Misleading and not worth the money
Not nice at all for the price. Listing included a washer and dryer, there are none. Owner refused to compensate us. The inside ceilings have stains and the rugs and sofas are also stained. Everything is just mismatched and run down. There is AC in the main bedroom only and it is too noisy to turn on. The main floor was sticky. We were given a mop and detergent by one of the owners. We had to wash it ourselves. Dirty dishes in the cupboards. We were told not to use too many appliances at the same time because the fuse box would not take it. Cheap plastic blinds do not block the sunlight. One roll of toilet paper. The back deck is very small,no space to sit, table takes the whole space. There is no beach when high tide approaches. Need a car to go up north or down Hampton's main beach. Nobody to see us in or out. Owner accuses us of breaking things which is FALSE and won't reimburse our deposit. Home Away encouraged me to post a review and to file a complaint which I did. I offered the owner to make amend before I posted my review and he threatened to disclose my name and address on social networks!
Owner's Response: After weeks of back to back rentals to large families with happy children, and their daily tracking-in of sand, seashells, and water, the upholstery and flooring can take quite a beating. When we see such wear become visible our response is to throw the item out and replace it with new. Our professional cleaning service typically replaces all of the area rugs and furniture slip-covers three times per summer and it was just done as a result of this review.
However when a tenant does something unexpected that results in physical damage, like re-arrange to their liking the heavy furniture in every room, we withhold their security deposit to pay for such damage. Most tenants accept responsibility for their actions, while other less responsible tenants make excuses and protest anonymously.
We confirm that all of the photos of our apartment, its furnishings, and their condition, as well as the listed amenities, are accurate. We continue to take pride in our wonderful ocean-front property and welcome prospective tenants to contact us with any questions or concerns. Home Away encouraged us to respond to this review and condones the withholding of security deposits when it is warranted.
Helpful votes: 4/4
Did you find this review helpful?