Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Rustic But Elegant Cabin on Lake Superior with Private Beach

Lynn Ketola

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin

Lynn Ketola

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Rustic But Elegant Cabin on Lake Superior with Private Beach

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin

Overview

Baraga Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-5)

To reserve a room and check dates available go to littlebearcabin.com Charming little cabin nestled in the pines located on Lake Superior.

Shallow lake allows children to enjoy the water on a hot day. Sandy beach with a cabana to shield the sun. Two picnic tables on the beach to enjoy dinner. Linens are provided. Stone fireplace in front of a handmade bed with logs from our yard and driftwood from the lake. A skylight is over the bed. A fold out sofa bed sleeps two. A cot is available for another individual. A kitchenette is available with small refrigerator and microwave. Gas grill for cooking outside. Views are heavenly. Eagle in residence and our favorite seagull named Simon. A sitting room with a table for dining overlooks the water. Play music from a selection of CDds. View of Bishop Baraga statue across the lake. Relax and leave the outside world. Restaurants are nearby and three within walking distance. Laundromat nearby and casino is only minutes away littlebearcabindotcom or press link to my other properties which will take you to the webpage to reserve and check my calendar. pontoon, kayak and boat rental down the street.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Lynn Ketola (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2015

About Lynn Ketola

I am a school administrator who also owns a bed and breakfast. I have been in retail and service type business in the past. I have strong ties to the area and love local history. i am a member of the local tribe. I love to cook and to garden.

Lynn Ketola purchased this cabin in 1999

What makes this cabin unique

Beautiful sunrises. Relax in spa jet tub. Cozy fireplace for chilly evenings.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Staying at this hidden gem in the north woods. Comfortable log bed. We are here to visit my grandparents. They came over last night and we had a nice visit in the living room. Tomorrow doing some sightseeing and shopping.i'm going to hate to leave.
May 2014
  • 1 of 39

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.3
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Rustic But Elegant Cabin on Lake Superior with Private Beach
average rating of 3.2857144 based on 46 reviews
Lansing mi
4

Ryan

  • 4 of 5

Stayed at the cabin in baraga for a early afternoon and night. Great beach and view. Good Pizza in walking distance.Suprised that there wasnt any of the biting flies you hear about.

Would like to stay in the winter for snowmobiling. Would like to use the little stone fireplace. Stan

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Canada
5

peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5

My friend and I stayed here just a few days ago and thoroughly enjoyed the rustic, beauty of the cabin.

It was clean, tastily decorated and set up for meals. The owner of the cabin was very accommodating and pleasant to deal with. She bent over backwards just to please us. Th grounds were very peaceful and the lake view is breathtaking. We plan on going back again in the fall.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Maryville, IL
2

Needs deep cleaning

  • 2 of 5

We stayed there for 4 days and there were positive things about the cabin such as proximity to area activities and restaurants. The private beach on the bay was very enjoyable. The only problem we had is that there were nicknacks everywhere throughout the cabin which left very little room for any of our items and that the cabin needed a deep cleaning. There were spider webs and cob webs all over the cabin which we tried to get rid of when we first arrived with the broom. My husband woke up on 2 different days with spider bites while we were there. An article of clothing fell behind the couch and it was full of dust and dirt when I retrieved it. The main area of the cabin had clean floors etc, but the corners, support beams and window sils of the cabin were dirty. Most of the nicknacks had cob webs or dust on them. The owner was very nice and helpful. Very cute cabin but wish they would move the furniture and do some deep cleaning.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Southeastern Michigan
5

Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Loved our 5 nights at Little Bear Cabin! It is rustic but when I go up north, I don't want to feel like I'm in my home in southeastern Michigan! Loved the logs that make up the cabin walls, the beautiful view of the water, and the wonderful decor of the interior. The grill is handy for outside cooking and the electric fry pan, microwave, two refrigerators, and coffee maker provided were more than adequate for our cooking needs. It was a great home base for our travels in the Kewenaw Peninsula and Lake of the Clouds areas, and I can't say enough about how much our Anya (German Shepherd) loved the lake. Great that you can walk out quite a ways before it gets too deep so you can relax with a dog (or could with children as well) swimming, knowing that you won't need to jump in to save them if they wander 20 feet from shore. Beautiful birds in the water and air and the chipmunks are adorable. The one who received a part of our granola bar thought he'd hit the jackpot! Spacious bathroom and two dressers to store clothing if you'd like and plenty of seating areas inside the cabin. Great selection of white small light strings with vine stars placed around the cabin for mood lighting without being too bright. My husband uses a cane and the ramp was handy when he was tired and didn't want to use the few steps to get in the front door. I can imagine how beautiful the place would be with a fire in the fireplace but given that it was July, we didn't use it. The only negative to this place is the road noise but we just closed the windows at night and turned on the fan/air conditioner and we slept like babies. Great root beer floats at the drive in across the street as well. We'll come back in a heartbeat and so will our pooch!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
downstate MI
5

what a great fall getaway!

  • 5 of 5

stayed at this charming cabin for a weekend when the fall colors were at their peak. the leaves were turned and we could even view them from bed through the skylite. we made a fire in the fireplace and firewood was provided for us. Everything was neat and clean. We had our coffee at the table overlooking the lake. From the cabin we went to see Copper Harbor where the colors were at their peak. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Michigan
1

Unpleasant Week @Little Bear Cabin

  • 1 of 5

Cabin is very much mis-represented on the web site. We arranged to rent for full week, were assured cabin was "fully equipped" to accomodate for a week, not true.There's no kitchen (is a small micro., very dirty electric fry pan), under sink was a dirty mess. 3 forks, spoons 2 knives in "silverware drawer. We were given 3 wash cloths (2 adults for 7 days!!). Cabin over run with huge spiders and ants. Main highway runs in front of cabin, traffic noise (truckers) all night makes sleep impossible, PLUS, TRAIN COMES THRU AT 3:10 A.M..right in front of the cabin. We had to go elsewhere for 3 nights just to get some rest. Gazebo mentioned on web site is a mess, full of bugs and spiders, could not use it. Could not unpack, nowhere to put your clothes. When we unpacked at our home, large spider in my suitcase and many ants. Grounds ill kept, dirty not useable gas grill in the yard, old boat, dirty old travel trailer parked in the yard and dirty cushioned chair. If cabin rented for $40 - $50 a night, one could probably tolerate this. However, it is very much over-priced. We rented based on information on the web site (elegant rustic cabin) and conversations with the owner, had no reason to believe we would encounter the unpleasant conditions. Full weekly payment was required in advance, we had no problem doing that as again, we trusted the owner. We feel very, very used. The owner knew how important this week was to us. I was crying upon entering the cabin and seeing the condition and immediately called the owner. Her response was to tell me she had received several calls about renting the cabin, I knew it was pointless to ask for a refund. Rental of this cabin for a week is very over-priced, nothing about it warrants what we paid per night. It's worth $40 - $50 a night, as it has nothing to offer. A beautiful sunrise was the only positive about the property. A partial refund from the owner would have been very nice, would have eased some of the hurt. I went to the owner's business in downtown, but she never there. I really wanted to discuss this with her. My only hope is others will not be taken advantage of as my husband and I were. We put trust in someone and were taken advantage of. Our mistake. The week spent at Little Bear Cabin is a terrible memory for us.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter called and wanted a discount. I told her since she was staying for a week that i would give her a $300 discount. I knew i could book the weekend because it was parents weekend at Michigan Tech university and my bed and breakfast was filled. Everything for 60 miles was booked for that weekend. Lynn arrived and called me crying, she said she was tired from driving 9 hours but she needed to cook for her husband. we had discussed the cabin and i never told her i had a stove. i did tell her there was a microwave, electric skillet which is not dirty, outside new tabletop grill, still in packaging and a beverage refrigerator and a large refrigerator with freezer. I offered to bring her an electric burner and my own pots and pans, a small convection oven and anything i could do to assist her. She called the next morning and said everything was fine that she had just needed sleep. I have never seen ants a few little spiders occasionaly but we use a pesticide that is organic that takes care of them. it is after all a rustic cabin. When i did the laundry i counted 8 washcloths they had used which creates a question on her credibility. The train could not be in front of the cabin as that is where the lake is. It rarely is used anymore. There is a spa radio with lake, loons, and gentle rain which can be used to lull quests to sleep. I have gotten rave reviews from others which when Abraham lincoln said people make up their mind to be about as happy as they choose to be is really the truth. I turned down other guests to honor my committment to her and so i was not conducive to a further refund. I don't know where she would find a cabin with spa tub, homemade log bed, lakefront, beach property for $40 a night in the year 2011. She also did not tell me she brought along a dog which i do charge more for pets for a week so she was dishonest about that. That would have been another $25 charge. One of my bed and breakfast guests told me about the dog as they checked it out and want it for winter carnival weekend in Feb. It is dishearting to work so hard and have some emotional person make remarks that are not true. In this business you meet all kinds of people thanj heavens that 99% of my guests are happy.

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Houghton Co Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Canteen
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
LAnse Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
US 41
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Night Owl Cafe
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Mich tech
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Second sand
Nearest Point of Interest
little bear cabin
Car: necessary

pontoon boat, kayak, canoe, jet ski rental only one mile away

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $129 Per night

Baraga Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/summer/fall
Mar 31 2015 - Nov 7 2015
1 night minimum stay
$129
$800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15
Lodging/cleaning fee $5
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes Cancellation policy is a gift certificate for a future stay equal to your initial booking

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Baraga Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Great getaway on lake superior

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$780 - $1,300 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote