CUTE COTTAGE IN DOWNTOWN SAUGATUCK WITH WATER VIEWS, DOCK ACCESS AVAILABLE

From
$200
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Dana

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CUTE COTTAGE IN DOWNTOWN SAUGATUCK WITH WATER VIEWS, DOCK ACCESS AVAILABLE

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom's 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

This cottage offers many options for your own private retreat. Enjoy the Large balcony and outstanding views of Kalamazoo Lake, the backyard garden complete with water fountain, or stroll to Downtown to enjoy fabulous shopping, restaurants, and art. Also, a Dock is available at an additional cost.

Perfect view of Saugatuck's fireworks over the Lake on the 4th of July, Venetian Festival, and New Year's Eve.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed

Dana

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

15 Reviews Write a Review
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
average rating of 4.133333 based on 15 reviews
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Fantastic Michigan Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Do we have to leave?! Dana was so great to work with and we are so happy we booked this rental! The location to downtown Saugatuck, shopping, restaurants, bars and beaches is unbeatable. The deck has gorgeous views overlooking Kalamazoo River. The house had everything needed to grill, cook and bake. On top of that, the beds were extremely comfortable and had plenty of additional linens and towels. We did need a few extra blankets and Dana arranged to drop some off immediately. The home also included a welcome book highlighting many local hot spots and attractions - gave us some great ideas of things to do and places to see. We can't thank you enough for letting us rent your home! Fantastic stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
3

Fall Trip

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The location is very good. Short walk to downtown, and short drive to Oval Beach. The house is also facing the lake where you can see sunrise and sunset. The only thing laking in the house are good beds. My husband has neck pain from sleeping on the bed after 3 nights. Other than that, the house condition is clean and has okay amenities.
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry the beds weren't right for you. The beds have Serta mattresses. I recently added 2.5 inch cool gel memory foam mattress toppers to the beds. We added one on our bed and really liked it so I thought they would be a nice addition. It is suppose to form to each body and provide individual support. But, perhaps it doesn't work for everyone.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
4

Charming Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This charming cottage was pretty much as advertised and provided comfortable accomodations for two (and, briefly, three of us) plus two small dogs. The two, one-car garages that will accommodate a 19-ft automobile were a plus because we brought a 1964 Cadillac that fit in the garage with several inches to spare. The location was very convenient to downtown Saugatuck (about a 10-minute walk), and the sunsets across Lake Kalamazoo were very nice. The Fall weather precluded much use of the deck, but we were able to use it a few times (the storage bin for the cushions was appreciated to keep them dry when it rained). The yard was in need of tending, but was finally mowed the day before we checked out. The outside lighting was difficult to figure out with the switches for various of the lights both unlabeled and in different parts of the house and basement -- it took a while to figure out what did what. It didn't help that some of the bulbs appeared to be burnt out, making it difficult to determine if a given switch actually controlled that fixture.

The beds were reasonably comfortable, although the king-sized bed creaked quite loudly from even the most modest movement (bad frame?). The two bathrooms were very useful when we had a weekend guest, and plenty of linens were present. While clean when we arrived, repeated outside excursions by ourselves and our dogs brought in the occasional dirt. The upright vacuuum is really optimized for carpeting or rugs and not the predominantly hardwood flooring in the house. A better vacuum for cleaning these floors would have been appreciated. Also, a swiffer was provided, but no pads were available --- these would have been useful, as well. The dishes in the kitchen were adequate, but were awkardly labeled in Chinglish as not microwave safe. So, some sort of microwaveable dishes/containers would have been useful because nothing in the kitchen (short of paper towels) could be used in the microwave. Some of the knives that were provided were absolutely unusable (the backside of the knives were nearly as sharp as the blade), and these should be discarded because they don't look worth the bother to sharpen. Some smaller glasses would also be useful (10/12 oz would be good).

The overall experience was good, and we'd definitely consider staying there again.
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
3

Great location, average accomodations

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Let me preface this review by saying that we were looking for a budget friendly option as we are buying a house in the next few months. So I with that said, I knew there would be some sacrifices we'd have to make.

Pro's
- Location! Short walk to downtown.
- View of Kalamazoo River -- there are homes between you and the river but still visible.
- I could bring my cat!
- Interior of house was very clean.

Con's
- No central AC. There are AC units in each bedroom which keep them nice and cool, but the center of the home (kitchen, family room, etc) got quite warm.
- The king bed mattress is quite old and soft - bring your own pillows (glad we did).
- Shower in master bath dripped the entire time we were there so had to keep bathroom door closed so we didn't hear it
- Deck was nice. Furniture was not. Cushions were wet most of the time and dirty! Deck could really benefit from some new furniture (wish there was a table as we would have liked to eat out there)
- Kitchen tools were quite old and used. Knives were very dull and the pans were in need of updating.
- Some basic accoutrements would have been nice (e.g., soap in the shower, dish soap for hand washing dishes, a sponge, etc). In all fairness there were paper towel, toilet paper and trash bags available.

We enjoyed our stay but feel this house could stand for a little maintenance and sprucing up - it would go a long way in providing a more comfortable experience for guests.
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for letting us know about the shower, we don't want that dripping either. I wish you would have let me know while you were staying so I could have had it fixed immediately. But, It has been fixed. The deck furniture is newer but, I agree, it is a problem if the cushions are left outside when it rains. We have added a deck box so it makes it easier for storing the cushions out of the elements when not in use. The beginning of this year, I added brand new pots, pans and knives. I did leave some of the older ones there so that there were mulitples of each size if someone was doing major cooking. I did have the new ones in the front but perhaps that got shifted around. There should be hand soap by each sink, dish soap and a kitchen dish cloth. I did check this after I got the reveiw and they were there but, perhaps it was an oversite by the cleaning crew on your stay. Typically, people like to leave the door to the deck open and the windows in the living room and the breeze off the lake keeps the house cool. This summer has been extremely hot so we have purchased an extra air conditioning unit to add to the central part of the house during hot weather. We have also added cool gel memory foam mattress topper to each of the beds and everyone seems to find them very comfortable. Thank you for your input. I hope you will stay with us again and enjoy the upgrades.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cottage in Downtown Saugatuck with Water views, dock access available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232681
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Perfect House for a Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time in Saugatuck and this house worked out just great for our group. We had a few couples all around 30 yrs old and 2 small dogs and we lived comfortably, well as comfortably as you can during a week of 100 degree heat lol. Great location a medium walk into downtown so we didn't have to pay for parking or get a cab. 2 garage spaces and plenty of driveway space for all our cars. The back porch worked out well for grilling a lot. Played cards around the big table, and liked the open living room/dinning room layout. The view of the water is nice but be aware it's not a waterfront property exactly. Not a big deal to us though. AC comes from 2 window units that did struggle to keep the house cool, l but like I said, 100 degrees during the 4th week so any other time I'm sure they do fine, lots of ceiling fans too. Plenty of linens and sheets provided. Beds and bathrooms good.
And overall Saugatuck is a great spot along Lake Michigan. Oval Beach is great and so is the State park on the north side. Dune rides are a must! Mermaids in town has amazing food for the price for dinner and Pumpernickel's for breakfast.
Overall I don't think you'll find a better house for in-town living at this price. Would definitely consider renting here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Grand Rapids, MI (GRR)
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Lake Express, Muskegon, MI
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Holland Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I-96 and Blue Star Highway
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Oval Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Many in Saugatuck
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Bittersweet
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Ravines or Clearbrook
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Many in Saugatuck
Car: not necessary

Saugatuck and Douglas are located among the towering white sand dunes on the shores of Lake Michigan and the Kalamazoo River. The area offers world-class beaches, boating, antiquing, golf, live theater, nightclubs, great restaurants, and a huge variety of art galleries and artists.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
Off Peak
Jan 1 - May 15
$200
$1,050
$4,500
2 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$275
$295
Fri,Sat
$1,701
$7,290
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50.00 + Tax
Damage Protection $60.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes Boat slip can be rented for $40/day or $200/week with rental of this cottage

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Saugatuck / Douglas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Romantic
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Large Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • Boat Dock
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Balcony
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • coin laundry
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • outlet shopping
  • eco tourism
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • water tubing
  • golf privileges optional
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • hunting
  • pier fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
Notes:
Dock/Boat Slip is available at an additional cost Events allowed with an additional fee Items listed under other services can be arranged at an additional fee
Email Owner Email