A small family reunion for people all over the country, found this very large house roomy enough to separate into different groups according to activities. Older folks watched TV in the family room, while others played cards on the dining room table. Little ones played in the lanai, and in their small blow-up pool in the yard. We ate mangoes as they ripen and fell to the ground each morning.
The bedrooms were spaced out nicely but the sound travels badly through the many sliding doors within the house.
There were 3 TV's although the ad said 4. All worked well and the little ones especially liked the DVD player to watch their special movies we brought from home.
The bikes were amazing and more than enough for our needs, but some need some TLC and maybe some oiling and adjustments.
The washing machine worked great, but the dryer never turned off!
The garage smelled terribly when we first arrived, so moved all garbage cans to the outside of the house. Carpets and terrazo floors needed deep cleaning!!! A few steps in bare feet and the bottoms were black. Not enough TP and paper towels for 10 people, or even 4, for two weeks; we had to buy our own. Mold in bathrooms not acceptable. House needs lots of attention, paint peeling, and cabinets horrible. Need light bulbs in some spot lights. Rusting sinks in two bathrooms. Loose faucets. If we didn't have mechanics with us, we would have had to call owner more often, but they found screwdrivers or wrenches and fixed little problems. Screen door on lanai not good. Huge supply of linens and towels, but many towels are rags: holes, tears, stains, just plain worn out!
Despite vast supply of kitchen things I still missed a good coffee grinder (it wouldn't grind my whole beans fine enough), a good blender, soft spatulas, SHARP knives (or at least a sharpener), and a non-stick fry pan (one there was badly scratched and we wouldn't use it). Great supply of glasses, dishes, pots and pans, etc. but short on forks. For groups this size an added refrigerator in garage for drinks would be nice-we had to use extra coolers and buy ice for the drinks. The beds were very comfortable.
From reading the description online, of this house, it sounded like a much nicer one than it turned out to be, especially for the cost. It was a great, rough, beach house, and should be advertised as such.
Despite the opinions of all concerned, we did have an incredible, wonderful time and the owner was a pleasure to work with!!
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Jim
thank you for your comments, although I'm a little surprised that you didn't express your disappointment when we spoke during your stay. Often, things can be immediately remedied if I am made aware of the problem. Everything, except for maybe the " sound traveling" and the coffee bean grinder not grinding fine enough for your taste will be acted on immediately.
Thank you Jim
Helpful votes: 5/6
Did you find this review helpful?