AMAZING VIEWS, BRIGHT, CLEAN, EASY ACCESS, CENTRAL,WIFI,LD, AFFORDABLE, SLEEPS 8

Kathy or Doug Solski

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

AMAZING VIEWS, BRIGHT, CLEAN, EASY ACCESS, CENTRAL,WIFI,LD, AFFORDABLE, SLEEPS 8

Calgary House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2 to 8)

WE HAVE LAST MINUTE RATES! MUST CALL OR EMAIL OWNERS!

Relax and enjoy the amazing views of the mountains, city and river. Enjoy the fantastic sunsets. Walk the beautiful pathway and enjoy the breathtaking views. Bike or roller blade on the pathway right across the street. Fish in the world famous Bow River just steps from the door. Public swimming pool within walking distance, parks for children and parks for yourself. Close to the attractions and central in the City with easy access to the major routes in Calgary. Close to tons of shopping, including Costco, Superstore, Walmart and major department chains and restaurants.

Beautiful Yard and a great BBQ

Free Internet

Free Long Distance in North America 100 minutes per week

Last Minute Rates: (within a week) Email or call owners

Huge Master Suite ( A spacious place for you to enjoy the sunrises, sunsets, read, watch TV, nap, enjoy the spa bath or just chill out.)

2 Queen very comfortable Beds

Day bed with trundle in den... converts to two twin beds

in Den.

Futon on 4th level, coverts to queen bed.

Keywords: house - 4 level split, 2 bedroom with den, 2 bathroom, views, sleeps up to 8, view, city, bbq, bright, clean,

A beautiful garden to enjoy. Eat outdoors or just enjoy the outdoors. A BBQ with natural gas hook up to do all your cooking outdoors if you wish.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters

Kathy or Doug Solski

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Kathy was born and raised in Calgary and Doug is almost a Calgarian. We have traveled extensively throughout the world and the U.S. Here we are in China, in Nov 2013. We would be happy to help you with places to visit in and around

Calgary. Let us know your interests and we will provide information on the best places to park, easiest way to get there, or the best way to get around avoiding some traffic. We will include tips on how to save time and money on some of the events you will enjoy and because your time is valuable we will help you save it on what not to do. Just send us a list of what you like to do and we will help in every way possible. Look at map below and you will see we have easy access to all attractions and amenities.

Kathy or Doug Solski purchased this house in 1989

Location, Location, Location

Mountain, city, river views

Beautiful, comfortable, well equipped, well kept, clean home

Close to everything

Easy Access to all amenities and major roads

Wonderful, quiet, friendly neighborhood

Fishing ...world famous, steps from front door.

Walking path just across the street

Outdoor pool a 8 minute walk

Indoor skating rink 8 minute walk

Library, 10 minute walk

We are close to everything with easy access roads. Quiet Location with amenities within walking distance. Views to die for. Parking never an issue. City River walking path across the street. Transportation close. Community that is friendly and caring. Bright and cheerful inside and out. We at at the property 2-3 days a week and available to answer and help you with any questions that might come up. I run a small business in the back in a private area so please feel free to come in anytime when we are there.

We are always happy to help.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Amazing Views, Bright, Clean, Easy Access, Central,Wifi,LD, Affordable, sleeps 8
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 24 reviews
business
Amazing Views, Bright, Clean, Easy Access, Central,Wifi,LD, Affordable, sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232770vb
+1 403-279-4864
Calgary Alberta
5

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • 5 of 5
This place is just excellent. I spent a great holiday with my family and friends here. Very clean house with lots of space, and beautiful views in the area. Very reasonable cost, and very convenient location. Will definitely come back in the future.
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views, Bright, Clean, Easy Access, Central,Wifi,LD, Affordable, sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232770vb
+1 403-279-4864
Calgary Alberta
5

COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER!

  • 5 of 5
Lovely home with great location (riverside w/bike and jogging trail just outside the house), very practical layout, and, fantastic views of both the Canadian Rockies and the Calgary skyline. All the appliances are new or very well maintained. The kitchen is very well equipped with quality dishes, pots, pans, glassware, utensils, etc. Everything was spotless and presented a warm/welcoming atmosphere. The owners make themselves readily available and are generally close by if you have any questions or concerns. They even made time to come by and introduce themselves. We very much felt as if we were staying in a friend's well-appointed guest house and not in a rental property. Will look to stay here for all our Calgary visits.
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views, Bright, Clean, Easy Access, Central,Wifi,LD, Affordable, sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232770vb
+1 403-279-4864
Calgary Alberta
5

EXCELLENT RENTAL

  • 5 of 5
My family of 8 vacationed here for 8 days and renting this property was the best decision! The house was immaculate and spacious and Kathy was very friendly. All the necessities for cooking were available and the house was very well kept. We had plenty of room for us and I cannot even tell you how wonderful the master suite is! We will be vacationing again next year and will definitely seek out this property for our stay.
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing our property as your accommodation in Calgary. So glad you loved the property. We would love to have you as our guests again.
business
Amazing Views, Bright, Clean, Easy Access, Central,Wifi,LD, Affordable, sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232770vb
+1 403-279-4864
Calgary Alberta
2

FRUMPY

  • 2 of 5
Stayed here for a few days house has smell when you enter which we could not pinpoint. You have to.like pink all decor is pink including furniture so its a bit depressing.
Layout is all stairs different levels would not suit family with young children or if you are frail.gets annoying as you have to go down 2 levels stairs from kitchen to TV room and then up 3 levels to main bedroom
House in yard makes you feel overlooked so we kept curtains closed which made it more dull
It was ok would not stay again
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would like to thank you for choosing our home as your accommodations while staying in Calgary. We would like to address all your concerns. We did meet you and asked you how everything was, as all four of you replied you loved the home. We also asked if there was anything you needed and if there was anything we could do and your reply was everything was great. As for the smell in the home … when the home as been used by many people and everyone cooks differently, it is very difficult to get the smell out the same day as the next arrival. We have never had anyone tell us about this before and if you would have told us we could have used something to make it fresher for you. As for the pink, actually it is a soft mauve with dark burgundy furniture. We have never had a problem with the colour with anyone. If the colour is researched, this colour actually is one of the most relaxed colours. As for being depressed, you where is during a very cold snap in Calgary, we were all depressed. The pictures of the home shows the colour… Not a Surprise. In our write up about the home, it says it is a 4 level home and not for people for disabilities. People love the home as seen by the other reviews. Even people with children which you did not come with. People who come with children like that everyone does not sit in the same room and can get away from each other. As for watching TV, there is a TV in each bedroom and in the lowest level. Sorry we have never had a TV in our living in this home as we lived there for 20 years with small children. As for the stairs, it is 6 stairs from one level to the next level. There is 2 skylights in the kitchen and the blinds top down bottom down, so you can set the blinds to a place where lots of light comes in, we could have addressed this concern for you. There is no house in the back yard. There is a small business and believe me we do everything we can to make your stay very comfortable. If you read the other reviews, this was never a concern. If you called us and asked if this home was suitable for people with disabilities we would have told you no. The description of our home does say it is a 4 level home. A couple of people who stayed there with parents in there 90's told us they had no problem with the stairs and they like the little bit of exercise they get. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, please come back to Calgary sometime, as we do have a beautiful city.
business
Amazing Views, Bright, Clean, Easy Access, Central,Wifi,LD, Affordable, sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232770vb
+1 403-279-4864
Calgary Alberta
London, UK
5

WONDERFUL HOUSE, LOVELY HOSTS

  • 5 of 5
This is an excellent property with lovely and helpful hosts. The house itself was clean, spacious, well maintained and with modern appliances - an ideal home away from home for 4 jet-lagged Brits. Kathy and Doug did their utmost to ensure we had an enjoyable stay, and even bought two children's night lights so our son and daughter (aged 6 and 3) would feel more at home after a long flight from the UK. I can highly recommend this property.
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We were very impressed with your family as our guests. Glad to help out any way we could. Once again we walked into the home and wondered if you had used this home. The respect that was shown in our home was so much appreciated. It makes our job so much easier so our next guests can have an early check in. We would love to have your family as guests any time. Thanks again
business
Amazing Views, Bright, Clean, Easy Access, Central,Wifi,LD, Affordable, sleeps 8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232770vb
+1 403-279-4864
Calgary Alberta
2

NOT EXACTLY WHAT WE EXPECTED AT THIS PRICE

  • 2 of 5
The City of Calgary is very nice and our family (2 adults and 3 kids) have enjoyed our stay there.
The house is clean but very oldish (not really renovated).
We have been very surprised to realize that after 1 day the owners are living in the garage behind the house (2 meters away) which means that you have no privacy at all.
The worst part comes from the check out: the owners and the cleaners (4 people) are surrounding the house half an hour before due time.
These 2 negative points have left us with a more bitter taste about this renting.
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our home as your accommodations in Calgary. This home was renovated. It is 40 years old and everything had been updated. The pictures show it. We are sure you rented according to the price, pictures, reviews, and the location. As for surprised that we were at the home in the back after one day is incorrect. The information is in our listing that we operate a small business on the property. Firstly we do not live there. we run a small business out of a place more than 20 feet away NOT 6 feet in a very private area beside the garage. You cannot see us. Secondly you arrived on Saturday and we did come to the home until Tuesday and Wednesday afternoon. Your family was not home at that time. We also have to do the lawn, flowers and flowerbeds. We did not surround the home. I went to the house to remind you that the departure time was 10:00 at 9:53 AM. We did have more guests coming that same day and our cleaning staff have other cleans to do that day. They did not surround the home upon their arrival; they went to the back yard until you left. I also email and call each of our guests or text them to remind them that the cleaners will be arriving at 10:00. They and us did not arrive until 9:50. That is 10 minutes to 10. Because of traffic they do sometimes arrive a bit earlier, they do not intimidate our guests in any way. Sometimes, if we do not have any guests coming in the next day and it works out for our cleaners we offer a later check out. Many of our guests are repeat and stay in our home up to 3 and 4 months. One couple had rented our home for 5 years in a row for 6 to 8 weeks and they would have this year, sadly one of them passed on and will be missed. Our home is exceptionally clean, close to all amenities, easy access to major roads like Deerfoot Tr. and Glemore Tr. We are wonderful hosts and willing to help in any way. We did not have the chance to meet you. When we arrived your family was never home, except for one day when we were leaving we saw your wife and son. The door was wide open. We said hello, and talked for a brief moment. We ask our guests to please keep the doors closed as not to allow mice, squirrels, wasps, maybe an occasional skunk in. Calgary has 1.2 million people & some are not outstanding citizens. A wide open door could be an invitation to an unwanted endeavour. Though our experience over the years our guests liked the idea they could ask for help face to face 2 or 3 days.
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
24 Kilometres
Calgary Airport 19 minutes
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Deerfoot Tr. 3 min.
Nearest Barpub
3 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Car: recommended

10 Minute Drive to Stampede Park

8 Minute Drive to Heritage Park

5 minute drive to C-Train station

Easy access to all major roads

Central to Calgary

Calgary Zoo, Airport, Spruce Meadows, Stampede Park, Heritage Park, Hospitals, Golf Courses, Pools, Science Centre and all major attractions close and easy to get to.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Calgary House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Stampede
Jul 3 2014 - Jul 13 2014
3 night minimum stay
C$ 325
C$ 2,175
 
 
summer
Jul 14 2014 - Aug 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
C$ 250
C$ 1,275
C$ 3,200
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2014 - Dec 21 2014
2 night minimum stay
C$ 250
C$ 975
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2014 - Jan 2 2015
5 night minimum stay
C$ 275
C$ 1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$ 250
C$ 1,250
C$ 3,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Refundable Damage deposit of $500.00 is authorized upon arrival on a valid credit card. Call for last minute rates.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Calgary House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Telephone ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Garage ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Ice Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Double sinks off master bedroom. Jetted tub for two people
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Very large 6' shower, newly renovated.
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , A beautiful very large master suite with views of the city
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , very comfortable mattress nice bedroom on third level
    Other (See Description) - 2 twin/ single , two beds in the den, can be put together for a king bed.
  • Queen size Beds (2) Sealy Hotel Deluxe Plush Queen Sleep set mattresses., Twin or Single Beds (1) A day bed with a trundle converts to two twin beds., (2) Pack N Play available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a futon in the basement that converts to Queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 1 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • zoo
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • spelunking
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • rafting
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
City view, river pathway, world renowned trout fishing, just steps away from the front door.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$915 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,744 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$950 per week
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5