PAPAKEA - REMODELED 2BR/2BA - RENT OWNER DIRECT

Jan Hendrix

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Jan Hendrix

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PAPAKEA - REMODELED 2BR/2BA - RENT OWNER DIRECT

Lahaina Condo Rental Photos and Description

2BR Oceanview Vacation Rental Lahaina, Hawaii USA

Unit J-104 at Papakea is a great ground-floor condo with two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. It's completely updated with new carpeting, comfortable furnishings, lots of custom touches, and a wonderful tropical interior decor!

There is a new ceramic-tile floor in the hall, kitchen, and both baths. The bedrooms and living areas feature brand new carpeting. The back bedroom is furnished with two twin beds, lamps, nightstands, a large dresser, and a huge closet. The master bedroom faces the ocean and the koi ponds, and is furnished with a king-size bed, two nightstands, lamps, a large dresser, cable TV with remote, and a large closet. It has a dreamy ocean and Molokai mountain view from the bed!

Both the bathrooms have a vanity area that's separate from the toilet and shower/bath area, with a door between them.

Both the master bedroom and the living areas face the ocean, and have a lovely view across the koi ponds and the garden to the ocean and the mountains of Molokai in the distance. The garden view is very lush and tropical -- with beautiful landscaping and extensive water features of the koi ponds.

The living room has easy chairs, a queen-size sleeper sofa, cable TV, and a VCR -- as well as dining for four and a dining bar.

The lanai steps right out to the serene and quiet koi ponds and a large grassy area. There is no pathway in front of the lanai -- just a huge grassy expanse; so it has very light traffic and is very private. You'll be buffered from pool noise by the expanse of grass and the extensive, meandering koi ponds. The sweet sounds of the waterfalls and fountains of the koi pond provide wonderful foreground music, with the booming sounds of the surf serving as calming background music.

Just walk right outside the door to the hot tubs, pools, and the wonderful ocean.

Take a book -- and relax and enjoy everything!

The condo is fully furnished with everything you'll need for even long-term stays. The full kitchen includes a dishwasher, a new oven/range, a washer/dryer, microwave, blender, and toaster. Additional amenities include air-conditioning, hairdryers in both baths, and an iron and ironing board. I also provide beach towels, a cooler, beach toys, and beach chairs as extras -- to make your stay that much more relaxing and easy. As I live right here on Maui's west side, you can call on me for anything you might need; and I can generally supply it right away.

We are constantly updating the condo, and refreshing the furnishings and equipment. I work really hard to ensure that the condo is fully and thoughtfully furnished. But you are the best gauges of this; so I welcome your feedback!

As you might know, the Papakea Resort is a very gracious tropical resort set on 13 oceanfront acres.

We have three condos there -- we love it that much! It offers wonderful amenities including two pools, two spas, two saunas, and beach access with easy swimming and snorkeling right there.

Many of my guests enjoy the water aerobics classes held every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday in the Molokai pool. They just started offering beachfront yoga sessions on Tuesday and Thursday too! Others enjoy tennis, shuffleboard, or honing their skills on one of the two 18-hole, manicured putting greens.

The grounds are very handsome -- with bamboo groves and tropical plants and flowers in abundance. And with wonderful walkways meandering through extensive koi ponds that feature the soothing sounds of waterfalls and water fountains.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Jan Hendrix

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2002
Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 36 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Papakea - Remodeled 2BR/2BA - Rent Owner Direct
average rating of 4.861111 based on 36 reviews
business
Papakea - Remodeled 2BR/2BA - Rent Owner Direct
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218776
+ (808) 662-0857
Lahaina Maui
Calgary
5

Wonderful stay in paradise

  • 5 of 5
My mom, brother and sister-in-law and I had a fabulous stay at Papkea. I've stayed here a few times before, first time in this unit but I find they are all quite the same. They all have that Hawaiian feel to them but unique in their own way. You can see each owner puts their special touch in to each unit. These folks did make it feel like home. All the supplies in a kitchen to cook anything and everything. Several items useful for a trip to the beach or even just to stay at the pool.

The details about the condo describe it perfectly. The photos are up to date but don't do it justice. The condo is very spacious and was clean and we were ready to start our holiday immediately upon arrival. There was plenty of supplies left for our week long vacation. Extra towels, plenty of cleaning supplies, even shampoo and conditioner for the forgetful type!!

The complex is stunning. They do a fabulous job of keeping it up. The pool and hot tub were great. The BBQ's are well maintained and cleaned daily. You are quite close to some shops too - groceries, restaurants, Snorkel Bobs, easy access onto the beach and boardwalk.

Everything you could ask for and more. I would highly recommend staying here. The owner was a pleasure to deal and very detailed with the instructions on how everything works when booking.

Enjoy your stay!! We did!!
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Papakea - Remodeled 2BR/2BA - Rent Owner Direct
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218776
+ (808) 662-0857
Lahaina Maui
Edmonton Alberta Canada
5

Property 51401 Papakea Resort 2BR and 2BA Kaanapali West Maui.HI USA.

  • 5 of 5
This was my family's 3rd vist to Maui and for the second time we have rented this exact unit. To date we have never been disapointed with our stay. The other time we rented from the same owner a second suite in the Papakea only because this unit was already rented and we were delayed in booking it.
The discription is accurate and the condo is a home away from home. This unit has alsways been clean and ready to move in when ever we have arrived.
This unit has all the ammeneties you could ask for and there is local shopping, dining all within walking distance. I would recommend renting a vehicle during your stay allowing you the freedom to see the entire island and all activities it has to offer.
The owner has always contacted us during our stay to see if there was anything that she could do to assist in making the stay more enjoyable and we do appreciate the hands on approach.
I have recommened this condo on many occasions to a number of friends and buisnes clients that travel to Maui.
We are currently arranging our booking dates for next years holiday at this exact place.
The concierge at the Front Desk at the Papakea has assisted us in booking some of the best tours the island has and they all have been great adventures and well worth doing.
My wife and two sons have found a vaction home here that we love and wish to return to every year.
We have no problem in recommending this condo for a great Maui holiday.
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Papakea - Remodeled 2BR/2BA - Rent Owner Direct
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218776
+ (808) 662-0857
Lahaina Maui
canada
5

papakea

  • 5 of 5
absolutely awesome ! we have stayed in many condos in maui and this is the best yet .clean /updated/great location/and a great owner . thanks jan its perfect..
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Papakea - Remodeled 2BR/2BA - Rent Owner Direct
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218776
+ (808) 662-0857
Lahaina Maui
Rancho Murieta Ca 95683
5

GREAT Vacation

  • 5 of 5
I rented 5 units at Papakea for 10 nights each starting 14 Nov 2012.. This was the only one we did not have any issue with. Great location; very well appointed, with all home and beach needs met. Owner was extremely helpful in our vacation planning. We will definately place J104 at the top of our return stay list.
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Papakea - Remodeled 2BR/2BA - Rent Owner Direct
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218776
+ (808) 662-0857
Lahaina Maui
1

Old and Dumpy condo

  • 1 of 5
I LOVE Papakea and have been renting condos here for over 25 years. THIS condo is a DUMP. It smells like garbage and is very outdated. The master bed is broken and very uncomfortable. My husband was so upset when we walked in and saw the place, he wanted to go to the office and get a new condo. You get what you pay for. Look around before you book, they also didn't give all of my deposit back! We we're very disappointed. We stay at Papakea every year but we will never stay in this condo again.
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest was in my apartment, Papakea J-104, starting Sep 19th, 2012. I wondered why she would leave such an awful comment, then I remembered! She left it a mess and I witheld half of her $200 security deposit to compensate for the extra cleaning that had to be done, which rarely happens. She was probably mad about that, but there was dirty cookware full of crusty burnt-on food left on the stove, dirty dishes scattered all over the apartment and stacked in the sink, trash piled up all over the apartment, and what must have been toddler food-encrusted fingerprints on every surface of the apartment up to about 4 feet high. I just retained $100 of the $200 deposit to cover the extra cleaning, which was generous I think. I sent her photos of the mess she left with a complete explanation of why I retained a portion of her deposit. In her review, she claims the apartment was dirty and smelly - it sure was after she left! Seriously though, this can't be true. Papakea completed the exterior rennovation of the exterior of the J building late August 2012, so on Aug 21st and 22nd, before I opened it up for rental again, I had a deep clean done (6 people worked 5 hrs cleaning every corner of the apartment; I was there) and all the carpets and upholstery were professionally cleaned. I have the invoices to prove this. She never once called me during her stay to complain about anything even though I live nearby and encourage all my guests to call me about anything that might enhance their stay. I could have corrected anything that was truly wrong, as I am very responsive to all my guests and take every bit of feedback seriously. I want you to be happy, and will do anything I can to make your stay great. Of course, stuff happens, and if given an opportunity, I can remedy anything. But this apartmant is not dirty and out-of-date. I remodeled the kitchen, put in new bath cabinets, and laid new carpet in 2009. I didn't hear from her until I contacted her to tell her know I was returning a portion of her security deposit. I have been renting this apartment for 8 years, and couldn't stay in business if this property was really how she describes it. I am the owner and I work hard to make sure the apartment is clean, updated, and thoughtfully equipped. And once you arrive, I work hard to make sure you are happy and have everyhting you need. Please check my history and my other guest comments - this negative review is a fabrication and is NOT what you will experience.
business
Papakea - Remodeled 2BR/2BA - Rent Owner Direct
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218776
+ (808) 662-0857
Lahaina Maui
Murfreesboro, TN
5

Charming, well equiped, perfectly located beach rental with ocean views and sounds!!

  • 5 of 5
This 2 bedroom rental was a great find. It was like we had our own little piece of paradise. The complex in wonderfully maintained. My husband was particularly fond of the putting green steps from our lanai. Sitting on our lanai you can see the ocean, which is steps away on grass so soft you can walk barefoot back and forth. The koi pond is directly in front of us and attracts unusual birds which are fun to watch. You don't see any other properties from the lanai so if feels very private. The pool is between the unit and the beach but has wonderful landscaping around it so it is kind of concealed. The pool also has 5 or 6 grills around it so the pool is the very social at dinnertime and you get to know your neighbors. The large hot tub is also a gathering place. The unit itself is very homey and has everything you need to cook meals. It is an older complex but the unit and grounds are so well maintained that you don't mind. In fact, my favorite part was the louvered windows on either side of the sliding glass doors and the huge windows in the bedrooms. I slept peacefully to the sounds of ocean waves lapping at the beach. The unit is air conditioned but the sea breeze kept the place cool enough most of the time. Jan, the owner, is wonderful to work with. She takes pride in her properties and does not like anything to be wrong with it. Her maintenance team, a married couple, came by to fix a broken toilet seat reported by the previous tenants. It didn't bother us but they insisted on fixing it right away. Plus they gave us lots of insider guidance on where the locals eat and such. The master bed was super comfy and I would have an issue if it were not. The location was great. You could walk the beach to restaurants and bars and you could walk to the grocery store and other shops on the street in front on the complex, though you can't see any of that from the parking lot because of the awesome foliage. Oh, and the washer and dryer came in very handy, too. For a moderate price, you will be very happy with your choice to rent this condo. And tell Jan we said "Aloha and Mahalo" for a very Hawaiin experience. Oh, did I mention the hundreds of whales we watched from our beach? Amazing!!!!
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Map

Map

Golf: Everything they offer is free for you to enjoy; so kick back and enjoy it while you're here!

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.25%

Notes

  • Peak Season, Dec 20 through Feb: $250/night, extended stays $225/night (21+nights)

    Regular Season, March, June through August: $200/night, extended stays $180/night

    Value Season: May, Sep to Dec 20, except Thanksgiving week (US): $185/night, extended stays $170/night

    US Thanksgiving week is Regular season - see above for rates.

    Minimum stay is 5 nights. Maximum capacity is 6 persons. A $50 non-refundable reservation fee is required with each reservation.

    *** Rates are for 4 guests. Add $10/night for each additional guest.

    Rates are subject to change until confirmed, so please contact me for a complete quote for your stay. Mahalo!
  • Cancellations are subject to a $50 cancellation fee. If you cancel 60 days or more (for reservations involving a Holiday season date, this is 120 days) prior to your trip, a full refund minus the fee will be issued. If you cancel all or a portion of your dates inside 60 days (or 120 if Holiday Season), the refund is based on our ability to re-sell your reserved dates.

Amenities

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • River
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Elevator
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Towels Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Dialup Access
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Both Baths have separate vanity areas
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Second bedroom - Twins can be made up to form a king bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Boat
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • Sauna
  • Communal Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Hot Tub
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
  • arboretum
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • theme parks
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • basketball court
  • racquetball
  • wind-surfing
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing