IDYLLIC LAKESIDE VICTORIAN FARMHOUSE

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

IDYLLIC LAKESIDE VICTORIAN FARMHOUSE

Watkins Glen House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 16-18)

The Lake House is a restored 1880's farmhouse that is nestled on the western slope of Seneca Lake. During the off season it is used as a Bed and Breakfast. It is very private, surrounded by woods and garden, on 10 acres of land in the midst of The Seneca Wine Trail as well as the growing chocolate and cheese trails.

If combined with the cottage (#231064) it makes a nice haven that is especially amenable for reunions and family gatherings. Many activities to keep you busy on and off the property. In addition to a canoe and two kayaks there is a firepit on the beach. There is swimming and fishing off the dock.

The large front porch is great for lounging,socializing, eating and otherwise taking in your surroundings.

Please refer to the Lake House website for more photos.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Advertiser since 2009
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About The Owner

This is a photo of family and myself enjoying breakfast on the porch. This is my favorite activity at the Lake House!

The Owner purchased this house in 1991

Why The Owner chose Watkins Glen

We live and work nearby but coming to the lake gives me an instant feeling of "being away from it all". It allows me to take mini vacations as needed!

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
business
Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224819vb
(607) 243-5637
Watkins Glen Seneca Lake
Lafayette Hill, PA
5

Great place for a large group!

  • 5 of 5
We went up for the "Deck the Halls" wine tour. We had a group of 10 and needed a home that could accommodate. This home did that perfectly for us. It has great charm and character. It was further from the lake than we expected, but since we were going in the winter, that did not matter to us. If you are going in the summer you may want to look into that further. But for all of our needs, it was a perfect match. I also saw others posting things on here about security deposits. I can say that we received our full security deposit back within days of our departure. Thanks Michelle!
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224819vb
(607) 243-5637
Watkins Glen Seneca Lake
5

Cozy, secluded, and rustic cliff-side cottage on Lake Seneca

  • 5 of 5
We chose this cozy cottage to celebrate our 35th anniversary because our constant canine companion could accompany us and also because of the secluded setting. The place more than exceeded our expectations! Situated amid the canopy of pines, spruce, poplar, and maple; and atop a cliff overlooking the lake; and in between two steep ravines with waterfalls, it truly was one of our nicest get-aways! We loved the rustic details of the cottage and appreciated the “rough” restoration of the 1907 cabin, which maintained many of the original hunters cabin materials. We were grateful to have the lakeshore area and canoe to ourselves as the B&B guests did not venture down to the lake. We definitely would love to return. To address some previous comments below, yes, the contract is a bit standoffish; but, if you treat the cabin as if it were your own and leave it the way you found it upon your arrival, there are no worries.
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224819vb
(607) 243-5637
Watkins Glen Seneca Lake
United States
3

Nice house, don't expect your full deposit back

Nice house, don't expect your full deposit back
  • 3 of 5
The house itself is great. The water is not too close, but hey, that might be okay--it was for us! Besides, we could always use the exercise.

We got "most" of our deposit back, but this was after an extensive (two hour) brief from what I think was the cleaning people, but might have been the owner upon check in. We were so paranoid about keeping the house PERFECTLY clean that it became a running joke during the week. Sure enough, seven weeks later, we got the security deposit back, and there we were with 90 dollars missing.

The note mentioned it was for excessive trash (note, it was bagged and taken outside) and recycling (which was placed where we were told to put the recycling). In and of itself, this might have been okay. I am not sure how much trash costs to take away, but I can buy that, But the note went on to mention there was mold on the underside of the table cloth. What? Mold? We didn't even use the table outside...how could we possible have had any effect on the mold on the underneath of a tablecloth? Doesn't mold need a certain gestiaion period...maybe more than a week? What could we possibly have done to influence mold growth on an outside tablecloth? Also, there was mention that some of the outdoor furniture was broken, but it could not be proved that it was us. Fair enough--we didn't break any furniture, but the whole note was condescending. We were "granted" a leave from being charged for the furniture...based on what rules or basis I have no idea.

Bottom line; we paid a lot of money--4500 dollars--for a week at the house. Part of that is a cleaning deposit. While it is perfectly clear that the owners need to protect their investment, the rule book looks like a whole volume of the U S Code and reads like the Federal Rule of Civil Procedure (lawyers joke)--it takes a lot of the "carefree" out of the vacation when you are worried about anything, even out of your control, happening which might offend the completely SUBJECTIVE views of the cleaning folks/owner.

Maybe the owners just need a new cleaning crew. Who knows.

Bottom line, it is a good house with plenty of space, a walk to the water...if you just go ahead and accept that you may not get a portion of the 500 dollars back based on third party claims about how you might have acted, you will enjoy it.

-Gray and Jasmine

P.s., I must mention that the owner was very nice--calling me and reminding me that I owed my full payment...he was very flexable
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: To respond to this review, I copy the note that accompanied the security deposit refund. Unfortunately the person writing the review was not clear why the deductions were made despite my description in the note. Also what is described as "the Rule Book" is a notebook with all the appliance manuals, emergency contact information and a summary of the responsibilities in the lease that were agreed upon by signing the rental agreement.
The note is as follows:
Sorry for the delay in returning your security deposit. Unfortunately, at times the cleaning staff,etc do not get back to me as promptly as I would like. There were some extra charges incurred after your stay. The refuse disposal company charged me an extra $30 for 10 extra bags of trash (they neglected to mention that they had a dinner party which most likely generated the extra trash. I am charged extra for trash beyond the amount that fits in the dumster. This is not usually a problem.)The cleaning staff charged me an extra $40. for removing recycling left in the mud room and returning furniture to its proper location( throughout the house and porch). The table cloth and underlining (in the dining room) had to be replaced because they became moldy - not sure how this happened. (moisture most have gotten trapped under the tablecloth?). Some damage to the table occurred but I am not certain if was due to this incident, so I am not charging for damage to the table, but I am charging for the table coverings, $22.
I enclose A check for $408.
With Regret, Michele Pavillard
business
Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224819vb
(607) 243-5637
Watkins Glen Seneca Lake
Brooklyn, New York
4

Great location, nice house, a bit of a walk to the lake, and owner a minus

  • 4 of 5
This is a fantastic location. We had a wonderful time visiting nearby wineries and enjoying the outdoors. The house is spacious and nice with a good kitchen and a great big porch but it is an old house and has some of that dusty, old house character that isn't always pleasant. The lakefront is gorgeous but it is a solid 10 minute hike down a very steep slope to get there and that can be a real drag with kids. The owner was unbelievably slow in returning our security deposit and we actually had to reach out months later to get our money back (I think they would have kept it if we hadn't complained). We still had a positive experience overall but dealing with the owner left a bad taste in our mouth.
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In actuality, the security deposit was mailed out less than six weeks after the renter departed. The delay was due in part to awaiting the bill from our cleaning service and manager for excess expenses. We were charged twice the normal amount by the cleaning service due to the degree of disarray, multiple upholstery and rug stains, and uncleaned kitchen pots, pans, utensils, and appliances. A damaged lamp required repair. In addition, our manager had to charge us 2.5 hours of her time to drive up to rescue one of the toddler's who had locked himself in a bedroom, because the renters were unable to find the key we had supplied them. We apologized to the renter for the delay in sending the refund of his security deposit minus the above expenses. However, in the several years we have rented the property, there has never been an instance when we have not refunded a security deposit (minus expenses incurred for excess cleaning services or property damage). Furthermore, we have rarely had to withhold a portion of a security deposit for such expenses. Although it is a walk to the lake, one can drive to the cliff leading to the stairway to the beach in a minute. The rental agreement states that the path to the beach requires the ability to negotiate primitive hill paths and numerous steps.
business
Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224819vb
(607) 243-5637
Watkins Glen Seneca Lake
Philadelphia, PA, USA
3

A pleasant stay with proximity to the lake

  • 3 of 5
Overall, this property served our purpose as a place for our extended family of 18 to gather for a week. We were disappointed to find out that the lake view specified in this listing is inaccurate. There is no lake view, except perhaps in winter when the trees have lost their leaves. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and enjoying the landscape, but this does not include a view of the lake by any stretch of the imagination. The porch is a highlight - we had all our meals there. It is large with lots of seating and was the center of our socializing. The porch is well-situated so that it is in the shade in the afternoon. As others have mentioned, it is a long, steep walk down to the lake, and of course, back up again. It is beautiful down by the lake and we enjoyed our time there, kayaking, swimming, and skipping stones, but it's not a casual, step outside and walk to the lake kind of thing - it's a trek. We visited wineries, spent an afternoon in Ithaca, walked/hiked in Watkins Glen State Park, ate homemade ice-cream at the Colonial Inn - highly recommended! We had a pleasant stay but next time would prefer to stay somewhere with easier access to the lake, and with an actual view of the lake.
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224819vb
(607) 243-5637
Watkins Glen Seneca Lake
Midland MI
4

Family get together

  • 4 of 5
Lovely house with a wonderful porch. We had a comfortable stay in this very nice and quiet location. The room air conditioners were definitely needed, but they were quite noisy and two of them needed regular dumping of the condensed water in order to keep running. The lake access was relatively strenuous, but young and old (ages 3-60) went down almost every day. The available kayaks and canoe were very nice and the children had fun in the water and on the rocky beach. We had a great time!
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

Map

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
rockstream winery
Nearest Point of Interest
glenora winery
Nearest Point of Interest
lakewood winery

There is a scenic railroad and 60+ wineries, Amish market, car races and race car driving lessons, Corning Glass Museum, Mark Twain's Home, state parks with waterfalls, college towns of Geneva and Ithaca nearby

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Watkins Glen House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $475-$600/nt - $2800-3975/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Peak:6/16-9/02/13 wkly(sun-sun)$3650+4%tax(sleeps 14 w/o 3rd flr),w/3rd flr $3975
  • $550-600+tax/night (3 night min) if there is a wkly cancellation
  • OffPeak:wkly $2800w/2nd fl,$3200w/3rdfl,$475-525/nt(2nt min/3nt min for holidays)
  • Linens provided.NOT TOWELS.
  • cleaning fee $200 w/2nd fl, $225 w/3rd fl , w/pet(s)+$10/pet/day.
  • House+cottage discounted rate peak-wkly $5025+4%tax+cleaning fees
  • security deposit $500

Amenities

Amenities

Watkins Glen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Telephone
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Queen size Beds (1) 4 queen and 1 convertible queen, Double Beds (1) 1 double, Twin or Single Beds (1) 6 twins, Baby Cribs (1) 1 portable crib, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 1 queen convertible sofa bed
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • cinemas
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • golf
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • cross country skiing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
Hammock, ceiling fans in the bedrooms,lawn games (crochet, badminton, bocce ball). Several of the rooms have iphone/ipod docks. All bedrooms have CDplayers/radio/alarm clocks.

Other Vacation Properties

$5,500 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 7 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 20
$700 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 17
$1,500 - $1,900 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 11