6 MINS WEST OF YOSEMITE - ULTIMATE PRIVACY: 14 ACRES. HOT TUB. NATURE ALL AROUND

Owner

Advertiser since 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Owner
Advertiser since 2007
Speaks english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

6 MINS WEST OF YOSEMITE - ULTIMATE PRIVACY: 14 ACRES. HOT TUB. NATURE ALL AROUND

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Yosemite National Park Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

The most relaxing and amazing location to stay during your next trip to Yosemite is The Secret Meadows Retreat.

This A frame home is situated on it’s own fourteen acres of meadows and forest. It features one bedroom plus a loft bedroom, large living room with sofas and wood burning fireplace.

Frequented by deer and other wildlife this is an exclusive experience being offered as a rental for the first time, on a trial basis.

Driving through three gates and 300 yards down it’s private driveway will bring you to the home and the first meadow.

This is an old homestead site with just a handful of nearby cabins, all of which are far enough away to provide you with complete privacy (except for the deer, birds, and other wildlife). Adjacent to and surrounded by thousands of aces of Stanislaus National Forest which can accessed by trails and old logging roads from the Retreat.

Located just 400 yards from Hwy 120, approximate five miles west of the Big Oak Flat entrance to Yosemite National Park, in the Hardin Flat area.

This is an incredible destination that may leave you content without even venturing into Yosemite Valley, even though the Big Oak Flat entrance to Yosemite is just another ten minutes down the 120.

Nearby horseback riding, river rafting and guided tours can be arranged.

The home is cozy, with one private bedroom with queen bed and TV, a loft with one double pillow-top queen and one full (plus an amazing view over the meadow), a dining room, fully stocked kitchen and a large, fourteen x twenty four foot, family room with a big wood burning fireplace, 42” flat screen TV on Dish Network, a desk with computer, and couches which can easily sleep two more.

Includes all appliances, a washer-dryer, hot water (strong pressure), central heating (plus a pellet stove in the dining room and the wood burning fireplace in the living room).

Keywords: Cabin, retreat, honeymoon, get-away, privacy, Yosemite, National Park,

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why The Owner chose Yosemite National Park

I have been searching (and continue searching) for extradinary properties in the best natural locations.

Secret Meadows Retreat qualifies due to:

1) It's proximity to incredible Yosemite National Park

2) It's unsurpassable privacy, peace and quiet

3) The rarity of having fourteen privately owned acres of perfect meadows and forest

4) The variety of incredible activities which can be experienced in the immediately surrounding area

What makes this cabin unique

Watching deer graze in our meadows (seasonal)

Stargazing from our fire circle

On site or nearby horseback riding, whitewater rafting (seasonal), snowshoeing (seasonal), hiking, mountain biking, waterfall viewing, fishing, boating, cliff jumping (into Rainbow Pool - 1 mile), bird watching, horseshoes, volleyball or badminton plus much, much more.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
6 mins west of Yosemite - Ultimate Privacy: 14 Acres. Hot tub. Nature all around
average rating of 4.266667 based on 15 reviews
business
6 mins west of Yosemite - Ultimate Privacy: 14 Acres. Hot tub. Nature all around
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175829vb
-(858) 551-5455 (California, USA)
Yosemite National Park Yosemite Area
San Francisco
1

"Secret Meadows Mess": Whatever You Do, Don't Stay Here!

"Secret Meadows Mess": Whatever You Do, Don't Stay Here!
  • 1 of 5
Until now, I’ve never written a review for anything, but want so much to spare others what we’ve gone through—and continue to go through. Before renting SMR I read the reviews but no amount of due diligence could have prepared us for the sorry condition of the house itself. I mean…we’re talking health and safety code violations here!

The owner and property manager for “Secret Meadows Retreat” has already conceded that we “shouldn’t have had to go through this”—that it wasn’t “right” that the vacation rental we'd contracted in July was in such disrepair; and yet, at the appointed time we agreed to discuss a fair solution, refused to take my calls or answer my emails. I have sent him photos and lengthy descriptions of the jammed front door that doesn’t open or close (we put a coffee table in front of it before going to bed because my kids thought this was so “sketch”); the filthy windows, walls, floors, drawers; the stained linens; the filthy and stained carpet throughout the house; the broken dinnerware; the derelict furniture (a leather lounger with it’s stuffing hanging down the arm of the chair, furniture that looks like it was scavenged); the vertical blinds you can’t open to catch a breeze because the pull chain broke years ago, and which you can’t slide open without pulling down the track mount; the broken stovetop, the burn hole on the dishwasher, the smell of smoke that permeates the master bedroom; the leaky hot tub that puddles water into mud where the dirt meets the concrete slab in the car park that is the front walkway; the Leaning Tower of Badminton Court; the insect graveyard in every single lamp fixture; windows without screens; the dirty rags sitting in brown water in the half-filled washing machine; the hair on the sink in the guest bathroom…Overall effect: if you're looking for a good-ol'-boys' hunting cabin, or the perfect site for a frat party, SMR is your own little slice of heaven!

In a recent email I learned that the housekeeping service had been blamed entirely--and that everything's all "cleaned up" and yet, when I asked to be refunded for one night AND my cleaning deposit I was told that this same cleaning service claimed we'd left a bigger mess upon leaving than they. In anticipation of this kind of sleazy response, I took before and after photos of every room at the time of our departure I'm more than happy to share. One month later I'm still trying to get my money back…just pretty dang miserable all the way around.
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: We've hosted hundreds and hundreds of happy guests, all of whom enjoyed and appreciated the beauty, privacy and nature of Secret Meadows Retreat. Now this.
I tried talking to this lady and she told me she "wished my house burned down".
I've witnessed my relatives homes burning down and wouldn't wish this on anyone. I told here I wouldn't talk again unless she could promise a "civil" conversation. She wouldn't.
I hired a very experienced professional public relations professional to try and see what her issues were, and how we could appease her. He gave up, telling me she was unreasonable, and ....
She demanded a large monetary reward, or threatened to post this review. We tried hard, but could not have any rational discussions with her.
The guests who left the day she arrived were, like all our other guests, delighted with the property and left a positive review. All the guests who stayed after this lady were likewise very happy with Secret Meadows Retreat.
I was at The Retreat just two weeks prior to Ms. Martin's stay and throughly inspected the property. Everything was in order.
SMR is extremely popular, and is booked every day from mid-Spring through September, so it's possible the heavy use was more than the cleaners could keep up with, so I had them perform an extra deep clean. I also had the carpets shampooed.
A prior guest had spilled a beverage on a bedspread, so we bought a new one.
We couldn't determine why Ms. Martin was so "distressed", but we offered her a refund for more than a nights stay. She demanded more. I don't like to succumb to extortion, especially when the person is being so nasty, so she posted this false review.
Our practice is to professionally clean and maintain the property. Any time there is extra wear or damage we take care of it as soon as possible.
Our intent is for every guest to have a great time and to completely enjoy their stay.
However, every now and then you run across someone with troubles that are beyond our expertise.
business
6 mins west of Yosemite - Ultimate Privacy: 14 Acres. Hot tub. Nature all around
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175829vb
-(858) 551-5455 (California, USA)
Yosemite National Park Yosemite Area
Fayetteville, AR
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5
Loved the location, the homey feel of the home, the setting, availability of the owner to ask q's. Very peaceful, but Yosemite very accessible.
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're glad you were able to enjoy and appreciate the uniqueness and tranquility of Secret Meadows Retreat
As you noticed, we're fortunate to have this private piece of nature, surrounded by hundreds of miles of National Parks and Forest, and we love hosting those who appreciate it and make the most of the opportunity.
business
6 mins west of Yosemite - Ultimate Privacy: 14 Acres. Hot tub. Nature all around
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175829vb
-(858) 551-5455 (California, USA)
Yosemite National Park Yosemite Area
Phoenix, arizona
4

Springtime in Yosemite

  • 4 of 5
My friend and I were looking for a restful, quiet retreat with easy access to the park and this spot delivered. During the day we had easy access to Yosemite where the falls we're beautiful and the scenery breathtaking. In the evenings we returned to this quiet, comfortable cabin. It's on a large piece of property out of sight of other cabins. When we arrived, a fox was in the meadow to welcome us. The deer were bashful but we saw them driving in and out of the area. The cabin is spacious and comfortable with a nice deck. San was attentive and ensured we had a good visit. If we ever go back to the area, this is where we'll stay. Thanks, Dan.
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
6 mins west of Yosemite - Ultimate Privacy: 14 Acres. Hot tub. Nature all around
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175829vb
-(858) 551-5455 (California, USA)
Yosemite National Park Yosemite Area
4

Very secluded and relaxing

  • 4 of 5
We enjoyed the cabin and Dan was great at serving us through the process. I would recommend this for a relaxing getaway or family vacation. The best part about the place was the surrounding land. Lots of space for activities.
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
6 mins west of Yosemite - Ultimate Privacy: 14 Acres. Hot tub. Nature all around
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175829vb
-(858) 551-5455 (California, USA)
Yosemite National Park Yosemite Area
5

A++ Great Cabin, Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
The secret meadows is really close to Yosemite entrance (Big Flat Yosemite gate) and took around 40 minutes to get to the main Valley. The entrance to the Park is really near, I guess around 10-15 minutes drive. Each day, we would get up early in the morning and go to Yosemite and enjoy the scenic beauty in the Park. There is 1 shop + Gas station nearby which is 5 minutes drive. If that is closed (during winter they close at 4pm), the closest where you get all your stuffs is in Groveland 18 miles from the cabin.
There was a slight problem during our stay, but the owner took care of it. One of the pipes burst, but the owner in the middle of the night arranged for a plumber and got it fixed. He even arranged for alternate stay for the night, which we didnt have to use.
This cabin is private and beautiful. Kids would get up early in the morning just to see the deers running around in the meadow.
The Cabin was cleaned properly. Cabin has hot water, TV and internet. Beds were comfortable. We used the fireplace. Amenities were a little old. Hot tub is there. but we did not have time to use it, because we were in Yosemite all the time. There is plenty of room inside for the kids.
The owner was easy to communicate and everything was exactly in the pictures and description.
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed Secret Meadows Retreat, Tariq.
Yes, that frozen pipe posed a challenge. 3 hours on the phone to find a plumber who would come out that Sunday night, and he charged $350.00 for a ten minute repair. I think I'm in the wrong line of work (LOL).
Thank you for being great guests, we hope you can return this Spring or Summer. - Dan
PS: It's only a six minute / mile drive to the main Yosemite entrance.
business
6 mins west of Yosemite - Ultimate Privacy: 14 Acres. Hot tub. Nature all around
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175829vb
-(858) 551-5455 (California, USA)
Yosemite National Park Yosemite Area
Santa Cruz, CA
3

Room for improvement in a stunning setting

  • 3 of 5
I will try write this review with the utmost fairness and accuracy. I stayed there with my parents and kids for a pre-Christmas vacation. Starting with the positive: the setting is absolutely stunning and the property description itself is very accurate. It is secluded, the property expansive with lots of space to hike and play in the meadow, and the proximity to the entrance of Yosemite is very close. The cabin was clean, the heating worked very well, beds were comfortable, and the water pressure strong.
Our stay, however, was mired by several complications which mostly could have been avoided had the owner managed the property more responsibly. The first oversight was that we didn't receive an email with crucial instructions regarding directions, gate codes, key location, and turning the water on. Without getting into the dramatic story, it was a frustrating adventure trying to find the cabin without instructions. Once we did find it (with the help of a neighbor), and get in (surreptitiously), and were able to reach the owner (once my parents arrived with a working cell phone)...I was able to get these instructions. He was very apologetic about the oversight. I am a pretty patient and forgiving person. Mistakes happen, so despite the frustration I could let that go and move on.
But I had to make two more calls to the owner. There was no firewood on the property, unbeknownst to him. The jacuzzi was left in the state of being drained. After taking the hose off, closing the drain and starting to fill it, I discovered a crack in a coupler which made it inoperable. Again, the owner was quite apologetic and attempted to reach his property manager to get it repaired. But this was a few days before Christmas, and nothing came of that endeavor.
Finally, the trash from the previous renter had not been picked up. There was an overflowing recycle bin on the front porch, and a large trash pile in the basement (where renters are instructed to leave it for the cleaners to pick up).
I was very surprised and disappointed to encounter all these issues based on the other reviews. I could understand the email mistake. But there should have been a property manager out before our stay to ensure that everything else was in working order and rental-ready. I felt we grossly overpaid for the condition in which we received the cabin.
Despite the gorgeousness of the natural setting and convenient location, I wouldn't stay here again. I hope that others have a better experience!
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: I agree with most of Jen's comments. We had a record freeze right before she arrived and she discovered the cracked split nut union in the hot tub. Because it was Christmas Week I couldn't get a spa tech to come out right away. I ended up locating and installing the part myself but it's a long drive from San Diego and I didn't get there until after they left.
I addressed the trash / recycling issue with the cleaning company and they promised it won't happen again.
I'm not sure what happened about the directions. We generally remind guests to be sure they are clear before they depart.
I spoke with Jen's Mom for 1/2 hour after their stay and she was VERY happy with the location and the deer in particular.
When issues come up we always try and get repairs handled ASAP. It's a little more challenging during Holidays.
This is a special and unique place and we really want guests to have great memories.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Pine Mountain
Nearest Barpub
20 Miles
The Iron Door
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Pine Mountain Lake
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Evergreen Lodge
Car: necessary

Half Dome, Rainbow Pool (cliff jumping), Tuolumne River (rafting)

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $325 Per night

Yosemite National Park Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall/Winter
Oct 4 2014 - Feb 28 2015
2 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$325
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $90 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Weekends Only are Plus 20%
Minimum night stays are for weeknights. Weekend dates require longer minimum stays, and vary depending on time of year, how far in advance, and other factors. Check with owner for details.
Holidays and special events: Inquire with owner for pricing.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Yosemite National Park Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (2), Full Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Ultimate privacy! Behind three gates and situated on fourteen acres, including two meadows and a substantial old growth forest. No other cabins in sight. Hot tub, badminton, darts, horseshoes, hiking trails and hammock. Close to main Yosemite entrance along Hwy 120 (main route from S.F. Bay Area). Surrounded by thousands of acres of Stanislaus National Forest. No fences, so you can hike for miles right from the cabin!
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote