10 BR OCEANFRONT HOME WITH TIKI HUT AND PRIVATE POOL

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps25
Bedrooms 10
Bathrooms8
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

10 BR OCEANFRONT HOME WITH TIKI HUT AND PRIVATE POOL

Carova House Rental Photos and Description

10 bedrooms, 8 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 25

Accessible by 4x4 only. Come to Sweet Carolina and experience The Outer Banks like never before. Spend your long-awaited vacation in this private beach retreat where the luxury of The Hamptons meets the laid back attitude of OBX! Spend lazy days poolside or down on the beach catching sight of the wild horses and dolphins. Spend leisurely evenings watching the sun set over the sound to the west or the waves crash on the beach to the east. You can't go wrong! Your time here will leave you longing to return before you have even hit the paved road! Turn in at mile marker 16, approximately 3.0 miles up the beach.

The Ground Floor:: Access to gated tiki hut and lanai with full bath, foosball and stereo overlooking the private pool & hot tub. Private walkway to dune top gazebo and beach.

The First Floor:: Three MBRs (K, K, Q); two BRs (Q, 2BS); full bath; BR (Q) with semi-private full bath; rec room with pool table, wet bar with full refrigerator; laundry.

The Second Floor:: Two MBRs (K, K); two BRs (K, BS/Tr/ BS) with shared full bath; Great Room with gas fireplace & entertainment center; dining area; kitchen with 2 dishwashers & 2 refrigerators; half bath; access to decks with ocean views; screened porch.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps25
Bedrooms 10
Bathrooms8
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

10 BR Oceanfront Home with Tiki Hut and Private Pool
average rating of 3.0 based on 2 reviews
business
10 BR Oceanfront Home with Tiki Hut and Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229679
+1 800 489-4339
Carova Outer Banks
3

LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT....EXCEPT THE WATER!

  • 3 of 5
We actually stayed August 2012, and absolutely loved the place, the horses were amazing! The water however was another story. I would be interested to know if there have been any improvements made as I am planning this years trip and this house happens to be available for out week...
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi. We are actually in the process of installing a brand new water filtration system for the entire house right now. Should be done by end of March. We had a company telling us that it was "under control" for the past few years, but after a season of repeated renter complaints we brought in an outside engineer who evaluated our annual water usage and determined that the system that our builder initially installed was insufficient. Hence the new system. Please understand that it will still be beach well water, so will never be like mountain spring water, but we are counting on this fancy new system bringing it up to par!
Thank you.
business
10 BR Oceanfront Home with Tiki Hut and Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229679
+1 800 489-4339
Carova Outer Banks
Scranton, PA
3

JUST SO-SO

  • 3 of 5
We LOVE this house... but with that said, were very disappointed in some aspects of our stay here. We traveled with 10 adults and 4 children, and the layout of this house is PERFECT for us! The rooms are a great size, and the living/kitchen area is perfect! Unfortunately, there were a lot of drawbacks- the house was FILTHY when we arrived, including smashed bugs on walls/ceilings, dust everywhere, and disgusting bed covers/quilts. The next thing we noticed was the poorly filtered water- so poor that it was undrinkable and we didn't even consider cooking with it, so prepare to purchase LOTS of bottled water. The sediment in the water was so heavy, that the water runs brown, and all the toilets constantly look peed in, though it's just water. We couldn't do any laundry the entire week for fear of ruining our clothing (one of us ruined an entire load of whites before we realized how bad it was), and traveling with 4 children under 4, yeah, we need to do laundry. Next the outside decks were in terrible disrepair. The makeshift screen doors were literally falling apart and posed a safety hazard, as did the broken boards on railings/gazebo, and the nail-pops that the kids kept stripping over or scraping their feet on. The pool house was great, and we loved that the pool got sun from 8am-5pm, but the radio receiver in the pool house didn't work. The foosball table was disgustingly dirty and needed some serious lubrication to function properly. The wi-fi in the house didn't work at all during the week, which made working difficult for one member of our party who was planning to make this a working vacation. There were numerous other small issues, including only one freezer in the kitchen being functional, and if it were just the 'small stuff' I wouldn't have considered leaving such a negative review.
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: UGH!!! I am sooooo very sorry and disappointed to hear this! I have just sent a scathing email to the upper-ups at our management company. We live out of state, so cannot manage the property ourselves, and we pay them WAY too much money to have unhappy renters for any reason, but especially for cleanliness and disrepair!

The well water is always an issue, but we were reassured at the beginning of this season that they had found a suitable treatment system and all would be sunshine and roses from here forward.

I am very interested to see what kind of a response I get!...

Again, I am so very sorry for your issues. Did you happen to call Twiddy and complain? Hope so! I would appreciate you copying and sending your review directly to them as well, if you have the time.

I hope you at least saw wild horses and had good weather... :/

Map

Car: necessary

Only 23 miles north of the Wright Memorial Bridge, along the gorgeous beach of 4-Wheel-Drive Area, Sweet Carolina sits adjacent to a huge Wild Life Preserve and Wild Horse Refuge. Between the dolphins, horses, and birds, you will want your camera by your side at all times!

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Carova House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Jun 28 2014 - Aug 8 2014
7 night minimum stay
$12,595
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Aug 9 2014 - Aug 15 2014
7 night minimum stay
$11,595
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Aug 16 2014 - Aug 22 2014
7 night minimum stay
$10,495
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Aug 23 2014 - Aug 29 2014
7 night minimum stay
$7,995
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Aug 30 2014 - Sep 5 2014
7 night minimum stay
$5,995
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Sep 6 2014 - Sep 19 2014
7 night minimum stay
$5,495
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Sep 20 2014 - Oct 10 2014
7 night minimum stay
$4,995
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Oct 11 2014 - Nov 21 2014
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Nov 22 2014 - Dec 5 2014
7 night minimum stay
$4,995
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Dec 6 2014 - Dec 19 2014
7 night minimum stay
$3,995
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   
 
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 3 2015
7 night minimum stay
$4,995
 
Notes: Check-in/check-out at Sweet Carolina is on Saturday.   

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.25%

Notes

  • Rates are based on Saturday to Saturday occupancy.
  • Please note that Sweet Carolina rents Saturday-Saturday. For some reason, the website forces me to put Friday as the check out day. It is Saturday! :)
  • Linens and weekly cleaning are included.

Amenities

Carova House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Grill
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 25 people
Bathrooms:
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared bathroom.
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared bathroom.
    Bathroom 8 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 9 - toilet , shower , In Tiki Hut, by pool
Bedrooms:
  • 10 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Shared Full Bath.
    Bedroom 4 - 5 twin/ single , Bunk Beds with Trundle. Shared Full Bath.
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 8 - 1 queen , Shared Full Bath.
    Bedroom 9 - 4 twin/ single , Bunk Beds. Shared Full Bath.
    Bedroom 10 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Video Game Console
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Raft
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Gazebo
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • scenic drives
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • surf fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • surfing
Notes:
We offer unlimited local and long distance calling within the continental United States. We have DirecTV as well as a small DVD collection. WiFi is available for a small fee. We have a pool side tiki hut with foosball, a refrigerator, and a full bathroom. Free bagels!!!