Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Great Home & Barn Overlooking Seneca Lake Sunsets and Watkins Glen

Tom Schneider

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Tom Schneider

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Great Home & Barn Overlooking Seneca Lake Sunsets and Watkins Glen

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


Watkins Glen House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, sleeps 10-12

'Glen Eastern' has an awesome lake view and is about a mile from 'Downtown Watkins'. Home to the magnificent Watkins Glen State Park, Harbor Walk, International Raceway, visitor center, Clute Beach and a more than a few places to rent & launch boats. We are in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine & waterfall country. Glen Eastern has 4 BR & 3.5 baths. It sleeps 10-12 and is more of a family style home on 8 fun acres; the Monster Barn game room is now open offering billiards, foosball, darts, a 10ft granite saloon wet bar and classic arcade game. The deck offers panoramic views of the lake, sunsets & Watkins night lights. Enjoy the horseshoe and fire pits, multiple picnic tables, hammock and covered lower patio. The location is perfect for large family gatherings. There is also another apartment available in the barn with a full bath, kitchen, bedroom and living room for even larger parties of 12 - 14.

LOCATION - LOCATION - LOCATION: At about a mile from downtown Watkins Glen and twenty or so from Corning, Ithaca and Elmira, you will find plenty to do at our rental properties. There are well over fifty wineries within 40 miles - close to a hundred waterfalls - and day trips can take you to Niagara Falls, Casinos, ten other Finger Lakes and the Great Lakes. We have been coming here for close to ten years and still haven't seen it all.

ALL SEASONS WELCOME: The wineries don't shut down for the winter and neither do we! The spring brings great scenery and waterfalls, the summer has it all and the fall has leaves and wine to enjoy. But don't forget the winter and holiday season, when the Seneca wineries promote Deck the Halls and winter wine specials. Cayuga also has quite a few wineries with Mardi Gras, fine food pairings and individual winery promotions. Don't forget to bring your boat in the warmer months and your snowmobile & skis in the winter. The Finger Lakes National Forest has extensive winter snowmobiling trails as well as cross country and there are two ski areas about an hour away.

JUST LIKE HOME: We use all three of our vacation homes in the area and want you to feel like you are at your second home (just like we do). That's why we have people returning again and again, and trying out our various locations. Each is unique but well appointed and offer the same convenient location and amenities.

Please note: there is a $150 housekeeping charge for stays less than 6 nights.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Tom Schneider (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2015

About Tom Schneider

Having visited many wine regions around the world (Rhine River Valley in Germany, Napa/Sonoma in US, Tuscany in Italy, and Hunter Valley in Austraila), we decided to explore the Finger Lake Wine region. We really enjoyed it due to its wonderful wines, beautiful views and amazing waterfalls. With a growing family, we decided to purchase our first property in 2006. In years following, we added two more properties and we continue to improve all of them so our expanded family and our guests (YOU!) can enjoy the Finger Lakes to its fullest potential. The Monster Bar'N Gameroom and Barn Apartment are two examples of how we continually improve our properties. We love to visit the wineries year round for their seasonal events and have camp fires & S'mores in the summertime and boating and hiking at the local Glens (Watkins, Buttermilk and Havana to name a few). One of our most favorite annual events is to participate in the Watkins Glen Cardboard Boat Regatta - check local papers for our 2010 Pirate Ship entry which made front page headlines (see image of Pirate Ship).

Tom Schneider purchased this house in 2006

Why Tom Schneider chose Watkins Glen

With a growing family, we knew it would be harder to travel like we were used too. With the Finger Lakes as close as they were and offering wineries, waterfalls and lakes, we decided it would be a wonderful place to vacation. After two years of enjoying our home ourselves, we decided to try renting to allow others to enjoy this wonderful property and region of the country. We found that we enjoyed it so much that we decided to continue to expand our properties to serve even more people. We feel our properties allow all our guests to select which type of property will work for them and their vacation plans.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Tom and JJ,

We couldn't be happier about our vacation at Glen Eastern. The house was perfect. The kids were happy just playing in the yard. My mother loved sitting on the porch watching the birds and lake scenery- and we all enjoyed the many activities and things to do in the area. We did the wine trail and your convenient location allowed us to do most of them while we were there. We must come back to do the rest ;-).
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great Home & Barn Overlooking Seneca Lake Sunsets and Watkins Glen
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 16 reviews

Husband's bday weekend

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us enjoy your home! We had an amazing time with friends and thoroughly enjoyed the party barn, couldn't of had a better weekend!! The views from the house & upper deck were great this time of year. Would highly recommend this property to everyone.

Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Pasadena, CA

Beautiful view, great house, but noisy traffic

  • 3 of 5

The house was perfect for us and the view from the deck was beautiful. However, the noise from the traffic passing by the house was oppressive for all of us. If you are used to living next to highly trafficked areas, this won't bother you! Everything about the house, view, hosts, and location is wonderful. We rented the home for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary, and the whole family and grandchildren came in -- from California, Virginia, Wellsboro, and Philadelphia. We all live on quiet streets and my parents live on 30 peaceful acres in Pennsylvania. The traffic noise was so unbearable that my sister's family left early! So much for a family gathering. We were also very anxious about the children playing outside with the cars racing by. We had a fantastic hike past the waterfalls in Watkins Glen State Park, enjoyed a wonderful afternoon at the Farm Sanctuary, spent a day in Ithaca at the ScienceCenter and Moosewood Restaurant, went swimming and boating on the lake, went back to Ithaca for their Shakespeare in the Park performance, picked delicious cherries, sampled the ice cream shops in town, and stopped at some lovely wineries. Great location for all of this, but definitely crazy-making with the incessant traffic noise. But again - if this won't bother you, then I would recommend the property! Late at night when all the traffic has died down, you can enjoy beautiful, tranquil views of the twinkling lights across the lake, the stars in the clear sky, and the night birds.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


  • 5 of 5

Responding to previous review, despite encountering a temporary water issue, the weekend couldn't have been better. The owner did resolve the matter as quickly as possible. This property provided my family a long weekend full of priceless memories. The home and monster barn entertained all ages, and the deck was faboulous, day and night. We had everything we needed to make my Sons wedding celebration complete. The owner was a delight to work with, and was very accommodating to our needs. I look forward to returning to Glen Eastern in the future, and recommend this property to anyone visiting the Fingerlakes region!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Waterless Wedding Weekend

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house to stay in for my cousin's wedding. There were 14 of us staying there. Upon arrival, were were met by a gentlemen who informed us the plumbing had just been worked on and if we had any "problems" to let him know. The house was "moderately" clean at best when we arrived, but that was the least of our problems. Our first night there my husband got up to use our bathroom and when he flushed, the toilet made a horrific noise and the bowl did not fill back up. He then tested the sink and no water came out, then the tub. We quickly realized we had NO RUNNING WATER ANYWHERE IN THE HOUSE OR THE BARN. We contacted the property manager, who told us she would get it fixed as oon as possible. That was at 8:30AM. After numerous calls and empty promises at 2PM 14 people were frantically calling people and scrambling to go to friend's hotel rooms to take showers for the wedding; including the groom's mother, best man and a bridesmaid. In addition to this, my husband was ferrying people back and forth to the Walmart to use the restroom facilities. When we returned from the wedding, we had minimally trickling water that gurgled and sputtered in the sinks, but still not enough to shower. That night the water completely stopped again and was not repaired until the middle of the next day, with friends and family visiting. Once again, we had to ferry people back and forth to Walmart to use the facilities. From Thursday afternoon to Sunday morning, only 7-8 showers could be taken between 14 people! The great outdoors or the local Walmart became our bathroom and we brushed our teeth and washed our faces with bottled spring water. If I had intended to camp, I would have stayed at the campground down the street instead of paying $$$$ to stay in this lakehouse. I believe they had running water, so it would have been an upgrade! This was an on-going issue as we were told by the many maintenance people that came to the house several times and the owner did not disclose it. He, in fact, was living in it for a month just prior to our arrival and the system had been worked on TWO DAYS prior to our arrival and they were still trying to fix it as we pulled up. We had to request they bring us bottled waters after we paid money out of our own pockets to purchase some the first day. The property owner was apologetic, but did not do enough early enough to satisfy his obligation. Stay away from this property. Pretty view, pretty house, BAD PLUMBING

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all, we felt terrible about this issue. Glen Eastern is located out in the country and is not on a city water supply so we do rely on a well for the water at this property. Signs are posted in all bathrooms to conserve water and to please be sure that all water appliances are off (toilets not running, etc). Last year we added a 1000 gallon holding tank along with the barn apartment to make up for the added guests. However a running toilet can use up to 2 gallons of water per minute and if left for a long period of time, that could easily run out a 1000 gallon tank especially when coupled with a large group's water usage (2 Gallons per minute is 120 gallons per hour - a normal shower can take 30 - 40 gallons). I was first made aware of the water issue on Friday afternoon at about 2pm when the renters contacted me directly. Within two hours the 1000 gallon cistern was filled but unfortunately they had a wedding to be at by about that time. They returned from the wedding later that night and had water but alas, it was dry again the next morning. Through further investigation I later became aware that a toilet had been left running in the barn. That coupled with normal usage is what impacted the plumbing. We have since taken the additional steps and retro fitted all toilets with low flow flushing mechanisms and low flow/high pressure shower heads. The review above was written not by the person who rented the home and I had no discussions with her. It is wrong in that we were not "living in the home the previous month" and nor were we working on anything to do with the water when they arrived. I explained to the actual renter that we stayed there the previous weekend for my daughters third birthday with a party of eight and had no problems with the water; and that the cistern was checked before we left. It was full and we had no issues with the water at all. When they arrived our handyman was working on the upper barn doing some routine maintenance and tree removals on the south side of the property. I spoke to the actual renter through out the process and after their departure as well. She indicated that she felt we did a good job keeping her informed and taking care of the issue as expeditiously as possible. She also said they had a great time despite the water issues. Please do read all of our reviews, I think you will find the rest to be positive and anything in need of attention to have been dealt with immediately. The Schneiders

Watkins Glen Home

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the house on Seneca Lake. The house was very cozy. The view of the lake is awesome. It has a nice deck. Even though it has country water, we didn't run out. We hope to rent it again.

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
NorthEast Ohio

Vintage Racers

  • 4 of 5

Overall, it was a good experience. The one glaring exception was the TV's which did not work! We tried contacting Direct TV but to no avail. The local rep was of no help either.

For our use the location was excellent!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We checked the TV out and it is working fine now. I'm not sure if there was an issue that weekend with the service provider but there is a power strip and a few settings that need to be utilized - it's all detailed on the info posted by the TV. Feel free to contact us in the future if there are any problems and we hope to see you again some time!


Watkins Glen State Park
"The reason they named the town Watkins Glen and a fantastic hike. Experience over twenty wat..."
Watkins Glen International
"Watch a race, attend a festival or take your car out on the track!"
Rooster Fish Brewing
"Great local beer at a great local place AND close to home."
Village Marina Bar & Grill
"Good food, great atmosphere and view of the lake. Good for local, live music and drinks day ..."
Lakewood Vineyards Inc
"Lakewood always make our list of recommended wineries at the south end of the lake."
Wildflower Cafe
"Great family restaurant AND right next to the Rooster Fish!"
Hector Falls
"Good for a drive by via car or boat. The falls are beautiful and a quick stop on your way up..."
Castel Grisch
"Good German style wine with a sweeping view north of the lake. Also a nice German kitchen. "
Captain Bill's Seneca Lake Cruises
"Great outdoor seating area and waterside dining for the whole family. The boat Rides are nic..."
Blue Pointe Grill
"Blue Point Grill at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel offers upscale dining with outdoor seating."
Seneca Harbor Station
"Nice family style outdoor dining and part of the Captain Bills Complex. "
Jerlando's Pizza Company
"Good Italian Eats in Watkins and Montour too!"
Montage Restaurant
"West Side lake view dining with great portions and varied fare."
Wright's Beverages
"This is where you can but it all: Beer, Wine and Liquor."
House of Hong Incorporated
"Good Chinese Eats in Watkins. Check out the old renovated hotel lounge."
Car: necessary

Lakes, Water Falls, Wineries, Americas Oldest Auto Road Racing Track, Festivals, Antiques, Hiking, Snowmobiling, Fishing, Downtown Watkins Glen.

Other Activities: Wine Tasting, Waterfalls, Auto Racing Track.

Golf: The Watkins Glen 9 Hole golf course is right across the lake and there are three additional courses within 20 miles of the home: Fox Run Golf Course, Hillendale Golf Course and Shady Brook Golf Course.

Ski: There are two ski areas within an hours distance: Bristol Mountain Ski Resort and Greek Peak.


Rates & Availability

From $300 Per night

Watkins Glen House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
High Season
May 23 2015 - Sep 13 2015
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
Jan 4 2016 - Mar 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and linens $150
Refundable damage deposit $450
Notes - $150 Housekeeping Fee is added to all stays under 5 nights.
- The home is to be left in the same condition it was received but linens are taken care of by our staff.
- We accept a $450 reservation deposit at the time of booking. This becomes your $450 refundable security when the total rental fee is received two weeks prior to check in and it is refunded within about fifteen days of check out.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Watkins Glen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Rumpus Room
  • Secure Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Masater Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large Tub
    Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Also has the Washer & Dryer
    Lower Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Powder Room - toilet
    Gameroom Full Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Barn Apartment Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Outdoor Shower at The Barn - outdoor shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Lakeview Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Has own full bath
    Front Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Large Closet
    Lakeview Guest Room - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Nice Lake View
    Lower Bedroom - 1 queen , Private & Quiet
    Lower Greatroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Walkout Studio with seperate bedroom & kitchenette
    Livingroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pullout Sofa on Main Floor
    Barn Apartment - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Seperate Living Quarters
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote