Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Read Our Stellar Guest Reviews and Then Email Me for a Quote.

Janet

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Janet

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Read Our Stellar Guest Reviews and Then Email Me for a Quote.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

We love it here at our condo at Kona Isle and think you will too. We are an oceanfront complex on Alii Dr. and have great views of the ocean, pool, palm trees and flowers from our unit. We are located in Building B, away from the street and on the quieter side of our small complex. In 2010 we remodeled the kitchen and opened it up to the living room. We replaced the countertops, added a ceiling fan and new cabinet hardware. Now there is a breakfast bar to eat at and the breeze can circulate so much better now. We also painted the living room, kitchen and hallway. We replaced the plastic white chairs on the lanai with teak ones. In 2011 we replaced the bathroom vanity top and faucet and added a new storage cabinet for toiletries. We also painted the bathroom and bedroom. In 2012 we painted the interior trim and doors, front door and lanai. We also bought a new large flat screen tv and a new a/c unit in November of 2014. All the flooring is either tile or Pergo wood--no spotted or dirty carpets! 2015 updates include a new futon cover and accent pillows.

We have lots of open green space and beautiful landscaping here at Kona Isle. Everything is situated on or near the beach. There are grills and picnic tables for enjoying meals and we provide picnic baskets and trays to take your food down. You can snooze or read in the shade under the palm trees or lounge in the chairs and get a tan in the Kona sun. Watch for the famous green flash that comes at the end of our beautiful sunsets. Our newly re-tiled pool is solar heated and the pool shower has been updated with new tile, too. Next door is a saltwater pool that is fun when the surf is high. Our lanai is a great place to read, play cards or just catch the ocean breeze. We spot whales and spinner dolphins from our lanai in the winter months.

You can walk to craft and farmer's markets from our condo or ride the Hele-On bus or Keauhou Shuttle into Kona town or Keauhou for more shopping. Snorkeling and deep sea fishing are spectacular here. Use our beach equipment, boogie board, towels and coolers for fun in the sun up and down the coast. And, of course, the volcano is a must see!

Hawaii is a fun, spiritual, beautiful island and our condo is located conveniently for you to see it all. When you make a reservation we can help you find the best deals on rental cars, the freshest produce, the most flavorful Kona coffee and beaches where you can spot turtles and not many tourists. Rest assured that you will have a clean, fun place here to call home while you explore the island. We replace the linens, towels and pillows frequently for your comfort and our housekeeper lives nearby if anything needs attention.

Thanks for viewing. We'll provide our annually updated guide to our favorite beaches, restaurants and fun spots to visit with every reservation. Give us a call or email us for more information. Janet and Fred

Keywords: condo, Kona, Hawaii, ocean, view, beach, sunsets, special, rates, clean, oceanview, beach, Kailua-Kona, condominium, remodeled, island, tropical, specials, kamaaina, new, sand, sun, surf, volcano, pool, ironman, iron man, coffee

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Janet (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Janet

Aloha. We have been coming to Hawaii for over 20 years and the moment we landed in Kona I felt like I was 'Home'. The island has that effect on people. Fred and I have been in the building/remodeling business and most recently worked as home inspectors for 12 years. We stay in our unit every year so we keep it in shape, updated and fresh.

Janet purchased this condo in 2000

Why Janet chose Kailua Kona

We stayed at many different condominium complexes while vacationing in Hawaii, but none of them are as welcoming, green and relaxing as Kona Isle. One of the nicest things about being here is that it is a small condo complex so there are always chairs available at the pool and beach. The condos and pool are arranged to view the ocean, not a parking lot or the street as some other complexes are. Our on-site condo manager, Brian, is very helpful and friendly and takes pride in making sure Kona Isle is a great place to stay. So, in 2000 we bought our unit and have been sharing it with family and friends ever since. Hawaii has so many unique features and places to enjoy that you will want to return again and again as we do.

What makes this condo unique

As owners and guests ourselves, we try to anticipate your needs, so we have spices in the cabinet for you, extra light bulbs, shampoos and soaps, kleenex, plenty of cooking utensils, etc. We simply ask you restock things if you use them up, and if you find anything is not up to your standards we ask you to call or email us and we will take care of it. We ask you to care for our condo in the spirit of Aloha and enjoy your stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to say we had a great time in Kona last week. Thanks for renting your condo to us. It was especially nice to have beach supplies to use. We really appreciated those. My daughter loved the pool and is a big fan of the ocean! (her first time in the ocean). Mahalo, Jennie.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 35 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Read Our Stellar Guest Reviews and Then Email Me for a Quote.
average rating of 4.885714 based on 37 reviews
5

Great Stay!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in this condo. The location is great! It is very close to downtown Kailua-Kona which is convenient, yet far enough away to avoid the noise of the night life! This was our first trip to The Big Island so the lists of shopping, dining and what to see was very helpful and appreciated! The condo grounds were very well kept and right on the ocean. There was a picnic table and bbq area so we were able to enjoy a nice bbq dinner while watching the sunset. Make sure you check out the saltwater pool near the condo because we were able to see some really neat fish that were swept in with the waves. I highly recommend this condo! We will definitely be returning!

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you all had a wonderful time and that you found our guides helpful. We recommend places and restaurants that we enjoy and maybe that saves you a little time and trouble when deciding where to go, especially if this is a first visit. We'll welcome you back anytime. Mahalo and Aloha.
4

Great pool - outstanding sunset

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at this condo in Kona Isle! Our 7-months old loved the pool, and we loved the oceanfront BBQ area. There is a 25 minute walk to the town centre (as well as the closest sand beach - opposite direction) so we enjoyed not having a car the first couple of days (you need however a car to get around - public transport is almost non-existing). The condo is suitable for two to three persons, and was well equipped with everything you need to live there. Great weather on this part of the island on this time of the year. Happy not to chose anywhere else, as rainfalls and clouds seem to be more present in other parts of the island.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for travelling so far and staying with us. We love having international guests and realize this may be a once in a lifetime visit, so we are glad the condo met your needs and that your little one enjoyed the pool and beach. You are right, a car is necessary to see most of the island, but if you want to walk a bit, then Kona town is a short walk north of our condo. Mahalo.
5

Great place to Stay with everything you need

  • 5 of 5

We stay here and completely enjoyed our stay. The condo was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The extra touches such as list of place to eat, places to go, and places to shop, a closet of stuff to use, such as beach chairs, ice chests, towels. There was nothing we needed to go out and buy and then throw away and leave. We were not sure if we were going to make it due to the Hurricane and contact Janet, she was willing to work with us and it made it for a little less stressful. We are so glad we made it to the Big Island and are looking forward to returning. Thanks for great memories

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad the hurricane did not impact your stay. It was touch and go for a while, though! Glad you found the condo clean and well-stocked. The "fun guides" we provide with shopping, restaurant and special places to go tips are very useful and guests do seem to use and enjoy them. Come back anytime. Mahalo and Aloha.
5

Kona Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, quiet and comfortable 1BR/1BA top floor unit with a futon sofa bed. Situated along Ali'i Drive, close to downtown Kailua-Kona area where there are many shops and restaurants. The kitchen was well stocked with all of the items we needed for preparing our own meals in the unit. Ceiling fans in all rooms and a new AC unit were more than sufficient to keep the unit nice and cool. This unit is on the top (3rd) floor ... and there is no elevator (that I was aware of anyway). The stairs were nice and wide and easy to climb - no concern for us Ironman triathletes! We had a wonderful stay and will look to book this unit again in the future.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad your Kona experience was a good one and please do come back again. We did install a new ac recently and we are glad it kept things cool. Thanks for your review. Mahalo and Aloha.
Austin, TX
5

Wonderful condo with everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying in this condo. The view was beautiful, and everything in the condo was very clean.

The owner Janet has stocked this condo with EVERYTHING that you might need to enjoy your stay. We only had to buy a few food items at the store--she provided laundry detergent, foil, cutting boards, paper towels, toilet paper, sunblock ... even Band Aids! She also had reusable grocery store bags in the closet as the Big Island has banned plastic bags. We ended up using our produce plastic bags to use as garbage bags. (We were also glad we brought some plastic bags in our luggage to use for wet swimsuits and dirty laundry.)

Kona was very humid the week we stayed there, and we very much appreciated the AC in the condo. Thanks again for a great stay, Janet!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review and the mention that the condo was stocked with just about everything. We do try to keep it that way so you don't have to spend your vacation money on boring stuff like laundry soap and aluminum foil! So glad you had a great time. Come visit again.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
5

Great Home Base

  • 5 of 5

Rental condo unit was very clean and comfortable. It made a great home base during our 10 day stay on the Big Island. Condo was complex was quiet and very well maintained. I enjoyed reading and having breakfast out on the lanai while listening to the ocean waves hit the shore. Not to far from downtown Kona which was very convenient. We managed to see the entire island during our 10 day stay and Janet's condo was well situated to be our home base. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the island. The highlight being a helicopter ride to see the active volcano.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time and found the condo conveniently located for your explorations of the island. I agree that it takes 10-11 days to really see the island and allow for some relaxing and reading. Kona Isle is well maintained and I love all the green space and flowers and homey feel. It is not one of those big concrete structures with a huge parking lot surrounding it. It is a little gem and we are so glad you could visit and enjoy it. Please come back. Thanks, Janet and Fred

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Don's Mai Tai
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Too many to list
Nearest Beach
On-site
Car: recommended

Volcano watching, Scuba diving, Manta ray viewing, Whale watching, Snuba, Coffee farm tours and tastings, On-site book lending library, Saltwater pool next door that is fun if the waves are high, ziplines, royal palace tours, historical museums, pickleball and tennis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $105 Per night

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 2014/2015
Nov 16 2014 - Apr 15 2015
5 night minimum stay
$115
$780
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Ironman 2015
Oct 1 2015 - Oct 16 2015
7 night minimum stay
$125
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$105
$700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.41%
Notes Hawaii tax id is W00999684-01
Third or fourth guests incur an additional charge of $10 per person per day.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1) Very comfortable with new comforter, shams and sheets., Futons (1) Very comfortable futon sleeps 2. Guests have commented on how great they sleep on it.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach chairs, coolers, tatami mats, beach/pool towels, snorkel equipment, adult boogie board, guide books, cookbooks. We leave extra shampoo, soaps, spices, a hairdryer and sunscreen for guest use. Just look in the cabinets if you need something!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$665 - $770 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$665 - $775 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$665 - $770 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote