NEW LISTING - VIEW OF NAUSET COVE, NEAR EVERYTHING ORLEANS HAS TO OFFER!

Mike McNamara

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Mike McNamara

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

NEW LISTING - VIEW OF NAUSET COVE, NEAR EVERYTHING ORLEANS HAS TO OFFER!

Orleans House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, nice big outdoor shower - sleeps 8

Nicely appointed 3 Bedroom 1 1/2 bath home on the Eastham/Orleans town line and only one lot off Nauset Cove. Private deeded path to the waterfront from this centrally located property. House is within walking distance from downtown Orleans where you will find many great restaurants and nice quaint shops. Walk to town in the morning for coffee and the paper and spend the rest of the day on the Nauset or Skaket Beach - surfing, fishing, sailing or just relax on the sundrenched deck. The lower level features a game room with a pool table, foosball table and a large TV. This home is located on a dead end street, yet is still convenient to all Orleans has to offer. Please call or email with any questions.

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
Mike McNamara (Owner)
Advertiser since 2006
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house was comfortable, clean and in a great location. It had everything we needed! We all had such a great time!!!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

New listing - view of Nauset Cove, near everything Orleans has to offer!
average rating of 2.5 based on 2 reviews
business
New listing - view of Nauset Cove, near everything Orleans has to offer!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229602
+1 2032497528
Orleans Cape Cod
Kirkland, WA
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5
We were seriously disappointed in the accommodations at the Castaway House. Some of our issues are likely attributed to our stay coming at the end of the season -- kitchen drawers messy, dirty and disorganized - chock full of random, left-behind items.
Other issues are more serious -- some actually having adverse health repercussions that required a change in our sleeping arrangements.

1) The towels provided were mismatched, tattered and badly worn.
2) The downstairs twin bedroom had 2+ inches of water on the floor. We reported it to the owner's representative who cleaned it up, but the problem persisted throughout our stay.
3) The pool room area (garage) was more like a storeroom -- yucky, dirty and unusable.
The basement dehumidifier was full when we arrived. We emptied it but it filled up several times during our visit.
5) The existence of mold downstairs was so bad it triggered allergic and asthmatic reactions from two of our guests who ended up having to sleep on the living room couches.
6) The screen door that leads out to the deck kept falling off the track, was not installed correctly and had duct tape over a bad tear in the screen. One of our guests installed the door correctly (right side UP).
7) When we arrived, the flusher handle in the 1/2 bath was falling off and the toilet would not flush. Again one of our guests had to get tools out to fix the problem or we would have only had one working toilet.
8) A notice arrived saying that "they" were going to turn the water off due to a returned bill.
9) Many of the lights were burned out. Note: None of them burnt out during our stay, so your cleaning service could and should have caught this.
WORST OF ALL:
I sent this review to the owner's rep TWICE, and got no reply. Hence the public posting.
We traveled 3000 miles for my daughter's wedding week (also rented the Cpt. Smith Compound). We expected better service.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi MacKenzie - I am so sorry you were disappointed in the accommodations at the Castaway House. I have terminated the companies that were responsible for the cleaning and maintenance of this property while I was living on the West Coast. I have since moved back to Cape Cod and bought out the other owner of this property. We have gone through the entire house and addressed all the concerns you listed. In addition, I have replace much of the furniture as well as the rugs and bedding. The pool room in the garage has been totally cleaned out and now only houses the pool table and the washer and dryer. The basement dehumidifier now has a pump to remove the water from the unit to the exterior of the house. We hired an engineer this spring to figure out why there was water in the basement during severe rainfalls. Based on the findings, we installed new drainage around the property and have not had anymore issues with this. The screen door has been replaced. New flusher handles have been installed in both the bathrooms. Again, I'm sorry for the experience you had, I reached out and left you a message to discuss. If you have a minute please give me a call @ 203-249-7528. Thank you - Mike
business
New listing - view of Nauset Cove, near everything Orleans has to offer!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p229602
+1 2032497528
Orleans Cape Cod
Cambridge, MA
4

Beautiful home and great location!

  • 4 of 5
This home was perfect for a weekend away at the Cape. The accommodations were clean and slept all of our guests comfortably. The property was beautiful and conveniently located near the water and down the street from some restaurants and shopping. The owner was also very responsive to all of our needs and provided excellent customer service. I only wish we were able to stay there longer!
  • Submitted: May 24, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: not necessary
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Orleans House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September
Aug 31 2014 - Sep 27 2014
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,900
 
 
October
Sep 29 2014 - Oct 25 2014
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Orleans House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Sleeping Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Books
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Foosball
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
Email Owner Contact Me