Would NOT return
While this property has potential to be wonderful, there are several details of which you should be aware before renting this property:
1. There is NO washer / dryer. Admittedly, these are not listed as amenities, but I have stayed at many VRBO properties over the years and this is the first time I've ever stayed at a house without a washer / dryer. Just be prepared for that omission.
2. While I realize this is beyond the owner's control, the lake is so low that there is really no way to access the lake from the dock. The water is a good 20 feet below the dock, and the boat wenches will not work that low. Also, there are several loose boards on the pier, making it a bit of a safety hazard.
3. There was a constant smell of sewer back flowing into the upstairs toilet. The toilet was not stopped up, but there is obviously some sort of problem.
4. My biggest complaint with this property is it simply wasn't clean. The windows were dirty. There were bugs in the sliding glass door frames. The floors were not very clean. Obviously, a cleaning crew came in, but no owner is nearby to inspect the property.
5. The house was also not finished to the standard I have become accustomed with VRBO properties. There were holes in the walls, missing door handles (even a missing door to the pantry), stairs that were untrimmed and outlet plugs that stuck out from the walls. Oddly built to say the least.
6. Finally, be aware that the owner refunds your security deposit via PayPal. While for some people this would be no problem, I do not have a PayPal account and had difficulty accessing the refund. When I asked the owner about sending a check instead, I received no response. Also, when I finally was able to get a refund through PayPal, they deducted $1.50 for processing to send a check. Not a biggie, but a frustration.
Owner's Response: It is obvious that this tenant is angry because she did not receive her damage deposit of $500.00 via personal check. She obviously needed the cash and not a refund via pay pal. Once she realized that she would not be receiving a personal check for her damage deposit does it appear that her attitude and personal attacks towards our home surface.
We received an email dated Sunday June 30th , 2013 where the tenant expresses. " Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home this weekend". The tenant also request that her security deposit be sent to her home address. We refund damage deposits in the same form of payment that we receive, in this case via pay pal.
In response to her concerns:
1. The VRBO site clearly indicates we offer no washer or dryer.
2. We cannot control Mother Nature. The water level is 7 feet below the norm. We have several visitors to date and all enjoyed their stay and even enjoyed swimming down at the boat dock in spite of the low water level we are experiencing this summer of 2013. The complaint about the 20 foot water level is unfounded and incorrect.
3. With due respect, we have signage clearly marked in each bathroom indicating not to flush feminine products or diapers down the toilet. Obviously, this rule was not abided.
4. Your complaint about the property not clean is obscured and unfounded.
5. Your complaint about the design of the home is obsurd. The home has no holes in the walls. The home has standard cable cords in two bedrooms for additional TV hook up. The home has an audio system hook up. Although we do not mention audio system in VRBO because we do not have the audio speakers installed. The kitchen is not missing a pantry door, this is the design.
6. We refund damage deposit in the same form of payment we receive. We use pay pal as it is a safe method to receive and pay as it protects both the buyer and seller.
Overall, these complaints about the home are unfounded considering since it has been offered since 2009 and never any problems. Our home is five bedroom, three distinct bedroom downstairs with queen beds and master bedroom upstairs with a king bed and another separate bedroom with two twin beds. The upstairs has a large 220 sq. patio. Downstairs has 440 sq. foot covered patio for outside enjoyment. Everyone is required to complete a rental rules agreement before they are invoiced via pay pal. Thank you to everyone who has stayed at our home and those, that return each year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?