Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Beach Front Villa with Down Island View - Priceless!

John Vicher

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

John Vicher

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Beach Front Villa with Down Island View - Priceless!

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


East End Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 6

Enjoy morning coffee or have breakfast on one of the two balconies as you watch the sun rise over the BVI.

Afterwards, don your bathing suits and grab your beach towels to enjoy the two-level pool directly below your condo or spend the day under the sea grape trees that line the beach. Snorkel on the reef directly off the beach (you’ll see coral, topical fish and possibly a sea turtle or ray), or wind surf, kayak or paddleboat.

Beach toys are available at the fully equipped dive shop on the beach. You can also enjoy a game of beach volleyball or tennis on the 4 tennis courts on the property. And the beautiful Mahogany Run golf course is 20 minutes away. Wrap up your day back on the balcony sipping a beverage as you look out on the moon over the ocean.

The Unit: Your 900 sq. ft. two-story villa sleeps up to 6 comfortably, whether they be family or friends. It features a Caribbean décor in an open floor plan, with cathedral ceilings upstairs. The lower floor consists of a fully equipped kitchenette, dining area, and sitting area with a TV and queen size sofa/bed.

Upstairs there is a king size bed, TV, and another sitting area with a queen size sofa/bed. Both floors have a private balcony with a fabulous down-island view. There is a full bathroom on both floors.

A short walk to the marina at Sapphire Beach offers day cruises including snorkeling excursions, trips to the BVI, deep-sea fishing and scuba diving. Some boats are power, some are sail. You can also rent a jet ski or go parasailing. Check at the concierge desk in the front lobby for details.

Red Hook (small town 1/2 mile away): Breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed after a 5-minute taxi ride into Red Hook at one of the many restaurants. Menus range from burgers and fries to exotic Caribbean seafood dishesMalone’s on the waterfront (it’s one of our favorites). There is also a modern supermarket (The Food Center) where you can provision up if you prefer to eat at home. If you don't want to leave the beach, there is also a small refreshment stand between buildings B&C at Sapphire serving hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken sandwiches, soft drinks, beer and tropical drinks(hours: 11AM-5PM).

Plan on taking the 20-minute ferry ride out of Red Hook to Cruz Bay, St. John’s main town, for shopping, a tour of the island or snorkeling in Trunk Bay with it’s underwater reef markers which describe the coral. The last time we took the ferry it was $6/person each way. You can also catch a ferry to Tortola or Virgin Gorda in the BVI from Red Hook (bring your passport, you will have to clear customs).

Charlotte Amalie (USVI Capital): The 20-minute taxi ride is well worth the trip to Charlotte Amalie to explore the narrow streets called allies or gades for even more eating and duty free shopping. For additional shopping, try the newly built upscale Yacht Harbor Grande or Havensight where the cruise ships dock. There is also a “vendo's market” offering inexpensive t-shirts, handbags, island jewelry and artifacts and more. If shopping’s not your thing, explore the many historical landmark buildings through out Charlotte Amalie.

Other things to do include a trip to Mountain Top, the highest point on the island for one of their “world famous” banana daiquiris and spectacular views of Magen’s Bay and beyond, the Coral World aquarium (about 10 minute from Sapphire), the Sky Ride gondola ride to Paradise Point above the cruise ship dock. Paradise Point offers panoramic views of Charlotte Amalie.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
John Vicher (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015

About John Vicher

My wife Jane and I grew up in the Midwest and first visited the Caribbean on our honeymoon over 30 years ago when we visited 5 islands in the course of a month. We traveled by ferryboat and small inter island airplanes from Granada in the south to St. Croix in the north. Since then we have traveled extensively through out the islands. In 1987 we decided to look for a “foot hold” in the Caribbean. After searching through out the Virgin Islands, both British and US, we decided on St. Thomas because of its combination of hustle and bustle cosmopolitanism and laid back solitude. We also considered the safety of US government ownership.

John Vicher purchased this condo in 1994

Why John Vicher chose East End

After looking at dozens of properties during several visits to St. Thomas we finally decided on Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina. We chose Sapphire because of it’s beautiful white sand beach with it’s gorgeous “down island” view of St. John and the BVI. We also liked the amenities on the property such as the two level swimming pool, tennis courts, beautifully landscaped grounds, convenient parking and marina offering day cruises. We also took into account the convenience of the two restaurants and the dive shop on the property offering every kind of beach toy imaginable.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 30 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beach Front Villa with Down Island View - Priceless!
average rating of 4.866667 based on 30 reviews
Providence, RI

Awesome view. Relaxing location Comfortable condo

  • 5 of 5

Spent 6 days at Sapphire in Johns unit. The pictures don't do it justice. John was very helpful and easy to work with. Cant wait to go back.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Keri, Thank you for the great review! You're welcome back anytime. Maybe the next time you can stay longer :). Regards, John
Bettendorf Iowa

Donna C

  • 5 of 5

After many stays on STT we discovered Sapphire Beach and it is our happy place . We have stayed in many different units , mostly in Bldg C & D which are in a quieter area . For this trip we chose the 2 story unit to accommodate us and 2 Grandkids 13 & 17 , they have also been there many times and for this trip all we wanted was R & R ! This was a perfect place for us , we love the pool area and spend most of our time there so the location was perfect . We fell asleep every night to the sound of the waves , there was always a breeze so we never had the AC on . The condo was well equipped and has a great kitchen layout altho we didn't cook on this trip .

The beds were comfortable and after a call to "house keeping" we had plenty of first there was only 2 washcloths per bathroom . This location is in a quieter area , Bldgs A & B get a lot of beach traffic .

With the marina right there it is easy to get a day sail to the BVI's and also to get fresh fish from the fishermen when they come in .

Our previous stays were longer so it is nice to have the laundry trailer across the parking lot , very clean .

For the days you just can't leave your beach chair there is the snack bar for sandwiches or drinks , or do as we did , throw on a cover up and drive up the drive way to Off The Grid for some great BBQ . ( sorry my legs just couldn't make the walk )

We are already thinking about our next trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Island , the beautiful views , the beach & pool and the quiet area with the constant breezes can't be found anywhere else on the Island . ( at least not anywhere with a place to stay )

The best part of going to STT is being able to see the night sky and the beautiful stars above , we have so much light pollution in the states , that is a rare sight for us and that is so sad ! Every trip I tell my Grandkids to look up and remember the night sky and the beauty of the Island . Thank you to the Vicher's !

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Donna for taking the time to write this wonderful review. You captured the beauty and atmosphere of Sapphire Beach (and St. Thomas) perfectly in your description. The things you mentioned are exactly the reasons we've owned at Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina for 20 years. I couldn't have said it better! We hope you and your family will think of us the next time you are planning to visit St. Thomas. Thanks once again for staying with us! John
Rochester, NY

Our family of 5 loved the island location and the snorkeling was a treasure-trove of turtles & rays!

  • 4 of 5

Sapphire Beach was a lovely place to stay for our family. We snorkeled every day near the dive shop and saw sea turtles and sting rays to the left and a large variety of fish to the right and throughout the whole cove. We also loved looking down on the pool area and watching the birds fly by our balconies while sitting on the 3rd-floor deck. Renting from John was like renting from a friend; he was extremely helpful and responsive to every question I had. His snorkeling equipment is acceptable; the masks leaked some water, which might be frustrating for a younger child. I would rent this place again, but did have a few comments: His picture with the pool tables under the large gazebo is no longer an option; the shaded area of the pool is roped off and the tables and chairs are stacked and roped off also. That picture should be removed from the description of the amenities; it's misleading. If you are planning a family reunion like our family, your only option for shade is a few palm trees by the pool; first come, first served. The kitchen lacked a salad bowl, basket for bread, and a carrot peeler. Luckily for us our two other family condos had a well-stocked kitchen and we borrowed some things from them. Also, the upstairs bathroom sink was very slow in draining. I informed the concierge the first day and never heard from any maintenance people for the next eight days. John called me when we got back home to check on our stay and I have full confidence in John fixing the sink and stocking the kitchen better after speaking to him. He seems to truly care about his renters and I appreciate his professionalism.

One more thing about the write-up of the Sapphire Beach grounds: John mentions a 4-court tennis option. We are a family of tennis players, but chose not to bring our tennis racquets on this trip. The tennis courts are in extremely poor condition with weeds growing full force and a net that is kind of a net... In my opinion, tennis should not be listed as an option, unless you have really young children who just want to "pretend" to play tennis. I don't remember talking to John about the tennis courts, but am confident that he would have updated me over the phone about their condition. I think that the tennis courts should not be in the description of the complex; it's misleading.

Overall, Sapphire Beach is a lovely place to stay and I would rent from John again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pam for your honest review. I can only improve things when people are honest about what needs improving. The problems that you mentioned in my unit have already been taken care of and I will take tennis as an activity off my listings. Unfortunately not everthing at Sapphire Beach is under my control. The Condo Owners Association has been unsuccessful at changing certain aspects of Sapphire Beach (and, believe me, we've tried). It is, however, still one of the most beautiful places I've ever been and I am still quite proud of it.
Elmira, NY

Excellent Choice

  • 5 of 5

The condo is very well kept with high quality furniture. There is a unique built in bar/eating area on the lower deck that everyone loved. The owner, John, was very helpful & responsive from first contact to the most recent. Renting from him was like renting from a friend or family member. Also, I had over paid for my stay & did not even realize it until John contacted me & let me know he was getting a check right out to me.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you John for your kind words. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you and your family enjoyed your stay at Sapphire Beach! Please keep us in mind if you decide to return to St. Thomas. Regards, John

Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this condo at Sapphire Beach for a girls week in March. The review is a little late! We could not have asked for a better trip! The condo is spacious (more than enough space for 5 girls!) and in the PERFECT location! The grounds at Sapphire Beach Resort are beautiful, and we loved having a view of the pool and the ocean. Snorkeling on Sapphire Beach is also top notch - we saw sea turtles two days in a row! In the condo, the breakfast bar on the balcony was a perfect place for us to relax and hang out. We absolutely loved everything about this place! We took a boat trip one day, so we also loved that the condo was so close to the marina.

John could not have been more helpful to us in planning our trip. He was quick to answer all of our questions, and we loved getting recommendations from him about what else we should do on the island. We are already planning our next trip!

We would recommend this condo to anyone who is looking for a great vacation!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sarah, Thank you for the wonderful review. I apologize for taking so long to get back to you but I'm recovering from eye surgey and still can't see my computer screen very well. In any case you guys are always welcome if you wish to come back. I.m glad I was able to help you with suggestions on things to do. Usually, old men giving young women suggestions on thing to do doesn't work out so well. Thanks again. Regards, John
United States

2nd Time Around

  • 5 of 5

Although this review is late in coming, we are happy to say that our 2nd stay at John's condo provided us again with another "Month in Paradise". The condo's updates - flat screen TV and the bar and stools on the downstairs balcony were a lovely surprise, plus the weather seemed to be nicer than last year (if that's even possible!).

Again, everything was great- the condo was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed for "dining in". We also enjoyed dinners at different restaurants in Red Hook and the Sapphire Grill. The meals to go from Off the Grid, the BBQ truck up the hill were excellent.

If we had any questions about our stay, John always answered them right away. Last year we were at the airport when we called him to book our current stay. This time we didn't wait that long and booked 5 weeks for 2015 before we even finished this vacation. Thank you again John, it truly was wonderful.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Steve for your sparkling review. I'm so glad that you guys enjoy our condo (and St. Thomas) as much as my wife and I.


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cyril E King Airport
Nearest Barpub
Sapphire Grill at Sapphire Village-up the hill
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
To St. John & BVI-Red Hook
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Mahogany Run
Nearest Restaurant
Sapphire Grill at Sapphire Village-up the hill
Nearest Beach
Sapphire Beach
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: Casino (slot & video machines only-no tables) at Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort & Spa-10 mins. west on 38.


Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

East End Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2015
Apr 12 2015 - Aug 29 2015
3 night minimum stay
Fall 2015
Aug 30 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2015
Nov 1 2015 - Dec 12 2015
3 night minimum stay
Holiday 2015/2016
Dec 13 2015 - Jan 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
Winter/Spring 2016
Jan 3 2016 - Apr 16 2016
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Booking Fee $85.00
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Weekly rates include; Beach towels and loungers & 2hrs. of snorkel gear and float rental/person/day.
Also included; One midweek room cleaning (maid service) and exit cleaning.
Not included; 10% Room Tax, $85 Flat Rate Booking Charge and $200 Refundable Security Deposit if required.
Credit cards accepted via PayPal
Please check calendar for availability-call for last minute booking discounts
Payment by check or PayPal (check preferred). $500 deposit to hold reservation if made more than 6 weeks ahead of travel. The balance within 6 prior to travel. Full payment within 6 weeks of travel.
Enter dates to see total


East End Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Resort
  • Away From It All
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sofa beds
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Tennis Court
  • 6 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Two queen-size sofa beds (one on the lower level and one on the upper level), ceiling fans, dining room furniture with 4 chairs, 2 large closets, sliding glass doors to balconies with 2 lounge chairs and table on each level, maid service available.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote