Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Laughing Gecko Waikoloa - Huge ocean, coastal, mountain views. On golf course.

Bookings

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Bookings

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Laughing Gecko Waikoloa - Huge ocean, coastal, mountain views. On golf course.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The sweetest condo on the Kohala Coast to escape to. Just perfect for one or two. Laughing Gecko Waikoloa is an end unit, ground floor gem that sits right on the 6th tee of the Robert Trent Jones course in Waikoloa Village. Enjoy discounted rates at the Waikoloa course if you stay here as well as access to the Village pool and tennis courts. Check the Waikoloa Village website for updated rate information.

Tucked away and private, sit on your lanai and enjoy sweeping views of miles of rolling green golf course in front of huge, panoramic ocean views, framed with all our mountains - Haleakala, Kohala, Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa and Hualalai. The unit enjoys dead on Maui sunset views, just perfect for relaxing and enjoying Mai Tais at sunset, or coffee in the morning.

The unit is designer decorated and furnished and well equipped with everything you'll need to enjoy your stay. A full kitchen is a pleasure for those who like to cook. Excellent restaurants are nearby for those who don't.

The complex is right opposite the golf course club house, pool and tennis courts. Everything you need is right there and it's a short stroll to the shops. A very good grocery store is just a walk away along with banking, medical, post office, etc.. The Resorts and world class beaches are only 5 - 10 minutes away by car. There are steps from the parking area to the lower level of the golf course.

Waikoloa Village is a planned community with underground electric, world class golf course and amenities conveniently located between Waimea, Kona and Hilo, just minutes from the best beaches. It is the perfect central location to base yourself for your Big Island vacation.

In home chef, massage therapist, maid service, private hiking guide, professional photographer, gourmet pastries and pre-arrival pantry stocking available. Ask owner for details.

Keywords: Condo, apartment, one, bedroom, ground floor, flat, Hawaii, garden, lanai, beach, waikoloa, kohala, coast, luxury, affordable, golf, tennis, Hawaii, Big Island, resort, vacation, rental, furnished, holiday, big island, kohala coast, waikoloa villlage

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
Bookings (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2015

About Bookings

Ali Blackmore is a Zimbabwean who has traveled the globe, living in eight different countries over four continents. Dual careers in real estate and design have traveled with her and continue on Big Island, Hawaii where she works as a real estate Broker and designer specializing in Kohala Coast property. A lifelong real estate investor, Ali knows a good property when she sees one and bought Laughing Gecko Waikoloa because it is one of the all-round best view condos and locations in Waikoloa Village. Ali is an accomplished designer, painter and writer and loves gardening and all things Hawaiian. If you are visiting Big Island to look at or buy property Ali would be delighted to assist you with your search and purchase.

Bookings purchased this condo in 2004

Why Bookings chose Waikoloa Village

In searching for a condo as a vacation rental my criteria included a superb location, outstanding ocean and mountain views, golf course frontage, established and beautiful landscaped common areas, privacy and quiet. A tall order, for sure, but I found the perfect unit in the perfect location, that met all my criteria, and then some! For a single person or a couple this is a delightfully charming getaway.

What makes this condo unique

This condo is located right on the golf course and just opposite the golf course club house, pool and tennis courts. As an end unit the condo is quiet and private. There is a small secluded garden out front with a teak bench just ideal for sitting out and enjoying the amazing views and watching the birds and golfers. I lived in this unit and loved every day. It is a very sweet spot, within easy walking distance of shopping and dining.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Ali,



It was nice meeting you while staying at your condo in Waikaloa Village. We really loved the place and the location. It was very peaceful and quiet, with great views.



Best wishes,

Chris
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 13

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Laughing Gecko Waikoloa - Huge ocean, coastal, mountain views. On golf course.
average rating of 4.4347825 based on 36 reviews
2

Disappointed Traveller

  • 2 of 5

I stayed at this location for 9 days in January 2015. While Waikoloa Village is a convenient location for area travel and activities, this unit was a bit of a disappointment. The pictures embellish the condition of the unit and its surroundings. And be careful of your deposit. I did not receive a full return.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing Laughing Gecko for your last minute trip to Waikoloa. You were offered a discount on your stay. The amount due was clearly stated in the rates section of the VRBO page, the quote, the rental agreement, and subsequent e-mails. You underpaid your payment by $35.08. As yours was a last minute stay the options at that late a date were either delaying your occupancy until you had remitted the shortfall, or allowing occupancy on time and withholding the $35.08 shortfall from your deposit. Threatening bad online reviews and legal fees via email if the withholding was not returned is not okay. The offer was made to refund your deposit in full if you paid the $35.08 outstanding. You declined. Dear reader, Laughing Gecko Hawaii runs an honest and fair business. This guest's comments that infer otherwise are inaccurate and irresponsible. Threatening an owner with bad reviews unless a discount/demand is met is tantamount to blackmail. Writing spurious reviews with the intent to harm speaks more about the reviewer than the review. Sadly, it happens.
Bella Coola Valley, British Columbia, Canada
5

Laughing Gecko in Wonderfully, Windy, Waikoloa

  • 5 of 5

Started my two week vacation at the Laughing Gecko with four nights in a comfy bed and a view to die for. Technically, if you sit up in bed you can see the Pacific Ocean. This accommodation is as advertised, lacked none of the essentials and included tons of extras. Enjoyed the pool across the street and convenient nearby market and shops. Surprisingly private and quiet, perfect for the single traveler or a couple. Excellent value for your dollar and location great for launching on day trips in any direction. I'm so happy to have discovered the Laughing Gecko.....with real geckos! (but only outside) and look forward to a future stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you for your kind words! It really is such a special spot and even when those Trades are blowing, it's very sheltered. I love this condo - one my my personal favorites. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards, ali
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

A Very Memorable Honeymoon Stay At Laughing Gecko Waikoloa

  • 5 of 5

What an awesome end to our Honeymoon!! My wife and I spent our stay at 3 different rental homes, and our last 6 nights at the laughing gecko was our personal favorite. It couldn't have been better-from the lovely garden and ocean view to the feeling of privacy and fully stocked kitchen, we loved the place! There wasn't anything missing. The sad thing was our schedule was so jam packed we didn't make any time to use the free pool and golf course access, but we will NEXT TIME we stay here!! Also, the free wifi is always awesome to keep in touch with people back home. Thanks for everything Ali, you were great to deal with and we hope to return sooner rather than later!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a blissful honeymoon! And yes, you will simply have to come back to enjoy what our beautiful island has to offer. aloha, ali
Vancouver Island
5

Comfortable, private condo with excellent kitchen

  • 5 of 5

This is a perfect condo for a Kohala Coast location. There is a well furnished kitchen with everything to make meals to be enjoyed on the lanai (patio). Easy access on main level not far from assigned parking. Beautiful unobstructed view. It is a private lanai, although overlooking the golf course, there were only a few golfers and not close by. The view is even nicer than the photos can show. All details have been thought of to make a stay very comfortable. We stayed six days, but could have easily stayed longer. Although the bedroom does not actually have a window, the set up of the condo works well. It is an older building, but the condo, the building and the grounds are well cared for. It was a great place to come "home" to after a day of being out at the beaches or historic sites. There is not the "vog" that is encountered at times on the Kona Coast. A good grocery store is five minutes away. Excellent beaches are within a fifteen minutes drive. Excellent value for the price without the noise of a resort.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, and thank you for your kind words. This condo does have such a good location, view and amenities and is so well laid out. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Did you notice the little Francolin babies nesting in the front garden by the lanai? They are getting bigger daily and such a joy to watch. Mahalo, ali
Seattle, WA
5

Lovely condo in great location

  • 5 of 5

This past December I booked this condo for the second time, the first was the previous December, as my pre-Christmas get away, and it was just as great the second time around. The unit is well appointed, tastefully furnished, and in a quiet spot in the complex as a corner, ground floor unit. This means quiet. The view from the lanai of the golf course and ocean made a lovely breakfast spot to greet the start of the day in luxuriously peaceful splendor. I savored those mornings (and evenings with sunsets) on the lanai, watching the various small and large birds hang out and feed in front of the unit.

The bed is quite comfortable, firm, equal support, good quality. With a bad back, this is important to me. The kitchen is well equipped with a nice big counter, which was nice as I enjoy cooking.

The location in Waikoloa Village is also great. A good home base for activities if you're going to explore the island. It's just 6 miles uphill from the main coastal highway, so the beaches are just short drives away. If you're willing to drive a little more, there are many wonderful beach options between Waikoloa and south toward the airport. Read the guidebooks how to find them. You won't be disappointed.

The cost of the unit is right on for convenience and comfort, in trade off for the added expense of being beachside and then having to deal with the masses of vacationers and their kids. I enjoy kids, just don't need swarms of them, with irritated parents, near me at all times (beachside AND back at a hotel). Plus lower cost accommodations allowed for a little more splurging to eat at those expensive beachside hotels!

One suggestion might be to have a cable channel guide? Perhaps there was one in the binder with info and I overlooked it? Couldn't find it easily on line, either. Otherwise, all other amenities, info book and resources were excellent.

Looking forward to going back again this next December! =)

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. It is lovely and it is a great location. I will have a cable guide put in asap. There should be one there but things get lost so I will add one to the binder. Aloha nui loa, ali
Lake Villa, IL
5

Little Condo With A Million Dollar View

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 1/2 week stay at this great little condo in Waikoloa Village. We began to fondly refer to it is as "our nest".

What you see from the pictures describe exactly what you are renting. The condo was spacious enough for the two of us. The kitchen had everything in it to do some of our own cooking if we desired. There was even a coffee grinder to grind the fresh Kau coffee we purchased. The condo was very clean and tastefully decorated. There was ample storage for all of our belongings.

Our favorite spot was sitting on the lanai overlooking the gorgeous view from the golf course to the ocean along with the mountains. The little garden area frames the view perfectly.

We did not have any trouble parking our mid-size SUV in the provided parking space. At night a security light conveniently came on when we pulled into the parking spot.

We did have a minor issue with the garbage disposal leaking which was taken care of quicker than promised by Ali.

There is a full grocery store in Waikoloa Village, a post office, several restaurants, a gas station, etc. in the shopping center.

We would definitely stay here again. It is just a 15 minute drive down to the Kohala coast, where we would make the decision to turn right towards Hawi or left towards Kona. Our only regret was that we were so busy going off on our adventures that we did not spend more time at the condo.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That's awesome! I lived in this condo for a year when I first came to Hawaii and I absolutely loved every minute. One of the happiest years for me. I thought of it as my "little nest" too. Not a care in the world. Just time to enjoy every day and that view!! I'm so glad you had a nice time. Aloha, ali

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
kona
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Banjy's
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Waikoloa Village Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Queen K
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Banjy's
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
A Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Highlands Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Post Office
Car: recommended

Star-gazing, observatories, volcano watch, whale watch, swim with dolphins, zip line, botanical gardens, jungle hikes, coffee farm tours, waterfalls, caving

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $103 Per night

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Year end holidays
Dec 15 2015 - Jan 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$118
$840
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$103
$721
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $98.96
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Rates quoted are for 2 person occupancy. Ask about additional guests.
Last minute bookings ask about stays under 3 nights and discounts.
Cancellation 90+ days in advance full refund less processing fee.
US check preferred
Credit card via PayPal with 3% PayPal fee
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Waikoloa Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) rental available
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Golf, Tennis, Pool, Nene

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$800 - $1,150 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$110 - $140 per night
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$850 - $1,225 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote