BEAUTIFUL HOME OVERLOOKING SHENANDOAH RIVER

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL HOME OVERLOOKING SHENANDOAH RIVER

Middleburg House Rental Photos and Description

Main House 3BR/4BA (2 half);Optional Guest house 1BR/1BA Sleeps 8-14

The Play Garden is a charming newly renovated country home located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in historic Clarke County, Virginia. It's nestled in the heart of Hunt/Horse country surrounded by wineries and historic sites, little over an hour west of Washington, DC,.. 20 minutes west of Upperville and Middleburg, VA and 20 minutes east of Winchester, VA. The main house was built in the last decade of the 19th century as the primary residence of a local family. It has had two owners subsequently who have maintained it with loving care.

Amenities include a large stone terrace with a million-dollar view of the curving Shenandoah River, swimming pool and total privacy from the outside world. The main home has three bedrooms (one King,one queen and one with twin beds), two half baths and 2 full baths, and a large kitchen with double ovens and an electric range. There is also a sleeper sofa. There is an optional guest house with one full bath, a king bedroom and 2 queen sleeper sofas. Both are tastefully furnished. The property provides wireless internet, satellite tv, plastic kayaks for adults and kids, inner tubes, 2 bikes, and more..

Easy access to horseback riding for all ages, horse events (Upperville Horse Show ,The Blue Ridge Hunt, Blue Ridge Steeple Chase), wineries, hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, tubing, fishing, great restaurants, historic sites (including Burwell-Morgan Mill, ca 1785 3 miles away), battlefields, golf, and tennis

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Property Manager
Advertiser since 2007
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Home Overlooking Shenandoah River
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 24 reviews
business
Beautiful Home Overlooking Shenandoah River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224745
615 356-2036
Middleburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Ohio
5

Relaxing Retreat with Incredible Views

  • 5 of 5
My third visit to the Play Garden did not disappoint. This place has something for everyone. You can spend the day lounging in the pool or just relaxing on the massive veranda overlooking the beautiful Shenandoah River. Those of the group who needed a more active stay, floated and kayaked down the river and hiked part of the historic Appalachian Trail. One of our days we ventured into Washington DC to sight see. It was an easy drive in and we were back with plenty of time to entertain guests with dinner on the porch.
Delightful stay filled with great memories.
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home Overlooking Shenandoah River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224745
615 356-2036
Middleburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

A truly special place

  • 5 of 5
Our family spent a week at the Play Garden and it was certainly the best week of a very good summer. The setting is perfect. We so enjoyed the house, the pool, the riverside, Millwood and its friendly denizens. We are definitely considering returning next year. It's a place that you can really feel at home.

The weather during our visit at the Play Garden was perfect. Cool enough at night to open the windows and sleep restfully under a quilt The days were usually sunny and warm but not hot. Such a refreshing difference from DC. And only an hour away.

The owners were all polite, generous and helpful in their dealings with us. What a treasure they possess and what thanks we have for being able to visit it. Here's to hoping the Play Garden is available next year!
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Beautiful Home Overlooking Shenandoah River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224745
615 356-2036
Middleburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
2

Perfect Place, Far from Perfect Owners

  • 2 of 5
This house is perfect in so many ways. Lots of space, gorgeous deck, amazing views. We are a group of friends who regularly rent houses together, and we were excitedly discussing when we could come back.

However, the owners are the least responsive people I have ever dealt with. It would take two or three reminders and around a week to get a response to an inquiry, and that response would usually be brief and rarely answer all my questions.

Once the reservation was set, our friend was in charge of finances. We left the property in perfect condition, but she did not get her deposit returned for over a month despite repeated inquiries. The only excuse offered was that the owners travel a lot, which is flat out ridiculous in the age of the Internet.

It's deeply unsettling that the owners would not only be unresponsive to pre-booking inquiries, but to returning the hard-earned deposit money of their customers. It's just plain unprofessional and disrespectful. I should have heeded that little voice telling me that working with these owners would be a headache.

Also, by the way, the house was infested with stinkbugs. There were a dozen in the master bedroom alone.

It's a shame that the owners are so unprofessional and unreliable, because this house is a true beauty.
  • Submitted: May 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shannon,



First, I am so sorry you feel that way about the timeliness of my responses. As I look over our communications, I see that between March 2 and March 19th we had 15 email communications. On March 19 you requested I send you a contract and on March 20 I emailed that contract to you. You also informed me that Dorothy would be taking over from that point and I had several phone conversations with her as well as followed up with her on the 20th to make sure she was able to open the attachment of the contract. On the 24th, you sent the signed contract via email and I responded that day with information about your arrival and the cell phone of our caretaker.

On April 11, I received a very nice email from you thanking us for renting the home and stating that it was a "breath of fresh air from the city" and inquiring about the deposit return. I responded to you on April 12 letting you know that I would check with the owners (I am their assistant) and on April 13 I responded that the owners would be sending the deposit back this week. Please note as well, in our contract, #5 DAMAGES?RESERVATION DEPOSIT clearly states that the deposit is fully refundable in 21 days from day of departure. That would be April 27.

Again, I am sorry that you feel your experience has been a bad one. But, I think if you look over the contract and the many, many emails not to mention the few phone calls, you will see that we were more than accommodating.
business
Beautiful Home Overlooking Shenandoah River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224745
615 356-2036
Middleburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

Stunning secluded getaway with charm and within easy reach of Washington, DC!

  • 5 of 5
This home has the perfect mix of charm and modern comfort. It is situated on a hill with a stunning view of the Shenandoah River. It is secluded but not out-of-the-way. Piece of cake to find and within an easy reach of DC. I rented it for a weekend getaway with my girlfriends. There was plenty of sleeping space and lots of room for cooking together and sharing nice meals. We're definitely keeping the property on our list of "must rent again"! Owner is responsive and easy to work with. Can't recommend this rental enough!
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home Overlooking Shenandoah River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224745
615 356-2036
Middleburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Gaithersburg, MD
5

Girls weekend

  • 5 of 5
Perfect location for 8 college friends to celebrate birthdays! The rental process was so easy and the contact person very accommodating with questions and requests. The location is just beautiful and quiet. The pictures you see are accurate and the real thing is even better. The veranda is lovely for morning coffe or an afternoon beverage overlooking the river. The kitchen and all the bathrooms are modern but the owners have managed to maintain the historic charm as well. History buffs will love the library, as well as the remainder of the house. The guest house is cute and perfect for teens or inlaws on a family gathering. The driveway will accommodate a limo if your stay is a special occasion. The caretaker was so helpful when we had car trouble! You will be a bit of a drive to stores or restaurants but nothing unreasonable at all. Bring supplies and you won't want to leave the house anyway! Highly recommend for girls weekend, romantic get away, family vacation.
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home Overlooking Shenandoah River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p224745
615 356-2036
Middleburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Gaithersburg, MD
5

Shepherd College Divas Weekend

  • 5 of 5
A perfect place for a girls weekend to celebrate birthdays! The location is private, the view from the veranda is gorgeous. The house is spacious and the owners have managed to make it modern without losing any of the historic charm. There was plenty of room for our group of 8 women, using the guest house. The furnishings are true to the period but comfortable. There is a nice sized modern kitchen where you can sit and have a meal or morning coffee while overlooking the river or pool area. The separate dining room table can seat a large family. The library will please history buffs or find an old novel to read. The bathrooms are modern and spacious as are the bedrooms. The guest house is comfortable and cute. Perfect for the inlaws or teens on a family vacation. The house is a distance from stores or restaurants but not unreasonable by any means. Just remember you are in the country! You can take about a mile walk along the river to a small but lovely waterfalls. The grounds are beautiful on the property. One of our friends had car trouble on our last day and the caretaker came to the rescue and was very, very helpful! The rental process was so easy and the contact person was very accommodating with all of our questions and requests. Don't hesitate to stay here for quiet, peaceful surroundings in a beautiful location. One more thing, if this is a special occasion, a limo can navigate to the house! We took one on a wine tasting tour!! :-)
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Dulles
Car: recommended

For more information about the house and area please visit our website by clicking on the link below.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Middleburg House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 17 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$485
$2,900
 
 
Early Winter - Spring
Nov 1 2014 - Apr 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2014 - Nov 30 2014
8 night minimum stay
$2,500
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2014 - Dec 27 2014
8 night minimum stay
$2,500
Flat fee
 
 
New Years
Dec 28 2014 - Jan 4 2015
8 night minimum stay
$2,500
Flat fee
 
 
Spring - Late Fall
Apr 2 2015 - May 23 2015
3 night minimum stay
$485
$2,900
 
 
Summer
May 24 2015 - Aug 16 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $600
Cleaning $200
Tax Rate 5.3%
Notes Rates do not include the guest house. Additional rate of $75 - $100 per night depending on date or $450 - $600 per week. Guest house is only available for rent to people who are already renting the main house. It will not rented out without the main house.
Refundable deposit due within 7 days of making reservation. Full rental due 30 in advance of check in date. Check is preferred but will consider Paypay for and additional 3.5%.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Middleburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Mountain View
  • Mountain
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Garage
  • Living Room
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Freezer
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Grill
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Oven
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Main home Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Main home Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Main home Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Main home Bathroom - toilet
    guest house - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Main home Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Main home Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Main home Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Guest House - 1 king
  • The main house 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 2 half baths, including a king, queen, 2 twins, and a sleeper sofa in den. The small guest house has1 bedroom with king, one full bath, and 2 sleeper sofas. Both nicely furnished.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Walkway to Water
  • Canoe
  • Wood Deck
  • Patio
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Bicycles
  • Kayak / Canoe
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • water tubing
  • mountain biking
  • equestrian events
  • mountaineering
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
The kitchen in the main house has a double oven. In addition to seating 10 in the dining room, there is seating for 6 at the kitchen table and 3 at the bar, and plenty of terrace/porch seating for outside dining. There are 4 flat screen TVs with satellite. There is a portable iPod station. Although there is no smoking in the homes. Ashtrays are provided for smoking outside. Outdoor amenities include plastic kayaks, inner tubes, canoe, pool toys, croquet, bocci, ladder toss, 2 bikes, and pool towels. The kitchen in the guest house is fully equipped and has a deck outside. Seats 4 at the breakfast table. 1 flat screen tv with satellite is in the living area.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Email Manager Contact Me