OCEANFRONT BEACH HOUSE WITH SPECTACULAR OCEAN & SUNRISE VIEWS

Gabrielle Causby

Speaks german, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Gabrielle Causby

Speaks german, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEANFRONT BEACH HOUSE WITH SPECTACULAR OCEAN & SUNRISE VIEWS

Folly Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Library, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Luxurious, spacious front beach house with spectacular views of the ocean, sunrises, sunsets & the Pier. In the summer, turtles nest near the house after coming from the ocean and digging a nesting site near the house. A private board walk connects the beach house to the front beach. There are two sun decks and a screened porch.

Historic Charleston is within an easy 15 minute driving distance. Charleston has many wonderful places to visit and excursions. There are several historic plantations and gardens nearby. Also, the lovely towns of Beaufort, SC and Savannah, GA is only one hour by car and offers the most beautiful low country settings.

There are many fine, casual and family restaurants in the area. Seafood is fresh and definitely a must to sample.

This property rents generally Saturday to Saturday.

Keywords: Oceanfront Beach House

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gabrielle Causby (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks german, english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront Beach House with Spectacular Ocean & Sunrise Views
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
business
Oceanfront Beach House with Spectacular Ocean & Sunrise Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237118
+001 843 3454041
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Great Beachhouse

  • 5 of 5
We just stayed a week and the beach house was just as shown. Very nice and the screened in deck was very comfortable. Love It!!!!
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Beach House with Spectacular Ocean & Sunrise Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237118
+001 843 3454041
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

astounding views! History! Nature!

  • 5 of 5
well placed property, walking distance to town (folly beach), fifteen minutes drive to downtown charleston. what you see in the pictures and description is thoroughly accurate. the property was clean and comfortable showing typical wear and tear for a rental property. the beach was spotless and never overcrowded

sunrise coffee on the porch, osprey, pelican and dolphin sightings in the afternoon, and any type of nightlife you can imagine. even weathered a tropical storm.

sea turtles nested right in front of the property!

enjoyed the property so much, rebooked for the following year
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Oceanfront Beach House with Spectacular Ocean & Sunrise Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237118
+001 843 3454041
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Friends at Folly

  • 5 of 5
We are 5 friends who go to Folly every year and we've found Pelican Watch to be our favorite place and need look no farther. The owners are very nice and accommodating. The location, close to town and the pier is walkable. It is clean, well-lit house inside and out, has a well stocked kitchen, a little library, we each had a bedroom and there are plenty of bathrooms. It is a happy sort of place, with windows supplying beautiful views and decks in great locations. Everyone was satisfied with the electronics provided, wify, nice TV, etc. The only drawback is that we had to leave.
Mayette J.
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Oceanfront Beach House with Spectacular Ocean & Sunrise Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237118
+001 843 3454041
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

The Best Christmas Ever!

  • 5 of 5
We had our first family beach Christmas with our four grown children.
All our children flew or drove in to town. The airport was only 20 to 25 minutes away easy to pick them up.
The layout of this beach house was perfect. The owners were very friendly and helpful.
The house had everything we needed. I was able to cook the best family meals. If we wanted to go into town we all walked. The view every morning was spectacular. I can't say enough about this beach house, it was perfect! Love, love, loved it! We can't wait to come back.
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Beach House with Spectacular Ocean & Sunrise Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237118
+001 843 3454041
Folly Beach Charleston Area
North Carolina
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
It was during a quiet break in the screen porch conversation at sunset that someone observed how apt the name Pelican Watch really was. A line of five pelicans had just seemingly missed the porch roof by inches. For our extended family a good beachfront porch is essential and this house has an excellent one with the view enhanced by the Folly pier at just the right distance.

In addition to a good porch, this house has an excellent open platform area along it's boardwalk, important for those lucky Folly nights when a star chart becomes an important tool (note to travelers, you can get a star chart in the College of Charleston bookstore on Calhoun not far from Marion Square.) The fans and high ceilings in this house made for a good night's sleep after the stars, not to mention the sounds of the surf. Being on the ocean shouldn't be about re-creating another night in your own home.

Once the beachwalkers surrender the morning sand and the huge southern sun blazes forth, the real point of Folly (for me, anyway) opens up and it is time to add another several dozen unique body surfing rides on one of the few remaining super flat smooth sand beaches anywhere. On this end of the island there is much less bother from kids who need the crutch of a surfboard to get a ride. A couple of hours of this and any parent has earned cool drink back on the porch.

If a kid is lucky, those parents will stay out there on the porch so she can relax a bit longer in the quiet little paperback library at the top of the beautiful wooden circular sweep of stairs. Eventually though, it will be time for dinner and our crowd was able to turn out great dinners from the kitchen and available tools. The stools at the counter helped extend the capacity to all eat together. After dinner there are relaxing couches and for those families who haven't re-discovered the magic of age-old board games and puzzles and cards, there are the usual screens and working wifi.

Our experience at Pelican Watch this summer was delightful, with great during-stay service and great follow-up service when we accidently left something. I hope others get to enjoy this pastel green cottage that leaves good memories and positions you perfectly for the Folly experience.
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Beach House with Spectacular Ocean & Sunrise Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p237118
+001 843 3454041
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Northern California
2

Less than happy ending

  • 2 of 5
The house is a great location as advertised on the beach. Other than that it's a bit run down - tidy but not kept as described, needs fresh paint and has some woodrot, the beds are very old and uncomfortable (take your own sheets and beach towels, beach chairs) etc. The ocean certainly helps one glaze over these issues. As mentioned in a previous review the kitchen is small and reasonably well appointed. As a family we've rented homes in this area for over 15 years always ending with a positive experience and often a return rental the next year. Not so this time. My advise to any renters of this home would to take photos as you arrive (beds, carpets, etc) As one would do with a rental car. Horrible experience post-rental. Renter beware. Enjoy the beach and make good use of your camera with before and after photos least you will be sorely disappointed with a non-existent deposit return. I would not recommend this property to a friend or relative. Many nearby restaurants were reasonable but not gourmet - you have to travel into Charleston for that.
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: This is a retaliatory response from a disgruntled renter, who was destructive of our property and is angry because we cannot return the damage deposit. The reason is that someone in this renter’s party “ripped off” – not unzipped and took off – zippered, hypoallergenic mattress protectors from two (2) beds, followed with the damage of one of the mattresses by extensive bed wetting. Our house keeper found corresponding stains on the comfort mattress pad (applied over the zippered mattress protectors), which was in the laundry. The renter denied any responsibility for the damage to the mattress and claimed a latex allergy for the tearing off removal of the mattress protectors. All could have been avoided, had the mattress protectors - which contain no latex, are hypoallergenic, soft, as well as waterproof - stayed on.
As our calendar bears out, we rent our beach house often and we have a number of repeat renters each year. Renters like our house, its furnishings, cleanliness and the fantastic view of the ocean. And they get their damage deposit back within 1-2 weeks after departure. This is the first time this year that we have been unable to return the deposit. It was retained to replace the damaged items.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: recommended

Tour historic Charleston, Beaufort and Savannah and the SC State Capitol in Columbia, SC. Visit historic Charleston, the areas historic plantations and Fort Sumpter, the Charleston Aquarium and Serpentarium on Edisto Beach. Enjoy the Southern Wildlife Show and Spoleto Festival in the Spring and concerts all year as well as art collections and museums. Easy access to pier and surf fishing, deep sea fishing, surfing, kayaking, boating, para sailing, beach combing, biking and walking . The area offers world class restaurants as well as eateries favored by locals. Entry into Folly Beach's private and original beach bar&club can be arranged. Watching dolphins jump in the ocean, seagulls, pelicans and other sea animals as well as turtles nest on the beach are special treats.

Other Activities: shelling, dolphin and turtle watching, harbor tours, carriage tours, water park

Golf: Municipal Golf Course nearby

Many other golf courses in area

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Folly Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 23 2014 - Sep 26 2014
7 night minimum stay
$3,295
 
 
Fall
Sep 27 2014 - Oct 31 2014
7 night minimum stay
$2,875
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2014 - Nov 21 2014
3 night minimum stay
$420
$2,095
 
 
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 22 2014 - Nov 28 2014
7 night minimum stay
$3,295
 
 
Winter I
Nov 29 2014 - Dec 19 2014
3 night minimum stay
$420
$2,095
 
 
Holiday Weeks
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,295
 
 
Winter II
Jan 3 2015 - Feb 27 2015
3 night minimum stay
$420
$2,095
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $160
Refundable damage deposit $600
Tax Rate 12.5%
Notes Linen & Towels included
$600 Damage deposit required (refundable within 1-2 weeks after occupancy)
Weekend rates apply to Friday, Sat, & Sunday rentals as well as Thursday, Friday & Saturday rentals
1/2 of Rent as deposit
Balance due 4 weeks prior to occupancy
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Safe
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Master Bath with tub/shower; a shared bath room with shower between two queen bedrooms; upstairs hall bath room with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Convertible Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Comfortable with the sound of the ocean in the background. Four (4) bedrooms have a direct view of the ocean.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Books
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Binoculars
  • Wood Deck
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
  • coin laundry
  • bay/sound
  • live theater
  • festivals
Leisure Activities:
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • parasailing
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • basketball court
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • pier fishing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Contact Me