Our winter vacation
Submitted: December 18, 2011
Stayed: December 2011
The pros: a beautiful location, breathtaking views, and most importantly, Rob Goodell of Blue Water Properties. He was the saving grace of what could have been a big disappointment in Costa Rica, and really helped out in regard to important issues such as transportation, daily excursions and a true, overall concern for my wife and I having a fun vacation. Rob, you are a great guy to deal with. The cons: There is no walkway to a small private beach (the walkway ends at a chain link fence). The private pool adjacent to the condo had small crabs and missing tiles in it. Neither phone worked. The furniture in the living room is very uncomfortable. The downstairs toilet constantly ran. The chain on the inside of the toilet of the upstairs second bathroom was broken. The kitchen was poorly equipped. Thoughts about the condo property as a whole, and not just the inside of our individual condo: if you are renting a car to get to the condo, make sure you rent a 4WD! To clarify, this is not the fault of the property owners, since the property is set at the top of a steep, mile-long dirt road and you have to expect that. It is difficult to get up the hill, though, when the weather is good, and if you experience a rainstorm (which, luckily, we did not), you will have a tough time getting there.
Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Howard, we are sorry to hear that not everything as expected on your vacation. I do want to point out that some things are out of our control as property managers such as the pool area and outside/common areas--we do not manage that area, but we absolutely have mentioned this to the association, to be repaired. Our property management company is amongst the best in the area in regards to maintenance issues and customer service and if problems are reported we always do our best to address those repairs rather immediately. As for crabs, you can get those occasionally in pools here because of the proximity of the beach and the tropical area we are in, but the guards and/or maintenance people should act quickly to remove them to the sand. You can hike down to a private beach, along the border of the property. We did not mention that the walkway leads to a private beach. We have never had anyone complain about the furnishings, but we'll be sure to forward your comments to the owners. We recently stocked the kitchen with brand new pots/pans, so we consider it to be well equipped now. Also, to clarify, the condo is exactly 1 KM or about 1/2 mile from pavement. During the dry season, having a non-four-wheel drive vehicle, is not necessary, but we always suggest a 4-wheel drive in Costa Rica because of beach/dirt roads and clearance. Glad Rob could be of service to you and your family. He is great at what he does!
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?