FAMILY FRIENDLY - MONARCH FOUR SEASONS CHALET

Caroline Mann

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FAMILY FRIENDLY - MONARCH FOUR SEASONS CHALET

Monarch House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Monarch Four Seasons Chalet is the get-away for our family of 5 from Texas! We love the historic mining town of Garfield, CO (also known as Monarch) and we love the year around activities of the San Isabel National Forest that surrounds it. Monarch Mountain Ski Area is only 3 miles away but in addition to skiing, the winter offers snowmobiling and snowshoeing. Summers are filled with mountain biking the Monarch Crest Trail (rated one of the top ten mountain bike trails in the nation), hiking to pristine mountain lakes right from our front door, whitewater rafting in the Arkansas River, panning for gold or rock-hounding at nearby sites. Walk to the Monarch Mountain Lodge for a great meal or a soak in the hot tub ($4/day).

Sleeping arrangements include Queen size beds in the two bedrooms, a 3rd level loft with two Queen beds in separate areas, and two bathrooms. The sofa bed in living area is also a Queen. All linens and towels are provided. Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, Direct TV, wireless internet, DVD/VCR player, telephone with free long distance, a large deck with log chairs, washer and dryer, and family style games for your enjoyment. There is no outdoor grill. Cell service is spotty - long distance calls are free.

Rates are based on 8 people. Add $25/nt per person over 8 people - 10 max. Two night minimum stay except holidays and spring break when there is a 4 night minimum. Local sales and lodging taxes will be added. Rental agreements must be signed and returned by email or mail at time of reservation.

Cancellation Policy A reservation may be cancelled more than 30 days prior to check-in but may be subject to a $75 cancellation fee. Sorry, no refunds will be given for reservations cancelled less than 30 days prior to check-in unless the unit can be re-rented for the same dates, or, in some cases at manager's discretion, you move your reservation to another date.

Key words: Monarch, skiing, chalet, cabin, family, kids, whitewater rafting, mountain climbing, hiking, mountains, Garfield, mining towns, bicycling, mountain biking, horseback riding.

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
Thank you for sharing your cabin. We had a wonderful time. "The best Christmas ever." Looking forward to staying again. We love this place. God bless your family!
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 12

Caroline Mann

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Our family is very active year-round in Texas, but we love spending ski vacations, and summers in Monarch! There is so much to do and we keep finding out more!

Caroline Mann purchased this house in 2008

We bought in Monarch for the ease of getting to Monarch Ski Resort but we quickly discovered all the wonderful activities during the summer as well.

Cooking all our own meals at the house makes traveling with kids so much simpler. We just stop at the grocery store on our way, then just sit back and enjoy the fun!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Family Friendly - Monarch Four Seasons Chalet
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Family Friendly - Monarch Four Seasons Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226454vb
+ 832-482-7146 (Texas, USA)
Monarch South Central Colorado
5

Great Place To Stay for Skiing at Monarch

  • 5 of 5
The cabin is surrounded by mountains, quiet little town, minutes to Monarch. Had a great time with friends and hoping to return.
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Family Friendly - Monarch Four Seasons Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226454vb
+ 832-482-7146 (Texas, USA)
Monarch South Central Colorado
4

Great stay

  • 4 of 5
The location was great - it is about 4 miles from Monarch, it is as close as you can stay to the mountain. We got snowed in and there is no place to get any food locally (other than Monarch Resort Cafeteria/Restaurant) so you may want to bring up some extra food just in case you get lucky enough to get snowed in too. This house was great for our group - we had 5 adults and there was plenty of space. It's always interesting to reserve a place on VRBO but each of the 5 of us walked in to the house and said, "oh this will be great." The house was clean and comfortable but not extravagant. The house had wifi and TV. There is very little cell service - Verizon and AT&T could barely get texts but there was a working landline to make calls out from and the wifi helped too. We were very happy with our stay.
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Family Friendly - Monarch Four Seasons Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226454vb
+ 832-482-7146 (Texas, USA)
Monarch South Central Colorado
5

Great getaway cabin

  • 5 of 5
My family has stayed at the 4 Seasons Chalet Cabin twice now-once right after I returned from Afghanistan and once just before I headed back there for a deployment. The cabin is simply in the best location possible for skiing at Monarch--you just can't beat being 5 miles from the slopes since most Monarch lodging is as much as 35 minutes away from the mountain. The cabin has been very clean, well cared for and well stocked. We never found ourselves wanting for any extra kitchen supplies or linens. Having a humidifier in every room is a nice touch as well as other small extras like adjustable heat in every room. We have stayed at other cabins in Garfield/Monarch and this is the only one that provides free internet (WIFI) and long distance service...The long distance is especially nice since cell phone service in the town is hardly available at all. My only gripe is that I haven't visited in the summer--I would really love to sit on the balcony in the morning to drink my coffee! Also, if you are thinking of sharing this cabin with multiple families-this is totally doable. I've visited the cabin with my parents once and with a married couple once, and have never felt cramped when adding those folks to my family of 5. If the snow has been falling recently, be prepared for a bit of a challenge getting in and out of the town in a non-4WD vehicle--I'd make sure to have chains. We've been able to swing it in our Dodge Caravan before without chains but it was a little dicey.
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Family Friendly - Monarch Four Seasons Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226454vb
+ 832-482-7146 (Texas, USA)
Monarch South Central Colorado
4

Great house close to Monarch ski resort!

  • 4 of 5
We went skiing in Monarch for a few days and the Monarch Four Seasons Chalet was great for our group (two families with boys from 10-16). The location can't be beat, especially after a long day at the slopes! Check-in was a breeze! We recommend stopping to get groceries before arriving in Monarch. The house is well stocked with everything you need (towels, pots and pans, a few spices, dishes/flatware, appliances, etc.) and the table was big enough to fit all of us. We had a water problem in the neighborhood and we were thankful it was fixed by the time we got back from our second day of skiing. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the phone didn't work and with no cell service (and wifi that went in and out), we were only able to reach Caroline when my husband went into town to get groceries. We were trying to meet up with some other relatives staying in Salida--we were able to send an email, but it would have been easier just to make a quick call. Caroline was very responsive though, from the booking to working on the water issue. We would recommend staying here and we would definitely stay here again.
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for this great review. I'm happy to say that after you checked out, we were able to determine that the actual phone was the problem and not the lines. The phone has now been replaced and everything is working great.
If you return, mention this review and I'll give you a 10% discount.
Caroline Mann
business
Family Friendly - Monarch Four Seasons Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226454vb
+ 832-482-7146 (Texas, USA)
Monarch South Central Colorado
Lumberton, Texas United States
5

LOVED IT!!!

  • 5 of 5
We went for a family vacation of 15 people. We had 6 stay in this cabin and had a GREAT time. It was very clean. The rest of our crew stayed over at the Old Timer across the street. Our cabin was perfect for us. You could probably have 8 people stay comfortably in this cabin. Very close to the slopes and snow mobile rides. We would definitely stay here again.
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Family Friendly - Monarch Four Seasons Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226454vb
+ 832-482-7146 (Texas, USA)
Monarch South Central Colorado
Dallas
5

Family Skiing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed the Monarch Four Season Chalet. It was very clean and comfortable for 6 adults and 2 children. Location is excellent for skiing! This house was was very well stocked with everything we needed for our stay. Owners were nice to work with.
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
123 Miles
Colorado Springs International Airport
Nearest Motorway
Highway 50
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Salida
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Monarch Ski Resort
Nearest Golf
19 Miles
Salida Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Salida
Car: necessary

Skiing is only one activity in the area. Summers are a constant buzz of activity including horseback riding, whitewater rafting, hiking, mountain climbing, rock hounding, relaxing in a hot springs, bicycle riding, mountain bike riding and strolling the quiet streets of Salida to view local artists and eat local meals.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Monarch House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas Holidays
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 4 2015
4 night minimum stay
$240
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$240
$1,440
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 6.8%
Notes Rates are subject to approval.
For stays less than 3 nights, there is a cleaning fee of $100 added to the total amount.
Rates are based on 8 persons: Additional occupancy rate of $25/person, up to 10 occupants.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Monarch House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Budget
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Living Room ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , This bathroom is small with a deep clawfoot tub.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large bathroom on second floor.
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Opens up to a large deck with mountain views
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 2 queen , This is a CLOSED loft on the top floor.
    Living area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size pull out sofa in living room.
  • The closed loft on the third floor is great for the kids to sleep while the adults continue to entertain on the first floor. Little noise transfer.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • mountain climbing
  • hiking
  • fly fishing
  • whitewater rafting
  • rafting
  • hunting
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • cycling
  • fishing
Email Owner Contact Me