Place is a dump with a great view
The Free Family
The place hasn't been remodeled in 20 years (at least). It was a dump with a great view. The vertical blinds fell off every time you tried to open or close them. On the outside deck facing the beach there is no outside furniture to sit in to enjoy the view. Half of the lights in and out of the house didn't work and when we tried to contact the owner to ask if we were missing another light switch or if there were additional bulbs she never bothered to return our calls/emails. She deducted money from our deposit for something that fell off of the wall when we walked by. A bar stool was broken and when someone sat on it they fell off it as it collapsed. While the sheets and toilets seemed clean (if shabby) the carpets were filthy. This place is not suitable for young kids who crawl since the carpet was disgusting. The sliding doors were impossible to open and close.
Other than the location and the view I would not recommend this property.
Owner's Response: Please forgive an unwarranted outburst from our recent guest! He had threatened that if we didn’t refund the $40.00 we’d withheld from his deposit that “this would not end”, so unfortunately this is a malicious attempt at not taking responsibility for ones actions. Our First correspondence dated October 14th with him, was after he’d received his deposit back, never once during his stay did he try to contact us to let us know of any problems as he claims or even after his stay until he was disgruntled about the deposit so his review his revenge. We are very conscientious in wanting our guests to have a wonderful time at the Sand Castle, we provide at least 2 phone numbers and email, that can be accessed 24-7 so if there are any problems we can handle them. Had there been a problem during his stay that he made us aware of we would have corrected it immediately!
Him and his guest broke a porcelain Fish during there stay in which we charge him 40.00 for which was a very fair replacement cost as it is most likely irreplaceable. In his email to me he claims that the fish was already broken at least in the review he admits they broke it but not by just walking by. In fact it has been atop the T.V. and stereo system in the Rattan shelving unit for 10 years. We had already stretched the normal wear and tear and not charged them for the Bar Stool they broke he referenced in his review, which he denied any knowledge of in his original e-mail.
The Sand Castle is unique, as it could not be built now. It has been updated and remodeled recently. We are always doing updates two out the the three toilets in the home have been replaced in the last year. However it is on the beach and subjected to all the elements therefore making sliding doors hard to open. Somebody though during there stay must have gotten one of the doors off track as we did have to fix that after there stay and would have done so during stay if had been notified.
We have an excellent cleaning crew which is also on call for any problems we are made aware of. The carpets were professionally cleaned just prior to their stay. The only valid complaint is that there were a couple of light bulbs out which have been replaced. We are constantly fixing the head rails of the mini blinds as people do not use them correctly.
P.S. There is outdoor furniture for our guests use in the enclosed hot Tub porch. Because of the Sand Castles location we cannot leave it out on the back deck.
Helpful votes: 17/24
Did you find this review helpful?