Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

TRANQUILITY HOUSE BEACHFRONT ESTATE (EMAIL FOR DISCOUNTS TO 45%)

Dave Andrews

Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Property type house

Contact the Owner

Dave Andrews

Advertiser since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 27, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TRANQUILITY HOUSE BEACHFRONT ESTATE (EMAIL FOR DISCOUNTS TO 45%)

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Property type house

Overview

Cape Haze House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Library, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

INSTANT QUOTE IS NOT ACCURATE FOR THIS PROPERTY! EMAIL FOR ACCURATE QUOTE!

Greetings from Palm Island, Florida. Palm Island is one of the last bastions of the old Florida lifestyle. Quiet and laid-back, Palm Island is really three islands (Don Pedro, Knights and Palm) with a contiguous seven mile white sand beach on the west and harbors and inlets on the east.

Palm Island is separated from the mainland by Lemon Bay, but is served every 10 minutes by car ferry as well as water taxi and private craft. Traffic is minimal, requiring no lights or stop signs and one paved road. Although vehicles are used, most island transport is via golf cars.

Tranquility House is a four bedroom beach home completed in 2008. With approx. 3,500+ s.f. of living space under air and 7,000 s.f. total space, this property is ideal for gatherings of families, friends, weddings and special occasions.

Tranquility House sleeps 12-16 people. It has been designed for strength, beauty, energy efficiency, comfort and low maintenance.

If this sounds intriguing, call us today! For more pictures and details, click on our website link below.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Dave Andrews (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 27, 2015

About Dave Andrews

Diana and I grew up in Maine. We love Maine, but work kept us moving. We finished raising our family in Kansas City. But, we love the south Florida climate. After retiring in 2002, we expanded our property management business to include luxury vacation properties.

Dave Andrews purchased this house in 2009

Why Dave Andrews chose Cape Haze

Tranqility House is a Fractional Ownership Property designed with a rental program. We developed this property on Palm Island as a new concept for south Florida. Palm Island is only 5 minutes from the mainland, but feels like stepping back in time.

What makes this house unique

Tranquility House is a high end Fractional Ownership property designed for participation in an exclusive exchange program. Guests benefit from a host of amenities and luxurious accomodations.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.2
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Tranquility House Beachfront Estate (Email for Discounts to 45%)
average rating of 3.2 based on 5 reviews
business
Tranquility House Beachfront Estate (Email for Discounts to 45%)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218243vb
-(816) 582-3181
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Florida
1

Awful

  • 1 of 5
We stayed at tranquility house and were charged a huge cleaning fee and we left the house almost spotless. There were 5 adults cleaning the house from the night before we left up until the time we left. There were ants all over the kitchen and got all over the dishes in the cabinets and drawers. The golf cart stopped working the first one we pulled it out of the garage. This is NOT a luxury house! The people were extremely difficult to deal with and we would NEVER rent this house again nor would we recommend it to anyone!
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: This is a $2.5M beachfront property. Any local realtor will tell you this is the nicest beachfront property on Palm Island. These renters failed to read their quote and contract and were unhappy that we charged them a cleaning fee even though the fee was $100 less than our quote.

The golf cart had just been returned from a complete service with new tires added. I test drove the golf cart before the guests arrived and it was perfect. The guests claim the front wheel was broken when they got it. The dealer says that is impossible. The dealer says he thinks the guests hit a stump or ditch, but he can't prove it. We did not charge the guests for the repairs, nor did we give them a refund.

This is a beachfront property. There are ants. We have regular pest service. Ants are never inside unless food is left out or the property is unclean. We spiffed the property the morning of the guest arrival. There were no ants. The guests never mentioned any ants until this review.

We would be happy to provide many references including each local realtor who can attest to the family use of this property and how it is maintained and cleaned.
business
Tranquility House Beachfront Estate (Email for Discounts to 45%)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218243vb
-(816) 582-3181
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Upscale and private

  • 5 of 5
We have vacationed all over the world, but now that the kids are of school age we tend to stay closer to home to minimize their absences from school. Tranquility did not disappoint. The house is immaculate. There is an elevator to make it convenient not only for the family, but also for lugging suitcases up and down from the third floor. The house was professionally decorated to match the decor expected from over a million dollar beach house. The second and third floor balconies have electric screen enclosures that can be opened and closed with the touch of a remote button. The kitchen is a gourmet style with every amenity imaginable. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated with everything you would need for an extended stay. In the golf cart garage there are beach toys for the kids and umbrellas to stay out of the sun. At the end of the boardwalk to the beach there are resort quality loungers for use on the beach. The beach and water are pristine, some of the clearest water I've ever seen in the Gulf. And I grew up in Florida on the gulf coast. Outdoor shower, jacuzzi, and covered patio round out the whole experience. They have a concierge that will go to the store for you with your list of items and stock the house with whatever you'd like during your stay. There is a gold cart for use while you're there as well as a minivan with ferry pass to ease the cost of going back and forth to the mainland. I've read complaints about all the warnings posted at the house as far as don't do this and don't so that. I found the posts helpful and friendly reminders of the expectations of how to care for a house of this magnitude. Some people are just not respectful of other peoples things. If this was my house and would do the same thing. It's not some dated rental with furnishings that can be abused. It's an upscale residence that sits right on the beach. If you have kids that are disrespectful or not used to being around expensive furnishings then this house is not for you. We loved the house, the island, and the privacy. we will definitely go there again.
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Tranquility House Beachfront Estate (Email for Discounts to 45%)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218243vb
-(816) 582-3181
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
San Francisco
3

The home is 5 star the owners are 1 star

  • 3 of 5
The home is perfect! Beautiful layout, furnishings, location, the car is a great bonus-but beware big brother is watching every move! I was not aware if this until we left and it was a bit unsettling that they can and do watch every move! We had a family funeral in the area and had the family and friends back to the house-we were immaculate in the clean up but received messages even while we had the gathering that we were being watched! We paid a lot of money to stay here and they charged us extra as my mom spent the nights with us-she was not on the contract-even though we had not filled the home to capacity they took the extra guest out of our deposit. The golf cart malfunctioned half of our stay-they were at least honest as they said it was probably our fault but it was pure mechanical. I would
love to stay here again as it is perfect except for the big brother aspect!
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: We were quite surprised by this review. We finally determined that this party stayed at Tranquility House in December of 2011, but they waited until October of 2013 to post this review.

Tranquility House does have video security in outside public areas (driveway/entrance) visible from the street and neighbors ONLY! Security signs are posted, but not required. As the writer states, this is a luxury property. Video security is necessary due to potential vandalism when unoccupied and guests who attempt to bring more occupants to the property than contracted for.

We rent based on occupancy. That is clearly spelled out in a written quote and written contract. Rates can range from $2500/week for 2 people up to $5780/week for 16 people. Considering that our costs for insurance, taxes, utilities and maintenance average $2500/week, excluding capital improvements, principal payments and interest, we think that our rates are very fair. However, since not everyone can afford the upper end amount, we give people a reduction for lower occupancy of this large property. We quoted this party $3130 for 7 people plus $60/night for additional guests with the requirement that we must be notified of guests IN ADVANCE. We were NOT notified of any guests. When our security service reported extra guests, we called to verify rather than sending the police to evict or charging the maximum as stated in the contract. Extra guest nights were confirmed and we charged $3310. We believe we acted responsibly and appropriately.

This party also staged a significant event on the property in violation of the contract. Large numbers of people are very hard on the property and neighbor approvals must first be obtained. The contract permits up to 10 daytime visitors concurrently. Rather than evicting the guests, we called, agreed to some ground rules and charged event fees of $450 for 30-45 additional guests.

The golf cart was repaired as soon as we were notified. It needed to be properly charged.
business
Tranquility House Beachfront Estate (Email for Discounts to 45%)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218243vb
-(816) 582-3181
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Palm Beach, FL
2

Beautiful home but not family friendly

  • 2 of 5
We are a family of 5 including 3 small children. We have traveled all over the world and I have never felt compelled to leave a review until now. I wish someone had written what I am about to write now because this is not a place to choose for a vacation if you have kids.
This is a beautiful and immaculate home but not at all family friendly if you have small children. Your rental agreement will start out will with an 11 page contract listing all of the things you're not allowed to do and touch. Once you get in the house there a another 50 page binder full of rules and photos of where every single object and nick nack is to be placed. There are notes taped to the walls throughout the entire house indicating more dos and don'ts. For example: Curtains and blinds must be drawn at sundown or no later than 9pm, don't place objects in the sink, you may sleep in the beds but you can't use certain blankets, you may use the washer and dryer but only if your items are already relatively clean Don't place objects here,, or there, neither sand nor sunscreen is allowed in the house (...beach vacation...), and just to be sure you're following the rules there are security cameras throughout the perimeter of the property.
If you have children and there is any chance they may spill, touch, break, scratch, play with or look at anything in the house this is NOT the place for you. Sadly it was a wonderful remote and safe location where the kids could run and have fun but I highly recommend finding another property. There should be a disclosure at the top of the agreement that reads Please rent our house and enjoy the beauty of it but don't come inside, and don't touch anything.
You can also expect an outrageous cleaning bill at the end. We did all of the laundry (sheets, blankets, towels, and dish towels), and spent 3 hours cleaning the morning we left (FYI you must be back on the mainland by 945 am or you will get charged) and they still charged us for 16 hours of cleaning. Who wants to have to spend their last day of vacation doing laundry and cleaning. It should have been included in the couple thousand dollars we paid to rent the place. We have traveled with our 3 small children since the day they were born and I have never had such an uncomfortable experience. Please be advised there is also nothing on the island. You must take the ferry (a 30 min there and back) if you plan to go anywhere. At first it may seem fun it became very inconvenient after the first day.
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: The people who wrote the recent review are people with whom we had trouble from the very beginning. We should never have rented to them. They read or comprehended nothing of what we sent them. They grossly exaggerated every point in their note.

For example, the ferry crossing is seldom more than 5 minutes. It is 100 yards. County regulations require that curtains be drawn and no light brighter than the moon be visible from the beach during turtle season. The fine can be $200 per violation.

We charged them $100 less than the estimate that we quoted them, including their late delivery of the van. However, they feel that their efforts at cleaning warranted a much smaller fee and that they should not have been charged for returning the van late. We always return the property to arrival condition for the next guests. We have a set of standards and rules that we follow. Some guests think that their cleaning efforts meet our standards. That is often not the case.

We must pay for cleaning staff. Staff arrive at 9:45 at the ferry and we start paying them at 10:00. Sometimes guests choose to not have the Odyssey at the ferry by 10:00. That jeopardizes our ability to have the property ready for the next guests at 4pm. It also costs us money because we must pay for the staff until they depart. Since we charge our guests our actual costs for make ready, those costs start at 10am regardless of whether the Odyssey is returned or not. We have no way to ferry our staff, supplies and equipment to the house until the Odyssey is returned.

If a guest requests permission to stay past 10am, we will grant it providing:
a)Our staff scheduling permits the make ready to start at a later time or the next day
b)There is no guest arriving that day

These guests were extremely happy and told us they wanted to return until we billed them for the cleaning fee and late delivery of the van. They also did not return the van full of gas. Our staff was an hour late getting to the house because of late van return, and we had arriving guests that afternoon. Despite all that, they were charged $100 less than the cleaning estimate we quoted which they did not bother to read.
business
Tranquility House Beachfront Estate (Email for Discounts to 45%)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218243vb
-(816) 582-3181
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Sarasota, FL
5

Our Experience At Tranquility

  • 5 of 5
This is an extraordinary home and if you are seeking a gorgeous, sun-swept, relaxing place to get away, I would look no further.

We were married here and it served as a picture-perfect setting for a memorable, happy week. We have stayed at the property several times and each time found the entire experience completely enjoyable and worry free. The owners are nice to work with and the property is always clean and orderly. Palm Island isn't the easiest place to get to but it is well worth it. We love the home's decor and the modern amenities- it is very pretty while also very comfortable. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the overall layout of the home and property is well thought-out to compliment the beach lifestyle. We certainly give this property our highest recommendation.
  • Submitted: May 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Fort Myers
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Rum Bay
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Palm Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lemon Bay
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-75
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Rum Bay
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Beachfront on 7 mile beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Palm Island Ferry
Nearest Point of Interest
Cape Haze Marina
Car: necessary

Nearby Oyster Creek Regional Park includes skateboard park, swim facility and many other amenities.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cape Haze House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
January 2015
Jan 1 2015 - Jan 31 2015
1 night minimum stay
$530
$2,640
$8,000
 
 
February 2015
Feb 1 2015 - Feb 28 2015
1 night minimum stay
$600
$2,970
$9,000
 
 
Spring 2015
Mar 1 2015 - Apr 15 2015
1 night minimum stay
$730
$3,630
$11,000
 
 
Late Spring 2015
Apr 16 2015 - Apr 30 2015
1 night minimum stay
$600
$2,970
$9,000
 
 
Early Summer 2015
May 1 2015 - May 31 2015
1 night minimum stay
$530
$2,640
$8,000
 
 
Summer 2015
Jun 1 2015 - Jul 31 2015
1 night minimum stay
$660
$3,300
$10,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes Cleaning is actual cost to return unit to arrival condition. Estimated in custom quotes.
Tobacco Free Property
Pet Free Property
Holiday weeks have special rates
Weekends higher rates
Rates listed are generic rack rates for 2 people. Contact owner for custom quotations, specials and discounts.
Major holidays Memorial Day, July 4, Thanksgiving and Christmas move up one rate category.
Payment by Check, Debit or Credit
VISA, MC, Discover Accepted
Deposits determined in custom quotes

Amenities

Cape Haze House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub , His and hers vanities
    Bunk Room Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    King Bath - toilet , shower
    Queen Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Guest Bath - toilet , shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Hot and Cold Privacy Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed , Bottom beds are doubles and tops are twins
    Master Suite - 1 king , 1 baby crib , Pack n play
    King Suite - 1 king
    Queen Suite - 1 queen
    A/V Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full size plush queen sleeper sofa
  • King size beds (2) in 2 King Suites, Queen size Beds (2) in Queen Room plus A/V room Sleeper Sofa. A/V Room converts to bedroom with closet and full bath and lush queen mattress in sofa , Bunk Beds (2) Upper beds are twins with rails and lower beds are doubles. 1 pack n play. 2 full size twin aero beds which can be placed anywhere.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Cart
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Car Included
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
4-6 passenger club car, 8 passenger Honda Odyssey with unlimited ferry pass, instant hot water to all baths, hot and cold outdoor shower.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote