Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

QUALITY, COMFORT, SPACE & PANORAMA ON AMSTERDAM HOTSPOT

Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
December 4, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

QUALITY, COMFORT, SPACE & PANORAMA ON AMSTERDAM HOTSPOT

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

This beautiful spacious apartment is part of a 17th century house which is in the oldest part of historical Amsterdam; the heart of City. Admiral Michiel de Ruyter once was the owner if this beautifully restored house. It is located along the IJ-harbour where the proud ocean traveling vessels were anchored while preparing for their next voyage to the Indies.

The character of the house is defined by the famous Dutch Golden Age Admiral 'Michiel Adriaanszoon de Ruyter'. His cunning seamanship combined with excellent military leadership made him the most successful defender of Dutch merchants sailing the world seas.

We have tried to preserve the unique historical character of the building while calling out the rich history of its most famous formal owner 'Admiral Michiel Adriaanszoon de Ruyter'.

The house is completely renovated, meaning a complete renovation with respect of all ancient details of the building, and a tasteful redecoration that represents style and quality.

As the building is located on a corner, it is very light as it has many windows. And for that you can experience great views on two different panoramas of the city. This is quite unusual in Amsterdam as most of the monumental houses 'lean' to one another and therefore only have windows at the front and backside.

For your information; the stairways are wide and not steep. On both sides of the stairway you have support to hold on.

All the important museums are close and can be reached by foot, bike, tram, car or boat. There is a great variety of restaurants and pubs in the area. The so-called 'bruine cafés' - typical Dutch pubs - are available in great numbers. More on walking distance: The Dam, The Nieuwmarkt, pubs, cinemas, theatres, the Anne Frank House, the Zoo, the red light district, many antique shops, famous art galleries, old churches, old synagogues, Waterloo square, as well as the great shopping streets like the P.C. Hooftstraat, and many many more things to see and do!

On the other side of the harbour you can visit the new Library which is the biggest in Europe. (Also books in many languages available).

The central station is just a nine minutes walk from your

apartment, which makes Schiphol Airport reachable within 30

minutes.

Other Amenities: Stylish and tastefully decorated and renovated apartment. Great Roof Terrace. Historical building from the year 1650. Spectacular view over the Amsterdam harbour, which is called 'The IJ'. Modern architecture as well as old ships and a replica of a 17th century vessel are part of the panorama. As the house is build on a corner, you also have a fantastic view on a typical Amsterdam canal. This canal is lined by monumental houses and buildings.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
December 4, 2014

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Our third time in this fantastic apartment.

  • 5 of 5
We arrived early from the airport and the owner was waiting for us. Very friendly and helpful as he helped us with our luggage. We stayed in this apartment for the third time. We have seen many apartments in Amsterdam. No one can compete with this apartment as it is clean and very light as there are windows everywhere and the views are stunning. (Many Amsterdam buildings are old warehouses with only windows at the front and the back which makes them very dark inside.) The bathroom is great (also a big size tub). The weather allowed us to use the roof terrace. We will keep coming back as it the best value for our money. Ruben Polak.
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
Old Center Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
5

great apartment

  • 5 of 5
My boyfriend & I took my nephews on a trip to Amsterdam and we stayed at this lovely apartment. It is VERY spacious and had everything we needed. The building is in excellent condition and the location was great - close to Centraal Station and on a sweet canal - walkable to everywhere with great views from every window. 5 min to Red Light District, 7 min to Dam Square, etc. Amsterdam is all very walkable, and if you rent a bike, you are really set!

The four of us were very comfortable there, and my nephews loved the rooftop terrace access from thier funky little room (with 4 single beds!) HUGE bathroom upstairs and an extra WC on the living room level. The only drawback was that with the windows open from the master bedroom, there was a bit of street noise. But if we wanted silence, we would have stayed in the country. :) The windows are good, and block out most of the noise when closed. There are a lot of stairs, but they are nice and wide - not steep ladders like you see in some canal houses.

I would rent this place again and recommend it to families traveling together.
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
Old Center Amsterdam
1

Beware!

  • 1 of 5
This apartment could be such a jewel, it had clearly been restored beautifully some years ago but has fallen into disrepair. The manager lives two doors down but will not answer his phone, open the door or respond to messages once the financial transaction is complete (upon arrival). Specific problems were: broken interior windows taped up with brown package tape, a kitchen window which could not be closed gaping 15 inches (despite rainy conditions) a broken and non functioning cooking surface and microwave (only the oven would warm up), kitchen equipment in disarray and unclean, about half of all light fixtures broken, many lightbulbs burned out, fan broken, chairs broken, closets trashy and unfortunately very noisy from the busy street below (also throughout the night). The enjoyable features were a wonderful large bathtub with strong and hot water flow, lovely views from all rooms, especially the night view from the living room with lights over the water and the spaciousness of this maisonette apartment.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Irene, we are sorry that you where not completely happy with the apartment. As you can see all other reviews are very positive. We did have a broken window which we could only fix before you came with tape, as it had just happened. There was no time to get it fixed before your arrival. We apologize for that. However, we must say that your demands where really a bit out of range. If you call the house manager in the middle of the night 3 times asking where the hairdryer is, how the oven works and if can set up the ironing board. Meanwhile the music was turned extremely loud. Unfortunately we are not the owner of the Ritz or the Hilton. Still we hope that you come again and we will do our very best to make your stay a nice one. With regards, Rutger.
business
Quality, Comfort, Space & Panorama on Amsterdam Hotspot
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225701
Old Center Amsterdam
Phuket, Thailand
5

Lucky :)

  • 5 of 5
Brilliant! Location, equipment, charm, etc.. If the weather is good, you'll enjoy the "roof terrace"
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Car: not necessary

Amsterdam, Netherlands, Europe (A'dam centre,Schiphol Airport 30 min, Trainstat. 9 min walk).

Beautifully renovated and totally restyled apartment in historical building. Located at the city harbour (The IJ), and built on a corner, this apartment is very light, provides fantastic panoramas on both a canal, and the old harbour called 'IJ' with its ships, houseboats, and modern architecture of the buildings along the sides.

It is like looking at a constantly changing painting, as there is always movement on and around the water.

Come and enjoy the history, beauty and comfort of this great house!

Other Activities: shopping, boating, tubing, health/beauty spa, basketball court, squash hall, indoor climb wall

Photos

Rates & Availability

From €200 Per night

Old Center Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 1 2014 - Dec 26 2014
2 night minimum stay
€200
 
 
Silvester Week
Dec 27 2014 - Jan 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
€260
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2015 - Mar 27 2015
2 night minimum stay
€200
 
 
High Season
Mar 28 2015 - Oct 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
€260
 
 
Winter
Oct 31 2015 - Dec 25 2015
2 night minimum stay
€200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit €400
Tax Rate 5.5%
Notes - Early November to end of March: Min 2 nights.! € 200.00 / night max. 6 pers.
- Exception: Last week in December / New Year min. 3 nights, 260.00 / night. 5 and 6 Series guest each + € 20,00.
- April to Oct. min. 3 nights € 260.00 / night. 5 and 6 Series + € 20.00 per guest.
* One-time cleaning charge: € 75, -.
* Prices are excl. 5.5% Touristtax.
* Deposit: € 400.00.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Old Center Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Luxurious and spacious bathroom, with both a wide body bath, and a separate shower. In the bathroom you can find a washing machine, a hairdryer and enough space for all of your stuff.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 Kingsize double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , 1 double and 2 single beds
  • There are 2 bedrooms and the second one has a split level (so it is actually a devided bedroom that offers privacy at both parts), and can host up to 4 persons. The biggest one has a kingsize double bed, and offers you the most spectacular view of the old harbour of Amsterdam. Literally from your bed you can see gigantic cruise boats docking at the Cruise terminal and at the same time you can have a look at the modern architecture of the buildings along the harbour. You also see a historic vessel that during the 'Golden Age' ( 17th century) was the home of Dutch explorers of the Oceans and traders that went to the far East to trade goods. (There is no other location in Amsterdam, from where you can enjoy such a stunning view from your bed!)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
You will find all you need to have a comfortable and pleasant stay in this apartment, on this marvelous spot in Amsterdam. You don't need linen or towels. It's all available. You will enjoy a fully equipped kitchen, providing you the comfort of home. A dishwasher is available, as well as other equipment needed for your cooking etc. The second bedroom has two separate beds, which can be put together if wanted. This is in the lower part of the room. You sleep under the old wooden construction of the roof. The 2 other beds both have their own part of the room and they are located in the upper part of the room. The 2 guests who will use these 2 beds will not see each other as one of the beds is in a separate part of the upper room. They are both romantically situated under the roof top. From there you can reach the very private and comfortable roof terrace.

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote