SARASOTA'S ONLY RETRO VACATION EXPERIENCE! POOL AND HOT TUB!

Heather and Craig McCracken

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Heather and Craig McCracken

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SARASOTA'S ONLY RETRO VACATION EXPERIENCE! POOL AND HOT TUB!

Sarasota House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Halfmoon South is Sarasota's ONLY true retro vacation rental!

Located in sunny Sarasota, Florida... only minutes from endless shopping, and Siesta Key's world renowned beaches on the Gulf of Mexico.

Go back to a better time! Relive the 50's and 60's at Halfmoon South, a truly unique vacation experience. The moment you enter Halfmoon South, you will be amazed at the attention to detail throughout. From the furniture and decorations to the cupboards full of authentic retro dinnerware and glassware, it IS a one of a kind getaway!

Halfmoon South is also close to so many things the wonderful city of Sarasota, Florida has to offer. A seemingly endless choice of restaurants, shopping, and activities await. Sarasota is known for its rich culture in the arts and the arts and crafts of many local artisans.

From Halfmoon South, it is an easy drive to Busch Gardens, Disney World, Sea World, and Universal Studios and all of the other Orlando and Kissimme attractions without being in the hustle and bustle of it all.

'It was like going back in time. Like the vacations my family took in the 50's and 60's when I was a kid.'

Ryan Daley, British Columbia, Canada

'The attention to detail is unbelievable! It was like living in a 50's museum for my vacation!'

Shari Granger, New York, NY

'Highly recommended. The pictures don't do it justice, and the location is perfect!' John Williams , London

'We had a ball! Very comfortable, We shared the experience ( and cost) with another couple and we had the best time ever!'

Mr & Mrs JB Bulloch, Toronto

'Spectacular! The collection of retro artifacts that make up Halfmoon South is amazing!'

Tracy Belanget, Chicago Il

Please visit our website(via approved link below)for VIDEO, more photos and details.

Keywords:

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Guestbook comments from the owner
SOOOOOOO COOOOLL!! private pol allows for nude sunbathing and skinny dipping. They let us bring our dogs and told us about a bunch of great restaurants. This is not a 5 star resort by any means but it is absolutely amazing...just check out the photos on their site!
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 3

Heather and Craig McCracken

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

This is our family property which we lovingly remodeled after the purchase and made it a fun place in the sun!

Heather and Craig McCracken purchased this house in 2005
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sarasota's Only Retro Vacation Experience! Pool and Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
business
Sarasota's Only Retro Vacation Experience! Pool and Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212626vb
(705) 657-7455 (Ontario, USA)
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
4

Half Moon South

  • 4 of 5
Our family gathered here this March, when the weather up North was wicked. We had a lovely week at Half Moon.....close to shopping, dining, Starbucks, and the best beach in the world, Siesta Key. It was especially lovely to soak in the hot tub in the evening. Everyone enjoyed their stay and would highly recommend this place.
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay! I hope maybe we will see you again!
business
Sarasota's Only Retro Vacation Experience! Pool and Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212626vb
(705) 657-7455 (Ontario, USA)
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Canada
5

Great for my little dog, fenced yard check their website!

  • 5 of 5
I am not sure what to say here, I've never done a review before. The owners allow pets and our little chihuahua had a blast too. If you have not looked ather website...I think it is halfmoonsouth.com then that is the best review I can leave. It is not a luxury palace. It is however very comfortable and private and the 50's decor is simply amazing. Thanks for a great stay!
  • Submitted: May 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sarasota's Only Retro Vacation Experience! Pool and Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212626vb
(705) 657-7455 (Ontario, USA)
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Vancouver
4

This place belongs in the movies!!! It's lioke a movie set!

This place belongs in the movies!!! It's lioke a movie set!
  • 4 of 5
I work in the film industry and it felt like walking onto a set for a 60's period piece. I do set design and will actually make thisplace known to my colleagues if the need for such a location comes up. Just think Craig & Heather, your place may end up on the big screen some day. Thanks again for eveything!
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sarasota's Only Retro Vacation Experience! Pool and Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212626vb
(705) 657-7455 (Ontario, USA)
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
NYC
5

The worst thing was having to go home!!! Great family get together!!! Highly recommended!!

  • 5 of 5
Besides the awesome furnishings and retro decor, we loved the pool area. It was a great place fo me and my brothers to do a get together. Life gets so busy you forget what it is like to relax. We had a ball! I swear some of the stuff on the walls looked like home, growing up in New York in the 60's. The nearby beach is spectacular. We also did Busch Gardens and Universal. Thanks again for a wonderful time. I have already toild my friends all about it so expect a few more New Yorkers here.
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sarasota's Only Retro Vacation Experience! Pool and Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212626vb
(705) 657-7455 (Ontario, USA)
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Cobourg
5

GREAT LOCATION! COOL CONCEPT! PRIVACY PLUS!!!!!!!!! AAAAAAAAA+++++++++++!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
From the moment we walked into the place we felt totally relaxed. Free internet and long distance helped with business needs. Midnight skinny dip within the privacy of the backyard. Loved the neon lights! Right near lots of great shopping and restaurants and they had great suggestions of hole in the wall dining places. Thanks so much! We'll be back!
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sarasota's Only Retro Vacation Experience! Pool and Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212626vb
(705) 657-7455 (Ontario, USA)
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Kentucky
2

Very disappointed

  • 2 of 5
My original review on April 7 was more detailed, but I have revised it based on the owner’s subsequent behavior. On the day I left the property after a 4-week stay, I sent him a letter outlining the concerns listed below, but received no helpful reply. A month later he refunded two thirds of my original deposit; it was short due to an admitted error on his part and I was promised a check for the balance. However, upon seeing my review, he 1) added his own positive “reviews”; 2) posted lies about my stay; 3) berated me on the phone and hung up on me; and 4) refused to refund the balance. I have email threads and a photo proving my claim. I had 6 guests who can attest to the issues, but they can’t post reviews here (only one per contract). I have filed a complaint with the Fla. Div. of Consumer Svcs. The worst problems were the inadequate plumbing and the property manager’s slow response and lack of follow-up. The half-bath toilet stopped working the first weekend and feces, including toilet paper, were coming out an open pipe just outside the screened porch and 10 ft. from the kitchen and barbecue grill. The kitchen sink clogged and we had no use of the sink or dishwasher for 3 days. In both plumbing cases, the PM (owner’s sister) was, IMO, slow to respond in order to save money on weekend plumbers. Other problems included, but were not limited to: the property was dirty (my feet turned black if I went barefoot in the house); the pool, including the bottom of it, was choked with leaves and there was no pool service during the 4 weeks; the pool vacuum was unusable due to missing pieces; the original ad claimed “2.5 baths,” but one is in the shed outside and has no hot water; the window in one of the back bedrooms is bolted shut (the owner later claimed for safety reasons, but the bedroom next to it has a working window); a raccoon was nesting in the attic and the owner falsely tried to blame the resulting fleas on my dog (only one, contrary to his reply). He claimed that I had a $250 electricity overage, but I used NO a/c or heat and only used the pool for 5 of the 28 days. I broke nothing, and left the house in better shape than when I arrived. The PM did no inspection on my arrival but the guest before me was not charged for items I allegedly damaged, if their “review” is to be believed. This place has potential, but I feel that the owner has behaved unscrupulously by withholding my deposit and lying about the true reason: he didn’t like my review.
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there, this is Craig, the owner of Halfmoon South. I really feel the
need to respond to this review. The renter's cash deposit was withheld because
of a number of issues with damage & breach of contract, plain & simple & that is why she is upset. In the last 7years we have NEVER had to charge ANY renter, even one cent for damages, or breach of contract except this one. The renter that left this review left the home in a totally unacceptable state. The screen door was broken. The screen itself was pushed out. Barbecue equipment was broken. Trash and bottles were left everywhere. We allowed her dogs to stay and then had to pay an exterminator to get rid of the fleas. She allowed her dogs on the furniture & we even had to remove dog nose prints from the window glass above the couch. She left the house filthy, & even admits in her review to exceeding the number of guests allowed! Yes the pool does get leaves, it is a private outdoor pool. This is the first renter to complain that they have to skim the leaves off the pool. To have a daily pool service do this would cost almost as much as the rental, & we never claimed to provide such service. Pool vacuum & equipment work fine. THEY ARE NEW! The cabana, (not a shed) has a shower for rinse off & does not have hot water. I am not sure why she expected otherwise. We did have a raccoon enter the attic. It was immediately & professionally trapped & humanely removed. The "kid's room" window that faces the pool is indeed bolted shut. This is so kids do not have any opportunity to leave via window to the backyard pool area unsupervised. It is a safety issue. Normal people open the lanai doors & use the air conditioning.There was a plumbing issue while this guest stayed there. It was unfortunate, and unforseeable but we took care if it asap and had plumbers address the situation AS SOON AS WE COULD GET THEM TO! The problem was caused by a blockage of NON-FLUSHABLE MATERIAL. We could not prove it was her fault but we have our suspicions. The plumbing is more than adequate. Because of the inconvenience of the plumbing issue, we did refund part of her deposit. I wish now we had not, yet still wanted to try to be fair and put myself in the renter's shoes, and it was an inconvenience. We have been very lucky with the people we have rented to. They have been courteous & responsible. (I feel for the owner of HER next rental.) l know you can't please everyone ( we do try to) but this guest was just something else.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: recommended

Only minutes from endless shopping, and Siesta Key's world renowned beaches on the Gulf of Mexico. Easy drive to Busch Gardens, Disney, Universal, Seaworld and all other Orlando /Kissimmee attractions without being right in the hustle and bustle of it all.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sarasota House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
Apr 16 2014 - Nov 14 2014
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,250
$2,700
 
 
High Season
Nov 15 2014 - Apr 15 2015
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,450
$2,999
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Notes Rates are subject to chance before confirmation of reservation. Please contact for variable pet fees. Damage deposit is generally $500, but may be subject to more depending on situation.

*everyone's situation is a little different and additional fees are variable and VRBO website will not allow us to input these variables so please contact us for a complete quote.
Thank you!
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Sarasota House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1475 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Playard is available - no linens
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • theme parks
  • restaurants
  • zoo
  • health/beauty spa
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • antiquing
  • wildlife viewing
  • miniature golf
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
  • snorkeling
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • deepsea fishing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • rock climbing
  • basketball court
Notes:
Cabana with pool toys and stereo, bar, private fenced backyard.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,800 - $2,000 per week
14 - 30 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,750 - $2,093 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$795 - $865 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6