Great location, average accomodations
Let me preface this review by saying that we were looking for a budget friendly option as we are buying a house in the next few months. So I with that said, I knew there would be some sacrifices we'd have to make.
- Location! Short walk to downtown.
- View of Kalamazoo River -- there are homes between you and the river but still visible.
- I could bring my cat!
- Interior of house was very clean.
- No central AC. There are AC units in each bedroom which keep them nice and cool, but the center of the home (kitchen, family room, etc) got quite warm.
- The king bed mattress is quite old and soft - bring your own pillows (glad we did).
- Shower in master bath dripped the entire time we were there so had to keep bathroom door closed so we didn't hear it
- Deck was nice. Furniture was not. Cushions were wet most of the time and dirty! Deck could really benefit from some new furniture (wish there was a table as we would have liked to eat out there)
- Kitchen tools were quite old and used. Knives were very dull and the pans were in need of updating.
- Some basic accoutrements would have been nice (e.g., soap in the shower, dish soap for hand washing dishes, a sponge, etc). In all fairness there were paper towel, toilet paper and trash bags available.
We enjoyed our stay but feel this house could stand for a little maintenance and sprucing up - it would go a long way in providing a more comfortable experience for guests.
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for letting us know about the shower, we don't want that dripping either. I wish you would have let me know while you were staying so I could have had it fixed immediately. But, It has been fixed. The deck furniture is newer but, I agree, it is a problem if the cushions are left outside when it rains. We have added a deck box so it makes it easier for storing the cushions out of the elements when not in use. The beginning of this year, I added brand new pots, pans and knives. I did leave some of the older ones there so that there were mulitples of each size if someone was doing major cooking. I did have the new ones in the front but perhaps that got shifted around. There should be hand soap by each sink, dish soap and a kitchen dish cloth. I did check this after I got the reveiw and they were there but, perhaps it was an oversite by the cleaning crew on your stay. Typically, people like to leave the door to the deck open and the windows in the living room and the breeze off the lake keeps the house cool. This summer has been extremely hot so we have purchased an extra air conditioning unit to add to the central part of the house during hot weather. We have also added cool gel memory foam mattress topper to each of the beds and everyone seems to find them very comfortable. Thank you for your input. I hope you will stay with us again and enjoy the upgrades.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?