MALLARD'S COVE ON LAKE WINNEBAGO OFFERS BREATHTAKING SUNSETS

Enos Bontrager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Enos Bontrager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MALLARD'S COVE ON LAKE WINNEBAGO OFFERS BREATHTAKING SUNSETS

Lake Winnebago House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen, sleeps 8-10

This home at the end of a beach road on Lake Winnebago boasts 125’ of Lake Frontage and a private wading cove. Listening to the waves splash against the shore, watching the mallards glide on the cove, and taking in spectacular sunsets is all part of everyday life at Mallard’s cove. Lake Winnebago is the largest inland lake in the state of Wisconsin, offering great fishing year round, boating, sailing, water skiing, wind surfing, jet skiing, and more. Not only do the property and the lake offer many activities, there is something for everyone in the Fond Du Lac area in the heart of the Fox River Valley. The area offers a large selection of fine restaurants from lake shore dining to favorite chain restaurants. Bike & hiking trails within minutes and Kettle Morraine State Park only 34 miles away. The Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) grounds in Oshkosh 26+ miles away, Fox River Mall in Appleton 30 minutes, Lambeau Field in Green Bay and Milwaukee Zoo about 1 hr.

Master bathroom features whirlpool tub. Laundry room features washer, dryer and sink. 3 season sun porch with out heating or air conditioning features queen sleeper sofa and overlooks Lake Winnebago.

We also have a Great Room rental unit: Our 'great room' may also be available. Adjacent to our main home is a separate large room with vaulted ceiling overlooking the private cove and lake Winnebago. It has its own bathroom with shower. It has a queen bed and plenty of room for air mattresses. Please contact us for rental rates and availability.

3 season sun porch features queen sleeper sofa and overlooks Lake Winnebago. The home sleeps 8 plus the sun porch which does not have heat or AC.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Enos Bontrager (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a nice time. Thank you! Happy New Year!!!
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 33

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Mallard's Cove on Lake Winnebago offers breathtaking sunsets
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Mallard's Cove on Lake Winnebago offers breathtaking sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242871
+1 920 948-9492
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

The home was just as described. Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great stay at this home on Lake Winnebago. We were celebrating our brothers 50th birthday, and couldn't have picked a better place. We will definitely return. The fish could have co-operated a bit better! Next time, we might bring up a boat and explore the whole lake. Sunsets were amazing! Thank you so much for opening your home to us.
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cheryl,
Thanks so much for taking time to send this note! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay...it's the next best thing to being there ourselves:). Enjoy your summer!! Cheers Enos and Barb
business
Mallard's Cove on Lake Winnebago offers breathtaking sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242871
+1 920 948-9492
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
4

Mallards Cove

  • 4 of 5
We arrived on July 21st and thought the home was just as advertised. It was clean and roomy and had very good bedroom sizes. The lot was large with a great dock and cove. It was 30 minutes to EAA's Airventure so it was an easy commute as we had tickets for the week. Kids loved the house and yard. Owner was great to work with and helped us extend a day. Lake Winnebago is a beautiful lake and there were wonderful sunsets to enjoy. We think it is a great lake for boatiing, waterskiing, jet skiing, but not swimming. There were warmings about swimming in the lake due to bluegreen algae blooms and zebra mussel shells require water shoes. We'd come back in the summer if the lake was more of a swimming opportunity. I would certainly rent in the winter for enjoying ice fishing, snow mobiling and cross-country skiing. All in all a good experience. Would recommend the house to friends and family with the swimming reservations.
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maribeth, we are glad your family enjoyed your stay at Mallards Cove. A goverment warning about algae bloom rairly takes place and we are sorry it accoured during your stay. Lake Winnebago is a great lake to enjoy swimming as well as a variety of water sports including but not limited to, wind surfing, water skiing, knee boarding, tubing, as well as wading and lounging in the shallow sandy shore waters. Thank you for choosing Mallards Cove for your stay.
business
Mallard's Cove on Lake Winnebago offers breathtaking sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242871
+1 920 948-9492
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
3

Mallard's Cove

Mallard's Cove
  • 3 of 5
We had a great time at our stay in this home. We did have extra charges of $25.00 per night per person over the 10 person limit regardless of age (we had many younger children under the age of 5). It was a roomy home in need of updated flooring, but it was clean. The bathrooms looked newly remodeled. The DVD player did not work, but owner said it was a cable that was loose; however, we did check the cables and they seemed tight. We enjoyed the fire pit at night and the beautiful sunsets. The lake view was stunning and the sound of the waves against the shore was relaxing. We enjoyed the store Kristmas Kringle.
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Mallard's Cove on Lake Winnebago offers breathtaking sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242871
+1 920 948-9492
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
San Marcos, Texas
3

Mostly good, but a few minor flaws

  • 3 of 5
This is a great house on a beautiful lake, but a few things are not quite clear in the listing. The house was extremely clean, plenty spacious, and the private cove is lovely.

However, we did not understand that the jetted tub in the master bath was the only way to bathe in that bathroom. This means the house has one, exceptionally tiny, shower with a very low shower head. This was difficult for our large group of tall folks.

Also, the ad says A/C but there is only one window unit in the living room. It works great in that room, but the rest of the house was very hot during our stay in July. They do provide a fan in each bedroom, but they don't help much. We had to buy several more fans during our stay, but it was especially hot that week.

There is a family with a small child living in the basement apartment, They were very nice, but we were surprised to have such close neighbors and the baby could be heard crying through the floor. This wasn't a problem, but had we known ahead of time, we would have chosen another rental.

Lastly, we were especially surprised by the extensive cleaning required to avoid the hefty $300 fee. Certainly, a cleaning list is standard in these situations, but this one included all the basics plus things like mopping the floors, scrubbing the fridge and microwave, cleaning the tub and shower, and cleaning the shower head (!). It took 2 people more than 2 hours to complete. We felt like it was up to us to make the home ready for the next guests, rather than just tidy up after ourselves.

Again, it's a very clean, comfortable home, but the listing isn't crystal clear. It might be better for a family with kids, rather than a group of six adults. We would not stay there again.
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay at our home and feel it may be attributed to the purpose of your stay. Our understanding is that your stay was primarily to have a place for a quick nights rest and prepare for long day of work; unlike most of our guests who come for a vacation or get-away. Since you had several adults preparing for work within a narrow window of time, the bathroom accommodations, although adequate, were found lacking. We also feel it is unfortunate your work responsibilities at the air show hindered you from enjoying our lake home with its beautiful serene location. The large air conditioning unit is usually sufficient. Provided fans may be needed in above average temperatures. As you know, there was NO additional charge to you for cleaning since you completed the tasks listed on our cleaning checklist. Our cleaning list is very typical and was created from a “standard” form for vacation home owners. Since reading your comments, we have reviewed our website and have not found anything to be misleading or incorrect. Again, we apologize for the misunderstanding. We pride ourselves in providing a relaxing and comfortable home/environment and find our guests to be more than satisfied which you may have noted by reading the guest book in our home.
business
Mallard's Cove on Lake Winnebago offers breathtaking sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p242871
+1 920 948-9492
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
Wisconsin
5

What a relaxing Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
All can see by the pictures, that the view is amazing. It is breathtaking to watch the sunrise and sunset. The large window in the Master bedroom is perfect for looking out at the lake, while you lay in bed. Mallard's Cove is great place to come and getaway from the weekly hassle. It is very comfortable and relaxing. The house is very clean and well-maintained. The owners are very nice people and provide great customer service. There are great places only 3 miles away to go for Friday night fish fry. Also, Fond du Lac is only 10 mins away, so there is plenty to do there in town.
  • Submitted: May 22, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
34 Miles
Wittman Regional Airport (OSH)
Nearest Motorway
13 Miles
Hwy 41 & 151
Car: recommended

Other Activities: http://www.lakewinnebagoproperties.com/recreation.php

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lake Winnebago House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Winter/Spring 2014/2015
Sep 2 2014 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$4,725
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Early/Summer 2015
May 22 2015 - Jun 25 2015
3 night minimum stay
$220
From
$280
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
$5,768
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2014
Jun 26 2015 - Jul 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,768
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July Week
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 10 2015
8 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
EAA 2015 Extra days avail.
Jul 17 2015 - Jul 24 2015
8 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
Fall/Winter/Spring 2016/2016
Sep 7 2015 - May 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$4,725
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$4,725
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 5.5%
Notes A $300 cleaning service will NOT be charged if cleaning list is satisfactorily completed.
A written 60 day notice must be given in order to claim a deposit refund minus a 25% administrative fee.
Guest renting is responsible for cleaning fee for insufficient cleaning or lack thereof.
Guest renting will be responsible for damage exceeding $1500 or deemed non accidental by insurance provider.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Lake Winnebago House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet
  • Activities Guide
  • Filtered Water
  • Toilet Paper
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Grill
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , jetted tub
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
    Kids Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
    Sun Porch - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Livingroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 3 bedrooms and 2 sofa sleepers (sofa sleepers are in living room and on the three season sun porch) sleeps 10. Room for air mattresses for additional guests. Travel crib available upon request.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Television
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • zoo
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • water tubing
  • golf privileges optional
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • hunting
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
Notes:
Our 'Great Room' rental unit is adjacent to our main home and there may be guests staying there during your stay at Mallard's Cove.
Email Owner Contact Me