Definitely not what I was expecting!
Submitted: July 28, 2012
Stayed: July 2012
The picture is a bit deceiving! It makes it look like you have the whole 5 acres to yourself in this wonderful setting... but if you look really close there is a camper trailer just outside the bedroom window and unless you want to walk through knee high grass nothing is useable. There is no a/c (which is very aggravating because I was told there was one in the bedroom), so it gets pretty hot inside the cabin. The biggest problem we had was there was no phone and no reliable cell service! SO my husband who had planned on fishing in Yellowstone couldn't because he was not comfortable leaving his family with no way to call for help if necessary. Very disappointing since it has a cabin phone number on the check in info. The bathroom is very small with no sink so you have to wash hands, brush teeth in kitchen sink. The cabin was clean and well stocked, and the creek that ran right beside the cabin was nice. I would not stay here again.
Owner's Response: Unfortunately we did not have control over where our neighbor put the trailer after there was a fire at his cabin. We have done our best to minimize the effect it has on our guests stay. There are curtains on all of the windows and we are growing trees next to the porch where the trailer is visible. There is AC in the bedroom, it is connected to the heater. However because the cabin is at almost 6,000 feet, where at night the temperature gets down to around 50 degrees, there is little need for AC, even on the hottest days of the summer. There is almost always a cool breeze off the creek and by mid evening with the windows and doors open the cabin cools off to a very comfortable temperature; some nights in the summer you may even need to close the windows because it gets too chilly with them open all night. We do not have a phone at the cabin, and because of the remote location there is not cell service; there is also not cell service in most locations inside of Yellowstone. The number we give out in our confirmation letter is the number at our cabin we live in as the owners, so if there is a problem with a guests arrival they will be able to reach us. The bathroom is small, but if we were to put a sink into the bathroom it would cut down greatly on the space inside the cabin. As we have said before this is a mountain cabin that is well stocked and has many of the amenities of home, including wireless internet, it is still a rustic cabin. If you are looking for a place with high speed internet, phone, TV or an over manicured lawn, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a quiet mountain cabin next to a small creek, to get away from the crowds of Yellowstone, then this is the perfect place for you.
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?