Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MOUNTAIN TOP RELAXATION ON THE PONDEROSA

Hendersonville Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

The Ponderosa is the ideal mountain get-away. Nestled high atop Pinnacle Mountain, this warm and cozy country cabin offers you rest and relaxation yet is only 20 min. from the shops, fine dining, theater and museums of charming Hendersonville and Flat Rock. Boating, fishing and swimming are even closer and yours to enjoy at beautiful Lake Summit.

We hope you'll feel like you're in your second home. Inside you'll discover three stories of country refinement, completely furbished for your enjoyment and comfort.

Relax in front of the wood stove on those cool mountain evenings- we're normally about 10 degrees cooler up here. Enjoy a game of pool in the lower level den or just meditate on the screened porch and listen to nature.Please allow 10 days for cancellation.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome

Owner

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Mountain Top Relaxation on the Ponderosa
average rating of 4.5 based on 20 reviews
business
Mountain Top Relaxation on the Ponderosa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243049
+1 8282906755
Hendersonville Asheville Area
5

Beautiful Cabin, Beautiful Views

  • 5 of 5
My friends and I recently spent a long weekend at the Ponderosa, and we absolutely loved it. We had problems finding the cabin at first, but once we had arrived and settled in, there were no other problems. The cabin is rustic and adorable. We spent the entire weekend debating what the animal was mounted in the living room and finally concluded that it was an elk. The kitchen was well-stocked, and the cabin was very clean. The owners were very accommodating. At the end of the weekend, none of us wanted to leave, and we definitely intend to visit again!
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Grace,

Thank you so much for the great review! I hope you can come visit us again soon!
business
Mountain Top Relaxation on the Ponderosa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243049
+1 8282906755
Hendersonville Asheville Area
3

Nice cabin, but several problems

  • 3 of 5
Overall, the cabin itself is very nice, and the location is good for getting away from it all. The owners were kind and willing to try to help with the issues we faced, but ultimately there were more problems to deal with than we found acceptable.

Pros:
+ Nice cabin - good layout and cabin-y feel
+ Decent views
+ spacious rooms
+ all linens provided (towels and sheets)
+ kitchen and bathrooms well equipped
+ owners kind and willing to help - answered all our calls and emails, even though they themselves were on vacation that same weekend.
+ good amenities: wireless internet, tv, pool table, fire pit

Cons:
- heater in basement (where pool table is) didn't seem to be working (main floors have central heating and it works just fine) the owner offered to let us buy a new one and have them reimburse us, but we weren't positive we were using it correctly and didn't want the hassle of shopping for one or getting reimbursed.
- floors sticky and dirty (turned the bottom of our socks black)
- ants in the cabinets
- flying squirrel in house (the owner did call his maintenance guy to come help us get it out)
- oven didn't work properly: only the top coil would come on, so it burned the top of our dinner without cooking it all the way through, making for a disappointing meal in. The oven also turned itself off every 10 min or so, so we had to keep watching it and turning it back on.
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a beautiful cabin in the woods so you might come across a critter once in a while. I had my electrican fix stove problem next day. Over all in 10 years there we have had few problems and when we do we fix them fast.
business
Mountain Top Relaxation on the Ponderosa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243049
+1 8282906755
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Louisville, KY
4

Anniversary getaway

  • 4 of 5
My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary at the Ponderosa and had a delightful time. The only reason I did not give a five star is for some small but memorable things. We prefer to spend the waning hours of the night around a campfire. Unfortunately, due to some dogs that live and roam the area, we could not stay outside with our dog because they would come by and constantly bark and harass us. They were not a risk of danger but a huge inconvenience. Everything inside was neat and orderly. Plenty of blankets available. My only complaint about the inside of the home is that the pots and pans have seen better days (nonstick peeling off, etc.) and could use some replacing. My biggest complaint is that while the home is very dog friendly, the property is not. There really isn't any open, flat areas for your dog to go to the restroom (straight down the mountain side in the back). My dog for some reason, did not want to wander deep into the woods, so it was difficult to get her to go (couple that with the harassing, nearby dogs). There really aren't any walking areas so you're stuck in the cabin but that's not necessarily bad. These are small complaints but noteworthy. The cabin is great and it's located in a very small town near very little. I'd recommend that the owner keep a list in the cabin such as: the closest market, closest recommended restaurants, nearby walking trails, etc.
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: In 10 years we have never had a complaint about dogs in the neighbor hood. I called my neighbor in the area and she said they belong to someone else staying there on vacation and now are gone.We are replacing pots and pans this week.Every body loves the Ponderosa
business
Mountain Top Relaxation on the Ponderosa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243049
+1 8282906755
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Northern Virginia
5

Pampered Cabin Life

  • 5 of 5
Such a terrific cabin! Whether you prefer to sit on the back porch and enjoy the view or connect to the wi-fi, this is the place. We will definitely be back - for a longer stay next time.
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain Top Relaxation on the Ponderosa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243049
+1 8282906755
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Florida USA
5

Mountain top living

  • 5 of 5
The Ponderosa is a lovely spot for a getaway...we spent a month there and loved the simplicity of the house, and being surrounded by trees...was just a tad disappointed there were no views, but in winter with the leaves gone it should be awesome. Robert and Michele are perfect hosts...no need to bring anything but your clothes....it is well appointed! It should be awesome in a week or two with the leaves changing...the road leading to the house is a dirt and gravel road, so drive carefully. Would definitely rent here again....would be warm and cozy in front of the wood burning stove in the winter!
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Always glad to have happy guest.Thank you for nice review and hope to see you again.
business
Mountain Top Relaxation on the Ponderosa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p243049
+1 8282906755
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Allentown, Pennsylvania
5

A wonderful to relax & unwind

A wonderful to relax & unwind
  • 5 of 5
We had a great time at the Ponderosa cabin. Everything was clean & worked properly and the cabin had pretty much everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable & we loved listening to the crickets at night. Our dog loved the house & property & we were able to meet most of the neighbors on our walks around the road. We were able to do lots of hiking in several state parks in the area & Asheville was a great city to spend the day in.

We ended up losing power for a few hours one day but Robert eased our minds when he said that it usually doesn't take long for it to come back on. He was right...by the time we headed back to the cabin after grabbing dinner, all the lights were back on.

On thing to note for those that rely heavily on their cell phones...there is very limited to no cell phone service but the cabin does had a land line plus there is internet access. We emailed those we needed to contact & made phone calls when we headed down the mountain. It's a very peaceful area & we look forward to coming back to the Ponderosa again sometime soon!
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for the nice review,we love happy people. I know when you are at the Ponderosa it seems like you are so relaxed that your problems at home don,t seem so bad. I think it is called relaxation...........
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Asheville International
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Interstate 26
Nearest Beach
25 Miles
Lake Lure
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Purple Onion, Saluda, NC
Car: necessary

Ponderosa cabin is located on the top of Pinnacle Mountain. Nestled in the woods all you can hear is wild life and the rustling of the creek in back yard.Downtown is a short drive where will find shops and nice restaurants.People are very friendly . The Ponderosa is an athentic cabin that has 3 storys .You will be totally relaxed and wont want to leave.

Other Activities: Kayaking, Boating, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling, Rock Climbing, Spa, Miniature golf, Shuffleboard.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Hendersonville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Standard
Feb 22 2014 - Feb 28 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$800
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning $125
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes Check-in 3pm. Check-out 11am.
$175/nt with 2 night mininum stay
125.00 Cleaning Fee.
$25.00 Pet Fee
You may also want to consider our other properties for your stay.
Ponderosa Listing #243049
Villa Roma Listing #358195
Hoot Owl Listing #473186

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Hendersonville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Rural
  • Mountain View
  • Mountain
General:
  • Telephone
  • Wood Stove
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Oven
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • This Cabin can host a maximum of 6 adults and 2 children under 15yrs of age.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Pool Table
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • waterfalls
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • sledding
  • sight seeing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • hiking
  • cycling
  • golf
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • sailing
  • rafting
  • skiing
Notes:
Den with bar and pool table, Screened Porch
Email Manager Contact Me