Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round

Michael Palmer

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Michael Palmer

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Sanibel Island House Rental Photos and Description

4 BR, 3 BA, sleeps 10

INCREDIBLE - Huge, very spacious, 4/3 private home with 2 car garage and RV parking. 400 yards. to private access, pristine beach. 11 Bicycles, Competition ping pong table on our large screened in Lanai

Your Island Paradise. Pick fresh limes from our mature fruit trees for your tropical beverage. Mangoes, Oranges, Cherries, Lychee nuts, Carambola, and Avocado, Mulberries and Florida Peaches!

This home has it all, just bring your tooth brush.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Michael Palmer (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2015

About Michael Palmer

In my work, I travel extensively, but Sanibel is by far the most uniquely tranquil, aesthetically pleasing, area I've ever visited

Why Michael Palmer chose Sanibel Island

Located 400 yards from our pristine, private beach, with magnificent shelling, this is one of the few single family homes on Sanibel that is licensed to lease for periods of less than 30 days.

What makes this house unique

No traffic lights, miles of paved bike paths. Great shelling on our private beach. We supply bikes for free, along with beach chairs, blankets, coolers and beach toys for the kids.

Casual restaurants with outstanding food.

Year round sunshine.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 27 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
average rating of 4.814815 based on 27 reviews
5

BEAUTIFUL HOME & DELIGHTFUL BEACH

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 10 are here for a quick 3 nights before heading to Disneyworld. This home is just OUTSTANDING! clean, well appointed, comfy, great A/C. Kids are playing ping pong or bicycling...out of hair. Neigborhood is quiet with a lovely, deserted beach. We feasted on Peaches (small, some sort of Florida hybrid)Mulberries, and fresh limes made our limeade. The trees are loaded with young Mangoes, too green to eat yet....so we'll be back this summer. The owner is a pleasure to work with! When we had to confess to loosing the keys, he was on it immediately and got us a new set right away at no charge.

We will be regulars at this island and this gem of a home.

Dane's family

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dane! We are always grateful to know that our guests enjoyed themselves. We try very hard to always be responsive to any issues and welcome our guests input, good or not so much. You and your family were a pleasure to work with! You are welcome back anytime. Regards Mike
5

Just Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Pictures are accurate. Mike was a pleasure to work with. Had a couple of issues during our stay, but Mike was on top of it, making it a great vacation. Food is extremely expensive on the island at restuarants, I would suggest grocery shopping (Bailey's or Jerry's) and cooking at the house. There are fruit trees in the back yard, but nothing was ripe enough to pick, or it was already completely gone by summer. Private beach is just beautiful, busy during the day, but evenings were peaceful and quiet. We had three teenagers and two young kids, and the ping pong table kept us busy all night long. There were plenty of bikes for everyone, and lots of beach toys, including boogie boards. Waves aren't that great, but the shelling is awesome...walked away with lots of treasures. The house was clean upon arrival, in fact the housekeeper stopped by to make sure that we were satisified. The maintenance guy was extremely friendly too. NOTE: take bug spray, bugs weren't too bad until they mowed and then they came out of nowhere. Small walk to the beach. One other note, they are doing construction next door, which they start promptly at 8am (lots of noise), but wasn't unbearable. All in all, a great family vacation. Would highly recommend to anyone and would stay again if we ever get to make it back down to the island.

Suggestions: Go on the Dolphin and Wildlife Cruise with Captiva Cruises, they were amazing, got us close to the dolphins and they were jumping in our waves! The kids loved it!!! Also, if you are planning on parasailing, go see the guys at YOLO Watersports on Captiva. The Sanibel Day Spa was amazing as well. Doc Fords and Bubble Room were too packed, so make sure to make reservations if you are wanting to eat there, we ended up eating at George and Wendy's. We got right in, food was great and the staff was amazing.

~Amanda (Missouri)

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments Amanda. It was a pleasure working with you and your family. Your comments are very much appreciated! Mike
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

Best vacation ever- this was what we heard from our 4 children. The description for this home was very accurate, and Mike was great to work with. The home was clean, and seems to be well cared for. Yes, it is an older home, but it's loaded with Florida charm. The yard had mango trees which we made fresh smoothies with every morning. The kids enjoyed looking for lizards in the yard. Easy walking distance to the beach, and great beach for shelling. We could not have asked for more from this home. It was comfortable for 9 of us and we can't wait to stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sara, We are always trying to improve the "Sanibel experience" for our guests. Your kind comments are much appreciated and please come back any time. Mike
Titusville, FL
3

Family Reunion

  • 3 of 5

A small family reunion for people all over the country, found this very large house roomy enough to separate into different groups according to activities. Older folks watched TV in the family room, while others played cards on the dining room table. Little ones played in the lanai, and in their small blow-up pool in the yard. We ate mangoes as they ripen and fell to the ground each morning.

The bedrooms were spaced out nicely but the sound travels badly through the many sliding doors within the house.

There were 3 TV's although the ad said 4. All worked well and the little ones especially liked the DVD player to watch their special movies we brought from home.

The bikes were amazing and more than enough for our needs, but some need some TLC and maybe some oiling and adjustments.

The washing machine worked great, but the dryer never turned off!

The garage smelled terribly when we first arrived, so moved all garbage cans to the outside of the house. Carpets and terrazo floors needed deep cleaning!!! A few steps in bare feet and the bottoms were black. Not enough TP and paper towels for 10 people, or even 4, for two weeks; we had to buy our own. Mold in bathrooms not acceptable. House needs lots of attention, paint peeling, and cabinets horrible. Need light bulbs in some spot lights. Rusting sinks in two bathrooms. Loose faucets. If we didn't have mechanics with us, we would have had to call owner more often, but they found screwdrivers or wrenches and fixed little problems. Screen door on lanai not good. Huge supply of linens and towels, but many towels are rags: holes, tears, stains, just plain worn out!

Despite vast supply of kitchen things I still missed a good coffee grinder (it wouldn't grind my whole beans fine enough), a good blender, soft spatulas, SHARP knives (or at least a sharpener), and a non-stick fry pan (one there was badly scratched and we wouldn't use it). Great supply of glasses, dishes, pots and pans, etc. but short on forks. For groups this size an added refrigerator in garage for drinks would be nice-we had to use extra coolers and buy ice for the drinks. The beds were very comfortable.

From reading the description online, of this house, it sounded like a much nicer one than it turned out to be, especially for the cost. It was a great, rough, beach house, and should be advertised as such.

Despite the opinions of all concerned, we did have an incredible, wonderful time and the owner was a pleasure to work with!!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jim thank you for your comments, although I'm a little surprised that you didn't express your disappointment when we spoke during your stay. Often, things can be immediately remedied if I am made aware of the problem. Everything, except for maybe the " sound traveling" and the coffee bean grinder not grinding fine enough for your taste will be acted on immediately. Thank you Jim Mike
West Salem, WI
5

Ocean getaway

  • 5 of 5

Spent a wonderful week at Sandy Bottom! The house was large, clean and close to the beach. The lanai was beautiful and perfect for seven people to hang out and visit. Beach access was great and of course perfect for walking and shelling. The location is perfect for both beach goers and those who prefer a relaxed home like atmosphere. Hope to spend more time here in the future. Thanks Mike!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments Katie! We are never satisfied with the status quo and always try to make our guest's Sanibel experience a memorable one. Regards Mike
Frisco, TX
5

Great House, Great Location 12/22/12-12/29/12

  • 5 of 5

My family and I were very happy with the house. It is in a great location close to the beach and a short bike ride to Doc Fords! Very spacious and pretty fully stocked. Lanai was great and big. Lots of bikes for everyone. Everyone had a great time and I would recommend this place to everyone. We had a great Christmas there. Mike called me a couple of times to check on things and to make sure we did not need anything. Great overall experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeff, Thank your kind comments. We keep trying to improve and guests like you and your family make it all worth while!

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
FORT MYERS Regional S/W Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Doc Fords
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Doc Fords
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Tradewinds PRIVATE Beach Residents/Guestsnly
Car: necessary

HUGE 4 bedroom, 3 Bath, 400 yards to our pristine, private beach, no busy roads to cross, 11 bicycles (8 adult, 3 kids), beach chairs, blankets, coolers, umbrellas, Kids beach toys. Free Phone & WIFI, lots of fruit trees. This home has it all!!

Other Activities: Parasailing, Boating, Wildlife Viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $229 Per night

Sanibel Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
WINTER
Dec 15 2015 - Apr 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$299
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
SUMMER
May 1 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$229
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Pet Fee $125
Tax Rate 11.0%
Notes For stays of less than 7 nights, the guest pays the cleaning at cost ($150) no tax
Stays of 14 nights or more receive a 5% discount
Winter rates Dec 15th - April 30th $299/ night
Summer rates May 1st - December 14th $229/night
All rates are for up to 6 guests. More than 6 guests is $10/night each. ie: 10 guests is $40/ night additional
Government holidays are charged at Winter rates $299/night
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Sanibel Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , outdoor shower only
  • Bathroom 4 is an Outdoor Shower only, for showering off after basking at the beach
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Family Room has Queen size sleeper couch
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This home has it all, all linens, soap, towels, washer/dryer, dishwasher, including 11 BICYCLES!! Just bring your toothbrush!

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote