UP THE CREEK--SECLUDED PEACEFUL VACATION CHALET

Becky

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Becky

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

UP THE CREEK--SECLUDED PEACEFUL VACATION CHALET

Pigeon Forge Chalet Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom/2 1/2 Bath includes King MBR, King 2nd BR & 2 twin, sleeps up to 6

Only 5 minutes from Pigeon Forge Parkway you will enjoy peace and quiet at our beautiful chalet located in the guarded community of Shagbark. Be sure to tell Becky how many Guard Passes you will be needing as each vehicle is required to have a Guard Pass. Summertime offers the swimming pool and tennis court privileges for relaxing or getting exercise or just plain having fun. Up the Creek is decorated in outdoors theme with deer, fish, bear, ducks to give you that 'Get Away from it All' feeling, and don't forget you get to listen from the deck and hear the creek running along side the road. Also, we have others that may be available if Up the Creek is already taken on the dates you need. Just give Becky a call today.

Master Bedroom has King Bed and log style furniture; 2nd Bedroom has King and 1 Twin Bed. There is also a Twin bed downstairs tucked in a nook by the half bath.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Becky (Owner)
Advertiser since 2008
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
average rating of 4.352941 based on 17 reviews
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
This was a beautiful home. It made our vacation perfect. Close to town but secluded from the hustle of a vacation town. Beautiful. Definitely a place we will stay again and again
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! Becky
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
5

Perfectly Accommodating

  • 5 of 5
This was our first family vacation. We are a family of five. With boys 10, 4, and 1. The listing and pictures perfectly described what we found when we arrived. It is the perfect home-away-from-home.The 10 and 4 year old boys were very comfortable in the 2nd bedroom, which was a tremendous blessing to me. The house is secluded and quiet but only about an 8 minute drive to the main Parkway so it was the perfect location. The house was very clean and well-maintained. The game room was a perfect place for the boys to play and provided hours of entertainment when we were at the house. Mrs. Becky returned my initial call within 1 hour and after a couple of emails we were all set and ready to go. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a quiet yet convenient vacation home away from home.
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, I hope to hear from you again for your next vacation.
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Lancaster, KY (close to Lexington)
2

Not What We Were Expecting!

  • 2 of 5
First off I must give props to Becky the owner for being very nice & easy to work with. She let us check in early on our arrival date & check out a couple hours later on departure date. However, after renting several cabins in the area we were very disappointed with this rental. I hope Becky just hasn't checked on it in a while. It is pet friendly however, be aware if your dog likes to "go" in the grass there is none!! It's all rock and weeds around the house. Not very good lighting around porch either. This is a very no frills, old, dingy, dirty house. It's very worn & needs updating. Windows and window seals were dirty. There are signs everywhere, about not smoking, what to set the a/c on, I found this very tacky. The pics of screened porch looked wonderful but once there you see the screened porch isn't usable as the notes stuck on the doors say not to open doors. This is where the air hockey table is & most of the days we were there it was too hot on the porch to play. In a previous review the owner says a/c units are 2 yrs old. They may be but they don't do a very good job cooling the upstairs. We were hot every night! For an 8 night stay we found in the 3 bathrooms a half roll of toilet paper and 2 full rolls. They weren't big rolls either. We also found a half roll of paper towels, which went fast with only one dish towel. On vacation I don't want to have to think of buying toilet paper & paper towels. First night there the propane tank ran out so no grilling, unless we went, got new tank, then sent receipt to owner to be reimbursed. On vacation, nobody has time to mess with all that. Drip pans on stove burners don't fit so trying to cook on stove, everything tilts & makes it hard to cook. Towels, wash cloths are all old. The decor is just a hodge podge of "stuff". No cell service to speak of (which we had been warned about), could send a text some times and cabin phone was unusable, after 45 seconds nothing but static. Telemarketers called a lot and early. We were mostly there just to sleep and spend a few hours during day as we went to the fair in Knoxville every night so it was ok for us but if you want somewhere to spend most of your vacation in the cabin I would keep looking because this place isn't the kind of inviting place to make you want to spend all your time here. Shagbark community was very nice and gate guards were awesome and the location off Wears Valley was good, just for a different cabin.
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was not what I was expecting either—from a guest that I helped out with early check in and late checkout. My pictures all tell what décor I have in the rental, and they are not “tacky” or “hodge podge”, thank you! Up the Creek is built in the mountains, grass is not part of the scenery. We are pet friendly and have never had any complaints about the lack of grass; it is almost laughable what this guest found to complain about. There is a security light at the top of the driveway giving plenty of lighting and a porch light that can be left on continuously. I do have No Smoking signs in the rental, not to offend, but for assurance and to remind those present that it is non-smoking. The air conditioning system is adequate I will call the a/c company to check it out, it may need servicing. Again, this guest called, texted and e-mailed me several times while there about getting a late checkout, which I accommodated, and never said anything about the air-conditioning. I would have gotten the technician there earlier. The game room is not a screened porch, it has glass all the way around, but is not advertised to be a porch. Not sure where this guest got the idea it is a porch. The rental agreement clearly states “Starter supply of paper products only”. I am sure they went to the grocery store during their stay, and could have easily gotten paper products. To complain about that is really reaching low. The housekeeper leaves a full roll of toilet tissue plus what is left on the dispenser in each bath. There was a full roll of paper towels and what was left on the paper towel holder. The drip pans must have gotten out of the rims, they fit fine, no one has had a problem with them, including myself. I am not sure about the phones, I am having that checked out, but will have new ones put in anyway. Again, she texted and e-mailed me during her stay and never mentioned the phones being a problem. I always try to meet the needs of my guests, all I ask is that they contact me and I will have it taken care of as quickly as possible. This is my vacation home and all the furnishings are maintained well and anything that needs replacing is done with comfort and care in mind.
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
3

Not the greatest, not the worst

  • 3 of 5
I rented this chalet with privacy in mind. It's secluded and less than 10 min from Pigeon Forge. The chalet looks just like the pictures although the cleaning fee was very expensive. For $90 i could've cleaned it better myself. When we arrived i had to use the bathroom and used the half bath near the back door. There were all kinds of tree needles and dirt behind the door. My experience with Becky should've been better. The day i spoke with her to reserve the room she was involved in an estate sale. Her focus wasn't on me and i wish she would've called me back. After i paid for the rental in advance i didn't get an e-mail confirming this so i contacted her about when i would get the combination and gate pass. She responded that they were making new combinations and that i'd have it within 2 weeks of my stay. This was in early june. A week before the trip i contacted her again to ask when i would be getting the same info. She had forgotten and said she would email them to me. A few days later i finally got them. We were a bit upset about the air conditioner and the notes stating that we couldn't lower it past 74 or the unit would freeze up. To me this should be fixed so that the renter isn't inconvenienced. My friend was very hot in her room as it was very humid during our stay and she used a small portable fan to keep cool at night. Becky needs to install some ceiling fans inside the house. There are 2 in the game room, but none inside. We stayed out pretty late every night so we decided to sleep in on sat. The house phone was ringing at 9 which didn't sit well with us either. After noon a man was in the driveway in a truck and he was hauling the gas grill away. I asked him who he was and what he was doing there. He replied that she was supposed to call me and let me know she was doing this. In our opinion this should've been done BEFORE we got there, not during our stay. We felt like our privacy was invaded and were not happy at all. I would recommend staying somewhere else if you're looking for an owner that's on top of things. Becky, in our opinion, was not. We enjoyed the G.S.M.N.P. and everything in Gatlinburg. We loved the Titanic exhibit, but not the Lumberjack Feud..it was a bit too cheesy for us. We highly recommend Bennett's BBQ for dinner. Great food, service and staff. On sat night we caught a scorpion by the back door. A previous review stated they had the same issue although i didn't read the reviews. I wish i had.
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest is mistaken; the cleaning fee was $75, not $90. I was not at an estate sale; I was at a meeting of heirs of a recently deceased close family member. I saw I had a call, excused myself and went outside to answer her call. She said, “No problem, just call me back when you are able”. I did call her back within an hour; got her information, explained to her I was out of town and would send her rental agreement and all the information by e-mail within 24 hours, which I did. My focus was on her questions about the rental and getting her information. She sent me another payment about a month later and I sent her an updated agreement with her new balance. This guest called and e-mailed me several times and I always answered her questions. I did notify her that it would be later in June before I could send the combination code to her. The code and guard pass were sent on June 24th, 10 days before arrival. She also made a request for early arrival on the 4th of July; which I agreed she could and told her noon or after would not be a problem at all. I do not know about a sign not to put the air conditioner below 74 degrees. I have asked the housekeeper to check to look and see if there is such a sign and if so, remove it. This is the first I have known about a sign. We installed new a/c units about two years ago and there should be no problem keeping it cool. Also not sure why this guest did not call me while they were there, especially if they were uncomfortable. I am always available for any needs of my guests. I did try to call the rental and the guest’s cell phone (left a voice mail) to let them know about the new gas grill being delivered. The guests who had left the day before informed me that the grill may need replacing and Saturday was the first day the maintenance man could get the new one for me. Afternoon delivery of an outside item is appropriate and should not be considered invasive. I am on top of things and take my guests needs seriously. My intention was not to infringe on their stay at all, but to make it better with a new grill. I have pest service with Orkin who sprays my rental monthly. My housekeeper and I are available for any needs of my guests and I always emphasize for them to call me anytime.
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
Riceville, Tennessee
4

Up The Creek in Shagbark

  • 4 of 5
The chalet was everything that was promised. Becky was very easy to work with and very accomodating to our early arrival and our pet. It felt like home, my 8 year old stated. We felt welcomed by the security guards. Our only negitive comments are: The community pool (get there early if you want to use...very small not enough lounge chairs). The terrain that the chalet is perched on is all straight up and there really isn't any yard to speak of, so if you want to walk your dog you will have to take your dog somewhere else. Becky did tell me that there wasn't much of a yard...I didn't take her as literal as I should have.

We would recommend, depending on specific needs.
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks!
business
Up The Creek--Secluded Peaceful Vacation Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241942
+1 251 363-1973
Pigeon Forge Tennessee
United States
5

Wonderful weekend in the Smokies

  • 5 of 5
We truly enjoyed the Chalet. It was everything we needed and more. The Chalet was very comfortable and relaxing. The guards at the gate were very friendly and helpful. We arrived late in the evening, and had no problem locating the property.
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Knoxville Airport
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Pigeon Forge Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Aug 18 2014 - Sep 25 2014
2 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Leaf Season
Sep 26 2014 - Nov 2 2014
3 night minimum stay
$115
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 3 2014 - Nov 20 2014
2 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Thanksgiving Holidays
Nov 21 2014 - Nov 29 2014
3 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Winter
Nov 30 2014 - Dec 18 2014
2 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
2015 Winter
Jan 5 2015 - Mar 26 2015
2 night minimum stay
$89
 
 
Spring 2015
Mar 27 2015 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 12.75%
Notes Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Rate is $125.00 per night plus cleaning fee and tax.
Call for a total for your stay.
Examples: 3 nights during $89 rate would be $391.27
3 night during $99 rate would be $425.07
One night plus tax is needed to reserve with balance due two weeks before arrival.
Pet fee is $50 per pet (dogs only) with maximum of 2. Pets must be crated when left alone at
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Pigeon Forge Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Paper Towels
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Grill
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Half bath includes lavatory and washer/dryer area.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
  • The third bedroom is a nook downstairs by the half bath with a twin bed, perfect for teenagers or guests who do not wish to climb the stairs.
Entertainment:
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Video Library
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • gambling casinos
  • walking
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • golf privileges optional
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • rafting
Notes:
Air Hockey and Foosball in the Game Room. Starter supply of soaps and paper products. Washer and dryer are available if additional linens are needed, laundry soap is not provided.
Email Owner Contact Me