Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LAKE-VIEW, UPSCALE, BETWEEN LEX & PORT HURON; COMFY & ROMANTIC YEAR-ROUND

Sandy White

Advertiser since 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, french, italian
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Sandy White

Advertiser since 2009
Speaks english, french, italian
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LAKE-VIEW, UPSCALE, BETWEEN LEX & PORT HURON; COMFY & ROMANTIC YEAR-ROUND

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

Overview

Lakeport Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Sandy Cottage is a great spot when the weather turns cooler because it's a well-insulated, light-filled, year-round home. And then there's the cozy fireplace....

AS YOU COMPARE COTTAGE RENTALS, make sure to find out: Is it set up exclusively to meet your needs, or will you find locked closets and drawers containing the owners' stuff?

Sandy Cottage, located two-tenths mile north of Lakeport State Park, was designed and is furnished and cleaned with only you in mind. And there's nothing rustic about it. It is a year-round, full-time vacation and short-term rental.

You can book securely online using the reservation system available on the website for our adjacent lakefront bed and breakfast. (Sorry for the inconvenience, but I am not allowed to name the website or B&B here. There is a link below.)

The owners furnish Sandy Cottage with the same amenities as their Adventure Inn Bed and Breakfast next door, right down to the luxury linens, Aveda shampoo and locally handmade soaps.

Guests often remark on the attention to details in this cottage. Check out the Adventure Inn Bed and Breakfast reviews on TripAdvisor; a few of them are actually about Sandy Cottage.

The view? See Lake Huron from the living room, kitchen and master bedroom.

The beach? Sandy Cottage is Just 110 feet from a private Lake Huron beach.

What's the beach like? It's low -- no bluff, no stairs. The beach is broad, with lots of sand. Although water shoes are suggested for wading in across little stones along the shoreline, there's a close-in sandbar on which you can walk for a mile in knee- or chest-deep water.

Sandy Cottage offers a deluxe getaway for two, a comfortable retreat for four, and it's family-friendly for up to six, the max. In peak season, the rental week is Monday noon through Sunday night. Short stays may be available on a last-minute basis. The rest of the year, a two-night minimum applies, and a longer stay may start and end on your timetable.

The comforts of a year-round home are yours in 1,500-s.f. Sandy Cottage. It’s up-to-date, clean and fresh. Located at the lake end of a one-lane drive. No road noise.

Second-floor suite, 400 s.f., has a queen bed, reading alcove, cathedral ceiling, skylights, romantic lighting, attached bathroom (double sinks, tub-shower combo) and dressing room/closet.

In a cozy nook on the first floor, you have a daybed with an adult mattress, a twin bed and, for a fifth person, the option to use the trundle bed instead of a queen sofa bed located in the living room.

The sofa bed, with an adjustable air mattress, provides sleeping space for persons five and six. When the sofa bed is open, it takes most of the width of the living room space between the fireplace and the east windows. That's why we say a six-person stay is 'family-friendly.'

Prepare meals in the fully equipped, up-to-date kitchen and on the propane grill outdoors. Dine overlooking an intimate, fenced yard.

Payment options include Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, personal U.S. checks and equivalent Canadian dollars. Our secure online booking system is fully CPI-compliant -- meaning it can be trusted with your card information.

We've never had any guest have to cancel at the last minute and experience the sting of losing their investment, and we don't want you to be the first. Trip cancellation insurance is worth considering. Before you buy, closely examine how the policy defines the covered reasons for canceling.

We have a liberal concept of what constitutes a 'two-night stay.'' We invite you to arrive as early as 1 p.m. on the day of arrival (and sometimes earlier during less-busy times of year), and on the day of departure, there's no set check-out time. Linger as long as you wish.

When a six-night minimum is in effect, guests may prearrange to stay on the Sunday night of departure at no charge if they are able to vacate the cottage by 8 a.m., in advance of the cleaning crew.

Arriving by air? If you wish to cut down on the amount of checked baggage, we offer to assist with shipped parcels.

Planning a honeymoon or other romantic getaway? Let us help you arrange flower delivery, spa appointments, personal chefs or other surprises.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sandy White (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, french, italian

About Sandy White

To us, this wonderful slice of Lake Huron shoreline seems under-appreciated by many people. With a stay at Sandy Cottage, guests from all over the world can experience the beauty and laid-back charm of Michigan's Thumb.

In addition to operating Adventure Inn Bed and Breakfast on lakefront property adjacent to Sandy Cottage, Sandy is a writer-editor. Nicholas, a former president of Lionel Trains, serves the St. Clair County community as a trustee of St. Clair County Community College and a director of Studio 1219.

-- Nicholas & Sandy

Sandy White purchased this cottage in 1991

Why Sandy White chose Lakeport

Buying this place was a defensive move, frankly. We were pouring a lot of money into our home on the adjacent property, and this cottage was a dump, a drag on the neighborhood, a real ugly duckling.

It was 'Hometime' meets 'Tool Time.'

Sandy saw the design potential. Nicholas saw the potential of acquiring a lot of great tools.

We gutted it, over-improved it, fell in love with it, and though we decided not to sell at any price, eventually (14 years after buying it) we decided to share it with others.

What makes this cottage unique

Each guest appreciates something different about Sandy Cottage. For many, it's all about the beach and the water and the view. For some, it's the high standard of quality and comfort in this cottage. For others, it's the quiet neighborhood, or the sound of the waves, or the artful interior or even just the romance of the fireplace.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for sharing your cottage with us. Sandy Cottage has been the best place that we've ever stayed at on Lake Huron. Our family had such a wonderful time here creating memories to last a lifetime. You did such an amazing job on the cottage that it felt like a home and not just a cottage.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 4

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.7
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lake-View, Upscale, Between Lex & Port Huron; Comfy & Romantic Year-Round
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 7 reviews
business
Lake-View, Upscale, Between Lex & Port Huron; Comfy & Romantic Year-Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226042vb
+1 -(810) 327-6513 (Michigan, USA)
Lakeport Eastern Michigan
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
5

More Than Expected

  • 5 of 5
I stayed at Sandy Cottage for several days in early November last fall. The cottage was even better than depicted and the amenities exceeded my expectations. I was very appreciative of the thoughtful renovation and attention to details for comfort and convenience. The lake views are beautiful and the proximity to the beach and trails are wonderful. The hosts were generous and accommodating to my needs. I would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone.
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake-View, Upscale, Between Lex & Port Huron; Comfy & Romantic Year-Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226042vb
+1 -(810) 327-6513 (Michigan, USA)
Lakeport Eastern Michigan
Howell, MI U.S.A.
1

Lack of good rest due to inadequate sleeping accommodations spoiled our family vacation.

  • 1 of 5
Our family gets together for one week every year, so having a nice rental property is very important to us. When initially speaking to Sandy regarding the sleeping accommodations, she assured us that the beds were all extremely comfortable. This was not our experience. The two daybeds in the "nook" were very uncomfortable. When the sofabed was opened, it would not lie flat. One of the adults in our party had to sleep on a makeshift bed on the kitchen floor because of this. If the sofabed was opened, the persons in the nook would have to climb over the person(s) on the sofabed in order to get to the bathroom (we noticed that the wording in the listing was changed after we brought this to Sandy's attention). Because Sandy and her husband left to go out of town shortly after our arrival, we brought this up to Sandy when we next saw her (shortly before our departure). Rather than seeming concerned about this situation, she didn’t respond to our concern. After we returned home, we contacted Sandy via e-mail to again express our concerns that the listing states that Sandy Cottage can accommodate up to 6 people. We encouraged her and her husband to sleep on the daybed, the trundle, and the sofabed in order for them to experience what we had experienced, and asked her to please get back to us. We got no reply. Three months later, we again contacted her, asking her to take these issues seriously to avoid spoiling anyone else's vacation, and asked for a partial refund (since the contract states that if you feel that the cottage was not properly represented, that a refund will be issued). She dismissed the inadequate sleeping accommodations as "our opinion" and gave $150 coupon toward a future visit. (Sandy said that we should have tried to call her or mentioned this to the temporary caretaker who was onsite, but we felt that that would only waste precious vacation time since the owners were not present.) She seemed focused on her claim that no one had ever complained to her before (even though she herself stated that if any prior patrons had a similar experience, they may have just never come back), and didn’t seem to accept that our family vacation had been seriously affected by the poor sleeping accommodations. The problems we experienced could probably be easily remedied with two new mattresses and a repair to the sofabed. Sandy Cottage is really better for 2 adults, and possibly 2 small children. It does have many very nice features, and is clean & well stocked.
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Honestly, we’re hurt and confused by this review. During the week these guests were here, they never expressed dissatisfaction. They were friendly. They seemed content. We were available next door during five out of the seven days and by phone at all times. On the two days and three evenings we were absent, we were never more than 30 minutes away, and an innkeeper with eight years of experience was in charge.


If anything was amiss, all they needed do was bring it to our attention and we would have launched a mission to make it right. Unfortunately, nothing was said until a passing comment on the day of departure when it was too late to help. The refund request came four months later.


No innkeeper or cottage owner would assure any caller “that the beds were all extremely comfortable.” The comfort of a mattress is a highly subjective and personal matter. My husband and I have slept well in all the rooms of our cottage and B&B. Several hundred guests have stayed at the cottage on different mattresses over time. Now, one complaint.


After the guest’s initial phone inquiry, I emailed 14 photos to show the cottage in more detail than could be seen on VRBO. The daybed and trundle were in the first photo. The sofa bed and its location were evident in another photo. We know that any cottage’s accommodations won’t be a good fit for every party, and we do our best to make sure we are fully descriptive about what Sandy Cottage offers.


It was distressing to hear belatedly of the extent to which the cottage did not meet this person’s expectations. When you’re in hospitality, the last thing you want is an unhappy guest.
business
Lake-View, Upscale, Between Lex & Port Huron; Comfy & Romantic Year-Round
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p226042vb
+1 -(810) 327-6513 (Michigan, USA)
Lakeport Eastern Michigan
Ontario
5

home away from home...

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed at Sandys Cottage with our two young children. We needed a short break from the everyday... and Sandys Cottage was perfect for just that. The property, inside and out, was clean and well maintained. The photos and description provided are reflective of the cottage - though in person the cottage is even better.

The personal touches the owners have put into this property really shows their love for what they do... from the bed sheets that you absolutely melt into, to the decor, to the skylights that allow you to hear waves lapping and the birds chipping - you will not be disappointed.

The owners were extremely helpful and available when needed, yet still gave us our space.

I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to get away... even for just a few perfect moments...

Thank you Sandy, for making our stay so memorable.
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Sameer and Nishat,
Thanks for noticing the details. Rescuing Sandy Cottage from an uncertain future was a labor of love, and so is maintaining it. This week we checked fall window washing, gutter cleaning and bulb planting off the list. A new mattress set for the master bedroom is on order. We've added more baking-related items to the kitchen since more guests have shown interest in making homemade goodies. We hope you'll return in the future. Meanwhile, thanks for the kind words.
Sandy

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
79 Miles
Bishop International Airport, Flint
Nearest Train
18 Miles
Port Huron
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
I-94 to Detroit; I-69 to Flint; 402 to London, ON

Lakeport State Park is two-tenths of a mile south. Burtchville Township Park is the same distance north. Four miles to the west, an extensive State Game Area flanks the Black River.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lakeport Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Fall
Oct 13 2014 - Dec 21 2014
2 night minimum stay
$275
$875
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 22 2014 - Dec 31 2014
6 night minimum stay
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes We offer discounts for one- and two-person stays: $100 less for a 2-night stay; up to $300 less for a week. See rates on Sandy Cottage page of the Adventure Inn website.
Our rental week is 7 days, 6 nights. (VRBO gives no option.) When a week starts on Monday, guests may depart anytime Sunday or, at no extra charge, stay overnight if they can depart by 8 a.m.
Per-night price shown is an average.
Book securely online at adventureinnbedandbreakfast dot com.
We accept Visa, MasterCard and personal checks made out to Shorewood Adventures Inc., a Michigan company.
Deposit: 50 percent, not including tax, due when you book.
Balance due two weeks prior to your stay. That also is the deadline to cancel with a guarantee of full refund. See cancellation and other policies on Adventure Inn website.

Amenities

Amenities

Lakeport Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1460 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • First-floor Bathroom - toilet , shower , Can accommodate shower chair; shower head slides up & down
    Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks; skylight; sliding shower head
  • Lots of towels provided plus hairdryers (2), Aveda shampoo, locally made soap, toilet paper, liquid hand soap (3)
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Sofa bed(s) - 1 queen , Adjustable air mattress. New in 2011.
    Master Bedroom Suite - 1 queen , Mattress new in 2012.
    First-floor Sleeping Area - 2 twin/ single , Mattresses new in 2013. Trundle bed available on request.
  • Master suite, more spacious than most, has three remote-opening skylights, ceiling fan, floor fan, mood lighting, ironing board and iron, walk-in closet, TV and DVD player, telephone. Room cannot be completely darkened.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We will arrange to receive parcels for guests arriving by air or from Canada.

Other Vacation Properties

$1,100 - $1,700 per week
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$3,000 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,600 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 11

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote