Diana & Chad, A Stone's Throw Bungalow

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, spanish, Correo electrónico/email for español/français
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Diana & Chad, A Stone's Throw Bungalow

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish, Correo electrónico/email for español/français
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Cinder Cone Cottage, Hot Tub, Walkable, Bikes, Downtown Bend

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Bend Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-6)

Welcome to the westside of Bend and the Cinder Cone Cottage. You want the best location in Bend for your getaway and you'll find it here. This adorable cottage is in one of the best neighborhoods in Bend! Walk 1 block to shops and restaurants on Galveston (10 Barrel, The Victorian Cafe, Ida's Cupcakes, the Food Cart Pod and much more). Walk 5 blocks to the Deschutes River and Mirror Pond and downtown Bend is just another 5-10 blocks beyond!

The Cinder Cone Cottage has a ski chalet feel with vaulted wood ceilings, large wooden beam, fireplace, skylights and a cozy loft above one bedroom. So convenient to the very popular west side Galveston neighborhood

• Vintage 2 bed 1 bath, with loft sleeps up to 6

• Pet friendly

• Hot tub

• Free Wifi internet

• 50 inch TV with Cable and Roku

• 3 cruiser bikes

• Gas fireplace

• High thread count linens

• Soft down duvets and duvet covers

• Fully furnished kitchen

• Fenced private backyard with patio and BBQ

• Excellent westside neighborhood!

The Cinder Cone, is an updated 1925 cottage is waiting for you in the so popular westside neighborhood of Bend, Oregon! This is the location folks want when they visit Bend...you can walk or ride (2 cruisers provided) to just about anywhere! The cottage is on one of Bend's city maintained gravel streets, a blast from the past and you'll find them scattered across the westside.

The Cinder Cone has 2 bedrooms, 1 bath and sleeps 4 people comfortably and 6 people cozily (queen sleeper sofa with memory foam mattress). The kitchen is fully furnished for your cooking needs and there is also a gas BBQ in the backyard for your use. All bed and bath linens/towels are provided. There is a gas fireplace on a river rock hearth in the living room with vaulted ceilings with skylights. There is a new heat pump providing A/C and lots of heat year round.

We hope you will enjoy your time in Bend as much as we do at our cozy cottage! The Cinder Cone Cottage has code access, so there are no keys to lose. There is a fully fenced, landscaped backyard complete with your own private hot tub. There is also a jetted tub in the bath. Above the second bedroom is a loft, the perfect hide-away, stocked with books and games. DVDs, games and puzzles are also provided. Feel free to use our 2 cruiser bikes around town during your visit. Helmets and locks are provided.

Grab a cruiser bike or just hoof it to local eats and entertainment. You are just a stone's throw from the center of Bend including: The Old Mill District, Les Schwab Amphitheater, Drake Park, Mirror Pond and Downtown Bend! The Deschutes River is 5 blocks away and you can walk or bike to local restaurants, parks and shops. Phil's Trails are just 3 miles up the road. Mt Bachelor is an easy 20-30 minutes away. The Park & Ride for shuttles to Mt Bachelor (winter) or the Deschutes River Float (summer) is about 10 blocks away.

Some other sample distances:

-- Longboard Louie's Restaurant 3 blocks

-- Mother's Cafe and Juice Bar 3 blocks

-- 10 Barrel 3 blocks

-- Brother Jon's 3 blocks

-- Deschutes River & Mirror Pond 5 blocks

-- Drake Park 6 blocks

-- Downtown Bend 10-15 blocks

-- Safeway Grocery store 10 blocks

-- Newport Market Grocery store 10 blocks

-- Walk Score ® 82/100 (Very Walkable)

We hope you choose to stay at the Cinder Cone Cottage!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Diana & Chad, A Stone's Throw Bungalow (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, spanish, Correo electrónico/email for español/français
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2015

About Diana & Chad, A Stone's Throw Bungalow

Welcome to Bend! After exploring the nooks and crannies of Oregon and Washington, we decided Bend was for us. Coming from Seattle/Portland side of the Cascade mountains, we love and appreciate the high desert of Central Oregon. Bend is one of our very favorite places!

Why Diana & Chad, A Stone's Throw Bungalow chose Bend

Bend has a fantastic mix of recreation, geography and urban appeal that is hard to resist! The Cascade mountains, extinct cinder cones, the Deschutes River...Bend has a little of everything. That includes very tasty cuisine, cafes, bakeries, outdoor concerts.

What makes this cottage unique

Stay in the heart of Bend, Oregon! The Cinder Cone Cottage awaits and is so walkable to many westside restaurants, cafes, activities. Downtown Bend is just around the corner. Grab a cruiser bike and roll downtown. You'll be glad you stayed!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for a great getaway trip to Bend! Our group of 4 (plus dog) had a spectacular stay in the cottage. Extra points for the fenced in yard!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 136

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cinder Cone Cottage, Hot Tub, Walkable, Bikes, Downtown Bend
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 155 reviews
long beach, ca
5

A Great Value

  • 5 of 5

Loved the hot tub, the BBQ and the cottage layout. It was very clean, had good quality appliances and nice upgrades. It's only 20 minutes from great skiing on Mt Bachelor - great location!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Great place to stay in Bend

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during a week long trip. We loved this place! It is nicely located near a breweries and restaurants. The house was very comfy and felt like home for the 2 days we were there.

We also had our dog and having a fenced in back yard was AWESOME! We will definitely stay here again when we visit Bend.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the great, close-in location that is very walkable to the nearby breweries and shops. We do aim to provide a very comfortable home for your stay with the basics and the extras. The fenced backyard is great for pets, yard games and lounging (in or out of the hot tub!). We look forward to hosting you again!
Henderson, NV
2

Keep looking

  • 2 of 5

Pros: nice backyard, king bed comfortable, location, kitchen is ok

Cons: dirty carpet - gross, don't take your shoes off! House needs upkeep, furniture is old and uncomfortable. General condition of house, needs cleaning! Hot tub is old and needs cleaning. Near busy road. Would not book again.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were startled by this review and immediately contacted the reviewer when we received it. Our guest posted this review just after arriving at the home and we wanted to make sure we did everything we could to help her enjoy the rest of her time in Bend. We expect and usually have 4-5 star reviews! We did not hear from her for 3 days, until the night before check out, and are sorry to not have had the opportunity to address her concerns for her during her stay. We did, however, immediately sent hot tub servicing out for an extra visit, in addition to regular servicing, and he confirmed that the water and chemical balance 'were beautiful'. The exterior of the hot tub is weathered, but it does live outside in our high desert climate. Immediately upon our guest's departure, we inspected for her specific concerns. We strive to offer a clean and comfortable home for all to enjoy and take our reviews and feedback very seriously! We found that her specific upkeep concerns could be addressed very quickly and easily (our cleaner missed a teaspoon of debris in a crack next to the stove, a small spot on the kitchen ceiling, two medium cobwebs in the very tall skylight. While unfortunate that these were missed, they were quite small oversights). Carpets are steam cleaned regularly and vacuumed before/after every visit. Unfortunately, carpet replacement cannot occur mid summer due to reservations and replacement is slated for winter. They may not be absolutely perfect, but they are certainly clean and safe to walk on barefoot! We love the style and feel of the living room furniture but have accepted that some guests prefer newer styles and have also decided to replace. At least we were glad to hear that these guests were able to enjoy this home's lovely backyard, a big comfy king bed and this home's great location close to everything on the westside! We like to also think that they enjoyed the new heat pump A/C that kept them cool in our 90 degree plus heat wave, the new granite countertops, new stainless dishwasher, the 50" TV with soundbar and Roku! We do take our reviews seriously and look for ways to improve all the time. We find that many, if not most of our guests visit us over and over again...We hope to see you in Bend!
Tucson
5

Comfortable, attractive cottage with nice amenities and backyard

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here for a week. I really enjoyed this cottage very much. The owners obviously understand what vacationers want in a place. I especially enjoyed the nice green backyard (tho there is a bit of traffic noise), the hot-tub, the gas-logs fireplace, the charming kitchen, high ceilings and wood ceilings, very comfortable King bed, nice modern laundry room. I had no problems while there, and had pretty much everything I needed for a nice stay. The location was just about perfect for me, as I was able to walk into downtown and across and by the river, lots of great food very close, and the Cascade Lakes Byway is very close, so easy to get into the Nat Forest and mountains. The Deschutes River is just a few blocks away. The neighborhood felt safe and comfortable, with many older homes, some being renovated; definitely an interesting and amenable area. The owners have been very friendly, helpful, and professional. I loved Bend--this was my first visit--and definitely will be back and will likely stay at the Cindercone again.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Redding Ca
3

Affordable but not exactly what's online

  • 3 of 5

We arrived to the cottage but not until getting bathed with dust! This house is on a diet road that's in major need of asphalt or some type of gravel. The neighborhood is pretty run down with exception of one or two houses on that street. The backyard was exceptional but keep in mind there are low electricity cables right over the backyard. The house did not feel clean. For one the carpet has seen better days. The couches are old and worn, they really age the house. A more modern selection of furniture would match more of the cottage feel. Bedrooms were clean and comfy.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh shucks, it sounds like we just weren't the right fit for these folks. We aim to represent our home clearly online so you can just move in and have a great stay in Bend! The photos accurately represent the contents of the home and backyard. This 1924 home is modernized with skylights, vaulted ceilings, granite kitchen counters, 50" TV, mid century nods in our furniture selections. It receives a thorough cleaning before and after every stay. Elgin Avenue, like several other streets and roads on the westside, is gravel and maintained by the City of Bend. Many find this charming. Someday when it is paved, we'll get sidewalks! The street features an eclectic mix of big and brand new with cute, small, original Old Mill homes. This is a classic Bend neighborhood of well cared for homes. Maybe you can pick out the home that features some reused windows from a Bruce Willis mansion! The location is GREAT. The home is only a couple blocks to 10 Barrel and everything else happening on Galveston Ave. This home is a classic Bend Old Mill home that we hope you will enjoy.
Portland, OR
4

Great Bend getaway

  • 4 of 5

We have stayed at the Cinder Cone Cottage twice now. The accommodations are perfect (for us): cozy living area, well-stocked kitchen, a large, comfortable bed and a superb back yard space. There is a great grill and table for alfresco dining and a wonderful hot tub to watch the stars from. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs within walking distance to satisfy most tastes. There is nothing we do not enjoy about this place. We'll be back again!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Drake Park and Mirror Pond
Riverbend Park
McMenamins Old St Francis School
"Movie theater with couches, open ceiling turkish bath ($5, bring a towel and id), hidden pub..."
Jackson's Corner
"a local favorite for MANY reasons! Jackson's bleu salad and a seasonal wood fired pizza and ..."
10 Barrel Brewing
"Gigantic fire pit outside and always hopping...walk just a couple blocks from the house!"
Victorian Cafe
"Down home breakfast with a twist...don't laugh...they have 'man'mosas!"
GoodLife Brewing Company
"Within the Century Center Complex, there are a bunch of great local businesses here: Goodlif..."
Parrilla Grill
"635 NW 14th St Bend, OR 97701 (541) 617-9600 bendnights.com/parrilla "
Thump Coffee
"Check out the artwork...great downtown coffee shop"
Strictly Organic Coffee Co
"6 SW Bond St Bend, OR 97702 (541) 383-1570 Organic...you guessed it!"
Mother's Juice Cafe
"1255 NW Galveston Ave Bend, OR 97701 (541) 318-0989 Great smoothies"
Central Oregon Locavore- Bend's Local Grocery
"Local products only at this homegrown grocery"
Les Schwab Amphitheater
Westside Bakery & Cafe
Nearest Airport
25 Minutes
RDM in Redmond, Oregon
Nearest Barpub
2 Minutes
10 Barrel, Sip Wine Bar and several more on Galveston, easy walk
Nearest Golf
6 Minutes
Broken Top
Nearest Train
65 Miles
Amtrak station in Chemult, Oregon
Nearest Restaurant
2 Minutes
Parilla Grill, Victorian Cafe, the (food cart) Lot all walkable and nearby
Nearest Ski
20 Minutes
Mt Bachelor
Nearest Beach
5 Minutes
Columbia Park is just a 5 block walk away
Nearest Point of Interest
Parrilla Grill
Nearest Point of Interest
Thump Coffee
Nearest Point of Interest
Sparrow Bakery
Nearest Point of Interest
Strictly Organic Coffee Co
Nearest Point of Interest
Big O Bagels
Nearest Point of Interest
Victorian Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
Mother's Juice Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
West Side Bakery & Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
Village Baker
Nearest Point of Interest
Longboard Louie's
Nearest Point of Interest
Ariana Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
The Wine Shop and Tasting Bar
Nearest Point of Interest
Grocery Store...Ray's Food Place
Nearest Point of Interest
Grocery Store...Newport Avenue Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Bend Farmers Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Les Schwab Amphitheater
Nearest Point of Interest
Shops At the Old Mill
Nearest Point of Interest
Bend Bike 'n Sport
Nearest Point of Interest
Pine Mountain Sports
Nearest Point of Interest
Sunnyside Sports
Nearest Point of Interest
Columbia Park and Footbridge more Historic Bend
Nearest Point of Interest
McKay Park...River float put-in!
Nearest Point of Interest
Drake Park...River Float take-out!
Nearest Point of Interest
Harmon Park and footbridge to Drake Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Overturf Butte Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Overturf Butte Resevoir Park
Car: not necessary

Phil's Trails are 3 miles from the cottage! Feel free to use our 2 cruiser bikes around town during your stay...

Fully Licensed by the City of Bend

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $129 Per night

Notes

  • All cancellations are subject to a $50 cancellation fee. Cancellations made with less than 30 days notice may be refunded at 50% depending on re-rental of your dates.
  • $90 to $129 per night
  • US Dollars
  • Oct 1 to May 24: $99/night Sun-Thurs...$115/night Fri-Sat...$90/nt for 6+ nights
  • $540 Per week in winter (above dates, 6 nights, excludes holidays)
  • May 25-Sept 30 & Winter Holidays: $129/night...$115/nt for 6+ nights
  • $690 Per week in summer (above dates, 6 nights)
  • There is a $50 cleaning fee per stay, and we require a refundable $200 deposit.
  • Pets welcome with additional $10/night.
  • A 10% Oregon Lodging Tax applies to all stays under 30 days.
  • Monthly stays are based on weekly rates but may be discounted, please inquire.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Bend Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Pull Out Sofa
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Loft with reading space in the 2nd bedroom

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$150 per night
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$800 - $880 per week
2 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$800 - $880 per week
2 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote