Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Asian-Inspired With A Tropical Flai

Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals

Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Contact the Manager

Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals

Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 2 days
Calendar last updated:
May 3, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Asian-Inspired With A Tropical Flai

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description

Maluhia Hale is a beautiful 2-story light, bright, open-air home with a wraparound lanai. Located on a very private, landscaped acre, it offers a quiet refuge...

Maluhia Hale is a beautiful 2-story light, bright, open-air home with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, and a wraparound lanai. Located on a very private, landscaped acre, it offers a quiet refuge from busy neighborhoods, hotels, and condo complexes. In Hawaiian, Maluhia is "peaceful" and Hale is "house," and that is just what the owners have achieved for their guests. Decorator touches are evident in every room, all with an Asian influence blended with a relaxed island style.

The upstairs has windows everywhere looking out to the wraparound lanai, which has teak dining and lounge chairs. Inside, the living and dining areas offer lots of seating for entertaining or watching the large flat-screen TV. A desk in an alcove off the kitchen provides space for your laptop and high-speed Internet access. The owners have great taste in everything, including all the kitchen utensils, cookware, and gorgeous place settings.

Enjoy the short preview on YouTube.

The master bedroom and bath are also upstairs, with a king tatami bed, luxurious linens, lots of windows, and a private door to the lanai. The two guest rooms downstairs are on opposite sides of the house, giving everyone their own "wing" and maximum privacy. Both downstairs rooms have private baths and TVs. One bedroom has a queen bed, the other twins. Both have views out to the landscaped property.

Snorkeling and swimming and the charming little town of Pahoa are nearby. Dine at one of Pahoa's popular restaurants or browse through some of its eclectic shops, relax in the famous thermally heated hot pond, snorkel in protected reefs, or see recent lava flows from the Kilauea Volcano at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is less than an hour away. Maluhia Hale makes a great place to hang your hat if you are working here on temporary assignment or building a new home in the area. It is close to Highway 130 which takes you on a short 20-minute drive right into Hilo.

W77707300-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Aloha Coast Realty, LLC/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 2 days
Calendar last updated:
May 3, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 39 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Asian-Inspired With A Tropical Flai
average rating of 4.717949 based on 39 reviews
Watsonville, CA
1

Unresponsive, incompetent rental agency

  • 1 of 5

The house itself is very nice and private. The owners should change agencies as Hawaii Holiday Vacation rentals is unresponsive to urgent needs, doesn't know anything about the house systems and is not taking care of problems. The WiFi system didn't work, which I specifically ask about before renting. According to the Belkin Co, the equipment is so outdated they don't support it anymore. The security alarm system was malfunctioning (It was beeping loudly every couple of minutes). There were no instructions and the agency knew nothing about it..two different people promised they would send someone out, but no one ever came, and the agency didn't bother to check back with me. The kitchen island is being eaten by termites. I would never rent another property managed by this agency.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're terribly sorry that these problems ganged up and hit you during your stay. The alarm system has been an ongoing problem and we've been at the mercy of the alarm company. Since you were there, they have finally acknowledged the problem, sent someone and replaced large parts of the security system. We thought we told you that we were trying to get the alarm company to come deal with their system. Apparently, we didn't make that clear. We are very sorry. The Internet is a great mystery. We NEVER install or use Belkin equiipment so we are trying to figure out how that got there. It clearly was not installed by us, but that would explain why we were having problems troubleshooting it. We had not heard about the termites in the kitchen but we will get that addressed immediately. Again, we are very sorry this happened. Obviously this is not our normal standard of care and we apologize for what happened to you.
5

Beautiful & Clean

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This past April was the second time we stayed at your home and we enjoyed it just as much. It was very clean and the property and house were beautiful. We plan to reserve it for next year also.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
San Francisco, CA
5

Lovely home

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was more than happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We rented this house for 5 nights while we explored the big island. The house is lovely, airy and beautiful. The kitchen is nicely appointed - we cooked several of our dinners there and then enjoyed eating them on the large lanai, listening to the sounds of the birds and frogs. Perfect!

The bed was comfortable and was fitted with very nice sheets - that's something I always appreciate.

I'd happily stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Yabata, Kanagawa-Pref
5

Can relax place

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house located area air is very clear and good tast.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Yabata, Kanagawa-Pref
5

Both

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was very clean.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I want both tab.

And need both room door .

Window bug net is not fix the window.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
5

PEACEFUL ELEGANCE

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We loved our stay at Maluhia Hale. It was a joy to experience this beautiful property. It truly fits its name - house of peace - and we were definitely surrounded by peace during our stay. Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Pahoa
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $115 Per night

Keaau House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Season
Apr 16 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$115
$805
$2,760
 
 
Summer Season
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$125
From
$125
$825
$3,100
 
 
September Season
Sep 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$115
$765
$2,925
 
 
Fall Season
Oct 1 2015 - Dec 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$115
$765
$2,925
 
 
Holiday
Dec 16 2015 - Jan 5 2016
5 night minimum stay
$199
From
$199
$1,393
$5,572
 
 
Winter
Jan 6 2016 - Mar 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$165
From
$165
$1,100
$3,599
 
 
Merrie Monarch
Mar 27 2016 - Apr 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$115
$805
$2,760
 
 
Spring Season
Apr 6 2016 - May 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$115
$805
$2,760
 

Notes

  • Rates are based on a party of 2; additional guests are are $15 each per night plus tax.
    There is a cleaning fee of $125 - $150, depending upon group size.
    All reservations require a non-refundable $35 damage waiver and Hawaii taxes of 13.416%

    We accept major credit cards for payment.
    We require a 25% deposit to confirm, with the balance due 90 days before arrival.
    Reservations arriving within 90 days are due in full at the time of booking.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Keaau House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
  • Lower: laundry, 1 Queen bedroom plus bath, 1 Twin bedroom with 2 beds. Both have baths with walk-in shower. (Each with 3 steps down into shower). Upstairs: open kitchen-living-dining & master bedroom with King bed, plus a full bath with walk-in shower
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Distant Views of Ocean and Mauna Kea on Clear Days, Beautiful Sunrises, Very Private on 1 Acre of Tropical Landscaping.

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote