THE WHALE HOUSE - ELEGANT CHARM IN DAUPHIN ISLAND VILLAGE

Robert

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number

Robert

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE WHALE HOUSE - ELEGANT CHARM IN DAUPHIN ISLAND VILLAGE

Dauphin Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

Experience Dauphin Island the way it’s been experienced for a century. This updated 2 bedroom, 1 bath shotgun built in 1916 is in the center of Dauphin Island Village, less than a block from biking trails and a short walk to the Indian Mound, Goat Tree and Green Parks. Sleeps 6: king, double & sofa pull out. Comes with reserved boat slip on Indian Bay.

A Central Location: The Whale House is really in the center of 'town'. I use quotation marks because there are only about 1,100 full-time residents and the entire Island is only 14 miles long. You're able to walk to most activities and bicycle riding gets you to the places that walking doesn't. Three of the island's 4 restaurants are within walking distance...not including the Bakery, behind the cottage. The beaches are accessible via bicycle, short car ride, or the town's public transportation (two minivans).

Things We Love About the Island: There is a large bird sanctuary that provides excellent walking paths - you'll see beach, forest and swamp on the walk. We love to go there. There is also a small forested bird watching area that we like to walk through as well (an old Indian mound). The Estuarium is great. They often have fun classes as well as a great tour through their fish/sea life exhibits.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Robert

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 45 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
average rating of 4.688889 based on 45 reviews
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Lees Summit, MO
5

EXECELLENT

  • 5 of 5
My stay at the Whale House was wonderful. The house is very charming, clean, and well stocked. I loved it that I could walk to the bakery and S&S. The house is located in a very nice neighborhood. I enjoyed taking evening walks around the neighborhood and sitting on the porch listening to the quite. I highly recommend this rental.
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you as our guests.

Best,

Teecie and Robert
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Starkville, Ms
5

SO PEACEFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5
We got to the Whale House late on Thursday night, so we were actually too tired to appreciate it. Friday morning we were amazed at how cozy and clean this cottage was. We were able to meet the owners and they are precious people who extended a warm welcome to us. We have already booked another stay in August and are looking so forward to going back! We would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery of Dauphin Island!!
  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kim,

Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to have you back in August!

Best,

Teecie and Robert
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
1

EXTREMELY DISGUSTED!!

  • 1 of 5
My daughter has severe allergies and the owners assured me that they would thoroughly clean before our arrival. When we arrived the home was terribly dirty, FILTHY. There were bugs onthe floor, in the fridge and on the counter tops. Mold in the hamper. A thick layer of dust covering every wall, closet, vent, and cieling fan. The microwave, toaster and garbage can looked like it had not been cleaned or wiped down in months. The window units were filthy even though the owner promised that they had just replaced the vents. The sheets appeared to be recently washed but had a little bit of dirt and possibly crumbs here and there as if whomever was making the bed had on dirty clothes or shoes. A 2 inch layer of dust, sand and garbage was found under one of the beds when i went looking for my baby's dropped pacifier. With the way the rest of the house appeared i didnt want to take any chances and decided to wash the sheets. We discovered a nice big urine stain on the mattress pad underneath.Up until that point i was trying to clean everything myself and make it work but the urine stain was too much. I texted the owners as politely as i could, given how upset i was. We arrived late with 2 small children and had nowhere else to go. Robert called me within minutes and apologized at first for my disappointment. He even offered to pay for us to rent a motel. I of course wasnt expecting the offer and declined. He then proceeded to yell at me, talk over me and degrade me. He called me an unappreciative, ungrateful, emotional woman with too high of expectations. He challenged me to find a cleaner condo. He screamed at me for breaking the rules by washing the sheets. And then finally pretty muched kicked us out. I was very disappointed and upset. I was completely shocked by his unprofessional behavior. His wife had been so polite and seemingly accommodating in the weeks before our arrival. I took many photos to share with family/friends. Everyone was shocked and disgusted. My aunt planned on booking here but has quickly changed her mind. I would be happy to share my photos with anyone interested in staying here. Then you can decide for yourself. Im sure the owners will be unhappy with this review and i expect a nasty response. I just feel people should be more informed before making the terrible mistake of trusting these owners and booking here.
  • Submitted: May 19, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jenny,

I am also deeply disappointed over the bad experience you had and the way the conversation with my husband ended up going. My sincere apologies for this. He should always maintain a professional manner no matter how rude the guest. Given the preparations we made, we were very surprised at your description of the cottage as being filthy - and this is probably what precipitated his response. When you first reserved The Whale House, we didn't know of your daughter's extreme allergies; the fact that we were occasionally accepting pets was a cause for concern. We did thoroughly clean the cottage - in fact, spent two days on it. We removed and replaced the blinds, removed all curtains, and removed the living room rug, I personally cleaned all of the air conditioning filters (4 window units) and the refrigerator. There were no bugs when I left it nor when I returned to the cottage after you left. You indicated in your emails to me before your arrival that you were planning to bring your own mattress cover and planned to cover the sofas with plastic, clean the walls and bring an air purifier with you. The mattress cover was stained, but clean. We have since replaced it. The sheets were freshly laundered; there were no crumbs that I could find. Following your feedback, we brought in ServePro and paid for a deep cleaning from ceiling to baseboards, replaced the kitchen trash can, replaced the laundry hamper, bought all new pots and pans, and again tried to do everything we could do to make our cottage a great place to stay. Another couple rented it after you left. They absolutely loved it and found it to be very clean and totally acceptable. Again, my apologies for your terrible experience.
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
4

WE LOVED THE WHALE HOUSE AND DAUPHIN ISLAND

  • 4 of 5
We rented the Whale House from a 7-day stay in April. The house was perfect and just as described. We very much appreciated the small extras in the house, such as the staples in the kitchen and the internet. We quite liked being in the center of the village and being able to walk everywhere including to the Ship and Shore and the wonderful bakery, both just a few minute walk out the back of the house. We had a great evening of steamed shrimp from Skinners. Even the moat around the house created by the extensive rain before our arrival was OK; we enjoyed the pair of ducks who adopted the small lake as well as the cattle egrets that visited. We particularly enjoyed the loan of the 2 bikes and pedaled the length of the island. (Although the head wind on our way back from the west end of the island was not a lot of fun!)

We also loved the slow pace of the island. Visited the Estuarium, Indian Mound Park and the Audubon Bird Sanctuary. Since it was the peak bird migration period there were lots of birders about. We also took a day to go around Mobile Bay to Fairhope, a quaint town worth a visit.

Thank you Robert and Teecie for a very enjoyable stay. I hope we will be able to return soon.
  • Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review and your enjoyment of the Island. You took advantage of the nicest things about the Island - bicycling, the Estuarium, the Bird Sanctuary and especially, the slow pace of the Island. Thanks again for staying with us.

Teecie and Robert
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Northern Arkansas
5

THE WHALE HOUSE IS COZY AND FUN!

  • 5 of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Whale House. The neighborhood is an older one, and the house is an older home, but has been completely renovated, and is decorated very tastefully. The owners seemed professional but also very friendly, and were accessible, since they live on the island. If you are wanting privacy within the house (separate families renting together, etc), this may not be the one for you, since it is a shotgun style house, where you have to pass through individual bedrooms to get to the kitchen and/or bathroom. It worked great for us, though, since it was just the two of us. The bedrooms are good sized and the kitchen is large and has most everything you will need if you decide to cook. They even have two bikes for you to use to get around the island if you don't want to drive. It is in town, so it is nearby to restaurants and other points of interest, like the Shell Mound Park, local churches, and the local convenience stores. We had never been to Dauphin Island before, but we were pleasantly surprised with the sleepy town feel and the quiet beaches where you can stretch out and enjoy the waves. If you are considering staying on the island, definitely check out the Whale House. Cozy house in town at a great price for being near the beach! Thanks Teecie and Robert!
  • Submitted: May 12, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your helpful comments and your nice compliments. You have captured the essence of the Island in your review.

Best,

Teecie and Robert
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

THE WHALE HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
We haven't left the WHALE HOUSE YET,AND ALREADY BOOKED FOR SEPT.AGAIN..THE HOUSE WAS NICELY FURNISHED AND CLEAN,I RECOMMENT ANYONE TO STAY HERE,VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE,I READ SOME REVIEWS BEFORE WE STAYED,I READ ONE REMARK ABOUT THE HOUSE BEING DIRTY,SO NOT SO,THE WOMAN WHO WROTE IT MUST OF BEEN ON CRACK....
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: :-) Thank you so much for your helpful review. We look forward to having you back. As you know, we are pleased to give our returning guests a 10% discount on rental fees. Thanks again!

Teecie and Robert
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Mobile, AL
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Billy Goat Hole
Nearest Motorway
28 Miles
I-10
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Dauphin Island Public Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
The Pelican Pub
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Kiva Dunes, Gulf Shores, AL
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
BJ's
Car: necessary

Dauphin Island is a barrier island located three miles south of the mouth of Mobile Bay in the Gulf of Mexico. Entry to the island is made by crossing a three mile long, high rise bridge. An automobile ferry from the eastern shore provides another entry point from Gulf Shores, AL. The island is approximately 14 miles long and 1 ¾ miles wide at the widest point. It is estimated that 1300 permanent residents call Dauphin Island home. The number of residents soars during vacation and holiday times. The entire Island has been designated as a bird sanctuary. Many attractions are located on the east end of the island including a Civil War fort, the Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Estuarium, Audubon Bird Sanctuary and numerous boat launch sites. The Island's beautiful beaches of sugar white sand, public golf course and parks are added attractions located on the west end of the island. Together they make Dauphin Island a wonderful laid-back resort destination.

Other Activities: Biking, kayaking, shelling, wildlife viewing, boating

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Dauphin Island Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 1 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$95
$625
 
 
Winter
Dec 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
3 night minimum stay
$85
$550
$1,950
 
 
Spring
Mar 1 2015 - May 23 2015
3 night minimum stay
$95
$625
 
 
Summer
May 24 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$98
$650
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$80
$525
$1,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80.00
Total Rental Charge Due at Check In. A deposit of $75 is required to confirm a reservation and also serves as a damage deposit. It is refunded within 7 days of a clean check out.
Tax Rate 11.0%
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Dauphin Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Heating
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
Kitchen:
  • Stove ...
  • Oven
  • Kitchen ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Pantry Items
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Completely updated; vessel sink
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Convertible Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Luxurious linens and plenty of pillows
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Boat Dock
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • water tubing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
Notes:
Reservation includes a boat slip on Indian Bay.
Email Owner Email