Contract stated 3:00 as check-in time but upon inquiring about and earlier check-in, the owner's contact person was quite unfriendly and said "4:00, didn't you read you lease?" We were parked in the home's driveway at 3:00 and saw cleaning people drive by without stopping. When we got inside, we found that the place had not been cleaned. The 6 bikes had rusted chains that we couldn't get to operate and had further complications with the owner's contact person trying to get operational bikes. They would not work with us at all. The owner told us to stop bothering the contact person. The smoke detector was beeping all week and we couldn't replace the battery but didn't want any more contact with the owner because she was hostile. The linens were not only old and "pilly", but nothing was where it was supposed to be and we weren't able to find any of the second twin bed's sheets. Of course, our deposit wasn't returned because the owner accused us missing linens (who would want them?), a broken towel rack (already loose, but was not any different then when we arrived) and lock broken in bedroom door (not any problem while we were there). These people seem to only interested in their money and not being friendly or accomodating to their rentors. Worst owners we've ever dealt with in all the years we've been going down to OC. The place would've been ok otherwise, however, we had to drive to the beach. A little too far to walk.
Owner's Response: Not only is this a complete lie, but quite upsetting.
1. This renter showed up at 11 am wanting to check into the house - we told them checkin was 3 - it was in the contract. There were four people who overheard this conversation. As an aside, this person asked to check in early and was told they could not - PRIOR to checking in because the cleaning people had to
2. The renter was told - prior to checkin - that there were only 2 bikes available. They have this in writing and I can provide a copy of the written information. We found out later in the season this was an issue and notified all renters when we sent out the updated information. Renter harassed the people giving out the keys and threatened my mother - again four people overheard this - including a police officer. FYI - had others who used the bikes and also had the maintenance person check the bikes - 4 actually worked, only 2 well.
3. Renter called my mother 18 times during their vacation - find it hard to believe they didn't mention the beeping of the fire alarm or the loose towel rack. FYI - the next renter did address this and a maintenance guy was sent over to handle upon notification. BTW - he never phoned me.
4. The linens were taken, however, we cannot control where the prior renters place them.
5. Renter went into the shop my mother owns - SCREAMING at her and told her she was a liar. Also, four witnesses (that's how many people work there). Told her that if we thought there was an issue now - just wait til he checks out - threatened to break things and he did.
6. Video is taken at the completion of each stay for these purposes - happy to post that on here. The towel rack, door handle, etc. were all broken upon their departure.
The only recourse I have is to address it on here. I've never had an issue with anyone renting this unit. I've always been responsive (anyone will say that) and this guy was not very nice about anything. He strong armed my mother into refunding money for things that weren't her issue and she wasn't responsible for. I DID send him an email telling him if he had an issue call me - but to STOP harassing my mother. I think that is reasonable - especially with how horrible he was being to her. To harass a 70 year old woman - that's just plain not right and yes, it did upset me. BUT, this review is completely a lie and I've never had an issue with rentals. In fact, I have people who come back year after year.
Helpful votes: 2/6
Did you find this review helpful?