SLEEPS 10 - VERY CHARMING, HUGE PRIVATE HOME, AVAILABLE YEAR ROUND

Michael Palmer

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number

Michael Palmer

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SLEEPS 10 - VERY CHARMING, HUGE PRIVATE HOME, AVAILABLE YEAR ROUND

Sanibel Island House Rental Photos and Description

4 BR, 3 BA, sleeps 10

INCREDIBLE - Huge 4/3 private home w/2 car garage and RV parking. 300 yards. to private access, pristine beach.

Your Island Paradise. Pick fresh limes from our mature fruit trees for your tropical beverage.

This home has it all, just bring your tooth brush.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome

Michael Palmer

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 26 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 26 reviews
business
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241583
+1 305 793-6914
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

JUST WONDERFUL

  • 5 of 5
Pictures are accurate. Mike was a pleasure to work with. Had a couple of issues during our stay, but Mike was on top of it, making it a great vacation. Food is extremely expensive on the island at restuarants, I would suggest grocery shopping (Bailey's or Jerry's) and cooking at the house. There are fruit trees in the back yard, but nothing was ripe enough to pick, or it was already completely gone by summer. Private beach is just beautiful, busy during the day, but evenings were peaceful and quiet. We had three teenagers and two young kids, and the ping pong table kept us busy all night long. There were plenty of bikes for everyone, and lots of beach toys, including boogie boards. Waves aren't that great, but the shelling is awesome...walked away with lots of treasures. The house was clean upon arrival, in fact the housekeeper stopped by to make sure that we were satisified. The maintenance guy was extremely friendly too. NOTE: take bug spray, bugs weren't too bad until they mowed and then they came out of nowhere. Small walk to the beach. One other note, they are doing construction next door, which they start promptly at 8am (lots of noise), but wasn't unbearable. All in all, a great family vacation. Would highly recommend to anyone and would stay again if we ever get to make it back down to the island.

Suggestions: Go on the Dolphin and Wildlife Cruise with Captiva Cruises, they were amazing, got us close to the dolphins and they were jumping in our waves! The kids loved it!!! Also, if you are planning on parasailing, go see the guys at YOLO Watersports on Captiva. The Sanibel Day Spa was amazing as well. Doc Fords and Bubble Room were too packed, so make sure to make reservations if you are wanting to eat there, we ended up eating at George and Wendy's. We got right in, food was great and the staff was amazing.

~Amanda (Missouri)
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments Amanda. It was a pleasure working with you and your family.
Your comments are very much appreciated!
Mike
business
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241583
+1 305 793-6914
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

BEST VACATION EVER!

  • 5 of 5
Best vacation ever- this was what we heard from our 4 children. The description for this home was very accurate, and Mike was great to work with. The home was clean, and seems to be well cared for. Yes, it is an older home, but it's loaded with Florida charm. The yard had mango trees which we made fresh smoothies with every morning. The kids enjoyed looking for lizards in the yard. Easy walking distance to the beach, and great beach for shelling. We could not have asked for more from this home. It was comfortable for 9 of us and we can't wait to stay again!
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sara, We are always trying to improve the "Sanibel experience" for our guests. Your
kind comments are much appreciated and please come back any time.
Mike
business
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241583
+1 305 793-6914
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Titusville, FL
3

FAMILY REUNION

  • 3 of 5
A small family reunion for people all over the country, found this very large house roomy enough to separate into different groups according to activities. Older folks watched TV in the family room, while others played cards on the dining room table. Little ones played in the lanai, and in their small blow-up pool in the yard. We ate mangoes as they ripen and fell to the ground each morning.
The bedrooms were spaced out nicely but the sound travels badly through the many sliding doors within the house.
There were 3 TV's although the ad said 4. All worked well and the little ones especially liked the DVD player to watch their special movies we brought from home.
The bikes were amazing and more than enough for our needs, but some need some TLC and maybe some oiling and adjustments.
The washing machine worked great, but the dryer never turned off!
The garage smelled terribly when we first arrived, so moved all garbage cans to the outside of the house. Carpets and terrazo floors needed deep cleaning!!! A few steps in bare feet and the bottoms were black. Not enough TP and paper towels for 10 people, or even 4, for two weeks; we had to buy our own. Mold in bathrooms not acceptable. House needs lots of attention, paint peeling, and cabinets horrible. Need light bulbs in some spot lights. Rusting sinks in two bathrooms. Loose faucets. If we didn't have mechanics with us, we would have had to call owner more often, but they found screwdrivers or wrenches and fixed little problems. Screen door on lanai not good. Huge supply of linens and towels, but many towels are rags: holes, tears, stains, just plain worn out!
Despite vast supply of kitchen things I still missed a good coffee grinder (it wouldn't grind my whole beans fine enough), a good blender, soft spatulas, SHARP knives (or at least a sharpener), and a non-stick fry pan (one there was badly scratched and we wouldn't use it). Great supply of glasses, dishes, pots and pans, etc. but short on forks. For groups this size an added refrigerator in garage for drinks would be nice-we had to use extra coolers and buy ice for the drinks. The beds were very comfortable.

From reading the description online, of this house, it sounded like a much nicer one than it turned out to be, especially for the cost. It was a great, rough, beach house, and should be advertised as such.

Despite the opinions of all concerned, we did have an incredible, wonderful time and the owner was a pleasure to work with!!
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Jim
thank you for your comments, although I'm a little surprised that you didn't express your disappointment when we spoke during your stay. Often, things can be immediately remedied if I am made aware of the problem. Everything, except for maybe the " sound traveling" and the coffee bean grinder not grinding fine enough for your taste will be acted on immediately.
Thank you Jim
Mike
business
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241583
+1 305 793-6914
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
West Salem, WI
5

OCEAN GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
Spent a wonderful week at Sandy Bottom! The house was large, clean and close to the beach. The lanai was beautiful and perfect for seven people to hang out and visit. Beach access was great and of course perfect for walking and shelling. The location is perfect for both beach goers and those who prefer a relaxed home like atmosphere. Hope to spend more time here in the future. Thanks Mike!
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments Katie! We are never satisfied with the status quo and always try to make our guest's Sanibel experience a memorable one.
Regards
Mike
business
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241583
+1 305 793-6914
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Frisco, TX
5

GREAT HOUSE, GREAT LOCATION 12/22/12-12/29/12

  • 5 of 5
My family and I were very happy with the house. It is in a great location close to the beach and a short bike ride to Doc Fords! Very spacious and pretty fully stocked. Lanai was great and big. Lots of bikes for everyone. Everyone had a great time and I would recommend this place to everyone. We had a great Christmas there. Mike called me a couple of times to check on things and to make sure we did not need anything. Great overall experience.
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Jeff, Thank your kind comments. We keep trying to improve and guests like you and your family make it all worth while!
business
Sleeps 10 - Very Charming, Huge Private Home, Available Year Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p241583
+1 305 793-6914
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

  • 5 of 5
Had a total of 8 in our party, 5 adults & 3 kids. Size of home was very adequate. Listing description including location, layout, amenities were all correct. Pictures are all correct. Property was clean and well maintained, though it's last make-over was done in the '80's (reason for 4-stars instead of 5). Regardless, it was well kept. Neighborhood is nice making my early morning runs a pleasant experience. Mike was a pleasure to work with and always very responsive to my e-mail inquiries. The property was vacant prior to our arrival so we were allowed an early check-in free of charge (back up to 5-stars!). Crossing the causeway from Ft. Meyers to Sanibel costs $6, but free of charge going back to the mainland. Kids loved the ping-pong table (so did the adults)! We stopped at a Dillon's to stock up on supplies in Ft. Myeres. Everything on the island is a bit pricey so I recommend you do the same. Beach is a 7 min walk (front door to water). If you plan on taking chairs, coolers, beach toys, etc you'll need to drive but there is a free parking pass stuck to the door on the fridge, be sure to grab it on your way out the door. Had to ask a neighbor how to get to the beach (a very nice gentlemen). I would recommend that you provide a map showing how to get to the beach parking. Mike did send a confirmation e-mail that included a map from the airport to Sandy Bottom as well as restaurant recommendations which was very helpful. The Luminary Fest took place on Friday night which turned the main drag (Periwinkle) into a fairy tale (do a google search)! We did "backwater fishing excursion" at Adventures in Paradise. Caught some fish, saw some dolphins, all the kids and adults had fun. Ate at Doc Fords, food was very quick and VERY good. Staff was extremely nice and knowledgeable. We would stay at Sandy Bottom again! :)
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, Thank you for your comments. We continue to upgrade and modernize. Flat panel tvs, new appliances, amenities, bicycles and competition ping pong table are just a few. We appreciate and always act on our guests comments.

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
FORT MYERS Regional S/W Airport
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Tradewinds PRIVATE Beach Residents and Guests only

HUGE 4 bedroom, 300 yards to our pristine, private beach, no busy roads to cross, 9 bicycles, beach chairs, blankets, coolers, umbrellas, toys. Free Phone & WIFI, lots of fruit trees. This home has it all!!

Other Activities: Parasailing, Boating, Wildlife Viewing

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sanibel Island House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.0%

Notes

  • Winter & Holiday rates $299./ nt , Summer rates $209./ night
  • Winter .. $299/night .. $2093/week
    Summer .. $219/night .. $1533/week
    5% discount on 2 weeks or more
  • winter $299/nt up to 6 guests
    Summer $219./nt
    Holidays $299./nt.

Amenities

Sanibel Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking
  • Iron & Board
  • Internet
  • Garage
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Lobster Pot
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , outdoor shower only
  • Bathroom 4 is an Outdoor Shower only, for showering off after basking at the beach
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Family Room has Queen size sleeper couch
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Beach Chairs
  • Large Cooler
  • Small Cooler
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • bay/sound
  • library
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • eco tourism
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • Babysitter
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • jet skiing
Notes:
This home has it all, including 11 BICYCLES!! Just bring your toothbrush!