SPECTACULAR VIEWS FROM THIS MOUNTAIN LODGE

Trip Taylor

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SPECTACULAR VIEWS FROM THIS MOUNTAIN LODGE

Sky Valley House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

Enjoy the expansive views and luxury of this 6000 square foot mountain home in Scaly Mountain -just a short ride to Highlands. Five large bedrooms consisting of 1 king, and 4 queens - three fireplaces, and a recreation room with pool table and foosball make this the perfect family retreat. Cook your favorite meals in this gourmet kitchen with commercial double-oven range, sub-zero refrigerator, trash compactor, two dishwashers, granite counter tops and matching copper kitchen and prep sinks. Brazilian cherry flooring throughout the main level, carpeted bedrooms and designer marble baths

With over 1400 square feet of deck overlooking the expansive mountain views, this is a true gathering place for family events and corporate getaways. Located a mere 2 hours north of Atlanta, this vacation home offers great relaxation, along with nearby hiking, waterfalls and spectacular views of mountains and national forests.

There is a separate guest house on the property that may be available if additional space is needed. The guest house has 2 bedrooms and 2 baths with a full kitchen, living room, dining room and deck area. Contact owner for details and availability.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Trip Taylor (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why Trip Taylor chose Sky Valley

The Highlands area is filled with National Forests, hiking trails, waterfalls and fabulous views. It offers a real opportunity to commune with nature- it is common to see wild turkey, deer and an occasional bobcat!

What makes this house unique

The home is on a private paved road that doubles as a fantastic nature walk. There are trails on the property and natural rock formations just yards away from the house. Feel free to enjoy hiking to natural waterfalls in our development. Downtown Highlands is a short drive with beautiful scenic overlooks along the way. In Highlands enjoy upscale shopping in non-chain stores and outstanding cuisine in world-class restaurants. Visit Highlands Wine and Cheese shop and the owner will give you discounts on cult cabernets and artisan cheeses!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Spectacular Views from This Mountain Lodge
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
business
Spectacular Views from This Mountain Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235932vb
(865) 437-8464
Sky Valley North Georgia Mountains
Griffin, GA
5

Perfect place!!!

  • 5 of 5
This is an absolutely beautiful home! I truly don't know what else anyone could ask for. Great communication with the owner and easy to find. This will be the vacation talked about for years to come. We will definitely be visiting this home again in the near future!
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views from This Mountain Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235932vb
(865) 437-8464
Sky Valley North Georgia Mountains
Florida
5

Love this place

  • 5 of 5
We had a blast !!! The house is much better than the pictures, 5 stars. Our golf course in Ponte Vedra was closed for a week, we had 4 couples staying here, everyone was very confortable. Highlands is 7 miles away, and great golf courses in the area. I would and will lease this house again.
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views from This Mountain Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235932vb
(865) 437-8464
Sky Valley North Georgia Mountains
Rosman, North Carolina
4

Large Home but needs Work

  • 4 of 5
I choose this house as a surprise to my friends for my birthday. We were to check in on a Tuesday. I had not heard from the owner by Monday and tried to get information off the website and was unsuccessful. So I called him to get directions & key information. He stated that we could check in early. Which was great. Unfortunately when we arrived the house had not been cleaned, dirty dishes on the counter & sink and bedrooms unclean. What a disappointment. I called the owner & he immediately looked into it & called me back. Stating that he would make this up to me. We met the cleaning lady who came and she was so nice and apologetic. After the house was cleaned, we got settled. The house is large with plenty of bedrooms. However, the ice maker in the kitchen was not fixed (mentioned in another review), we went to open a bottle of wine and only found one wine glass; the majority of the china was chiped; the guest bathroom shower on the main floor was very hard to operate. There were several other little things that don't need mentioning. All in all it's a lovely big house that needs a lot of tender loving care and attention to details. I addressed these issues with the owner, who also stated the he would return my cleaning fee. It has now been over a month and a half since we stayed there and I have not received my refund. I don't enjoy writing a less than stellar review, but I want others to realize our experience with this house was not worthy of Five Stars.
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback.
Our caretakers do a wonderful job but, we had a miscommunication about the day of your arrival. It must have been quite a shock to arrive to a dirty house! I am supremely sorry for that bad experience. The refund has been issued.

Your comments are very helpful for me. We have replaced all the dinner ware. I visited the home after your review and was surprised to see so many of the plates with damage. I am not sure how or when it happened but all has been replaced.

We found 12 wine glasses in the house, not sure where they were when you were there but we added another dozen to the house. One can never have too many wine glasses!

The ice maker was operable when we arrived. The problem was that the bin was not inserted correctly into the freezer. This ice maker has given problems in the past but it works fine now. A note to future renters, this is a Sub Zero refrigerator and the ice bin is a bit tricky to put back in. If you have issues, please call me or the caretakers. The ice maker works. Also, the beverage ice maker is always available in the bar, too.

The bath has been repaired (the lever to operate the shower was damaged by a previous guest and was hard to move).
It is a big home and we do a lot of work to keep it up. I spent the weekend up there after this reviewer stayed and made sure all the problems had been corrected. I was reminded of just how wonderful the area and home are. To anyone contemplating a visit, I am sure you will be very happy staying here.
business
Spectacular Views from This Mountain Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235932vb
(865) 437-8464
Sky Valley North Georgia Mountains
4

Great Family Weekend

  • 4 of 5
We had a great family get together at this house. We were very comfortable with the size of the home and the layout. The location is peaceful and the meadow just down the driveway was a great place to relax and enjoy the weather. The game room was very entertaining and a great place to hang out. The large deck was also great to relax. we had a water pressure issue the owner fixed right away. Check in and out was extremely easy. Price was great.

No ice maker upstairs, and the TV situation isn't wonderful, but other than that we had a great time

thanks
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Views from This Mountain Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235932vb
(865) 437-8464
Sky Valley North Georgia Mountains
Montgomery, AL
4

Mountaintop Paradise

  • 4 of 5
Upon arrival, no ice was available in freezer and ice drawer in freezer did not work properly. We immediately had to go buy 5 bags of ice. There are so many switches w/o labels, can be confusing what cuts on what. Would be nice if they were labeled. Need television instructions on remotes. Need tv in kitchen. Would be great to update crockpot! Short in fireplace remote on screened in porch. If there was a refrigerator downstairs, we did not find it - would be nice to have one there instead of having to go back upstairs for cold things. With this spectacular view, you might consider having a hot tub outside and charge for its use. Everything else was wonderful and we would certainly go again.
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. It is very much appreciated. We have had a technician look at the Sub Zero refrigerator's ice maker. Parts are ordered. I am sorry you went to buy ice. There is a dedicated ice maker in the bar that makes 10 pounds of ice an hour. Also a beverage refrigerator is in the bar downstairs It is only countertop height and has a dark glass front. You may have thought it was a wine chiller but it's a fridge! We will add that to our notes to guests so other guests don't miss it. We will add a TV in the kitchen and a new crock pot in January. Good ideas.

I completely understand about all the light switches. I have owned this home for 4 years and still can't figure everything out. Labels are a wonderful idea. Great project for a cold afternoon in January.

The deck is built for a hot tub and we have run the power to it. We may consider adding one of these in the near future.

We really appreciate the feedback and suggestions. This helps us make a better property for future guests and is a tremendous help.

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Trip Taylor
business
Spectacular Views from This Mountain Lodge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235932vb
(865) 437-8464
Sky Valley North Georgia Mountains
4

Wedding Stay

  • 4 of 5
We really enjoyed our time at the house. The leaves were perfect and the weather outstanding. A little more attention to detail would be great, as we ran out of toilet paper in less than 24 hours and the wireless did not work our entire trip although the owner did offer to drive over 4 hours to try and fix. Greatly appreciated.
All in all though it was a really great place with outstanding views.
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

This house is located in a private development 2 miles from the main highway. Drive time to Downtown Highlands, NC is approximately 20 minutes

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sky Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Base Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
$2,800
$10,500
 
 
Winter
Jan 1 - Mar 31
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,170
$8,250
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 - May 30
2 night minimum stay
$400
$2,625
$9,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%
Notes 2 BR Guest home is available for stays longer than 1 week at no extra charge.

For shorter stays, the Guest house rents for 100.00 per night and has a $100.00 cleaning fee.

Guest house is only available with rental of main home.

Any charges for the guest house will be billed as a separate transaction and owner will contact you by phone or email.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Sky Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Broadband Access
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
Kitchen:
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Microwave
  • Ice Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Approximately 250 square feet
    Upstairs Bedrooms - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Hall bath shared by 2 bedrooms
    Bathroom Downstairs 2 room suite - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Between 2 bedrooms with Larger shower than standard.
    Powder Room - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • Pool Table
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Games ...
  • Game Room
  • Foosball
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • spelunking
  • golf
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • hunting
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
Email Owner Contact Me