TWO-LEVEL, 5-BEDROOM DREAM HOUSE ON THE RIVER, SLEEPS 14, DOG-FRIENDLY

Sandra Luna or Bonnie Spindler

Speaks english
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Manager

Sandra Luna or Bonnie Spindler

Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TWO-LEVEL, 5-BEDROOM DREAM HOUSE ON THE RIVER, SLEEPS 14, DOG-FRIENDLY

Guerneville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (2 Full and 2 Half), Sleeps 14, Decks, Views on River

This Dutch Colonial in Monte Rio is rural chic at its best and the perfect setting for reunions, retreats and special time away from work. It is located on the Russian River across from the Monte Rio beach where canoes and kayaks can be rented. The living room hosts a wood burning, stone fireplace and large seating area.

The kitchen is open to the dining room and seats 14. This room faces west toward sunsets over the river and redwoods.

BED LAYOUT IS AS FOLLOWS:

FIRST FLOOR

1. King

2. King plus twin & half bath

UPSTAIRS

3. Queen

4. King Plus 4 Twins

5. Master King with Half Bath & Deck

The house has three large sunny decks overlooking the river, with many tables and chairs when entertaining outdoors is desirable.

We are Dog-friendly!

Free Wi-Fi, TV/DVD/VCR but NO Cable TV.

On-street parking is usually plentiful.

Two-Night Minimum October through April ($395/night)

THREE NIGHT MINIMUM May through September ($650/night)

$350 Cleaning Fee

$600 Refundable Security Deposit.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Sandra Luna or Bonnie Spindler (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2007

Guestbook comments from the manager

written note from guest: "We wanted to let you know how much we loved the stay! The house was so

perfect, just what we wanted. Thank you!"
Aug 2008
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Two-Level, 5-Bedroom Dream House ON the River, Sleeps 14, DOG-FRIENDLY
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Two-Level, 5-Bedroom Dream House ON the River, Sleeps 14, DOG-FRIENDLY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236492
Guerneville Sonoma County
Manhattan
5

Great house for groups in great low-key vacation area

  • 5 of 5
I got married in Monte Rio and we reserved two of the local hotels for guests while the wedding party stayed in The Big Yellow House smack dab between the two hotels. It worked out perfectly - and a great way to see guests outside the ceremony/reception - we'd run into to them walking down the quiet street, it felt like we were all neighbors. The big yellow house has all you could ask for for a long weekend: a huge porch/balcony overlooking the Russian River, many bathrooms, plenty of beds, a huge kitchen with a great dining table/benches for large groups. Parking out front. Highly recommended for large groups.
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Two-Level, 5-Bedroom Dream House ON the River, Sleeps 14, DOG-FRIENDLY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236492
Guerneville Sonoma County
2

Lots of issues, but okay in the end

  • 2 of 5
We found the house to be quite dirty and in need of deep cleaning. Grime was found on dishes and pots/pans inside cupboards (gross), kitchen table and counters needed to be scrubbed, food bits were in the disposal and smelled bad, food bits were inside the dishwasher (strainer was overflowing and slimy), most throw rugs were dirty, the showers were moldy, etc. Honestly, it was disgusting. In addition, the hot water was not working when we arrived because the instant water heater had gone out - but we were able to reach the property manager and get it resolved. We also did not have enough bath towels, and there were NO kitchen towels, so we had to purchase them at a nearby market (and simply left them for the next visitors).

This was an extended-family Thanksgiving, so we were doing a lot of cooking and were indoors a fair amount. I suppose if it's summer and you're BBQ'g and out on the river a lot, you might be less disappointed.

To be fair, I complained afterward (and included lots of photos), and the property manager was very accommodating. She refunded our cleaning fee and was very apologetic and professional. I wonder, though, how carefully this property is managed. And the owner MUST know that there are issues. (There also were broken lamps, burned out lightbulbs, no instructions on how to access wi-fi, etc.)

After all is said and done, however, we would probably be willing to rent this house again because (1) it sleeps a lot of people, (2) it is pet-friendly, and (3) it is in a great location. I would be very, very careful, though, to make sure it has undergone a thorough cleaning beforehand, and make some arrangement for rebate in the event it has not.
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Grace, We didn't expect this review, certainly not after we tried everything we could to make your stay comfortable AND refunded your money. Further, this was four months ago? In any event,
***WE ARE UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT with a NEW CLEANING CREW!***
We are happy to say that we have a new manager, we are streamlining our policies and procedures and are running a tight ship!
Vacationers can still enjoy our great location, our three decks and pet-friendly home.
business
Two-Level, 5-Bedroom Dream House ON the River, Sleeps 14, DOG-FRIENDLY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236492
Guerneville Sonoma County
San Francisco
4

River Front Home perfect for large groups!

  • 4 of 5
We recently rented this house to have a group bachelor/bachelorette party with a large group of friends, and it was a huge success! The guests of honor said that the house and property was "like heaven."

The home is spacious, clean, with fun decor, direct river access and an amazing huge deck! There is a very large family style table in the kitchen area that was perfect for card and board games and eating together. The house comes stocked with most everything you need to cook! But for those things you do need, Safeway is a quick 5 minute drive into Guerneville.

Would definitely recommend this house for gorgeous views, comfortable accommodations and for large groups!
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Two-Level, 5-Bedroom Dream House ON the River, Sleeps 14, DOG-FRIENDLY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236492
Guerneville Sonoma County
San Francisco
5

So Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
I got married this Labor Day weekend in Monte Rio, and the Big Yellow House was a perfect spot for all the bridesmaids and groomsmen to stay. It quickly became the place where people met to cook breakfast together in the expansive kitchen, relax on the decks overlooking the river, and gather at night for drinks under the stars.
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Two-Level, 5-Bedroom Dream House ON the River, Sleeps 14, DOG-FRIENDLY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236492
Guerneville Sonoma County
Walnut Creek
5

Yellow House Christmas

  • 5 of 5
I was blessed to have the most wonderful Christmas at the Big Yellow House this last year. I loved all the rooms and felt very much at home. I will go again and again...
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Two-Level, 5-Bedroom Dream House ON the River, Sleeps 14, DOG-FRIENDLY
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p236492
Guerneville Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Wonderful getaway!

  • 5 of 5
A few friends and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was absolutley wonderful! The house was right on the waters edge. The house was very clean, spacious and comfortable! ! There were many bedrooms that each had their own charming features This is a great place to stay when you want a river getaway!!
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Monte Rio is 1.5 hours north of San Francisco.

Other Activities: Kayaking

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Guerneville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Base Rate
2 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Spring and Summer
May 1 - Sep 30
3 night minimum stay
$650
$4,200
$16,500
 
 
Fall and Winter
Oct 1 - Apr 30
2 night minimum stay
$395
$2,450
$9,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees And Taxes $350 Cleaning; $600 Refundable Security Deposit
Notes 1 night plus Deposit within 7 days; Balance due 2 weeks prior to Stay.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Guerneville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • River
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Internet
  • Heating ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • First Floor has Full Bath and Half Bath. Second Half Bath is off one bedroom. Upstairs has Full Bath and a Third Half Bath off the Master.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
  • Television
  • VCR
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Wood Deck
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
Attractions:
  • winery tours
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • rafting
  • hiking
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • fishing
Email Manager Contact Me